Language selection

Search

Communities

This section aims to give you a better understanding of Francophone minority communities and Quebec's Anglophone community.

What is an official language minority community (OLMCs)?

OLMCs are not all identical: in fact, their reality varies greatly based on their geographical situation—in an urban or a rural area, near or far from major centres—and their population—tightly knit or scattered over a large area.

Some communities are concentrated in a sector or a region and live everyday in their language, for all practical purposes, as the majority community. There are many institutions and everyday life is lived in the minority official language. Examples:

  • Acadian peninsula;
  • Hearst and Prescott-Russell, in Ontario;
  • West Island of Montreal, in Quebec.

In some provinces, the minority community makes up a significant proportion of the population and may live part of its daily life in its language. The majority community has much appeal but the presence of historically homogeneous areas, English or French as the case may be, brings together the minority community, often despite the dispersion of the population. These communities generally have well-developed institutions and public and commercial services. Examples:

  • Vanier and Sudbury, in Ontario;
  • Moncton, in New Brunswick;
  • Clare and Evangeline, in Nova Scotia;
  • Saint-Boniface, in Manitoba;
  • Sherbrooke-Lennoxville, in Quebec.

In other cases, the minority community is more limited in number. Everyday life is lived in the language of the majority and use of the mother tongue is limited to family and school life and the participation in some isolated group activities. Examples:

  • Gravelbourg and Zénon Park, in Saskatchewan;
  • Quebec City, Chicoutimi and the Gaspésie, in Quebec;
  • Bonnyville, in Alberta;
  • Welland, in Ontario;
  • large urban centres like Vancouver, Toronto and Montreal.

Bilingual list of Common acronyms / Short names

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Communautés

La présente section a pour but de mieux faire connaître les communautés francophones en situation minoritaire hors Québec et la communauté anglophone du Québec.

Qu'est-ce qu'une communauté de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM)?

Toutes les CLOSM ne sont pas pareilles, et leur réalité peut varier considérablement selon que leur population est concentrée ou éparpillée, et qu'elles sont situées en milieu urbain ou rural, éloignées des grands centres ou non.

Certaines communautés sont concentrées dans un secteur ou dans une région et vivent quotidiennement dans leur langue, à toutes fins pratiques comme la communauté majoritaire. Les institutions sont nombreuses et la vie courante se déroule dans la langue officielle minoritaire. Exemples :

  • Péninsule acadienne;
  • Hearst et Prescott-Russell, en Ontario;
  • West Island de Montréal, au Québec.

Dans certaines provinces, la communauté minoritaire constitue une proportion importante de la population et peut vivre une partie de son quotidien dans sa langue. Les attraits de la communauté majoritaire sont nombreux, mais la présence de quartiers historiquement homogènes, français ou anglais selon le cas, rassemble la communauté minoritaire, souvent malgré la dispersion de la population. Ces communautés jouissent généralement d'institutions bien développées et de services publics et commerciaux. Exemples :

  • Vanier et Sudbury, en Ontario;
  • Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick;
  • Clare et Évangéline, en Nouvelle-Écosse;
  • Saint-Boniface, au Manitoba;
  • Sherbrooke-Lennoxville, au Québec.

Dans d'autres cas, la communauté minoritaire est en nombre plus restreint. La vie courante se déroule dans la langue de la majorité et l'utilisation de la langue maternelle se limite à la vie familiale et scolaire ainsi qu'à la participation à certaines activités de groupes isolés. Exemples :

  • Gravelbourg et Zénon Park, en Saskatchewan;
  • Québec, Chicoutimi et la Gaspésie, au Québec;
  • Bonnyville, en Alberta;
  • Welland, en Ontario;
  • grandes agglomérations urbaines comme Vancouver, Toronto et Montréal.

Liste bilingue des acronymes les plus usités.

Date de modification :