Language selection

Search

Remissions at CIPO

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Learn more about the remission processes and procedures at the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO).

About remissions at CIPO

The Service Fees Act requires CIPO to remit a portion of a fee, also known as a remission, when a service standard is determined not to have been met and a remission is warranted.

The Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) Remission Policy includes CIPO's Program Annex which sets out how the principles and requirements of the ISED policy are applied within CIPO.

You cannot apply for a remission. Should CIPO determine that the service standard associated with a fee has not been met and a remission is warranted, CIPO will inform the authorized correspondent of the portion of the fee to be remitted based on the degree to which the service standard was not met (e.g., missed by 50% or less, or more than 50%). In the case of fees paid by a third party not acting on behalf of the applicant or rightsholder, the remission letter and remission will be sent to them.

Fees eligible for remission

Remissions only apply to CIPO fees that are subject to section 7 of the Service Fees Act.

Remissions do not apply to "low-materiality fees" as defined in the Low-materiality Fees Regulations. Services for which the fee is eligible for a remission are indicated with an asterisk on CIPO's client service standards page.

The service request must be compliant with the applicable law, regulations, and office practices, and be requested on or after .

The following factors will be taken into consideration when assessing whether a remission is warranted:

How you will be notified

Should a service not meet the service standard and it is determined that a remission is warranted, CIPO will inform the authorized correspondent that they are entitled to a remission of a portion of the fee.

If there is an appointed agent on record, the letter of remission will be sent to the agent acting on your behalf at the time of the remission. In the case of fees paid by a third party not acting on behalf of the applicant or rightsholder, the remission letter and remission will be sent to them.

CIPO will send a letter with details on the remission, including the service standard that is not met, the remission amount, and the procedure for refusing a remission.

Refusing remission of a fee

You can refuse the remission of a fee by replying to the letter that you received within 1 month. Instructions on how to refuse a remission can be found in the letter of remission. Please note that it is not possible to refuse in advance any potential remissions for which you may be entitled to in the future.

The amount to be remitted

The amount to be remitted depends on the degree to which the service standard was not met.

The portion of a fee to be remitted by CIPO will be determined as follows:

The amount to be remitted
Remission amount 25% of fee paid 50% of fee paid
Degree that the service standard was not met Service standard missed by 50% or less of standard Service standard missed by more than 50% of standard

When you will receive the remission

Remissions that are not refused within 1 month from the date of the correspondence will be sent before July 1 of the following fiscal year. Remissions will be made using cheque or direct deposit, as applicable.

If you have any questions regarding remission processes and procedures at CIPO or require further assistance, please contact our Client Service Centre.

Related Information

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Remises de l’OPIC

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Information sur les procédures et processus de remise de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC).

À propos des remises de l'OPIC

La Loi sur les frais de service exige que l'OPIC remette une portion des frais, c'est‑à‑dire qu'une remise soit faite, lorsqu'il est déterminé qu'une norme de service n'a pas été respectée et qu'une remise est justifiée.

La Politique de remise d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) comprend l'Annexe du programme de l'OPIC, qui définit comment les principes et les exigences de la politique d'ISDE sont appliqués au sein de l'OPIC.

Vous ne pouvez pas faire la demande d'une remise. Si l'OPIC détermine que la norme de service liée à des frais n'a pas été respectée et qu'une remise est justifiée, il informera le correspondant autorisé de la portion des frais à remettre en fonction du degré de non‑respect de la norme en question (par exemple, non-respect de 50 % ou moins, ou de plus de 50 %). Dans le cas des frais payés par une tierce partie n'agissant pas au nom du demandeur ou du titulaire des droits, la lettre de remise ainsi que la remise seront envoyées à celle-ci.

Frais pouvant faire l'objet d'une remise

Les remises ne s'appliquent qu'aux frais de l'OPIC assujettis à l'article 7 de la Loi sur les frais de service.

Les remises ne s'appliquent pas aux « frais de faible importance » tels qu'ils sont définis dans le Règlement sur les frais de faible importance. Les services pour lesquels les frais peuvent faire l'objet d'une remise sont marqués d'un astérisque sur la page des normes de service à la clientèle de l'OPIC.

La demande de service doit être conforme à la loi, au règlement et aux pratiques administratives qui s'appliquent, et être faite à partir du .

Les facteurs suivants seront pris en considération pour déterminer si une remise est justifiée :

Comment vous serez informé

Si un service ne répond pas à la norme de service et qu'il est déterminé qu'une remise est justifiée, l'OPIC informera le correspondant autorisé de son droit à une remise d'une portion des frais.

S'il y a un agent désigné au dossier, la lettre de remise sera envoyée à celui qui agit en votre nom au moment de la remise. Dans le cas des frais payés par une tierce partie n'agissant pas au nom du demandeur ou du titulaire des droits, la lettre de remise ainsi que la remise seront envoyées à celle‑ci.

L'OPIC enverra une lettre contenant des renseignements sur la remise, y compris la norme de service qui n'a pas été respectée, le montant de la remise et la procédure de refus d'une remise.

Refus d'une remise

Vous pouvez refuser une remise en répondant à la lettre que vous avez reçue dans un délai de 1 mois. Les instructions pour ce faire se trouvent dans la lettre de remise. Veuillez noter qu'il n'est pas possible de refuser préalablement les remises potentielles auxquelles vous pourriez avoir droit ultérieurement.

Montant à remettre

Le montant à remettre dépend du degré de non-respect de la norme.

La portion des frais à remettre par l'OPIC sera déterminée comme suit :

Montant à remettre
Montant de la remise 25 % des frais payés 50 % des frais payés
Degré de non-respect de la norme de service Norme de service non respectée à hauteur de 50 % ou moins de la norme Norme de service non respectée à hauteur de plus de 50 % de la norme

Moment où vous recevrez la remise

Les remises qui ne sont pas refusées dans un délai de 1 mois à compter de la date de la correspondance seront envoyées avant le 1er juillet de l'année financière suivante. Les remises seront effectuées par chèque ou dépôt direct, selon le cas.

Si vous avez des questions concernant les procédures et processus de remise de l'OPIC, ou si vous avez besoin d'aide, veuillez communiquer avec notre centre de service à la clientèle.

Renseignements connexes

Date de modification :