Language selection

Search

Discussion paper
Proposed change to the refusal and review process for industrial design examination decisions

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is committed to delivering quality and timely IP rights that reflect client expectations. In order to improve quality and timeliness, CIPO is proposing a change to the refusal and review process for industrial design examination decisions and is seeking feedback from the community of industrial design professionals and the Canadian public. The current context and the proposed change, including the rationale and key considerations behind the change, are outlined below.

Current context

In order to ensure an industrial design is registrable, an application for registration is subject to examination by an industrial design examiner. Any objection to registration is communicated to the applicant through a report until a final refusal brings an end to the examination. Before a final refusal is issued, an applicant who has failed to overcome the objections to registration raised by the examiner will be invited, by way of Notice of Possible Refusal, to request a review of the decision by the Patent Appeal Board (PAB), which will in turn give rise to a final decision by the Commissioner. This review process is based on an administrative practice dating back to 1974 and is not prescribed by the Industrial Design Act or Regulations.

Figure 1 – Current Process
A map of the current process showing how objections to the registration of an industrial design are communicated to the applicant and the different steps an application could go through before a final decision is made.
Figure 1 - Text version

Examination reports are used to raise or maintain objection(s) to the registration of an industrial design. They invite the applicant to amend the application or provide arguments in order to overcome any objection(s). Under the current refusal and review process, if the applicant fails to overcome the objection(s) raised in a report, those will be maintained in a Notice of Possible Refusal. Three options are available to the applicant following the issuance of this final notice. If the applicant overcomes the objection(s), the design will be registered. If the applicant does not respond, the application will be considered for refusal by the Director General. Finally, the applicant may request a review by the Patent Appeal Board. The Board will acknowledge receipt of the request, issue a preliminary review letter and invite the applicant to request a hearing if needed. A decision will be made by the Commissioner based on the Board's recommendations. The Commissioner can either refuse the application or register the design. In both cases, the decision is final and no further Office action can be taken.

Proposed change

CIPO proposes to modify the current practice in order to entrust the review of examiner decisions to a subject matter expert from the policy and legislation group of the Trademarks and Industrial Designs Branch (TIDB) rather than to the PAB. This expert, supported by legal services, would review all applications that are to be considered for refusal and make a recommendation to the Director General, who in turn would either refuse the application or register the design. This process is similar to the model currently in place for the refusal of trademark applications, which are reviewed by the policy and legislation group.

In contrast with the current process where the applicant must request a review by the PAB in writing, the review of examiner decisions by the subject matter expert would be integrated directly into the examination process. In place of the Notification of Possible Refusal, a Final Examination Report would invite the applicant to amend its application so that the design is registrable or provide final arguments in writing. Should the response be insufficient to overcome the remaining objections to registration, the file would be communicated to the subject matter expert for review. If the applicant chose not to respond to the Final Examination Report, the application would be deemed abandoned pursuant to subsection 22(6) of the Industrial Design Regulations.

Figure 2 – Proposed Process
A map of the proposed process showing how objections to the registration of an industrial design are communicated to the applicant and the different steps an application could go through before a final decision is made.
Figure 2 - Text version

Examination reports are used to raise or maintain objection(s) to the registration of an industrial design. They invite the applicant to amend the application or provide arguments in order to overcome any objection(s). Under the proposed refusal and review process, if the applicant fails to overcome the objection(s) raised in a report, those would be maintained in a Final Examination Report. Three options would be available to the applicant following the issuance of this final report. If the applicant overcomes the objection(s), the design will be registered. If the applicant does not respond, the application will be deemed abandoned. Finally, if applicant fails to overcome the objection(s), the file will be sent for review by a subject matter expert. A decision to register the design or refuse the application would be made by the Director General based on the recommendations from subject matter expert. In both instances, the decision is final and no further Office action can be taken.

Rationale

The PAB is a specialized board composed of patent experts whose primary focus is to review patent decisions. With only eleven requests for review in the last five years, ID decisions represents a marginal part of their workload.

Entrusting the review of industrial design decisions to an expert from TIDB rather than to the PAB would make it easier to ensure consistency of final refusals guided by the new regime and would result in faster final decisions. In the context of the new regime, timely final decisions are increasingly important given that applications are now made available to the public after 30 months from their filing date (or the earliest priority date), whether a final decision was made or not, and that the duration of examination has a direct impact on the maximum term of protection that would be available. Given the PAB's current workload of patent decisions, CIPO believes the proposed change would indeed increase timeliness.

Key considerations

In establishing the proposed approach for the review of industrial design decisions, key considerations were taken into account. Generally, the new process must improve the quality and consistency in industrial design decisions. Foremost, the person handling the review must be knowledgeable in the field of industrial design. This person must have no previous involvement in the case in order to be able to make a fair and unbiased assessment of the application. CIPO believes the proposed change addresses those key considerations by making the review by a subject matter expert of the policy and legislation group an integral part of the examination process.

CIPO is mindful that the PAB currently offers an opportunity to make oral arguments before a board in support of an application. However, hearings would create additional complexity, hindering CIPO's capacity to issue decisions in a timely manner. Accordingly, hearings would no longer be available under the proposed change and CIPO considers that an opportunity to provide arguments in writing would be sufficient. In addition, CIPO is of the view that reintroducing a Final Examination Report would further improve timeliness by reducing unnecessary reviews and refusals as the absence of a response would lead to abandonment rather than to refusal.

Next steps and pilot project

CIPO looks forward to receiving feedback on the proposed change. Your observations will help determine whether this approach is appropriate or if it requires any changes.

In the meantime, CIPO will put in place a pilot project in order to test the proposed new process. As such, all requests for review by the PAB received by CIPO on or after , will be led by TIDB. CIPO will monitor and evaluate results gathered during the pilot project to inform its final decision. Please note that no end date has been set for the pilot project at this time as it is contingent on the number of reviews that will be requested. For greater certainty, also note that the pilot project does not extend to the implementation of a Final Examination Report and that applicants will continue to receive Notices of Possible Refusal.

Building on our commitment to stakeholder engagement, we will continue to keep you informed as we move forward with an updated refusal and review process for industrial design decisions.

Questions to consider

How to provide feedback

Please submit all feedback by email at ic.cipotmbplopicdmcpl.ic@canada.ca before .

Should you have any questions about this discussion paper, please contact Iyana Goyette, Deputy Director, Policy and Legislation, Trademarks and Industrial Designs Branch at iyana.goyette@canada.ca.

Related information

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document de discussion
Changement proposé au processus de rejet et de révision des décisions d'examen en dessins industriels

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) s'est engagé à accorder des droits de PI de qualité en temps opportun et conformes aux attentes des clients. Afin d'améliorer la qualité et la rapidité d'exécution, l'OPIC propose de changer le processus de rejet et de révision des décisions d'examen en dessins industriels et sollicite la rétroaction du public Canadien et de la communauté des professionnels en dessins industriels. Le contexte actuel et le changement proposé, y compris la justification et les considérations clés qui sous-tendent le changement, sont décrits ci-dessous.

Contexte actuel

Afin de s'assurer qu'un dessin industriel est enregistrable, une demande d'enregistrement est soumise à l'examen d'un examinateur de dessin industriel. Toute objection à l'enregistrement est communiquée au demandeur au moyen d'un rapport jusqu'à ce qu'un rejet final mette fin à l'examen. Avant qu'un rejet final ne soit émis, un demandeur qui n'a pas réussi à surmonter les objections à l'enregistrement soulevées par l'examinateur sera invité, au moyen d'un avis de possible rejet, à demander une révision de la décision par la Commission d'appel des brevets (CAB), qui à son tour donnera lieu à une décision finale du commissaire. Ce processus de révision est fondé sur une pratique administrative qui remonte à 1974 et il n'est pas prescrit par la Loi sur les dessins industriels ou le Règlement sur les dessins industriels.

Figure 1 – Processus actuel
Une carte du processus actuel montrant comment les objections à l'enregistrement d'un dessin industriel sont communiquées au demandeur et montrant aussi les différentes étapes pouvant être empruntées par une demande avant qu'une décision finale ne soit prise.
Figure 1 - Version textuelle

Les rapports d'examen sont utilisés afin de soulever ou maintenir des objections à l'enregistrement d'un dessin industriel. Ils invitent le demandeur à apporter des modifications à la demande ou à soumettre des arguments afin de surmonter toute objection. Dans le cadre du processus de rejet et de révision actuel, si le demandeur ne parvient pas à surmonter les objections soulevées dans un rapport, ces dernières seront maintenues par le biais d'un avis de possible rejet. Trois options s'offrent au demandeur après l'émission de cet avis final. Si le demandeur surmonte les objections, le dessin sera enregistré. Si le demandeur ne répond pas, la demande sera considérée pour rejet par le directeur général. Enfin, le demandeur peut demander une révision par la Commission d'appel des brevets. La Commission accusera réception de la demande, enverra une lettre de révision préliminaire et invitera le demandeur à demander une audience au besoin. Une décision sera prise par le commissaire sur la base des recommandations de la Commission. Le commissaire peut soit rejeter la demande ou enregistrer le dessin. Dans les deux cas, la décision est finale et aucune autre mesure ne peut être prise par le Bureau.

Changement proposé

L'OPIC propose de modifier la pratique actuelle afin de confier la révision des décisions de l'examinateur à un expert en la matière du groupe des Politiques et législation de la Direction générale des marques de commerce et des dessins industriels (DGMCDI) plutôt qu'à la CAB. Cet expert, appuyé par les services juridiques, réviserait toutes les demandes devant être considérées pour un rejet et ferait une recommandation au directeur général, qui à son tour refuserait la demande ou procéderait à l'enregistrement du dessin. Ce processus est semblable au modèle actuellement en place pour le rejet des demandes de marques de commerce, qui sont révisées par le groupe des Politiques et législation.

En contraste avec le processus actuel où le demandeur doit demander une révision par la CAB par écrit, la révision des décisions de l'examinateur par l'expert en la matière serait intégrée à même le processus d'examen. Au lieu de l'avis de possible rejet, un rapport d'examen final inviterait le demandeur à modifier sa demande de façon à ce que le dessin soit enregistrable ou à fournir des arguments finaux par écrit. Si la réponse est insuffisante pour surmonter les objections restantes à l'enregistrement, le dossier serait communiqué à l'expert en la matière pour révision. Si le demandeur choisit de ne pas répondre au rapport d'examen final, la demande serait réputée abandonnée conformément au paragraphe 22(6) du Règlement sur les dessins industriels.

Figure 2 – Processus proposé
Une carte du processus proposé montrant comment les objections à l'enregistrement d'un dessin industriel sont communiquées au demandeur et montrant aussi les différentes étapes pouvant être empruntées par une demande avant qu'une décision finale ne soit prise.
Figure 2 - Version textuelle

Les rapports d'examen sont utilisés afin de soulever ou maintenir des objections à l'enregistrement d'un dessin industriel. Ils invitent le demandeur à apporter des modifications à la demande ou à soumettre des arguments afin de surmonter toute objection. Dans le cadre du processus de rejet et de révision proposé, si le demandeur ne parvient pas à surmonter les objections soulevées dans un rapport, ces dernières seraient maintenues par le biais d'un rapport d'examen final. Trois options s'offriraient au demandeur après l'émission de ce rapport final. Si le demandeur surmonte les objections, le dessin serait enregistré. Si le demandeur ne répond pas, la demande serait réputée abandonnée. Enfin, si le demandeur ne parvient pas à surmonter les objections, le dossier serait envoyé à un expert en la matière pour révision. La décision de rejeter la demande ou d'enregistrer le dessin serait prise par le directeur général sur la base des recommandations de l'expert en la matière. Dans les deux cas, la décision est finale et aucune autre mesure ne pourra être prise par le Bureau.

Justification

La CAB est une commission spécialisée composée d'experts en brevets dont l'objet principal est la révision des décisions relatives aux brevets. En ayant seulement reçu 11 demandes de révision au cours des cinq dernières années, les décisions sur les dessins industriels représentent une part marginale de leur charge de travail.

Le fait de confier la révision des décisions relatives aux dessins industriels à un expert de la DGMCDI plutôt qu'à la CAB faciliterait l'uniformité des rejets finaux guidés par le nouveau régime et donnerait lieu à des décisions finales plus rapides. Dans le contexte du nouveau régime, rendre une décision finale en temps opportun est de plus en plus important étant donné que les demandes sont maintenant rendues accessibles au public après 30 mois à compter de leur date de dépôt (ou de la date de priorité la plus ancienne), qu'une décision finale ait été rendue ou non. De plus, la durée de l'examen a une incidence directe sur la durée maximale de protection qui serait disponible. Compte tenu de la charge de travail actuelle de la CAB en matière de décisions sur les brevets, l'OPIC croit que le changement proposé augmenterait effectivement la rapidité d'exécution.

Considérations clés

Plusieurs considérations clés ont été prises en compte afin d'établir l'approche proposée pour la révision des décisions en dessins industriels. En général, le nouveau processus doit améliorer la qualité et l'uniformité des décisions en dessins industriels. Avant tout, la personne chargée de la révision doit bien connaître le domaine des dessins industriels. Cette personne ne doit pas être déjà intervenue dans l'affaire afin de pouvoir faire une évaluation juste et impartiale de la demande. L'OPIC croit que le changement proposé tient compte de ces considérations clés en faisant de la révision par un expert en la matière du groupe des Politiques et législation une partie intégrante du processus d'examen.

L'OPIC est conscient que la CAB offre actuellement la possibilité de présenter devant la Commission, à l'oral, des arguments à l'appui d'une demande. Toutefois, la tenue d'audiences créerait une complexité supplémentaire, ce qui entraverait la capacité de l'OPIC à rendre des décisions en temps opportun. Par conséquent, les audiences ne seraient plus disponibles en vertu du changement proposé et l'OPIC estime que la possibilité de présenter des arguments par écrit serait suffisante. De plus, l'OPIC est d'avis que la réintroduction d'un rapport d'examen final améliorerait davantage la rapidité en réduisant les révisions et les rejets inutiles, puisque l'absence de réponse donnerait lieu à un abandon plutôt qu'à un rejet.

Prochaines étapes et projet pilote

L'OPIC attend avec intérêt de recevoir des commentaires sur le changement proposé. Vos observations aideront à déterminer si cette approche est appropriée ou si elle nécessite des changements.

Entre-temps, l'OPIC mettra en place un projet pilote afin de mettre à l'essai le nouveau processus proposé. À ce titre, toutes les demandes de révision de la CAB reçues par l'OPIC le ou après cette date seront traitées par la DGMCDI. L'OPIC surveillera et évaluera les résultats obtenus pendant le projet pilote afin d'orienter sa décision finale. Veuillez noter qu'aucune date de fin n'a été fixée pour le projet pilote pour le moment, puisqu'elle dépend du nombre de révisions qui seront demandées. Pour une plus grande certitude, notez également que le projet pilote n'inclura pas la mise en œuvre d'un rapport d'examen final et que les demandeurs continueront de recevoir des avis de possible rejet.

S'appuyant sur notre engagement à l'égard de la mobilisation des intervenants, nous continuerons de vous tenir informés au fur et à mesure que nous progresserons avec la mise à jour du processus de rejet et de révision des décisions en dessins industriels.

Questions à considérer

Comment soumettre de la rétroaction

Veuillez envoyer votre rétroaction par courriel à ic.cipotmbplopicdmcpl.ic@canada.ca avant le .

Si vous avez des questions au sujet du présent document de discussion, veuillez communiquer avec Iyana Goyette, directrice adjointe, Politiques et législation, Direction générale des marques de commerce et des dessins industriels à iyana.goyette@canada.ca.

Renseignements connexes

Date de modification :