Regional Activities

Industry Canada maintains regional and district emergency telecom officers to engage regional and provincial authorities in preparation for and during times of crisis.

Industry Canada's Regional Emergency Telecom Officers (RETOs) are responsible for supporting the department's emergency telecommunications mandate within their region. The RETO role includes: planning, advice and training, promotion of best practices, critical infrastructure protection and disaster response and recovery.

The three regions are:

Regional and District Emergency Telecom Officers may be among the first government officials to be notified of an emergency involving telecommunications. They may be asked to operate from the emergency site or from a Federal or Provincial Emergency Operations Centre (EOC). Industry Canada Regions are responsible for:

Spectrum management

  • Frequency selection
  • Resolution of interference problems on emergency sites
  • Site evaluation

Emergency Planning

  • Liaison with the telecom industry to support federal/provincial/telecom industry planning
  • Liaison with Federal/Provincial EMO to support telecommunications industry

Within a region which consists of one province, a RETO acts as the primary Industry Canada interface with federal and provincial emergency measures organizations, telecommunications industry contacts and the District Emergency Telecom Officers (DETOs).

In regions which cover multiple provinces or territories, the DETO for each province or territory acts as the primary Industry Canada interface with federal and provincial emergency measures organizations, telecommunications industry contacts, and reports to the appropriate RETO.

Rate this page

The content of this page was useful to me.

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Activités régionales

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada peut compter sur des agents régionaux et de district des télécommunications d'urgence chargés de mobiliser les autorités régionales et provinciales en préparation d'une crise et durant une période de crise.

Dans leur région, les agents régionaux des télécommunications d'urgence (ARTU) sont chargés de soutenir le mandat du ministère relativement aux télécommunications d'urgence. L'ARTU a notamment comme rôle : la planification, la prestation de conseils et la formation, la promotion des pratiques exemplaires, l'infrastructure essentielle et l'intervention et le rétablissement en cas de catastrophe.

Voici les trois régions :

Les agents régionaux et de district des télécommunications d'urgence peuvent être parmi les premiers représentants gouvernementaux à être informés d'une urgence touchant les télécommunications. Il se peut qu'on leur demande de travailler sur le lieu de l'urgence ou dans un centre fédéral ou provincial des opérations d'urgence (COU). Les régions d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada sont responsables de ce qui suit :

Gestion du spectre

  • sélection des fréquences
  • résolution des problèmes de brouillage sur les lieux de l'urgence
  • évaluation du lieu touché

Planification d'urgence

  • liaison avec l'industrie des télécommunications pour soutenir la planification fédérale/provinciale/industrie des télécommunications
  • liaison avec les Organisations de mesures d'urgence (OMU) fédérales et provinciales afin de soutenir l'industrie des télécommunications

Au sein d'une région qui consiste en une province, l'ARTU agit à titre de principale interface d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada avec les Organisations de mesures d'urgence fédérales et provinciales, les personnes-ressources de l'industrie des télécommunications et les agents de district des télécommunications d'urgence (ADTU).

Dans les régions qui englobent plusieurs provinces ou territoires, l'ADTU pour chaque province ou territoire agit à titre de principale interface d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada avec les Organisations de mesures d'urgence fédérales et provinciales et les personnes-ressources de l'industrie des télécommunications, et il relève de l'ARTU approprié.

Date de modification :