Archived — Profile on Management Practices—Key findings from the Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy 2009

This profile presents a short summary of management practices used by enterprises operating in Canada in 2009. The results are based on data from the Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy 2009 (SIBS - see Annex for a short description of the survey). SIBS data provide some of the first enterprise-level empirical evidence about management practices using a large sample of enterprises in Canada.

A number of recent reports by industry observers suggest that "business complacency" is one of the major causes of Canada's lagging productivity growth behind the United States. In particular, Drummond and Bentley (2010)Footnote 1 suggest that enterprises in Canada do not adopt best practices from around the world that could enhance their productivity. A different but complementary view is that enterprises in Canada have solid assets to build on, but are not making the most of these assetsFootnote 2.

"Business complacency" can be interpreted in different ways, but one popular view in the economic literature is in terms of the management practices of firms. Management practices include human resource practices, the organization of the enterprise, and other "intangible" value-creating activities. Since strong management is a critical element in the innovativeness of Canada's economy, and hence its productivity and prosperityFootnote 3, it is important to better understand how enterprises in Canada are managed.

One key finding reported in this profile is the absence of any clear pattern of differences in the management practices of manufacturing and non-manufacturing enterprises. Within manufacturing, however, large enterprises consistently report a higher incidence and intensity of using human resource management practices and monitoring production performance relative to medium and small enterprisesFootnote 4.

Use of human resources management practices

Training programs

Figure 1 indicates that manufacturing and non-manufacturing enterprises were equally likely to offer training programs to increase employee promotability or to teach them how to perform their job. With regard to enterprise size, a higher percentage of large manufacturing enterprises offered some kind of formal training to their employees in 2009 than either medium or small manufacturing enterprises. Figure 1 also suggests that the main objective of training for enterprises in Canada was to teach their employees how to perform their job, rather than to increase their promotability.

Figure 1: Use of formal training in the enterprise in 2009 – Percentage of enterprises

Graph of Use of formal training in the enterprise in 2009 – Percentage of enterprises (the long description is located below the image)
Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy 2009
Description of Figure 1
Use of formal training in the enterprise in 2009 - Percentage of enterprises
  Small enterprises Medium enterprises Large enterprises Manufacturing All except manufacturing
To teach employees how to perform their job 55.0 64.8 72.1 57.8 60.5
To increases employees promotability 27.0 40.5 55.9 31.3 34.6

Work incentives

Financial incentives, such as employee stock ownership, profit-sharing, gain-sharing and merit bonuses, are widely used by enterprises in Canada. Figure 2 shows that a higher percentage of non-manufacturing enterprises offered at least one of these programs to non-managerial or non-supervisory employees relative to manufacturing enterprises. However, similar proportions of enterprises in both sectors offered one of these programs to employees in managerial, supervisory or executive positions. Within manufacturing, large enterprises were more likely than small and medium enterprises to offer at least one of these incentives to employees in each category.

Involving employees in the decision-making process could also have a positive impact on the quality of the work they do. About 55% of manufacturing enterprises and 62% of non-manufacturing enterprises reported that their employees are involved in the decision-making process on task allocation, but in contrast to several other SIBS results on management practices, there was little difference across enterprise size (not shown in figures).

Figure 2: Use of incentives programs in the enterprise by type of employee in 2009 – Percentage of enterprises

Graph of Use of incentives programs in the enterprise by type of employee in 2009 - Percentage of enterprises (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009.

Description of Figure 2
Description of figure 2: Use of incentives programs in the enterprise by type of employee in 2009 - Percentage of enterprises
  Small enterprises Medium enterprises Large enterprises Manufacturing All except manufacturing
Managerial, supervisory or executive employees 35.5 57.9 72.7 41.7 44.3
Non-managerial and non-supervisory employees 25.5 38.6 52.2 29.5 38.5
All employees 25.3 36.5 45.8 28.6 30.4

Appraisal and promotion processes

Figure 3 shows that the percentage of enterprises utilizing formal annual appraisals for either managerial or non-managerial employees was similar across the manufacturing and non-manufacturing sectors in 2009. However, the figure also indicates that a formal annual appraisal was used more often in large manufacturing enterprises than in medium and small manufacturing enterprises.

Figure 3: Use of formal annual appraisal in the enterprise by type of employee in 2009 – Percentage of enterprises

Graph of Use of formal annual appraisal in the enterprise by type of employee in 2009 – Percentage of enterprises (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009.

Description of Figure 3
Figure 3: Use of formal annual appraisal in the enterprise by type of employee in 2009 — Percentage of enterprises
  Small enterprises Medium enterprises Large enterprises Manufacturing All except manufacturing
Non-managerial staff 46.4 57.5 67.0 49.7 49.4
Managerial staff 42.2 59.5 79.7 47.8 44.1

When employees do not meet expectations, a majority of manufacturing enterprises (71%) and non-manufacturing enterprises (75%) reported that they give the employee a certain number of warnings before further action is taken (Figure 4). More extreme policies—either immediately removing the employee from his or her position or rarely if ever removing the employee—are less prevalent. However, small manufacturing enterprises were more likely to have one of the extreme policies than large manufacturing enterprises.

Figure 4: Enterprise main policy to deal with employees not meeting expectations in 2009 – Percentage of enterprises

Graph of Enterprise main policy to deal with employees not meeting expectations in 2009 – Percentage of enterprises (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009.

Description of Figure 4
Description of Figure 4: Enterprise main policy to deal with employees not meeting expectations in 2009 - Percentage of enterprises
  Small enterprises Medium enterprises Large enterprises Manufacturing All except manufacturing
They are rarely or never moved from their position 9.8 4.2 3.0 8.4 12
They are given a certain number of warnings before further action is taken 68.6 76.5 81.2 70.7 74.9
They are warned, and re-trained, but rarely removed from their position 16.9 18.0 13.6 16.8 10.6
They are immediately removed from their position 4.7 1.3 2.2 4.0 2.5

Finally, manufacturing enterprises (58%) were almost as likely to promote employees based solely on effort and ability as non-manufacturing enterprises (62%) in 2009 (not shown in figures). Of the remaining enterprises, most used a promotion process based on a mix of effort and other factors such as tenure.

Monitoring of production performance indicators

In 2009, a higher percentage of manufacturing enterprises (68%) than of non-manufacturing enterprises (42%) had a systematic process or procedure to resolve problems associated with the production of goods or provision of services.

Large manufacturing enterprises were more likely to monitor production performance indicators (e.g., for quality, for efficiency, for safety, etc.) relative to smaller manufacturing enterprises. In 2009, 96% of large manufacturing enterprises monitored at least one production performance indicator at a higher proportion than medium (92%) and small (77%) manufacturing enterprises. On average, large manufacturing enterprises monitored more production performance indicators (18.5 indicators) than medium-sized enterprises (9.4 indicators).

Figure 5 reports whether these performance indicators were shown to manufacturing enterprises' management or employees on a monthly, weekly or daily basis in 2009. Large enterprises were more likely than small and medium enterprises to show the indicators to their employees for all frequencies considered.

Top and middle managers of manufacturing enterprises were more likely to review performance indicators although with different frequencies; 67% of manufacturing enterprises that monitored at least one indicator reported that senior managers reviewed them continually and 30% that they reviewed them periodically (not shown in the figure).

Figure 5: Type of marketing and organizational innovations introduced by enterprises in 2007–09 – Percentage of marketing or product innovators

Graph of Type of marketing and organizational innovations introduced by enterprises in 2007–09 - Percentage of marketing or product innovators (the long description is located below the image)

Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009.

Description of Figure 5
Figure 5 (To managers of operations): Frequency at which performance indicators were shown in the enterprise by type of employee and enterprise size in 2009 - Percentage of manufacturing enterprises that monitored at least one indicator
  Large enterprises Medium enterprises Small enterprises
Quarterly 31.0 23.6 20.9
Monthly 75.4 65.5 50.2
Weekly 56.5 46.7 39.7
Daily 49.2 47.5 31.7
Hourly or more frequently 11.9 4.7 3.3
Never 0.2 0.0 1.1

Lastly, Figure 6 shows that manufacturing and non-manufacturing enterprises were similar regarding their time frame for production performance targets. Approximately 40% of enterprises in both sectors reported that they employ a mix of short and longer-term production performance targets The management performance literature views a mix of short and long term targets as being preferable to solely adopting either a short or long-term focus. Under a mixed strategy, "long-term goals [can be] translated into specific short-term targets so that short-term targets become a staircase to reach their long-term goals"Footnote 5. In this respect, Figure 6 shows that large and small manufacturing enterprises were more likely than medium-sized enterprises to adopt a mix of short and long-term strategy.

Figure 6: Time frame of enterprise's production performance targets for its main product in 2009 – Percentage of enterprises that monitored at least one indicator

Graph of Time frame of enterprise's production performance targets for its main product in 2009 - Percentage of enterprises that monitored at least one indicator (the long description is located below the image)

The percentages are recalculated to exclude the "no performance targets" category

Source: Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy, 2009.

Description of Figure 6
Time frame of enterprise's production performance targets for its main product in 2009 - Percentage of enterprises that monitored at least one indicator
  Small enterprises Medium enterprises Large enterprises Manufacturing All except manufacturing
Short-term only 57.2 61.9 53.0 57.5 43.6
Long-term only 2.9 6.7 3.3 3.6 11.5
A mix of short and longer term 39.9 31.4 43.7 38.9 44.9

Final remark

Future research at Industry Canada will assess whether the use of sophisticated management practices is associated with higher productivity, business innovation and enterprise growth. The development of similar data in the U.S. would also enable the undertaking of comparative Canada-U.S. studies.

Annex – Description of SIBS

SIBS is a joint project undertaken by Industry Canada, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada and Statistics Canada to better understand the market and policy factors that encourage or discourage the adoption of entrepreneurial and innovation-oriented business strategies. In addition to detailed information about management practices, the SIBS provides information about the various business strategies, innovation activities, international involvement, competitive environments and marketplaces of enterprises in Canada. Analysis of each of these topics is available in the Industry Canada report, "Business Innovation and Strategy: A Canadian Perspective".

A sample of 6,233 enterprises in Canada, each with more than 20 employees, and spanning 67 industries were surveyed. As a result, SIBS results are representative of all enterprises in Canada with more than 20 employees and revenues of at least $250,000 in the selected industries. The overall survey response rate was 70%. A more detailed description of the SIBS is available on the websites of Industry Canada and Statistics Canada.

Date modified:

Aperçu des pratiques de gestion — Principaux résultats de l'Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies tirées d'entreprise, 2009

Le présent document donne un bref aperçu des pratiques de gestion des entreprises qui faisaient des affaires au Canada en 2009. Les résultats sont fondés sur les données de l'Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009 (EISE; une courte description de l'enquête est présentée à l'annexe). L'EISE fournit certaines des premières données empiriques à l'échelle de l'entreprise sur les pratiques de gestion d'un vaste échantillon d'entreprises au Canada.

Bon nombre de rapports récents des observateurs de l'industrie portent à croire que la « complaisance commerciale » est une des principales causes du retard en matière de croissance de la productivité qu'accusent les entreprises canadiennes par rapport aux entreprises américaines. Plus précisément, Drummond et Bentley (2010)Note de bas de page 1 avancent que les entreprises canadiennes n'adoptent pas les pratiques exemplaires éprouvées à l'étranger et qui pourraient améliorer leur productivité. Certains ont toutefois un point de vue légèrement différent mais complémentaire, et pensent que les entreprises au Canada disposent d'assises solides, mais qu'elles n'en tirent pas le meilleur parti possibleNote de bas de page 2.

La « complaisance commerciale » peut être interprétée de diverses manières, mais la littérature économique l'applique surtout aux pratiques de gestion des entreprises. Les pratiques de gestion regroupent les pratiques de dotation, l'organisation de l'entreprise et d'autres activités « intangibles » créatrices de valeur. Comme la saine gestion est essentielle à la capacité d'innover de l'économie canadienne, et donc à sa productivité et prospéritéNote de bas de page 3, il importe de mieux comprendre comment sont gérées les entreprises au Canada.

Une des principales conclusions rapportées ici est l'absence de différences marquées entre les pratiques de gestion des entreprises de la fabrication et celles des autres secteurs. Cependant, au sein même du secteur de la fabrication, les grandes entreprises recourent plus fréquemment et plus intensément à des pratiques de gestion des ressources humaines et de surveillance du rendement de la production que ne le font les petites et moyennes entreprisesNote de bas de page 4.

Recours aux pratiques de gestion des ressources humaines

Programmes de formation

La figure 1 illustre que les entreprises de fabrication et des autres secteurs offraient aussi souvent des programmes de formation visant à améliorer les possibilités d'avancement de leurs employés et à leur enseigner comment faire leur travail. Dans le secteur de la fabrication, les grandes entreprises ont été proportionnellement plus nombreuses que les petites et les moyennes entreprises à offrir une formation structurée à leurs employés en 2009. La figure 1 donne également à penser que la formation visait plus souvent à enseigner aux employés comment faire leur travail qu'à améliorer leurs possibilités d'avancement.

Figure 1 : Utilisation de programmes de formation structurée dans l'entreprise en 2009
Pourcentage d'entreprises

Graphique de l'utilisation de programmes de formation structurée dans l'entreprise en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)
Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009
Description de la figure 1
Utilisation de programmes de formation structurée dans l'entreprise en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises
  Petites entreprises Entreprises moyennes Grandes enterprises Fabrication Toutes les industries sauf fabrication
Pour enseigner aux employés les compétences nécessaires à leur travail 55,0 64,8 72,1 57,8 60,5
Pour améliorer les possibilités d'avancement des employés  27,0 40,5 55,9 31,3 34,6

Mesures d'encouragement au travail

Les mesures d'incitation financière, comme des régimes d'actionnariat des employés, d'intéressement et de prime au mérite, sont largement utilisées par les entreprises du Canada. La figure 2 montre qu'un plus fort pourcentage d'entreprises non manufacturières que d'entreprises manufacturières ont mis à la disposition du personnel d'exécution au moins un de ces programmes. Toutefois, une proportion semblable d'entreprises manufacturières et non manufacturières ont offert un programme de ce type aux cadres. Dans le secteur de la fabrication, les grandes entreprises étaient plus nombreuses que les petites et moyennes entreprises à offrir une de ces mesures incitatives aux employés de ces deux catégories.

La participation des employés au processus décisionnel peut avoir une incidence positive sur la qualité de leur travail. Et c'est ce que font 55 % des entreprises manufacturières et 62 % des autres entreprises pour l'attribution des tâches. Contrairement à plusieurs autres résultats sur les pratiques de gestion tirés de l'EISE, les différences à cet égard selon la taille des entreprises étaient minimes (données non présentées dans les figures).

Figure 2 : Utilisation de programmes d'encouragement dans l'entreprise par type d'employé en 2009 - Pourcentage d'entreprises

Graphique de 
  l'utilisation de programmes d'encouragement dans l'entreprise par type d'employé en 2009 - Pourcentage d'entreprises (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)

Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009.

Description de la figure 2
Utilisation de programmes d'encouragement dans l'entreprise par type d'employé en 2009 - Pourcentage d'entreprises
  Petites entreprises Entreprises moyennes Grandes enterprises Fabrication Toutes les industries sauf la fabrication
Cadres 35,5 57,9 72,7 41,7 44,3
Personnel d'exécution 25,5 38,6 52,2 29,5 38,5
Tous les employés 25,3 36,5 45,8 28,6 30,4

Processus d'évaluation et de promotion

La figure 3 montre que les proportions d'entreprises qui ont évalué de façon formelle leur personnel d'exécution ou leurs cadres étaient similaires dans le secteur de la fabrication et dans l'ensemble des autres secteurs en 2009. De plus, la figure indique que dans le secteur de la fabrication, les grandes entreprises ont été proportionnellement plus nombreuses que les petites et les moyennes entreprises à faire des évaluations annuelles formelles.

Figure 3 : Utilisation d'évaluations officielles dans l'entreprise par type d'employé en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises

Graphique de l'utilisation d'évaluations officielles dans l'entreprise par type d'employé en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)

Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009.

Description de la figure 3
Utilisation d'évaluations officielles dans l'entreprise par type d'employé en 2009 — Pourcentage d'entreprises
  Petites entreprises Entreprises moyennes Grandes enterprises Fabrication Toutes les industries sauf la fabrication
Personnel d'exécution 46,4 57,5 67,0 49,7 49,4
Cadres 42,2 59,5 79,7 47,8 44,1

Lorsque les employés ne satisfont pas aux exigences de leur poste, une majorité d'entreprises manufacturières (71 %) et non manufacturières (75 %) leur donnent un certain nombre d'avertissements avant de prendre d'autres mesures (figure 4). Les politiques plus draconiennes, comme ne jamais ou presque jamais déplacer l'employé de son poste ou le déplacer immédiatement, sont moins courantes. Cela dit, les petites entreprises manufacturières étaient proportionnellement plus nombreuses que les grandes entreprises à avoir mis en place des politiques draconiennes.

Figure 4 : Politique de l'entreprise en ce qui concerne les employés qui ne satisfont pas aux attentes de leur poste en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises

Graphique de la politique de l'entreprise en ce qui concerne les employés qui ne satisfont pas aux attentes de leur poste en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)

Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009.

Description de la figure 4
Politique de l'entreprise en ce qui concerne les employés qui ne satisfont pas aux attentes de leur poste en 2009 - Pourcentage d'entreprises
  Petites entreprises Entreprises moyennes Grandes enterprises Fabrication Toutes les industries sauf la fabrication
On ne les déplace pratiquement jamais 9,8 4,2 3,0 8,4 12
On leur sert un certain nombre d'avertissements avant de prendre d'autres mesures 68,6 76,5 81,2 70,7 74,9
On leur sert un certains nombres d'avertissements et on leur assure une nouvelle formation, mais on ne les déplace pratiquement jamais 16,9 18,0 13,6 16,8 10,6
On les déplace immédiatement 4,7 1,3 2,2 4,0 2,5

Enfin, les entreprises manufacturières (58 %) ont accordé presque aussi souvent que les entreprises non manufacturières (62 %) des promotions fondées uniquement sur les efforts et les capacités en 2009 (données non présentées dans les figures). La majeure partie des autres entreprises fondaient leur politique d'avancement à la fois sur l'effort et sur d'autres facteurs, comme l'ancienneté.

Indicateurs de rendement de la production

En 2009, une plus forte proportion d'entreprises manufacturières (68 %) que d'entreprises non manufacturières (42 %) étaient dotées d'un processus systématique pour régler des problèmes liés à la production des biens ou à la fourniture de services.

Dans le secteur de la fabrication, les grandes entreprises surveillaient plus souvent des indicateurs de rendement de la production (p. ex. des indicateurs de la qualité, de l'efficience, de la sécurité) que les petites entreprises. En 2009, une proportion plus forte de grandes entreprises (96 %) que de moyennes (92 %) et de petites entreprises (77 %) surveillaient au moins un indicateur de rendement. En moyenne, les grandes entreprises surveillaient plus d'indicateurs de rendement de la production (18,5 indicateurs) que les moyennes entreprises (9,4 indicateurs).

La figure 5 illustre la fréquence mensuelle, hebdomadaire ou quotidienne à laquelle les indicateurs de rendement étaient communiqués aux gestionnaires et aux travailleurs en 2009. Les grandes entreprises communiquaient plus souvent les indicateurs aux travailleurs, et ce, quelle que soit la fréquence.

Les cadres intermédiaires et supérieurs des entreprises manufacturières examinaient plus souvent les indicateurs de rendement, quoiqu'à différentes fréquences. Chez les entreprises de fabrication qui surveillaient au moins un indicateur, 67 % d'entre elles ont déclaré qu'un cadre supérieur examinait les indicateurs continuellement et 30 %, qu'un cadre supérieur les examinait périodiquement (données non présentées dans les figures).

Figure 5 : Fréquence à laquelle les indicateurs de rendement sont communiqués dans l'entreprise par type d'employés et taille d'entreprise en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises de fabrication qui contrôlent au moins un indicateur de rendement

Graphique de la fréquence à laquelle les indicateurs de rendement sont communiqués dans l'entreprise par type d'employés et taille d'entreprise en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises de fabrication qui contrôlent au moins un indicateur de rendement (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)

Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009.

Description de la figure 5
Fréquence à laquelle les indicateurs de rendement sont communiqués dans l'entreprise par type d'employés et taille d'entreprise en 2009 - Pourcentage d'entreprises de fabrication qui contrôlent au moins un indicateur de rendement
  Grandes enterprises Entreprises moyennes Petites entreprises
Trimestrielle 31,0 23,6 20,9
Mensuelle 75,4 65,5 50,2
Hedbomadaire 56,5 46,7 39,7
Quotidienne 49,2 47,5 31,7
Chaque heure ou plus souvent 11,9 4,7 3,3
Jamais 0,2 0,0 1,1

Enfin, la figure 6 montre que les échéanciers des objectifs de rendement de la production des entreprises manufacturières et non manufacturières étaient semblables. Environ 40 % des entreprises de tous les secteurs ont rapporté avoir établi une combinaison d'objectifs de rendement à court terme et à long terme. La littérature sur le rendement en gestion indique que le recours combiné d'objectifs à court terme et à long terme est préférable au recours à l'un ou à l'autre exclusivement. Dans le cadre d'une stratégie mixte, les objectifs à long terme peuvent être appliqués à des cibles à court terme qui, combinées, permettent d'atteindre les buts à long termeNote 5. À cet égard, la figure 6 illustre que les petites et grandes entreprises manufacturières ont appliqué plus souvent que les entreprises moyennes une stratégie mixte d'objectifs à court terme et à long terme.

Figure 6: Échelle des temps de l'entreprise en ce qui concerne les objectifs de rendement de la production de leur produit principal en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises qui contrôlent au moins un indicateur de rendement

Graphique de l'échelle des temps de l'entreprise en ce qui concerne les objectifs de rendement de la production de leur produit principal en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises qui contrôlent au moins un indicateur de rendement (la description détaillée se trouve après l'image)

Source : Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise, 2009.

Les pourcentage ont été recalculés afin d'exclure la catégorie « aucun objectif de production/rendement ».

Description de la figure 6
Échelle des temps de l'entreprise en ce qui concerne les objectifs de rendement de la production de leur produit principal en 2009 – Pourcentage d'entreprises qui contrôlent au moins un indicateur de rendement
  Petites entreprises Entreprises moyennes Grandes enterprises Fabrication Toutes les industries sauf la fabrication
Seulement à court terme 57,2 61,9 53,0 57,5 43,6
Seulement à long terme 2,9 6,7 3,3 3,6 11,5
À court et à long terme 39,9 31,4 43,7 38,9 44,9

Dernière observation

Les futurs travaux d'Industrie Canada chercheront à déterminer si le recours à des pratiques de gestion éclairées favorise la productivité, l'innovation et la croissance des entreprises. La réalisation d'études similaires aux É.-U. permettrait de comparer les résultats des entreprises canadiennes et américaines.

Annexe – Description de l'Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise

L'Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise (EISE) a été entreprise conjointement par Industrie Canada, Affaires étrangères et Commerce international et Statistique Canada. Elle vise à faire le point sur les facteurs commerciaux et stratégiques qui encouragent ou découragent l'adoption de stratégies d'entreprise axées sur l'entrepreneuriat et l'innovation. En plus de fournir de l'information détaillée sur les pratiques de gestion, l'EISE renseigne sur diverses stratégies commerciales et d'innovation des entreprises canadiennes ainsi que sur leur participation dans les marchés internationaux, leur situation concurrentielle et leurs marchés. Une analyse de chacun de ces sujets est présentée dans le rapport d'Industrie Canada intitulé Innovation et stratégies d'entreprise : Perspective canadienne.

Un échantillon de 6 233 entreprises sises au Canada de plus de 20 employés englobant 67 secteurs d'activité a été sondé. Par conséquent, les résultats de l'EISE sont représentatifs de toutes les entreprises au Canada de plus de 20 employés engrangeant des bénéfices d'au moins 250 000 $ dans les secteurs d'activité choisis. Le taux de réponse global est de 70 %. Les sites Web d'Industrie Canada et de Statistique Canada offrent une description plus détaillée de cette enquête.

Date de modification :