Language selection

Search

Archived — Working Paper Number 18: Regional Disparities in Canada: Characterization, Trends and Lessons for Economic Policy

by Serge Coulombe, Department of Economics, University of Ottawa, November 1997


Summary

Since the early 1990s, regional studies have assumed considerable importance in economic research. Their renewed popularity is linked partly to the strong comeback of growth theory, which increasingly is the preferred tool for evaluating economic policies and blurs the traditional distinction between macro- and micro-economic frameworks for analysis. But regional studies also owe their current popularity to the fact that many growth problems at the end of the twentieth century are regional in impact, for example, the collapse of the communist bloc in Eastern Europe, German reunification, European integration and the emergence of trading blocs.

Starting with studies by Barro and Sala-i-Martin (1991, 1992 and 1995) and Mankiw, Romer and Weil (1992), the question of convergence — that is, the catching up of poor economies with rich economies, whether at the regional or international level — has received considerable attention from researchers. Significant progress has been made in dynamic modelling under the neoclassical model and endogenous growth models. Recent analyses stress features such as the dynamics of the adjustment of physical and human capital, migrations, economic and political integration, the stability and effectiveness of public institutions, economic policy and the spread of technology. In Canada, several empirical studies — Helliwell and Chung (1991), Helliwell (1994), Lefebvre (1994), Coulombe and Lee (1993, 1995 and 1996) and Lee and Coulombe (1995) — have made it possible to draw up a statistical picture of the situation showing that regional disparities in per capita income and production, as well as in worker productivity, have tended to diminish since the Second World War. This movement toward convergence, however, has slowed down since the late 1970s, a phenomenon that can also be seen within all the industrialized countries (Sala-i-Martin 1995).

As we shall show later, in 1950 regional disparities in per capita production and income were far greater within Canada than in the 12 U.S. states bordering on Canada. For the present study, these bordering U.S. states — that is, Washington, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, Minnesota, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine — together serve as a control group for purposes of comparison since they closely resemble adjacent regions of Canada in terms of economic geography. (The Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Alaska are excluded from the study.) In 1950, the relative dispersion index of per capita personal income was almost three times higher in the different regions of Canada than what could then (and can still) be observed in the case of the bordering U.S. states. The deviation has narrowed since then because the convergence observed north of the 49th parallel in the postwar years had the effect of bringing closer per capita income disparity levels on both sides of the border. Nevertheless, there are still large differences between the different regions of Canada in terms of per capita production. Referring to a relative index of per capita production differences for the most recent regional data, we shall show that regional disparities in Canada today are nearly twice as great as in the bordering U.S. states. Part of the per capita income convergence between Canadian regions can thus be attributed to inter-regional redistribution via "fiscal federalism" and the taxation system.

The persistence of large regional disparities creates major problems for the management of economic policy in a federation such as Canada: its central government has always pursued regional development policies and, since the Second World War, it has set up a vast structure for inter-regional redistribution. More recently, in 1987 Ottawa established agencies to plan and promote regional economic development in the Atlantic provinces (Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency), Northern Ontario (FedNor) and the Western provinces (Western Economic Diversification), and it did the same for Quebec (Federal Office of Regional Development — Québec) in 1991. The ability to support these programs and policies is directly linked with the persistence of regional economic disparities. This question is especially pertinent at a time when government faces growing financial constraints.

The aim of the present study is to examine the history of Canada's regional disparities through empirical analysis in line with the new wave of studies focusing on convergence and economic growth. The empirical part of the study will be conducted in two phases. First we shall undertake a comparative analysis of the history of regional disparities in per capita production, in both Canada and the bordering U.S. states. After identifying certain statistical facts, we shall then examine three components — the dispersion of productivity, the dispersion of employment rates (via unemployment rates) and the dispersion of the participation rate — in order to study the history of the deviation between Canada and the bordering U.S. states with respect to dispersion of per capita production. This decomposition will be revealing to the extent that the neoclassical adjustment based on the law of diminishing returns and the accumulation (and mobility) of physical and human capital results in a convergence of the productivity of factors. The two other determinants of dispersion of per capita production (dispersion of the unemployment rate and of the participation rate) are linked to the functioning of the labour market and household decisions on the balance to be struck between work and recreation.

In the second phase of the empirical analysis, we make use of a method for estimating ß convergence based on a sample group-type process recently developed by Coulombe and Day (1996) to assess the speed of convergence of productivity and other economic indicators between Canada's regions. This method builds on that used by Coulombe and Lee (1993, 1995) and Lee and Coulombe (1995) in their studies on regional convergence. Compared with the conventional approach, which is based on estimates by transversal section (see Barro and Sala-i-Martin, for example), the method proposed here allows better use to be made of all the data concerning regional growth profiles since it integrates as well the information resulting from the yearly movement of series of regional economic indicators. By integrating data on longitudinal and transversal sections, the sample group method can be viewed as an attempt to modify the approach of Barro and Sala-i-Martin to take into account the criticism of Quah (1993).2 Sample group estimation offers the advantage of producing estimates of the speed of ß convergence; combined with estimate residuals, these allow us to create a dynamic simulation of movements in the variance of regional disparities (convergence). Dynamic analysis highlights the concept of the stationary level of variance, i.e., the long-term balance of regional disparities. The steady-state disparity is determined by the interaction between the strength of the convergence resulting from faster accumulation of physical and human capital in poor regions and, on the other hand, the variance in regional disturbances forcing regional economies to temporarily stray from the path of convergence leading them toward long-term equilibrium.

The proposed analysis goes beyond statistical representation since the level of decomposition, its predictive nature, the theoretical basis and the dynamic simulations are such as to clarify the making of decisions about regional development policies. For example, from the movement of differences in worker productivity in relation to its steady state and to differences in the control group (the bordering U.S. states), we can gain insight into the subject of the dynamics of physical and human capital accumulation and the operation of market forces. It can nevertheless happen that the political and institutional context undermines convergence of worker productivity. In this case, regional development policies should therefore target the mobility of physical and human capital and the spread of technology. Further, if productivity differences remain excessively large, it can happen that they are eliminated automatically, at least in part, since the neoclassical convergence mechanism will start functioning once the hindrances to physical/human capital mobility and to the spread of technology will have disappeared or lost their importance. If per capita production differences between Canada and the United States are related mainly to differences in the unemployment and participation rates, regional development policies should instead target worker mobility and the balancing of work and recreation. Last, through the analysis of variances and co-variances, we can recognize the interaction of different factors and offer an interpretation suitable for guiding regional development actions.

The balance of the study is structured as follows: First, the next section describes the concepts of ß and convergence as well as the theoretical relationship that exists between the two within the framework of the hypothesis of unconditional convergence. It should be noted that this relationship underlies the simulation undertaken later in the study. The following section presents statistical data and compares movements in regional disparities in production and per capita income in Canada and the bordering U.S. states. This comparative analysis is then supported by decomposition of the per capita production variance in terms of the variance and co-variances of its three components (productivity, unemployment rate and participation rate). The study next turns to the sample group-type econometric approach, which is used to estimate ß convergence, and we explain the links between the estimate of parameter ß, the estimate residual and the concept of convergence. The estimate results for ß and the stationary level of variance of regional disparities are presented and analyzed. The dynamic simulation of the path of productivity variance is compared with the path observed. The section presenting conclusions highlights the implications of our analysis for regional development policy issues in Canada.

Date modified:

Archivé — Documents de travail

Informations archivées

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d'autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

No 18 : Les disparités régionales au Canada : diagnostic, tendances et leçons pour la politique économique

par Serge Coulombe, Département de science économique, Université d'Ottawa, novembre 1997


Résumé

Les études régionales occupent une place de choix dans la recherche économique depuis le début des années 90. Ce regain de popularité est lié, pour une part, au retour en force de la théorie de la croissance, qui s'impose de plus en plus comme l'instrument privilégié pour l'évaluation des politiques économiques et bouleverse la distinction traditionnelle entre les cadres d'analyse macro et microéconomique. Mais la faveur que connaissent aujourd'hui les études régionales tient également au fait que bon nombre des problèmes de croissance en cette fin de siècle ont une incidence régionale, comme en témoignent l'éclatement du bloc communiste en Europe orientale, la réunification de l'Allemagne, l'intégration européenne et l'émergence des blocs commerciaux.

Depuis les études de Barro et Sala-i-Martin (1991, 1992, et 1995) et Mankiw, Romer et Weil (1992), la question de la convergence — c'est-à-dire du rattrapage des économies pauvres par rapport aux économies riches, que ce soit à l'échelle régionale ou à l'échelle internationale — retient beaucoup l'attention des chercheurs. D'importants progrès ont été réalisés en ce qui concerne la modélisation dynamique dans le cadre du modèle néoclassique et des modèles de croissance endogène. Les analyses récentes mettent en effet l'accent sur des éléments tels que la dynamique d'ajustement du capital physique et humain, les migrations, l'intégration économique et politique, la stabilité et l'efficacité des institutions publiques, les politiques économiques et la diffusion de la technologie. Au Canada, plusieurs études empiriques — Helliwell et Chung (1991), Helliwell (1994), Lefebvre (1994), Coulombe et Lee (1993, 1995 et 1996) et Lee et Coulombe (1995) — ont permis de dégager une représentation stylisée de la réalité qui montre que les disparités régionales en matière de revenu et de production par habitant, ainsi que de productivité de la main-d'oeuvre, ont eu tendance à diminuer depuis la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Ce mouvement de convergence s'est cependant ralenti depuis la fin des années 70, phénomène qui, du reste, s'observe dans tous les pays industrialisés (Sala-i-Martin 1995).

Comme nous le montrerons plus loin, les disparités régionales de production et de revenu par habitant étaient, en 1950, beaucoup plus élevées au Canada que dans les 12 États américains situés le long de la frontière canadienne. Aux fins de la présente étude, ces États américains limitrophes (les ÉAL) — c'est-à-dire le Washington, l'Idaho, le Montana, le Dakota du Nord, le Minnesota, le Michigan, l'Ohio, la Pennsylvanie, l'État de New York, le Vermont, le New Hampshire et le Maine — servent d'ensemble témoin aux fins de comparaison car ils offrent une grande similitude avec les régions adjacentes du Canada en matière de géographie économique. (Le Yukon, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et l'Alaska sont exclus de l'étude.) En 1950, l'indice de dispersion relative du revenu personnel par habitant afférent aux régions canadiennes é tait presque trois plus élevé que celui qu'on pouvait alors observer, et qu'on peut toujours observer au-jourd'hui, pour les ÉAL. Cet écart s'est rétréci depuis, car la convergence observée au nord du 49e parallèle au cours de l'après-guerre a eu pour effet de rapprocher les niveaux de disparité de revenu par habitant des deux côtés de la frontière. Cependant, on trouve toujours des écarts importants entre les différentes régions du Canada en ce qui concerne la production par habitant. Faisant appel à un indice relatif des écarts de production par habitant pour les données régionales les plus récentes, nous montrerons que les disparités régionales au Canada sont aujourd'hui à peu près deux fois plus importantes que dans les États américains frontaliers. Une partie de la convergence du revenu par habitant parmi les régions canadiennes peut donc être attribuée à la redistribution interrégionale opérée par le truchement du « fédéralisme fiscal » et du régime fiscal.

La persistance d'importantes disparités régionales suscite des problèmes majeurs pour la gestion de la politique économique dans une fédération comme le Canada, où le gouvernement central anime depuis toujours des politiques de développement régional et où il a, depuis la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, mis sur pied un imposant appareil de redistribution interrégionale. Encore récemment, soit en 1987, Ottawa mettait sur pied des organismes de planification et de promotion du développement économique régional dans les provinces de l'Atlantique (Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique), dans le Nord de l'Ontario (FedNor), dans les provinces de l'Ouest (Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest) et au Québec (Bureau fédéral de développement régional — Québec) en 1991. L'aptitude à soutenir ces programmes et ces politiques est directement liée au phénomène de la persistance des disparités économiques régionales. Cette question est tout particulièrement pertinente dans un contexte où l'État fait face à des contraintes financières grandissantes.

La présente étude a pour but de poser un diagnostic sur l'évolution des disparités régionales au Canada à partir d'une analyse empirique qui s'inscrit dans la nouvelle vague des études consacrées à la convergence et à la croissance économique. L'apport empirique de l'étude se fera en deux étapes. Dans un premier temps, on procédera à une analyse comparative de l'évolution des disparités régionales de production par habitant au Canada et dans les ÉAL. Après avoir dégagé certains faits stylisés, on répartira ensuite en trois composantes — soit la dispersion de la productivité, la dispersion du taux d'emploi (par taux de chômage interposé) et la dispersion du taux d'activité — l'évolution de l'écart entre le Canada et les ÉAL en ce qui concerne la dispersion de la production par habitant. Cette décomposition sera révélatrice dans la mesure où l'ajustement néoclassique basé sur la loi des rendements décroissants et l'accumulation (et la mobilité) du capital physique et humain entraîne une convergence de la productivité des facteurs. Les deux autres déterminants de la dispersion de la production par habitant, soit la dispersion du taux de chômage et celle du taux d'activité, sont liés au fonctionnement du marché du travail et aux décisions des ménages en ce qui concerne l'arbitrage travail/loisir.

Dans la seconde étape de l'analyse empirique, on fait appel à une méthode d'es-timation de la convergence ß qui repose sur un procédé de type panel mis au point récemment par Coulombe et Day (1996) pour évaluer la vitesse de convergence de la productivité et d'autres indicateurs économiques entre les régions du Canada. Cette méthode s'inspire de celle utilisée par Coulombe et Lee (1993, 1995) et Lee et Coulombe (1995) dans leurs études sur la convergence régionale. Comparativement à l'approche conventionnelle, qui se fonde sur des estimations en coupe transversale (voir Barro et Sala-i-Martin, par exemple), la méthode proposée ici permet de mieux utiliser l'ensemble des données relatives aux profils de croissance des régions car elle intègre également l'information qui découle de l'évolution annuelle des séries d'indicateurs économiques régionaux. En intégrant les données en coupes longitudinale et transversale, la méthode panel peut être perçue comme une tentative de modifier l'approche de Barro et Sala-i-Martin pour tenir compte de la critique de Quah (1993)2. L'estimation panel offre l'avantage de produire des estimations de la vitesse de convergence ß qui, combinées avec les résidus de l'estimation, permettent de réaliser une simulation dynamique de l'évolution de la variance des disparités régionales (convergence). L'analyse dynamique fait ressortir le concept de niveau stationnaire de la variance, soit l'équilibre de long terme des disparités régionales. Le niveau stationnaire des disparités est déterminé par l'in-teraction entre, d'une part, la force de convergence qui découle de l'accumulation plus rapide du capital physique et humain dans les régions pauvres et, d'autre part, la variance des chocs régionaux qui forcent les économies régionales à s'écarter provisoirement du sentier de convergence qui les mène vers l'équilibre de long terme.

L'exercice proposé va au-delà d'une représentation stylisée de la réalité, car le niveau de décomposition de l'analyse, sa nature prospective, les fondements théoriques et les simulations dynamiques sont de nature à éclairer la prise de décisions politiques relatives au développement régional. Par exemple, l'évolution des écarts de productivité de la main-d'oeuvre par rapport à son équilibre stationnaire et aux écarts du groupe témoin (les ÉAL) nous renseigne au sujet de la dynamique d'accumulation du capital physique et humain et du fonctionnement des forces du marché. Il peut toutefois arriver que le contexte politique et institutionnel ait nui à la convergence de la productivité de la main-d'oeuvre. Dans ce cas, les politiques de développement régional devraient alors viser la mobilité du capital physique et humain et la diffusion de la technologie. Par ailleurs, si des écarts de productivité excessifs perdurent, il peut arriver qu'ils soient éliminés automatiquement, tout au moins en partie, car le mécanisme de convergence néoclassique entrera en action une fois que les entraves à la mobilité du capital physique et humain, et à la diffusion de la technologie, auront disparu ou perdu de leur importance. Si les écarts de production par habitant entre le Canada et les États-Unis sont surtout liés aux écarts de taux de chômage et de taux d'activité, les politiques de développement régional devraient plutôt viser la mobilité de la main-d'oeuvre et l'arbitrage travail/loisir. Enfin, l'analyse des variances et des covariances permet de rendre compte de l'interaction des différents facteurs et de poser un diagnostic propre à guider les interventions en matière de développement régional.

Le reste de l'étude est structuré comme suit. Sont d'abord décrites, dans la prochaine section, les deux notions de la convergence, ß et, ainsi que la relation théorique qui existe entre les deux dans le cadre de l'hypothèse de convergence absolue. Notons que cette relation est à la base de la simulation effectuée plus loin. La section suivante relève un certain nombre de faits stylisés et compare l'évolution des disparités régionales de production et de revenu par habitant au Canada et dans les ÉAL. Ensuite, cette analyse comparative est étayée par la décomposition de la variance de la production par habitant en fonction de la variance et des covariances de ses trois composantes (productivité, taux de chômage et taux d'activité). L'étude traite ensuite sur l'approche économétrique de type panel qui est utilisée pour l'estimation de la convergence ß, et on y explique les liens entre l'estimation du paramètre ß, le résidu de l'estimation et le concept de convergence. Les résultats de l'estimation de ß et du niveau stationnaire de la variance des disparités régionales sont présentés et analysés. La simulation dynamique du sentier de la variance de la productivité est comparée avec le sentier observé. La section consacrée aux conclusions fait ressortir les incidences de notre analyse sur les enjeux de la politique de développement régional au Canada.

Date de modification :