Archived — Survey of Innovation and Business Strategy (SIBS) 2012

The SIBS 2012 is a joint project by Industry Canada, Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada and Statistics Canada.

The SIBS provides detailed information about various business strategies and practices that determine business innovation, such as an enterprise's strategic orientation, its management practices, its use of advanced technology, and its marketplace and competitive environment. The survey also provides detailed information about global value chain management practices and activities in Canada, such as which activities firms relocate to other countries and which ones they outsource to external suppliers.

The SIBS 2012 is the second wave of the survey, the first one was implemented in 2009. The SIBS 2012 replicated the 2009 survey as the same questionnaire was used. The targeted population—enterprises in Canada with more than 20 employees and revenues of at least $250,000 in 14 sectors defined according to the North American Industrial Classification System 2007—also remained unchanged. A major change, however, was implemented in 2012 by the addition of a regional dimension.

Compared to the SIBS 2009, the sample size of the SIBS 2012 was increased from 6,233 to 7,818 enterprises to ensure the representativeness of five Canadian regions: Atlantic provinces, Quebec, Ontario, Alberta, and other provinces and territories. For the SIBS 2012, the overall response rate was 60 percent. Aggregated statistics were produced at the national level for 134 industrial groupings and by firm size. Provincial estimates were also produced using the same 134 industries, but not by firm size.

Data of the SIBS 2012 will be released by Statistics Canada in three stages. Innovation data will be available on February 14, 2014; data on global value chains will be released on March 10, 2014; and data on competition, management practices and business strategies are planned to be made public on March 28, 2014.


Additional information from Statistics Canada web site


For more information on the survey concepts, methods or data quality please contact Statistics Canada's National Contact Centre (toll free 1-800-263-1136, 613-951-8116 or Statistics Canada's National Contact Centre).

For more information about policy analysis related to innovation, please contact Pierre Therrien, Economic Research and Policy Branch, (343-291-2612 or email), ISED Canada.

Date modified:

Archivé — Enquête sur l'innovation et les stratégies d'entreprise (EISE) 2012

L'EISE de 2012 est un projet conjoint d'Industrie Canada, d'Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada et de Statistique Canada.

L'EISE fournit des renseignements détaillés sur diverses stratégies et pratiques qui déterminent l'innovation au sein des entreprises, par exemple l'orientation stratégique de l'entreprise, ses pratiques de gestion, son utilisation des technologies de pointe, son marché et sa situation concurrentielle. Elle fournit également des renseignements détaillés au sujet des activités et des pratiques de gestion des chaînes de valeur mondiales au Canada, par exemple les activités que les entreprises transfèrent dans d'autres pays et celles qu'elles confient en sous-traitance à des fournisseurs étrangers.

L'EISE de 2012 est la deuxième vague, car la première a été mise en œuvre en 2009. Celle de 2012 a reproduit l'enquête de 2009, car le même questionnaire a été utilisé. La population ciblée est aussi demeurée la même, à savoir les entreprises au Canada qui comptent plus de 20 employés et qui déclarent des revenus d'au moins 250 000 $, dans 14 secteurs définis en fonction du Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) de 2007. Toutefois, un changement majeur a été apporté en 2012, soit l'ajout d'une dimension régionale.

En comparaison avec l’EISE 2009, la taille de l’échantillon de l’EISE 2012 a été augmenté de 6 233 à 7 818 entreprises pour garantir la représentativité de cinq régions canadiennes : les provinces de l'Atlantique, le Québec, l'Ontario, l'Alberta, et d'autres provinces et territoires. Pour l'EISE de 2012, le taux de réponse global a été de 60 %. Des statistiques agrégées ont été produites au niveau national, pour 134 regroupements industriels et selon la taille de l'entreprise. Des estimations provinciales ont aussi été produites en se basant sur ces mêmes regroupements, mais en ne tenant pas compte de la taille de l'entreprise.

Les données de l'EISE de 2012 seront publiées par Statistique Canada en trois étapes. Les données sur l'innovation seront rendues publiques le 14 février 2014, et les données sur les chaînes de valeur mondiales, le 10 mars 2014; les données sur la concurrence, les pratiques de gestion et les stratégies d'entreprise devraient être publiées le 28 mars 2014.


Renseignements additionnels tirés du site Web de Statistique Canada


Pour obtenir plus d'information sur les concepts, les méthodes et la qualité des données de l'enquête, communiquer avec le Centre de contact national de Statistique Canada (numéro frais 1-800-263-1136, 613-951-8116 ou Centre de contact national de Statistique Canada).

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les analyses de politiques liées à l'innovation, communiquer avec Pierre Therrien, Direction générale de la recherche économique et de l'analyse des politiques (343-291-2612 ou courriel), à ISDE Canada.

Date de modification :