The Hanoi Principles for Voluntary Codes of Business Ethics in the Construction and Engineering Sector


I. Introduction

Conducting business ethically and with integrity, throughout the project life cycle, is in the best interest of construction and engineering companies and associations as well as for clients and citizens in the economies of the APEC region. This behavior promotes quality output. In addition, companies that do not conduct their business appropriately damage the reputation and competitiveness of the whole construction and engineering industry. At the same time, companies that compete with, and lose to, those companies who do not conduct their business appropriately may become frustrated and discouraged from further participation in future projects.

To help foster a high-integrity construction and engineering industry across the region, the APEC SME Construction and Engineering Experts Working Group (EWG), with representation from all 21 APEC economies, has developed the Hanoi Principles for Voluntary Codes of Business Ethics in the Construction and Engineering Sector (Hanoi Principles or APEC Construction and Engineering Principles) that promote a fair marketplace through ethical business conduct. These Principles help to facilitate an open and transparent business environment, free from corruption and undue influence, enhancing the ability of companies, especially small and medium sized companies, to participate in global markets.

In consideration of the various definitions of SMEs throughout the APEC region, this document provides guidance for how companies may voluntarily develop a practical and effective compliance program to implement the principles.

In these Principles, company includes both the company as well as its owners.


top of page

II. Principles

  1. Compete Fairly; Act Honestly; Execute with Integrity
    The company shall conduct its business honestly and fairly, at all times, complying with all applicable laws and statutes in each economy, and not participate in anti-competitive practices including bid rigging or engaging in the improper exchange of confidential information It shall deal with clients, suppliers, partners and subcontractors professionally and based on their competitiveness and capabilities. In turn, the company should expect them to act in manner consistent with this set of principles. The company shall execute its work to the agreed (contractual) standard and meet applicable construction codes and standards in each economy.
  2. Transparency and Accountability
    The company shall be transparent in its business dealings, such as by declaring any conflicts of interest or related party transactions. The company shall respect and protect the intellectual property rights of all interested parties and maintain, handle and process confidential commercial information with utmost care and in accordance with applicable laws. The company shall be accountable at all times to its owners, workers, clients and other stakeholders.
  3. Bribery and Undue Influence
    The company shall prohibit bribery in any form. Bribery is giving or promising to give anything of value directly or indirectly to improperly influence actions of an interested party. The company shall not receive or provide any improper benefits. Entertainment or gifts should be limited to accepted and legally permissible business practices and never with the intent to improperly influence a business decision or create a conflict of interest or the appearance of impropriety.
  4. Health and Safety
    The company shall provide a healthy and safe work environment, minimize exposure to health risks and operate in compliance with applicable worker health and safety laws in each economy.
  5. Environmental
    The company shall conduct their operations in an environmentally responsible manner and in accordance with applicable environmental laws in each economy. It shall try to limit any harm to the environment and protect the quality of life and safety of communities affected by its activities.
  6. Treatment of Workers
    The company shall treat all workers with dignity, respect and fairness and respect the diversity of the workforce in accordance with the applicable laws of each economy.
  7. Community Engagement
    The company shall encourage community engagement to help foster social and economic development and will be sensitive to, and respectful of, local customs practices, and resources.

top of page

III. Implementation

The company is encouraged to develop effective tools and programs, reflecting its size, potential risks and locations of operations, which articulates the values, policies and procedures to be used to enact these principles.

In implementing these principles it is expected that all companies shall practice and promote ethical business conduct. However, smaller companies are not expected to have formal policies and controls that are expected of a larger organization. Smaller companies may implement these principles by informal means. For example, oversight and monitoring may be done in the ordinary course of managing the business
The key components of a program should include the following elements.

  1. Commitment
    The company and its management should be fully committed to developing and implementing a business ethics compliance program. Senior management and/ or owners should be clear in their commitment and, by example, demonstrate their expectation that employees will follow established policies. The company is encouraged to exercise due diligence to prevent and detect inappropriate conduct and effective programs to promote an ethical culture throughout the organization.
  2. Oversight
    The company is encouraged to provide for vigilant oversight of the company’s compliance with the principles.
  3. Policies and Procedures
    The company is encouraged to develop and/or adopt clear, meaningful and useful policies, guidance and tools, as appropriate, which are consistent with the principles and take necessary steps to ensure that policies and procedures are understood.
  4. Training and Communication
    The company is encouraged to provide regular and effective training, communication and education on the APEC Construction and Engineering Sector Principles, and related company policies, and to take necessary steps to ensure that such training and communications are understood.
  5. Monitoring
    The company is encouraged to establish appropriate monitoring and auditing mechanisms, to ensure compliance and take corrective action.
  6. Reporting Mechanisms
    The company is encouraged to create proper reporting mechanisms for employees to raise good faith ethical concerns or questions, without fear.
  7. Business Relationships
    The company is encouraged to communicate its policies consistent with the principles to third parties.
  8. Advocacy and Promotion
    The company is encouraged to promote and advocate its ethical commitments outside of the company.

top of page

APEC economies should encourage construction and engineering companies to adhere to the APEC Voluntary Principles for a Construction and Engineering Sector.

APEC economies are encouraged to work collaboratively to enhance laws and regulations to support ethical practices.

APEC economies are encouraged to implement the APEC Non Binding Principles (NBPs) on Government Procurement, when developing and administering public construction and infrastructure projects as well as the APEC Transparency Standards on Government Procurement Footnote 1

Date modified:

Principes d’Hanoï pour les codes volontaires d’éthique des affaires des secteurs de la construction et du génie


I. Introduction

Mener des activités de façon éthique et intègre, tout au long du cycle de vie d’un projet, est dans le meilleur intérêt des entreprises et des associations des secteurs de la construction et du génie ainsi que des clients et des citoyens des économies de la région de l’Asie-Pacifique. Un tel comportement favorise des résultats de qualité et les entreprises qui ne l’adoptent pas compromettent la réputation et la compétitivité de l’industrie de la construction et du génie. Parallèlement, les concurrents de ces entreprises et les entreprises qui perdent au profit de celles-ci peuvent se frustrer et se dissuader de participer à d’autres projets.

Pour favoriser une industrie de la construction et du génie très intègre à l’échelle de la région, le groupe de travail d’experts de la construction et du génie des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) de l'APEC, en collaboration avec les représentants des 21 membres de l'APEC, a élaboré les Principes d’Hanoï pour les codes volontaires d’éthique des affaires des secteurs de la construction et du génie (Principes d’Hanoï ou Principes de la construction et du génie de l'APEC). Ces principes favorisent un marché juste au moyen de pratiques éthiques, et facilitent un contexte commercial ouvert et transparent, sans corruption ni influence indue, permettant aux entreprises (particulièrement aux PME) d’intégrer les marchés internationaux.

Compte tenu des différentes définitions de PME dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique, ce document vise à orienter les entreprises désirant élaborer volontairement un programme de conformité pratique et efficace afin d’appliquer les principes.

Dans ces principes, le terme « entreprise » désigne l’entreprise ainsi que ses propriétaires.


haut de la page

II.  Principes

  1. Concurrence juste, comportement honnête, activité intègre
    L’entreprise gère son entreprise honnêtement et justement, en tout temps, en respectant toutes les lois de chaque économie, et en n’adoptant aucune pratique anticoncurrentielle, notamment le truquage d’offres ou l’échange malhonnête de renseignements confidentiels. Elle fait affaire avec des clients, des fournisseurs, des partenaires et des sous-traitants avec professionnalisme selon leur compétitivité et leurs capacités. En retour, elle s’attend à ce qu’ils agissent conformément à ces principes. L’entreprise réalise son travail selon les normes reconnues (contractuelles) et respecte les codes et les normes de construction applicables à chaque économie.
  2. Transparence et responsabilité
    La compagnie est transparente dans ses relations d’affaires, notamment en déclarant tout conflit d’intérêts ou transaction connexe entre parties. L’entreprise respecte et protège les droits de propriété intellectuelle des parties intéressées, et conserve, utilise et traite les renseignements commerciaux confidentiels avec le plus grand soin selon les lois applicables. En tout temps, l’entreprise se tient responsable de ses propriétaires, travailleurs, clients et autres intervenants.
  3. C. Corruption et influence indue
    L’entreprise interdit toute forme de corruption. La corruption s’entend de l’offre ou de la promesse d’offrir directement ou indirectement quelque chose de valeur afin d’influencer abusivement les actions d’une partie intéressée. L’entreprise ne reçoit pas ou n’offre pas d’avantages injustifiés. Le divertissement ou les cadeaux doivent se limiter aux pratiques commerciales permises et légales, et ne jamais être offerts dans le but d’influencer abusivement une décision d’affaires, de créer un conflit d’intérêts ou créer une situation inopportune.
  4. Santé et sécurité
    L’entreprise offre un milieu de travail sain et sécuritaire, minimise l’exposition aux risques pour la santé et exerce ses activités conformément aux lois de santé de sécurité de chaque économie.
  5. Environnement
    L’entreprise exerce ses activités de façon écologique et conforme aux lois applicables de chaque économie. Elle doit limiter les dommages causés à l’environnement et protéger la qualité de vie et la sécurité des communautés touchées par ses activités.
  6. Condition de travail
    L’entreprise traite tous ses travailleurs avec dignité, respect et égalité, et respecte la diversité de ses effectifs conformément aux lois applicables de chaque économie.
  7. Engagement communautaire
    L’entreprise encourage l’engagement communautaire afin de contribuer au développement socio-économique, et apprécie et respecte les pratiques et les ressources locales.

haut de la page

III. Mise en œuvre

On incite l’entreprise à élaborer des outils et des programmes efficaces qui tiendront compte de sa taille, des risques potentiels et des lieux de ses activités, et qui traduiront les valeurs, les politiques et les procédures à utiliser pour l’application des présents principes.

Au moment de mettre en œuvre ces principes, on s’attend à ce que toutes les entreprises adoptent et favorisent un comportement commercial éthique. Reconnaissant toutefois que les politiques et les mesures de contrôle des petites entreprises pourraient ne pas être aussi officielles que celles d’une plus grande entreprise, les PME peuvent donc mettre en œuvre des principes de façon officieuse. Par exemple, la surveillance et le suivi peuvent être faits dans le cours normal des activités de gestion de l’entreprise.

Le programme doit être composé des principaux éléments suivants.

  1. Engagement
    L’entreprise et sa direction doivent entièrement s’engager à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre un programme de conformité d’éthique des affaires. L’engagement des cadres ou des propriétaires doit être clair. Ils doivent notamment faire savoir qu’ils s’attendent à ce que leurs employés respectent les politiques établies. On invite l’entreprise à faire preuve de diligence raisonnable pour prévenir et déceler tout comportement inopportun et à implanter des programmes efficaces pour favoriser une culture éthique au sein de l’organisation.
  2. Surveillance
    On incite l’entreprise à surveiller attentivement son respect des principes.
  3. Politiques et procédures
    On encourage l’entreprise à élaborer ou à adopter au besoin des politiques, des conseils et des outils clairs, significatifs et utiles qui rejoindront les présents principes, et à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour que les politiques et les procédures soient comprises.
  4. Formation et communication
    On incite l’entreprise à offrir de la formation et des communications concrètes et régulières sur les Principes de la construction et du génie de l'APEC ainsi que sur les politiques d’entreprise connexes, de même qu’à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour que les politiques et les procédures soient comprises.
  5. Suivi
    On incite l’entreprise à établir des procédures de suivi et de vérification pour assurer la conformité et prendre les mesures correctives nécessaires.
  6. Production de rapports
    On incite l’entreprise à instaurer des procédures adéquates pour la production de rapports afin que les employés puissent soulever toutes questions ou inquiétudes d’ordre éthique, sans crainte.
  7. Relations d’affaires
    On incite l’entreprise à transmettre ses politiques conformes aux principes à des tiers.
  8. Recommandation et promotion
    On incite l’entreprise à promouvoir et à recommander ses engagements éthiques en dehors de l’entreprise.

haut de la page

Pratiques recommandées pour les économies

Les économies de l'APEC doivent inciter les entreprises de construction et de génie à adhérer aux Principes pour les codes volontaires dans les secteurs de la construction et du génie.

On encourage les économies de l'APEC à collaborer pour améliorer les lois et les règlements afin d’appuyer des pratiques éthiques.

On incite les économies de l'APEC à appliquer les principes non contraignants (PNC) de l'APEC sur les marchés publics, lors de l’élaboration et l’administration de projets de construction et d’infrastructure, de même que les normes de transparence de l'APEC sur les marchés publicsNote de bas de page 1

Date de modification :