The Kuala Lumpur Principles Medical Device Sector Codes of Ethics

Medical technology sector Codes of Business Ethics promote ethical interactions between medical device and diagnostics companies (“Companies”) and Healthcare ProfessionalsFootnote 1, (“HCPs”). Ethical interactions enhance patient access to the safe and effective use of medical technologies by ensuring appropriate training of HCPs by Companies. Ethical interactions also promote innovation and the ongoing development of advanced medical technologies through legitimate and transparent collaboration between HCPs and Companies to identify, and bring to market new products. Further, ethical interactions facilitate open and transparent business environments free from the high costs of corruption, enhancing the ability of Companies, especially small and medium size Companies, to participate in global markets.

Ethical interactions ensure that medical decision-making is made in the best interest of the patient. To ensure that relationships meet this standard, interactions between Companies and HCPs should be conducted in accordance with the following principles: Integrity, Independence, Appropriateness, Transparency and Advancement:

  • Integrity means dealing honestly, truthfully, and fairly with all parties.
  • Independence means that HCP interactions with Companies should not skew the HCP’s medical decision making from the best interests of the patient.
  • Appropriateness means that arrangements conform to proper commercial standards, and are accurate and free from corrupt purposes.
  • Transparency means that Companies and HCPs are open regarding significant financial relationships between the parties.
  • Advancement means that relationships are intended to advance medical technology, innovation and patient care.

Accordingly, medical technology industry codes of ethics (“Industry Codes”) should incorporate, but not necessarily be confined to, the following:

  1. Collaborative interactions between Companies and HCPs should preserve independent decision-making by HCPs and public confidence in the integrity of patient care, treatment and product selection.
  2. Consultancy agreements between Companies and HCPs should support research and development to advance medical science, develop new technologies, improve existing products and services, and enhance the quality and efficacy of care for patients. Consultancy agreements should not be used as a means of inappropriate inducementFootnote 2.
  3. Company support of HCPs’ education, for example through support to third-party educational programs and educational grants, should preserve the independence of medical education and should not be used as a means of inappropriate inducement.
  4. Companies may provide training of HCPs on product specific device deployment, use and application to facilitate the safe and effective use of medical technologies by HCPs.
  5. Companies should not provide entertainment and recreation to HCPs as an inappropriate inducement. Any attendance at entertainment events, consenting or agreeing to receive any gift, commission, or gratuity shall not be regarded as appropriate for nurturing appropriate business relationships.
  6. Company donations for charitable or other philanthropic purposes should support bona fide charitable organizations and missions, and should not be a means to privately benefit an HCP.
  7. Free products should not be used as a means of inappropriate inducement. However, Companies may provide reasonable quantities of products to HCPs at no charge for evaluation and demonstration purposes.

To ensure Industry Codes are effective, they should encourage adherence to the following elements that are relevant to a Company’s business:

  1. Companies to appoint a senior executive responsible for oversight of the Company’s compliance with the Industry Code.
  2. Companies to develop or adopt practical, useful, and meaningful policies, guidance, and tools on how to implement policies consistent with the Industry Code.
  3. Companies to provide effective and ongoing training and education on the Industry Code and the Company’s policies consistent with the Industry Code.
  4. Companies’ senior management and governing body, if applicable, commit to support the Industry Code. 2 Inappropriate inducement means a remunerative arrangement intended to inappropriately influence an HCP’s medical decision-and product selection.
  5. Companies to institute appropriate internal monitoring and auditing mechanisms.
  6. Companies to create safe mechanisms for, and encourage, employees who raise concerns. Companies to communicate company policies consistent with the Industry Code to their third party intermediaries with the expectation that the intermediaries will comply with the Industry Code.

In order to promote an ethical commercial environment, cooperation among multiple stakeholders is required. Therefore, it is recommended that APEC economies encourage:

Medical Device Sector

  • Medical device sector industry associations and their member companies to develop and implement Industry Codes consistent with the principles set out above and to consider publicizing those members who have signed onto the Industry Codes, among other steps to encourage adoption of Industry Codes;
  • Medical device sector regulators and/or anti-corruption enforcement authorities to endorse and support Industry Codes;

Healthcare Professionals

  • HCPs, such as medical and academic institutions and physician groups, to develop and implement codes of ethics consistent with the above principles;
  • HCPs to develop and make known clear, distinctive, accountable and comprehensive policies on procurement processes and procedures in line with respective government policies on procurement and Industry Codes, if appropriate;

APEC Economies

Each APEC economy to formulate and promote clear laws and regulations that are objectively applied;

APEC economies to work to advance ethical collaborations consistent with the above principles regionally, through regular communication, joint policies, joint capacity building activities, and other forms of collaboration; and

APEC economies to work together to ensure that the above principles and Industry Codes remain relevant and effective to address new and relevant business arrangements that may emerge.

Background

At the 14th Economic Leaders’ meeting held in Hanoi in 2006, APEC Leaders reaffirmed their high commitment to fight corruption. In 2006 APEC Ministers stressed the importance of preventive measures and integrity systems in the fight against corruption and urged member economies to adopt and implement codes or norms of conduct. In 2007 APEC Leaders endorsed anti-corruption principles for the public and private sectors, including an APEC Code of Conduct for Business.

In 2010 SME Ministers issued a joint statement which called for “facilitating open and transparent business environments free from the high costs of corruption by the development of APEC codes of business ethics in sectors of export interest to APEC economies, beginning with the medical device sector.” And APEC Ministers “… welcomed steps taken to improve … understanding of the ethical business practices needed to sustain participation in international trade, and look forward to the development of codes to improve and better align industry practices across APEC economies.”

Following this, an Expert Working Group convened in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, on April 6-7, 2011, to develop a set of APEC Principles for Codes of Business Ethics to Ensure Ethical Interactions Between Medical Technology Companies, drawing upon existing best practices and voluntary codes of business ethics in APEC economies.

Date modified:

Principes de Kuala Lumpur Codes d’éthique du secteur des dispositifs médicaux

Les codes d’éthique professionnels du secteur des technologies médicales favorisent les interactions éthiques entre les entreprises de dispositifs médicaux et de diagnostics (ci-après les « entreprises ») et les professionnels de la santé (PS)Note de bas de page 1. Les interactions éthiques permettent aux patients d’avoir accès à des technologies médicales sécuritaires et efficaces en obligeant les PS à suivre une formation adéquate donnée par les entreprises. De plus, elles encouragent l’innovation et le développement continu de technologies médicales de pointe par l’entremise d’une collaboration légitime et transparente entre les PS et les entreprises dans le but de définir et de mettre sur le marché les nouveaux produits. Enfin, les interactions éthiques favorisent la création d’un contexte commercial ouvert et transparent, exempt des coûts élevés de la corruption, qui aide les entreprises, surtout celles de petite et moyenne taille, à participer aux marchés mondiaux.

Les interactions éthiques permettent de s’assurer que la prise de décisions dans le domaine médical est axée sur l’intérêt du patient. Pour que l’on puisse s’assurer que les relations respectent cette idée, les interactions entre les entreprises et les PS devront être exécutées conformément aux principes suivants : Intégrité, Indépendance, Conformité, Transparence et Progrès.

  • Intégrité signifie agir de façon honnête, sincère et équitable avec toutes les parties.
  • Indépendance signifie que les interactions entre les PS et les entreprises n’inciteront pas les PS à prendre des décisions qui ne sont pas axées sur l’intérêt du patient.
  • Adéquation signifie que les arrangements respecteront les normes commerciales, seront justes et ne seront pas corrompus.
  • Transparence signifie que les entreprises et les PS feront preuve d’ouverture à l’égard des rapports financiers importants qu’entretiennent les parties.
  • Progrès signifie que les relations auront pour but de faire progresser la technologie médicale, l’innovation et les soins aux patients.

Les codes d’éthique du secteur des technologies médicales (ci-après les « codes du secteur ») devront donc comprendre notamment les points qui suivent :

  1. La collaboration entre les entreprises et les PS doit préserver la capacité des PS à prendre des décisions de façon indépendante, et maintenir la confiance du public quant à l’intégrité des soins aux patients, des traitements et de la sélection des produits.
  2. Les ententes de consultation conclues entre les entreprises et les PS doivent appuyer la recherche et le développement afin de faire progresser la médecine, de mettre au point de nouvelles technologies, d’améliorer les produits et services actuels et d’accroître la qualité et l’efficacité des soins aux patients. Les ententes de consultation ne doivent pas être employées à titre de mesure incitative inopportuneNote de bas de page 2.
  3. Le soutien des entreprises à la formation des PS (par exemple, par leur appui aux programmes de formation et aux subventions de tiers) doit préserver l’indépendance de la formation médicale et ne pas être employé à titre de mesure incitative inopportune.
  4. Les entreprises peuvent offrir de la formation aux PS pour leur montrer comment mettre en œuvre, utiliser et appliquer un dispositif particulier afin d’en faciliter l’utilisation sécuritaire et efficace.
  5. Les entreprises ne doivent pas offrir de divertissement ou de loisir aux PS à titre de mesure incitative inopportune. Il ne convient pas de participer à des activités de divertissement ou d’accepter des cadeaux, une commission ou un pourboire afin de maintenir des relations commerciales convenables.
  6. Les dons remis par les entreprises à des fins caritatives ou philanthropiques doivent appuyer de véritables missions et organisations de charité, et ne pas profiter qu’à un PS.
  7. Les produits gratuits ne doivent pas servir de mesure incitative inopportune. Les entreprises peuvent toutefois remettre gratuitement des quantités de produits raisonnables aux PS, à des fins d’évaluation et de démonstration.

Pour être efficaces, les codes du secteur doivent favoriser le respect des points suivants, tous pertinents dans le cadre des affaires d’une entreprise :

  1. Les entreprises nommeront un cadre supérieur responsable de la surveiller la conformité de l’entreprise aux codes du secteur.
  2. Les entreprises élaboreront ou adopteront des politiques, lignes directrices et outils pratiques et utiles afin de mettre en œuvre des politiques conformes aux codes du secteur.
  3. Les entreprises offriront de la formation continue efficace sur les codes du secteur ainsi que sur les politiques de l’entreprise qui s’y conforme.
  4. La direction et le corps administratif des entreprises (le cas échéant) s’engagent à appuyer les codes du secteur.
  5. Les entreprises devront mettre en œuvre des mécanismes internes de surveillance et de vérification convenables.
  6. Les entreprises créeront des mécanismes sécuritaires pour encourager les employés à faire part de leurs préoccupations. Elles informeront leurs tiers intermédiaires de leurs politiques qui respectent les codes du secteur, et s’attendront à ce que ces derniers les respectent.

Comme la coopération entre les intervenants est essentielle à la promotion d’un contexte commercial éthique, les membres de l'APEC doivent encourager les groupes suivants à faire ce qui suit :

Secteur des dispositifs médicaux

  • Les associations du secteur des dispositifs médicaux et leurs entreprises membres doivent élaborer et mettre en œuvre des codes du secteur conformes aux principes susmentionnés, et penser à rendre public le nom de leurs membres qui ont signé ces codes afin d’en encourager l’adoption.
  • Les organismes de réglementation du secteur des dispositifs médicaux ou les autorités de lutte contre la corruption doivent appuyer les codes du secteur.

Professionnels de la santé

  • Les PS (comme les établissements médicaux et d’enseignement, de même que les associations de médecins) doivent élaborer et mettre en œuvre des codes d’éthique conformes aux principes mentionnés précédemment.
  • Les PS doivent élaborer et faire connaître des politiques claires, distinctives, responsables et complètes sur les processus et procédures d’approvisionnement, conformes aux politiques gouvernementales sur l’approvisionnement et aux codes du secteur, le cas échéant.

Économies de l'APEC

  • Chaque économie de l'APEC doit formuler et promouvoir des lois et règlements clairs appliqués de façon objective.
  • Les économies de l'APEC doivent favoriser des collaborations régionales éthiques respectant les principes énoncés précédemment, au moyen de communications régulières, de politiques conjointes, d’activités communes de renforcement des capacités et de toute autre forme de collaboration.
  • Les économies de l'APEC doivent collaborer afin que les principes énoncés précédemment et les codes du secteur restent pertinents et permettent de traiter les nouveaux arrangements commerciaux possibles.

Contexte

Au cours du 14e sommet de l'APEC tenu à Hanoï en 2006, les dirigeants de l'APEC ont réaffirmé leur engagement à lutter contre la corruption. En 2006, les ministres de l'APEC ont souligné l’importance des mesures de prévention et des systèmes d’intégrité dans cette lutte, et insisté pour que les membres adoptent et appliquent des codes ou des normes de déontologie. En 2007, les dirigeants de l'APEC ont appuyé les principes de lutte contre la corruption des secteurs public et privé ainsi que le code de déontologie professionnelle de l'APEC.

En 2010, les ministres responsables des PME ont diffusé un exposé conjoint demandant de favoriser la création d’un contexte commercial ouvert, transparent et exempt des coûts élevés de la corruption, par l’élaboration de codes d’éthique professionnels au sein des secteurs d’exportation d’intérêt aux économies de l'APEC, en commençant par le secteur des dispositifs médicaux. Les ministres de l'APEC ont salué les efforts déployés pour mieux faire comprendre les pratiques commerciales éthiques nécessaires au maintien de la participation au commerce international. Ils ont également affirmé attendre avec impatience l’élaboration de codes visant à améliorer et à harmoniser les pratiques des industries des économies de l'APEC.

Les 6 et 7 avril 2011, un groupe d’experts s’est réuni à Kuala Lumpur, en Malaisie, afin d’élaborer une série de principes de l'APEC destinés aux codes d’éthique professionnels visant à assurer des interactions éthiques entre les entreprises de technologies médicales. Pour ce faire, le groupe s’est inspiré de pratiques exemplaires et de codes d’éthique professionnels volontaires déjà en places au sein des économies de l'APEC.

Date de modification :