Archived — Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy (SIBS) 2009

Highlights of the Survey

Business strategies

The main strategic focus of enterprises in Canada is oriented toward exploiting existing products or current activities rather than developing new ones.

Figure 1 shows that more than 3 out of 4 (77.1%) enterprises in Canada focus on maintaining or expanding the sales of existing goods or services. Nearly 1 out of 5 (18.8%) enterprises reported that they focus on introducing new or significantly improved goods or services.

Figure 1: Percentage of Enterprises with a Strategic Focus on Existing Products or Activities – All Enterprises, Canada, 2009

Graph of Percentage of Enterprises with a Strategic Focus on Existing Products or Activities – All Enterprises, Canada, 2009 (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 1
Percentage of Enterprises with a Strategic Focus on Existing Products or Activities — All Enterprises, Canada, 2009
Type of activity All Industries Manufacturing All Except Manufacturing
Goods or Services 77.1 60.2 80.9
Marketing Practices or Methods 54.6 54.3 54.6
Operational and Business Activities 58.5 51.7 60.0
Organizational and Management Practices 59.9 56.2 60.7
Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009

Overall, 78.6% of all enterprises reported that product positioning is more important than low-price or cost leadership (21.4%). The majority of enterprises seek to maintain, intensify or optimize their current business activities, whether it be in relation to marketing, operational or other organizational activities. The survey also reveals that enterprises in the manufacturing sector are slightly more focussed on introducing new products, practices or activities compared to businesses in other sectors of the Canadian economy.

top of page

Innovation

Enterprises in Canada reported strong complementarities between innovation and other activities.

Over the 2007–2009 period, 2 out of 3 (66.8%) enterprises in Canada reported having introduced some kind of innovation. Specifically,

  • 18.1% of all enterprises introduced new or significantly improved good and 24.5% a new or significantly improved service (product innovation);
  • 12.0% introduced a new or significantly improved logistics, delivery or distribution method for their inputs, goods or services (process innovation);
  • 23.5% introduced a new business practice for organizing procedures (organizational innovation);
  • 23.9% introduced a new medium or technique for goods or services promotion (marketing innovation).

Figure 2 shows that a significant percentage of enterprises that undertook process or product innovations implemented changes to a range of business activities. In particular, 59.5% of all product innovators reported implementing changes to their marketing activities, 67.7% to their operational activities and 50.3% to their organizational activities.

Figure 2: Percentage of Enterprises for which Process and Product Innovations Require Changes to Business Activities – All Process or Product Innovative Enterprises, Canada, 2007–2009

Graph of Percentage of Enterprises for which Process and Product Innovations Require Changes to Business Activities – All Process or Product Innovative Enterprises, Canada, 2007–2009 (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 2
Percentage of Enterprises for which Process and Product Innovations Require Changes to Business Activities – All Process or Product Innovative Enterprises, Canada, 2007–2009
Activity Product Innovation Process Innovation
Marketing Activities 59.5 27.2
Operational Activities 67.7 80
Organizational Activities 50.3 55
Process Innovation 49.9  
Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009

top of page

Obstacles to Innovation

Uncertainty and risk is the most important obstacle to innovation for enterprises in Canada.

Findings also suggest that the relative importance of some longstanding obstacles to innovation might have been overstated. In 2009, the three most important obstacles reported were uncertainty and risk, lack of skills and internal financing (Figure 3). More than one third (36.6%) of all enterprises in Canada reported that uncertainty and risk is an obstacle to innovation, while only 4.5% reported that intellectual property protection was an impediment.

Figure 3: Percentage of Enterprises Reporting Obstacles to Innovation – All Enterprises, Canada, 2009

Graph of Percentage of Enterprises Reporting Obstacles to Innovation – All Enterprises, Canada, 2009 (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 3
Percentage of Enterprises Reporting Obstacles to Innovation – All Enterprises, Canada, 2009
Obstacle All Industries Manufacturing All Except Manufacturing
Uncertainty and risk 36.6 47.2 34.3
Lack of skill 26.0 27.6 25.6
Internal financing 22.8 35.1 20.0
Market size 17.2 25.5 15.3
External financing 16.2 24.9 14.2
Regulatory issues 15.9 17.7 15.5
External collaborators 11.0 9.8 11.2
IP protection 4.5 8.0 3.6
Gov't comp. policy 3.9 5.3 3.6
Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009

External financing (16.2%) and regulatory issues (15.9%) are obstacles to innovation for less than 1 in 5 businesses in Canada. Except for the issue of finding external collaborators, a greater proportion of enterprises in the manufacturing sector reported facing obstacles to innovation relative to other sectors of the Canadian economy.

top of page

Performance Management Practices

Large manufacturing enterprises in Canada monitor an extensive array of performance metrics more frequently than their smaller counterparts. They are also more likely to have systematic processes and procedures in place to resolve problems associated with the production of goods or the delivery of services.

Large manufacturing enterprises with 250 employees or more monitored, on average, 18.5 production performance indicators. Figure 4 shows that this extensive array of performance indicators are shown to the managers of operations in large manufacturing enterprises more often than in small ones for all frequencies considered.

Figure 4: Percentage of Enterprises Reporting the Frequency at which Production Performance Indicators are Shown to Managers of Operations – Manufacturing Enterprises Monitoring Production Performance Indicators, Canada, 2009

Graph of Percentage of Enterprises Reporting the Frequency at which Production Performance Indicators are Shown to Managers of Operations – Manufacturing Enterprises Monitoring Production Performance Indicators, Canada, 2009 (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 4
Percentage of Enterprises Reporting the Frequency at which Production Performance Indicators are Shown to Managers of Operations – Manufacturing Enterprises Monitoring Production Performance Indicators, Canada, 2009
Production Performance Indicator Large Small
Quarterly 31.0 20.9
Monthly 75.4 50.2
Weekly 56.5 39.7
Daily 49.2 31.7
Hourly or more frequently 11.9 3.3
Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009

In addition, more than 4 out of 5 large (86.2%) enterprises in the Canadian manufacturing sector reported having a systematic process or procedure to resolve problems associated with the production of goods or delivery of services. By contrast, 64.7% of small enterprises reported having implemented such a process.

top of page

Advanced Technology

Most enterprises in Canada that use advanced technologies are off-the-shelf adopters.

In 2009, 83.4% of all enterprises that used advanced technologies reported having acquired an advanced technology by purchasing it off-the-shelf. In comparison, about 1 out of 4 of these enterprises reported to have customized an advanced technology (23%) or to have developed it (16.3%).

Figure 5 shows that enterprises in the manufacturing sector were more likely to use various advanced information and communication technologies, such as advanced computerized technologies, advanced automated technologies and advanced information integration and control technologies. The only notable exception is advanced communication technologies, which are used by a higher percentage of enterprises outside the manufacturing sector (29% vs 23.7%).

Figure 5: Percentage of Enterprises Using Advanced Information and Communications Technologies – All Enterprises, Canada, 2009

Graph of Percentage of Enterprises Using Advanced Information and Communications Technologies – All Enterprises, Canada, 2009 (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 5
Percentage of Enterprises Using Advanced Information and Communications Technologies – All Enterprises, Canada, 2009
Percentage All Industries Manufacturing All Except Manufacturing
Information integration and control 13.5 19.7 12.0
Automated material handling 7.0 15.7 5.0
Communication 28.0 23.7 29.0
Computerized inspection 8.1 14.8 6.6
Computerized processing, fabrication, and assembly 15.9 36.1 11.3
Computerized design and engineering 22.2 42.2 17.7
Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009

top of page

Global Value Chain Management

International markets are important for enterprises in Canada with nearly 1 in 4 enterprises, and 1 out of 2 in the manufacturing sector, having some business activities outside of Canada.

Between 2007 and 2009, 24.7% of all enterprises reported having business activities outside of Canada. The share was higher for manufacturers, with 47.5% having business activities outside of Canada.

However, of those enterprises with activities abroad, only 7.8% relocated business activities from Canada to another country in the past three years, and only 16.8% outsourced business activities from Canada to another country between 2007 and 2009.

Figure 6: Percentage of Enterprises with Activities Outside Canada, having Relocated or Outsourced Activities Outside Canada — All Enterprises with Activities Outside Canada, 2007–2009

Graph of Percentage of Enterprises with Activities Outside Canada, having Relocated or Outsourced Activities Outside Canada — All Enterprises with Activities Outside Canada, 2007–2009 (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 6
Percentage of Enterprises with Activities Outside Canada, having Relocated or Outsourced Activities Outside Canada — All Enterprises with Activities Outside Canada, 2007–2009
Percentage All Industries Manufacturing All Except Manufacturing
Relocated Activities outside Canada 7.8 11.0 6.1
Outsourced activities outside Canada 16.8 21.2 14.3
Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009

top of page

Barriers to Entering Global Value Chains

For manufacturers in Canada, distance to producers and trade tariffs are the largest obstacles to sourcing business activities abroad.

Of those manufacturing enterprises that moved business activities abroad between 2007 and 2009, 35.5% reported distance to producers as an obstacle of high importance to relocating or outsourcing their business activities abroad (Figure 7). Trade tariffs was reported as the second highest obstacle with 30.2% of enterprises reporting it as being of high importance.

Other obstacles were found to be relatively less important. Only 1.7% of manufacturing enterprises that had relocated or outsourced abroad reported corporate social responsibility issues as a highly important obstacle and only 5.8% listed violation of patents or intellectual property rights as an obstacle of high importance.

Figure 7: Percentage of Manufacturing Enterprises Indicating that the Degree of Importance of the Obstacles to Relocation or Outsourcing they Faced was High — Manufacturing EnterprisesFootnote 1, Canada. 2007–2009

Graph of Percentage of Manufacturing Enterprises Indicating that the Degree of Importance of the Obstacles to Relocation or Outsourcing they Faced was High — Manufacturing Enterprises, Canada. 2007–2009 (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 7
Percentage of Manufacturing Enterprises Indicating that the Degree of Importance of the Obstacles to Relocation or Outsourcing they Faced was High — Manufacturing Enterprises, Canada. 2007–2009
Degree of Importance of the Obstacle All Industries
Distance to Producers 35.5
Trade tariffs 30.2
Identifying potential suppliers 25.8
Lack of financing 24.4
Foreign legal or admin. 20.0
Canadian legal or admin. 19.8
Linguistic or cultural 17.4
Lack of management expertise 16.1
Uncertainty of international standards 14.2
Distance to customers 13.5
Taxation 13.1
Concerns of employees 13.1
IP issues 5.8
Corporate social responsibility issues 1.7
Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009

top of page

Competition and the Marketplace

Enterprises in Canada reported strong competition in their main market, but when faced with entry by a new competitor less than half introduce either a new product or speed up the introduction of one.

The findings show that the main market for most enterprises in Canada is mostly domestic, not global. In 2009, 90.8% of the sales of all enterprises' main products occurred in Canada, while 6.6% came from the U.S. market and 2.6% from the rest of the world. For manufacturing enterprises the international market is more important with more than one quarter of sales occurring abroad.

Despite, this focus on Canadian markets, competition intensity appears relatively strong. For example, 78.2% of enterprises in Canada reported facing at least four competitors in their main market in 2009, while 65.7% reported more than five. Furthermore, almost one third (32.4%) of all enterprises in Canada reported that at least one competitor entered their main market in 2009.

Figure 8 shows that the vast majority of businesses in Canada react to competitive entry by changing the price of their main product (69.5%), while 40.1% reported introducing a new product, and 18.1% reported speeding up the introduction of a new product.

Figure 8: Percentage of Enterprises Indicating their Reaction to the Entry of New Competitors in their Main Market — All Enterprises Facing New Competitors, Canada, 2009

Graph of Percentage of Enterprises Indicating their Reaction to the Entry of New Competitors in their Main Market — All Enterprises Facing New Competitors, Canada, 2009 (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 8
Percentage of Enterprises Indicating their Reaction to the Entry of New Competitors in their Main Market — All Enterprises Facing New Competitors, Canada, 2009
Issue All Industries Manufacturing All Except Manufacturing
Change product price 69.5 64.8 70.5
Introduce new product 40.1 37.4 40.7
Change product quality 37.7 35.7 38.2
Change marketing expenditures 33.3 38.6 32.2
No action 20.5 15.5 21.6
Speed up new product introduction 18.1 28.6 15.8
Other action 19.0 9.9 21.0
Adopt new process 17.6 39.2 13.0
Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009

Supporting tables

Date modified:

Enquète sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise (EISE) 2009

Points saillants de l'enquête

Stratégies d'entreprise

Le principal objectif stratégique des entreprises au Canada est l'exploitation de produits existants ou d'activités actuelles plutôt que le développement de nouveaux produits ou activités.

La Figure 1 montre que plus de trois entreprises sur quatre (77,1 %) au Canada cherchent avant tout à maintenir ou accroître leurs ventes de produits ou de services existants. Presque une entreprise sur cinq (18,8 %) indique s'attacher à mettre au point des produits ou services nouveaux ou significativement améliorés.

Figure 1 : Pourcentage d'entreprises dont l'objectif est l'exploitation d'activités ou de produits existants – Toutes les entreprises, Canada, 2009

Graphique du pourcentage d'entreprises dont l'objectif est l'exploitation d'activités ou de produits existants – Toutes les entreprises, Canada, 2009 (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)
Description de la figure 1
Pourcentage d'entreprises dont l'objectif est l'exploitation d'activités ou de produits existants – Toutes les entreprises, Canada, 2009
Type d'activité Toutes les industries Fabrication Toutes les industries sauf la fabrication
Produits ou services 77,1 60,2 80,9
Pratiques ou méthodes de marketing 54,6 54,3 54,6
Activités opérationnelles et commerciales 58,5 51,7 60,0
Pratiques organisationnelles et de gestion 59,9 56,2 60,7
Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009

Dans l'ensemble, 78,6 % des entreprises affirment que le positionnement de produit est plus important que les bas prix ou la domination du marché par les coûts (21,4 %). La majorité des entreprises cherchent à maintenir, intensifier ou optimiser leurs activités commerciales actuelles, en ce qui concerne le marketing, les opérations ou d'autres activités organisationnelles. L'enquête révèle également que les entreprises de fabrication introduisent légèrement plus de pratiques, activités ou produits nouveaux que les entreprises des autres industries de l'économie canadienne.

haut de la page

Innovation

Les entreprises du Canada indiquent de fortes complémentarités entre l'innovation et les autres activités.

Over the 2007–2009 period, 2 out of 3 (66.8%) enterprises in Canada reported having introduced some kind of innovation. Specifically,

Au cours de la période de 2007 à 2009, deux entreprises sur trois (66,8 %) du Canada ont déclaré avoir introduits de une ou plusieurs innovations. En particulier,

  • 18,1 % des entreprises ont introduit des produits nouveaux ou significativement améliorés et 24,5 % des services nouveaux ou significativement améliorés (innovation de produit);
  • 12,0 % ont mis en œuvre des méthodes de logistique, de livraison ou de distribution nouvelles ou significativement améliorées pour leurs intrants, biens ou services (innovation de procédé);
  • 23,5 % ont adopté de nouvelles pratiques opérationnelles pour l'organisation des procédures (innovation organisationnelle);
  • 23,9 % ont introduit de nouveaux médias ou de nouvelles techniques publicitaires pour faire la promotion de biens ou services (innovation en marketing).

La Figure 2 indique qu'un pourcentage important d'entreprises qui ont mis en œuvre des innovations de procédé ou de produit ont aussi apporté des changements à diverses activités commerciales. En particulier, 59,5 % des entreprises qui ont mis en œuvre des innovations de produit ont déclaré avoir apporté des changements à leurs activités de marketing, 67,7 %, à leurs activités opérationnelles, et 50,3 %, à leurs activités organisationnelles.

Figure 2 : Pourcentage des entreprises dont la mise en œuvre d'innovation de procédé et de produit exige des changements aux activités commerciales – Toutes les entreprises de fabrication ayant introduit des innovations de produit ou de procédé, Canada, 2007-2009

Graphique du pourcentage des entreprises dont la mise en œuvre d'innovation de procédé et de produit exige des changements aux activités commerciales – Toutes les entreprises de fabrication ayant introduit des innovations de produit ou de procédé, Canada, 2007-2009 (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)
Description de la figure 2
Pourcentage d'entreprises dont la mise en œuvre d'innovations de procédés et de produit exige des changements aux activités commerciales.
Toutes les entreprises, Canada 2007-2009
Activité Innovation de produits Innovation de procédés
Activités de marketing 59,5 27,2
Activités opérationnelles 67,7 80
Activités organisationnelles 50,3 55
Innovation de procédés 49,9  
Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009

haut de la page

Obstacles à l'innovation

L'incertitude et le risque sont les obstacles les plus importants à l'innovation des entreprises au Canada.

Les constatations font en outre penser que l'importance relative de certains obstacles de longue date à l'innovation a peut-être été exagérée. En 2009, les trois plus importants obstacles indiqués étaient l'incertitude et le risque, le manque de compétences et le financement interne (Figure 3). Plus du tiers (36,6 %) de toutes les entreprises au Canada ont affirmé que l'incertitude et le risque font obstacle à l'innovation, alors que pour seulement 4,5 %, c'est la protection de la propriété intellectuelle.

Figure 3 : Pourcentage des entreprises indiquant des obstacles à l'innovation – Toutes les entreprises, Canada, 2009

Graphique du pourcentage des entreprises indiquant des obstacles à l'innovation – Toutes les entreprises, Canada, 2009 (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)
Description de la figure 3
Pourcentage d'entreprises indiquant des obstacles à l'innovation
Toutes les enterprises, Canada 2009
Obstacle Toutes les Industries Fabrication Toutes les industries sauf la fabrication
Incertitude et risque 36,6 47,2 34,3
Manque de compétences 26,0 27,6 25,6
Financement interne 22,8 35,1 20,0
Taille du marché 17,2 25,5 15,3
Financement externe 16,2 24,9 14,2
Questions de réglementation 15,9 17,7 15,5
Collaborateurs externes 11,0 9,8 11,2
Protection de la PI 4,5 8,0 3,6
Politique sur la concurrence du gouvernement 3,9 5,3 3,6
Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009

Le financement externe (16,2 %) et les questions de réglementation (15,9 %) font obstacle à l'innovation pour moins de une entreprise sur cinq au Canada. À l'exception de la recherche d'ententes avec des collaborateurs externes, une plus grande proportion d'entreprises de fabrication indique rencontrer des obstacles à l'innovation par comparaison avec les autres secteurs de l'économie canadienne.

haut de la page

Performance Management Practices

Les grandes entreprises de fabrication du Canada surveillent une gamme étendue de mesures du rendement plus fréquemment que les petites entreprises. Elles sont en outre plus susceptibles d'appliquer un processus et des procédures systématiques pour régler les problèmes associés à la production de biens ou à la fourniture de services.

En moyenne, les grandes entreprises de fabrication comptant 250 employés ou plus ont surveillé 18,5 indicateurs de rendement de la production. La Figure 4 montre que cette gamme étendue d'indicateurs de rendement est communiquée plus souvent aux gestionnaires des opérations des grandes entreprises de fabrication qu'à ceux des petites entreprises, peu importe à quelle fréquence.

Figure 4 : Pourcentage des entreprises indiquant la fréquence à laquelle les indicateurs de rendement de la production sont communiqués aux gestionnaires des opérations – Entreprises de fabrication surveillant des indicateurs de rendement de la production, Canada, 2009

Graphique du pourcentage des entreprises indiquant la fréquence à laquelle les indicateurs de rendement de la production sont communiqués aux gestionnaires des opérations – Entreprises de fabrication surveillant des indicateurs de rendement de la production, Canada, 2009 (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)
Description de la figure 4
Pourcentage des entreprises indiquant la fréquence à laquelle les indicateurs de rendement de la production sont communiqués aux gestionnaires des opérations – Entreprises de fabrication surveillant des indicateurs de rendement de la production, Canada, 2009
Indicateur de rendement Grandes Petites
Trimestrielle 31,0 20,9
Mensuelle 75,4 50,2
Hebdomadaire 56,5 39,7
Quotidienne 49,2 31,7
Chaque heure ou plus souvent 11,9 3,3
Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009

Enfin, plus de quatre grandes entreprises de fabrication au Canada sur cinq (86,2 %) déclarent appliquer un processus ou une procédure systématique pour régler les problèmes associés à la production de biens ou à la fourniture de services. À l'inverse, 64,7 % des petites entreprises indiquent avoir mis en œuvre un tel processus.

haut de la page

Technologies de pointe

La plupart des entreprises du Canada qui utilisent des technologies de pointe les adoptent quand elles sont disponibles dans le commerce.

En 2009, 83,4 % des entreprises qui ont utilisé des technologies de pointe ont déclaré les avoir acquises quand elles étaient disponibles dans le commerce. Par comparaison, environ une de ces entreprises sur quatre indique avoir personnalisé une technologie de pointe (23 %) ou en avoir mis au point une (16,3 %).

La Figure 5 montre que les entreprises de fabrication étaient les plus susceptibles d'utiliser diverses technologies de l'information et des communications de pointe telles que les technologies de pointe en matière de conception informatique, les technologies de pointe de manutention automatisée et les technologies d'intégration et de contrôle de l'information de pointe. La seule exception notable consiste en les technologies de communication de pointe, utilisées par un pourcentage plus élevé d'entreprises n'appartenant pas au secteur de la fabrication (29 % contre 23,7 %).

Figure 5 : Pourcentage d'entreprises utilisant des technologies de l'information et des communications de pointe – Toutes les entreprises, Canada, 2009

Graphique du pourcentage d'entreprises utilisant des technologies de l'information et des communications de pointe – Toutes les entreprises, Canada, 2009 (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)
Description de la figure 5
Pourcentage d'entreprises utilisant des technologies de l'information et des communications de pointe – Toutes les entreprises, Canada, 2009
Pourcentage Toutes les industries Fabrication Toutes sauf la fabrication
Intégration et contrôle de l’information 13,5 19,7 12,0
Manutention de matériel automatisée 7,0 15,7 5,0
Communication 28,0 23,7 29,0
Inspection informatisée 8,1 14,8 6,6
Traitement, fabrication et assemblage informatisée 15,9 36,1 11,3
Conception informatique et technique de pointe 22,2 42,2 17,7
Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009

haut de la page

Gestion de la chaîne de valeur mondiale

Les marchés internationaux sont importants pour les entreprises du Canada puisque près de une entreprise sur quatre, une sur deux dans le secteur de la fabrication, mènent des activités commerciales à l'extérieur du Canada.

Entre 2007 et 2009, 24,7 % des entreprises ont déclaré mener des activités commerciales à l'extérieur du Canada. Le pourcentage était plus élevé pour les fabricants, soit 47,5 %.

Toutefois, de ces entreprises menant des activités à l'étranger, seulement 7,8 % ont déplacé des activités commerciales du Canada vers un autre pays au cours des trois dernières années, et seulement 16,8 % ont procédé à l'impartition d'activités commerciales du Canada vers un autre pays entre 2007 et 2009.

Figure 6 : Pourcentage des entreprises menant des activités à l'extérieur du Canada, ayant procédé au déplacement ou à l'impartition d'activités à l'extérieur du Canada – Toutes les entreprises menant des activités à l'extérieur du Canada, 2007-2009

Graphique du pourcentage des entreprises menant des activités à l'extérieur du Canada, ayant procédé au déplacement ou à l'impartition d'activités à l'extérieur du Canada – Toutes les entreprises menant des activités à l'extérieur du Canada, 2007-2009 (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)
Description de la figure 6
Pourcentage des entreprises menant des activités à l'extérieur du Canada, ayant procédé au déplacement ou à l'impartition d'activités à l'extérieur du Canada – Toutes les entreprises menant des activités à l'extérieur du Canada, 2007-2009
Pourcentage Toutes les industries Fabrication Toutes les industries sauf la fabrication
Déplacer des activités à l'extérieur du Canada 7,8 11,0 6,1
Procéder à l'impartition d'activités à l'extérieur du Canada 16,8 21,2 14,3
Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009

haut de la page

Obstacles à l'intégration à des chaînes de valeur mondiales

Pour les fabricants du Canada, la distance jusqu'aux producteurs et les tarifs commerciaux constituent les plus gros obstacles à l'impartition d'activités commerciales vers l'étranger.

Parmi les entreprises de fabrication qui ont déplacé des activités commerciales à l'étranger entre 2007 et 2009, 35,5 % ont indiqué la distance jusqu'aux producteurs comme obstacle d'importance élevée au déplacement ou à l'impartition de leurs activités commerciales vers l'étranger (Figure 7). Les tarifs commerciaux ont été signalés comme le deuxième plus gros obstacle, 30,2 % des entreprises déclarant que le degré d'importance de cet obstacle est élevé.

D'autres obstacles ont été jugés relativement moins importants. Seulement 1,7 % des entreprises de fabrication qui avaient procédé au déplacement ou à l'impartition de leurs activités commerciales vers l'étranger ont indiqué les questions de responsabilité sociale comme un obstacle très important, et seulement 5,8 % ont indiqué la violation des droits de brevet ou de propriété intellectuelle comme un obstacle d'une importance élevée.

Figure 7 : Pourcentage d'entreprises de fabrication indiquant que le degré d'importance des obstacles au déplacement ou à l'importance auxquels elles ont fait face était élevé – Entreprises de fabricationNote de bas de page 1, Canada. 2007-2009

Graphique du pourcentage d'entreprises de fabrication indiquant que le degré d'importance des obstacles au déplacement ou à l'importance auxquels elles ont fait face était élevé – Entreprises de fabrication, Canada. 2007-2009 (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)
Description de la figure 7
Pourcentage d'entreprises de fabrication indiquant que le degré d'importance des obstacles au déplacement ou à l'importance auxquels elles ont fait face était élevé – Entreprises de fabrication, Canada. 2007-2009
obstacle qui cause des ralentissements % d'entreprises de fabrication
Distance jusqu'aux producteurs 35,5
Tarifs commerciaux 30,2
Trouver des fournisseurs potentiels 25,8
Manque de financement 24,4
Obstacles juridiques ou administratifs à l'étranger 20,0
Obstacles juridiques ou administratifs au Canada 19,8
Obstacles linguistiques ou culturels 17,4
Manque de compétences en gestion 16,1
Incertitude quant aux normes internationales 14,2
Distance jusqu'aux clients 13,5
Obstacles d'ordre fiscal 13,1
Préoccupations des employés 13,1
Questions de PI 5,8
Questions de responsabilité sociale de l'entreprise 1,7
Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009

haut de la page

La concurrence et le marché

Les entreprises du Canada signalent que la concurrence est forte sur leur marché principal, mais moins de la moitié d'entre elles lancent un nouveau produit ou accélèrent l'introduction d'un produit lorsqu'elles font face à l'arrivée d'un nouveau concurrent.

Les constatations montrent que le principal marché de la plupart des entreprises du Canada est le marché intérieur, non le marché mondial. En 2009, 90,8 % des ventes du produit principal des entreprises ont été réalisées au Canada, alors que 6,6 % ont été effectuées aux États-Unis et 2,6 % dans le reste du monde. Pour les entreprises de fabrication, le marché international est plus important, plus d'un quart des ventes étant réalisées à l'étranger.

Malgré l'accent mis sur les marchés canadiens, la concurrence semble relativement intense : 78,2 % des entreprises du Canada indiquent faire face à au moins quatre concurrents sur leur marché principal, alors que 65,7 % indiquent faire face à plus de cinq. De plus, presque un tiers (32,4 %) des entreprises du Canada ont déclaré qu'au moins un concurrent est entré sur leur marché principal en 2009.

La Figure 8 montre que la vaste majorité des entreprises du Canada réagissent à l'arrivée de nouveaux concurrents en modifiant le prix de leur produit principal (69,5 %), alors que 40,1 % des entreprises indiquent qu'elles lancent un nouveau produit et 18,1 % qu'elles accélèrent l'introduction d'un nouveau produit.

Figure 8 : Pourcentage des entreprises indiquant leur réaction à l'arrivée de nouveaux concurrents sur leur marché principal – Toutes les entreprises faisant face à de nouveau concurrents, Canada, 2009

Graphique du pourcentage des entreprises indiquant leur réaction à l'arrivée de nouveaux concurrents sur leur marché principal – Toutes les entreprises faisant face à de nouveau concurrents, Canada, 2009 (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)
Description de la figure 8
Pourcentage des entreprises indiquant leur réaction à l'arrivée de nouveaux concurrents sur leur marché principal – Toutes les entreprises faisant face à de nouveau concurrents, Canada, 2009
Enjeu Toutes les industries Fabrication Toutes les industries sauf la fabrication
Modifier le prix du produit 69,5 64,8 70,5
Lancer un nouveau produit 40,1 37,4 40,7
Modifier la qualité du produit 37,7 35,7 38,2
Modifier les dépenses de marketing 33,3 38,6 32,2
Aucune mesure 20,5 15,5 21,6
Accélérer l'introduction d'un nouveau produit 18,1 28,6 15,8
Autres mesures 19,0 9,9 21,0
Adopter un nouveau procédé 17,6 39,2 13,0
Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009
Aidez-nous à nous améliorer
Retour à la section "Quel est le problème?".
  
Retour à la section "Quel est le problème?".
Bien reçu, merci!
Vous n'avez rien inscrit.
Date de modification :