Purchasing for Sustainability

10 Ways to start or enhance your sustainability purchasing strategy

Sustainability Purchasing can be as simple as choosing office products with recognized green certifications, buying from local suppliers or leasing equipment for temporary needs instead of buying it. Depending on the size and scale of your organization and your supply chain, sustainable purchasing programs can be very sophisticated, including scorecard evaluations that follow a ‘total cost of ownership’ approach, Supplier Codes of Conduct to govern fair labour practices and human rights in the supply chain, or collaborations among purchasers and suppliers to address key sustainability issues such as the carbon footprint of products or local employment for disadvantaged groups.

The key when starting out is to follow the ‘KISS’ principle; keep it simple. Get started now by using the following 10 steps whether you are a small to medium sized organization or a large firm with an international supply chain and annual spend in the hundreds of millions. These steps and approaches are proven and scalable. Don’t reinvent the wheel. You’ll find it’s easier than you may think and the potential impacts on your organization, the community and the environment can be incredibly transformative.

1. Find Allies in your Organization
If you spend some time reviewing case studies, you’ll see that a sustainability purchasing strategy usually starts as the project of a few sustainability champions in an organization. Talk to your colleagues and senior executive about sustainability purchasing and how it can benefit the organization—use the Sustainability Purchasing Network’s Guide to the Business Case and Benefits of Sustainability Purchasing as a resource to help you articulate the benefits and for insights on how to manage the costs. Support from the top is critical. Strike up a committee or cross functional working group that meets regularly to discuss and work on sustainability purchasing initiatives.

2. Tap Into Key Resources
Few have the time and resources available to them at work to conduct original research. For reliable and current information on sustainability purchasing, contact the Sustainability Purchasing Network to find out what is new, what is being done and who is doing it. Check out the Network’s Resources webpage for top resources on sustainability purchasing.

3. Draft a Policy Statement and Make a Plan
Putting a policy in place is an important step—especially for larger organizations that may have a culture that is policy driven or oriented. A policy is a formal signal inside and outside of your organization that sustainability purchasing is a priority. A good policy should clearly state what sustainability purchasing means to you and what qualities you are looking for in the products and services you buy and the organizations you buy them from. The good news is that there are great examples you can draw from as you draft a policy that makes sense for your organization. Ensure you understand your organization’s spending and consumption patterns in order to focus your policy. Identify the organization’s single point of accountability to implement your policy and plan. Tip: Don’t wait to start buying items on the shopping list in step 8 while you go through a policy development process. Many of these things can be done at the same time.

4. Start a Sustainability Conversation with Current Suppliers
Start up a two-way conversation on sustainability purchasing with your suppliers. Share your organization’s interests, needs and policy if you’ve developed one. Communicate your goals and standards. Take time to get to know who your suppliers are and what they do. Think about your most strategic suppliers and their products, services and operating practices. You may wish to draft up a simple survey on sustainable practices and ask that your organization’s top 10 suppliers fill it out and return it to you. This will give you a good idea of your current starting place and it can help you identify social or environmental performance areas you would like your suppliers to improve upon. Outline the expectations you have for your suppliers and how they will be assessed to ensure that they put in place the processes and procedures that fulfill their obligations.

5. Find Ways to Use Less of What You Already Have
A simple and very effective thing to do when getting started is to be more efficient in how you use what you already have. Try to squeeze a bit more use out of products before they are disposed. As one example, try to print and photocopy double-sided on paper and re-use misprints and drafts as note-paper where possible. Before purchasing something new, take a step back and ask yourself if it is really necessary. If so, only purchase the quantity actually needed and sure to be used.

6. Choose New Suppliers Committed to Sustainability
When getting ready to go to market for a new product or service, use the opportunity to find out more about the sustainability performance of prospective companies and their products and services. You might want to create a questionnaire for suppliers as part of an Expression of Interest or Request for Proposal that asks for information about the company’s environmental performance, track record on community-based initiatives, local economic development, and/or ethical standards—whatever is most important to your organization. Determine how you will use this additional information in your process of selecting a supplier. Create clear metrics for measuring this as part of your review of supplier performance. You may also wish to ask potential vendors to complete a questionnaire that describes their environmental and social impacts and practices. This can help you identify those suppliers and their products and services that are most aligned with your organization’s social or environmental priorities. Remember to do the low-hanging fruit first. Identify quick wins such as simple improvements in energy efficient products that can both deliver bottom-line results and kick-start your sustainable purchasing initiative.

7. Take a “Total Cost of Ownership” Approach to What You Buy
You already spend valuable time on your purchasing—now take a few more minutes to consider the life cycle of what you want to buy. It will be well worth your time! A Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) assessment adds up the financial costs over a product or service’s life cycle—the acquisition costs of the item or service plus any staff costs, training, training aids, support equipment, transportation and logistics costs, operating costs, maintenance costs, and withdrawal from service and disposal costs. With this information you may find that the product that looks more expensive up front, is actually cheaper over the life of the product. Check out the Network’s TCO Workbook for practical help.

8. Make a “Top 10” Sustainability Shopping List
There’s a wide array of high quality and reasonably priced ‘sustainable’ products and services available on the market. A shopping list is a simple and powerful tool to get you started. Write down common items that you buy that have the seal of approval from credible certification systems such as the ISO 14001, EcoLogo, Energy Star, Green Leaf, LEED, Fair Trade, and Certified Organic. See the Network’s sample shopping list for ideas. You can usually substitute some of these products and services with minimal impact on your budget or operations. You can post this list in your office and refer to it when your organization needs one of the items on your list.

9. Set Goals and Track Your Activities
What is it that your organization really wants to achieve? Consider creating an opportunity for colleagues in your organization—including the senior management team—to spend some time with this question.  Clear sustainable purchasing goals accompanied by measurable targets assigned to a timeframe are likely to be most helpful. An example of a goal is to review the sustainability performance of your top 10 suppliers or your top supplier with over 10% of your purchasing budget and set an objective to engage them on your sustainable purchasing needs. Once you have goals in place, ensure you have a regular schedule to track your performance and make improvements where you fall short of your expectations.

10. Communicate and Reward Achievements
Spreading the word about your success in sustainability purchasing is a powerful way to promote your organization and its products and services within and outside of your organization. Half the battle is getting the word out and people on board. Tell the good news internally and watch the boost in productivity and employee satisfaction. Tell the good news to suppliers, consumers, and other stakeholders and watch relationships improve and sales increase. And remember that through case studies, testimonials and fact sheets, you can convey the highlights of what you have done and how you have done it to the media and award and recognition agencies. Communicate to all levels why these efforts are being undertaken, what will be measured and how you are going to get there.

Technical assistance and advisory services For more information, tools and resources, visit the Network’s website.

Date modified:

Les Practiques d’achats axées sur la durabilité

10 façons de lancer ou d'améliorer votre stratégie d'achat pour la durabilité

Le processus d’achat pour la durabilité peut consister simplement à choisir des fournitures de bureau affichant une certification verte reconnue, à acheter auprès de fournisseurs locaux ou à louer plutôt qu’acheter de l’équipement pour répondre à des besoins temporaires. Selon la taille et l’envergure de votre organisation et votre chaîne d’approvisionnement, les programmes d’achat durable peuvent être très pointus et comporter des évaluations au moyen d’une carte de pointage qui appliquent une approche tenant compte du « coût total de propriété », des codes de conduite à l’intention des fournisseurs qui régissent des pratiques de travail équitables et les droits de la personne dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement, ou des collaborations entre les acheteurs et les fournisseurs qui tiennent compte de questions de durabilité clés comme le bilan carbone des produits ou l’emploi local pour les groupes désavantagés.

Avant de se lancer, le point clé à retenir est de rechercher la simplicité. Procédez maintenant en suivant les 10 étapes suivantes, que vous soyez une PME ou une grande entreprise avec une chaîne d’approvisionnement internationale et des dépenses annuelles de centaines de millions de dollars. Ces étapes et ces approches ont fait leurs preuves et peuvent être adaptées à l’échelle. Nul besoin de réinventer la roue. C’est plus facile que vous ne le pensez et les répercussions potentielles sur votre organisation, sur la collectivité et sur l’environnement peuvent être incroyablement transformatrices.

1. Trouvez des alliés au sein de votre organisation
Si vous prenez le temps d’étudier des études de cas, vous constaterez qu’une stratégie d’achat pour la durabilité est habituellement le projet de départ de quelques champions de la durabilité au sein d’une organisation. Discutez avec vos collègues et la haute direction de l’achat pour la durabilité et comment il peut être avantageux pour une organisation – utilisez le guide du Sustainability Purchasing Network sur l’analyse de rentabilité et les avantages de l’achat pour la durabilité (anglais seulement) (PDF document] comme ressource pour vous aider à déterminer les avantages et obtenir des trucs sur la façon de gérer les coûts. Le soutien de la direction est essentiel. Mettez sur pied un comité ou un groupe de travail interfonctionnel qui se rencontre régulièrement pour discuter des initiatives d’achat pour la durabilité.

2. Tirez parti des ressources clés
Peu de personnes disposent du temps et des ressources nécessaires au travail leur permettant de mener une recherche originale. Pour obtenir de l’information fiable et à jour sur l’achat pour la durabilité, communiquez avec le Sustainability Purchasing Network pour connaître ce qu’il y a de nouveau, ce qui se fait et par qui. Consultez la section Ressources (anglais seulement) du site Web du Réseau pour connaître les principales ressources relatives à l’achat pour la durabilité.

3. Élaborez un énoncé de principes et dressez un plan
L’établissement d’une politique constitue une étape importante — spécialement pour les organisations de plus grande envergure dont la culture peut être dictée ou orientée par les politiques. Une politique est un signe officiel au sein et à l’extérieur de votre organisation que l’achat pour la durabilité est prioritaire. Une bonne politique doit énoncer clairement ce que l’achat pour la durabilité signifie pour vous et quelles qualités vous recherchez dans les produits et services que vous achetez et les organisations auprès desquelles vous les achetez. La bonne nouvelle est que vous pouvez vous inspirer d’excellents exemples pour élaborer une politique qui convient à votre organisation. Assurez-vous de bien comprendre les habitudes de dépenses et de consommation de votre organisation afin de cibler votre politique. Déterminez le seul responsable de l’organisation qui mettra en oeuvre votre politique et votre plan. Truc : N’attendez pas pour commencer à acheter les articles figurant sur la liste au point 8 alors que vous êtes en plein processus d’élaboration de politique. Bon nombre de ces activités peuvent se faire en même temps.

4. Amorcez une conversation sur la durabilité avec les fournisseurs actuels
Amorcez un dialogue sur l’achat pour la durabilité avec vos fournisseurs. Faites-leur part des intérêts de votre organisation, de ses besoins et de sa politique si vous en avez élaboré une. Communiquez vos objectifs et vos normes. Prenez le temps de connaître vos fournisseurs et ce qu’ils font. Pensez à vos fournisseurs les plus stratégiques et à leurs produits, services et pratiques d’exploitation. Vous voudrez peut-être concevoir un court sondage sur les pratiques durables et demander aux 10 principaux fournisseurs de votre organisation d‘y répondre et de vous le retourner. Ceci vous donnera une bonne idée de votre position de départ et peut vous aider à déterminer les secteurs du rendement social ou environnemental où vous souhaiteriez que vous fournisseurs s’améliorent. Décrivez vos attentes à l’égard de vos fournisseurs et la façon dont elles seront évaluées pour vous assurer que ces derniers mettront en place les processus et les procédures qui leur permettront de remplir leurs obligations.

5. Trouvez des façons d’utiliser ce que vous avez déjà, mais en moins grande quantité
Une chose simple et très efficace à faire lorsque vous commencez est d’utiliser plus efficacement ce que vous avez déjà. Essayez d’utiliser les produits au maximum avant de vous en défaire. Par exemple, imprimez et photocopiez des documents recto-verso et réutilisez les ébauches et les feuilles mal imprimées comme papier brouillon dans toute la mesure du possible. Avant d’acheter un nouvel article, prenez du recul et demandez-vous si c’est vraiment nécessaire. Dans l’affirmative, n’achetez que la quantité dont vous avez besoin et que vous êtes certain d’utiliser.

6. Choisissez de nouveaux fournisseurs qui ont la durabilité à cœur
Lorsque vous vous préparez à vous procurer un nouveau produit ou service, saisissez l’occasion pour vous renseigner sur le rendement des entreprises éventuelles en matière de durabilité et sur leurs produits et services. Vous voudrez peut-être préparer un questionnaire à l’intention des fournisseurs dans le cadre d’une Déclaration d’intérêt ou d’une Demande de proposition dans lequel vous demandez de l’information sur le rendement environnemental de l’entreprise, son rendement antérieur relativement aux initiatives axées sur la collectivité, le développement économique local ou ses normes en matière d’éthique – en fonction de ce qui est le plus important pour votre organisation. Déterminez comment vous utiliserez cette information additionnelle dans votre processus d’un choix de fournisseur. Créez des paramètres clairs de mesure dans le cadre de votre examen du rendement du fournisseur. Vous voudrez peut-être également demander aux vendeurs éventuels de répondre à un questionnaire qui décrit leurs répercussions et pratiques sociales et environnementales. Ceci pout vous aider à déterminer les fournisseurs dont les produits et services correspondent le mieux aux priorités sociales et environnementales de votre organisation. Rappelez-vous de vous occuper d’abord des choses les plus faciles. Déterminez les victoires rapides comme des améliorations simples à apporter en utilisant des produits énergétiques qui peuvent donner des résultats et faire démarrer votre initiative d’achat durable.

7. Adoptez une approche tenant compte du « coût total de propriété » à l’égard de ce que vous achetez
Vous consacrez déjà un temps précieux à l’achat — prenez maintenant quelques minutes de plus pour examiner le cycle de vie de ce que vous voulez acheter. Vous ne le regretterez pas! Une évaluation du coût total de propriété (CTP) permet d’additionner les coûts financiers sur la durée de vie d’un produit ou service — les coûts d’acquisition de l’article ou du service plus toute dépense de personnel, de formation, d’aides à la formation, de matériel de soutien, de transport et de logistique, frais d’exploitation, d’entretien, de retrait du service et frais d’élimination. Avec cette information, vous constaterez peut-être que le produit qui semble le plus cher et, en fait, moins cher sur la durée de vie du produit. Consultez le carnet de travail sur le CTP (TCO Workbook) (anglais seulement) pour obtenir une aide pratique.

8. Dressez un aide-mémoire des 10 points les plus importants en matière de durabilité
Il existe un large éventail de produits et services « durables » de qualité supérieure à prix raisonnable offerts sur le marché. Un aide-mémoire est un outil simple et utile vous permettant de démarrer. Faites une liste des articles courants que vous achetez qui affichent le sceau d’approbation de systèmes de certification crédibles comme ISO 14001, Éco-Logo, Energy Star, Green Leaf, LEED, certification équitable et Certifié biologique. Consultez l’exemple d’aide-mémoire (anglais seulement) du Réseau pour vous aider. Vous pouvez habituellement substituer certains de ces produits et services avec une incidence minimale sur votre budget ou vos opérations. Vous pouvez afficher cet aide-mémoire dans votre bureau et vous y reporter lorsque votre organisation a besoin de se procurer un des articles qui y figurent.

9. Établissez des objectifs et suivez vos activités
Quels objectifs votre organisation veut-elle réellement atteindre? Envisagez d’offrir à vos collègues — ainsi qu’à l’équipe de la haute direction — l’occasion de réfléchir à cette question. Des objectifs clairs en matière d’achat durable s’accompagnant d’objectifs mesurables dans le temps seront le plus utiles. Un exemple d’objectif : examiner le rendement au chapitre de la durabilité de vos 10 fournisseurs principaux ou de votre fournisseur principal avec plus de 10% de votre budget d’achat et établir l’objectif de les mobiliser pour répondre à vos besoins en matière d’achat durable. Une fois les objectifs en place, assurez-vous d’avoir un horaire régulier pour suivre votre rendement et apporter des améliorations lorsque vous ne réalisez pas vos attentes.

10. Faire connaître et récompenser les réalisations
Faire connaître votre réussite au chapitre de l’achat pour la durabilité est un moyen puissant de promouvoir votre organisation ainsi que ses produits et services au sein de votre organisation et à l’extérieur. La moitié du combat consiste à faire connaître la réussite et à mobiliser les gens. Communiquez les bonnes nouvelles à l’interne et vous verrez une hausse de la productivité et de la satisfaction des employés. Communiquez les bonnes nouvelles aux fournisseurs, aux consommateurs et à d’autres personnes concernées et vous constaterez une amélioration des rapports et l’accroissement des ventes. Et n’oubliez pas que par l’entremise d’études de cas, de témoignages et de fiches de renseignements, vous pouvez communiquer les faits saillants de ce que vous avez accompli et comment vous avez procédé aux médias et aux organismes chargés des récompenses et de la reconnaissance. Communiquez à tous les paliers pourquoi ces efforts sont mis en œuvre, ce qui sera mesuré et comment vous procéderez pour atteindre vos objectifs.

Pour plus d’information, d’outils et de ressources, visitez le site du Réseau. (anglais seulement)

Date de modification :