Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy (SIBS)

The 2009 Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy (SIBS) is a joint project by Industry Canada, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada and Statistics Canada. It was initiated in 2007–2008 to better understand the market and policy factors that encourage or discourage the adoption of entrepreneurial and innovation-oriented business strategies. Various experts from the Center for Interuniversity Research and Analysis on Organizations, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto, Stanford University and the University of Wisconsin–Madison provided valuable advice during the development of this pilot project.

Between January and April 2010, a sample of 6233 enterprises in Canada with more than 20 employees and spanning 67 industries were surveyed. Questionnaires, which integrated various innovative features from other business surveys around the world, were sent to the CEOs or senior managers of these enterprises. The survey response rate was 70 percent.

SIBS provides detailed information about various business strategies and practices that determine business innovation, such as an enterprise's strategic orientation, its management practices, its use of advanced technology, and its marketplace and competitive environment. The survey also provides detailed information about global value chain management practices and activities in Canada, such as which activities businesses relocate to other countries and which ones they outsource to external suppliers.

These new data will help the government to develop policies that ensure Canada's future economic competitiveness and prosperity.



For more information on the survey concepts, methods or data quality please contact Statistics Canada's National Contact Centre (toll free 1-800-263-1136, 613-951-8116 or Statistics Canada's National Contact Centre).

For more information about policy analysis related to business strategies and innovation, please contact Pierre Therrien (613-957-3404 or Pierre Therrien), Industry Canada.

Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise (EISE)

L'Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise de 2009 est un projet mené conjointement par Industrie Canada, Affaires étrangères et Commerce international et Statistique Canada. Lancée en 2007-2008, l'enquête vise à mieux comprendre les facteurs commerciaux et stratégiques qui encouragent ou découragent l'adoption de stratégies d'entreprise axées sur l'entrepreneuriat et l'innovation. Divers experts du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en analyse des organisations, du Massachusetts Institute of Technology, de la Rotman School of Management de l'Université de Toronto, de l'Université Stanford et de l'Université de Wisconsin-Madison ont prodigué de précieux conseils lors de l'élaboration de ce projet pilote.

Entre janvier et avril 2010, 6 233 entreprises comptant au moins 20 employés et réparties dans 67 industries au Canada ont été interrogées. Des questionnaires, qui comprenaient plusieurs caractéristiques novatrices inspirées d'autres enquêtes de ce genre tenues ailleurs dans le monde, ont été envoyés aux présidents-directeurs généraux ou cadres supérieurs de ces entreprises. Le taux de réponse à cette enquête est de 70 p. 100.

L'Enquête contient des renseignements détaillés sur diverses stratégies et pratiques qui déterminent l'innovation au sein des entreprises, par exemple l'orientation stratégique de l'entreprise, ses pratiques de gestion, son utilisation des technologies de pointe ainsi que son marché et la concurrence qui l'entoure. On y expose également des renseignements détaillés sur les pratiques et les activités de gestion de la chaîne de valeur mondiale au Canada, par exemple les activités que les entreprises décident de déplacer dans d'autres pays et les activités qu'elles décident de sous-traiter à des fournisseurs étrangers.

Ces nouvelles données aideront le gouvernement à élaborer des politiques qui favoriseront la compétitivité économique et la prospérité future du Canada.



Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les concepts, les méthodes ou la qualité des données utilisés dans le sondage, communiquez avec le Centre de contact national de Statistique Canada (sans frais 1-800-263-1136, 613-951-8116 or Centre de contact national de Statistique Canada).

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l'analyse des politiques relatives à l'innovation et aux stratégies d'entreprise, communiquez avec Pierre Therrien (613-957-3404 ou Pierre Therrien), Industrie Canada.