Wireless Priority Service (WPS)

WPS Wireless Priority Service: For essential personnel and government decision makers during emergencies

Wireless telecommunications can play a vital role in how you coordinate and respond to an emergency. If you are part of a business continuity plan (BCP), Wireless Priority Service (WPS) may be for you.

During an emergency, many people use wireless phones, and congestion on these networks is possible. WPS ensures priority access to wireless networks by providing qualified subscribers with the next available wireless channel on an antenna tower. WPS is available to essential personnel responsible for public safety, emergency preparedness, continuity of government and other critical services.

With Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada support, WPS is offered by two Canadian wireless service providers. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada approves WPS applications and maintains the database of essential personnel who qualify. The service providers charge user fees for priority access to their networks.

Quick links

WPS frequently asked questions


What is WPS?

WPS is an enhancement to basic mobile service that allows registered essential personnel calls to queue for the next available service channel while minimizing impact on regular consumer access to the same wireless infrastructure. WPS will not terminate calls in progress. Since it is simply giving subscribers priority access to an antenna tower for outgoing calls, it does not guarantee the completion of the call, which still has to travel through other parts of the network. It does however mitigate congestion on the local tower, which is important during emergencies.

http:/h_wj00016.html#q1


When and how do I use WPS? - Dial *272

Most congestion happens at the antenna tower. Should your tower become congested, activate WPS by dialling *272 on your WPS-enabled mobile phone, prior to the destination number. For example dial *272 613-555-1111. Your call will be placed in a queue for 30 seconds and given priority to the next available radio channel. If a queue of WPS users has formed, they will be served in WPS priority order. Should you not connect during those 30 seconds, retry your call.

Handsets must have access to your service provider's 2G network. At this time, 3G networks do not support WPS.

Associated fees
http://h_wj00016.html#q2


Who should have WPS?

WPS is intended for use by personnel who have emergency, public safety, continuity of government, or other critical service responsibilities. If you are part of a BCP (business continuity plan) you may be eligible for WPS.

There are various WPS priority levels, and access to the antenna tower is granted using these rankings. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada authorizes users for WPS through an online tool called the Emergency Telecommunications Data System (ETDS).

http://h_wj00016.html#q3


What are the WPS priority levels?

  • Priority Level 1 - Executive Leadership and Decision Makers
  • Priority Level 2 - Disaster Response/Military Command and Control
  • Priority Level 3 - Public Health and Safety and Law Enforcement Command
  • Priority Level 4 - Public Service/Utilities and Public Welfare
  • Priority Level 5 - Disaster Recovery

Examples are available for each WPS priority level to help you determine which best suits your type of work.

http://h_wj00016.html#q4


Is there a cost to this service?

Yes. Your mobile provider may charge an activation fee, a monthly fee and per minute fee, once a WPS call is initiated, which varies from your basic package.

http://h_wj00016.html#q5


How do I get WPS?

Many organizations already have Group Managers registered with Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada for priority services requests. Group Mangers submit requests online via the Emergency Telecommunications Data System (ETDS).

http://h_wj00016.html#q6

WPS Detailed Process - Updated January 2010

  1. 1- Contact your organization's ETDS Group Manager to ensure you are eligible for WPS within your organization, and if so, to request the service.

    Group Managers are normally people involved in emergency planning or in telecommunications services.

    See Contact Emergency Telecom if you require assistance in identifying your Group Manager.

  2. Enter into a contract with a service provider who offers WPS and obtain a handset that is compatible with 2G networks (at this time, 3G networks do not support WPS) or be prepared to manually select the 2G network, by changing your phone options, before placing a WPS call.
  3. Notify your Group Manager of your mobile number and he/she will enter your information, including your WPS priority level, into Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's ETDS, and will request WPS for your mobile phone.

    This initiates the activation process.

    Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada will verify your WPS priority level and reserves the right to modify it and/or to revoke WPS.

  1. Once Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada approves the priority level, the Group Manager, the owner of the phone and the wireless service provider receive a notification email that WPS has been requested.
  2. The wireless service provider contacts the Group Manager and the owner of the phone within 3-5 business days to confirm activation of WPS.

    Where possible, clients receive a text message on their mobile phone once WPS has been activated. An email is also sent to the client.


How do I know WPS is activated?

You can test for WPS by dialling *272 followed by a telephone number. If you have WPS, the call will complete (you will hear a phone ring at the other end). If you do not have WPS, you will hear a repeating and progressive tone (unlike a busy signal).

If you have followed all the above steps and do not see the monthly WPS fee on your wireless phone bill, call your service provider to confirm the service has been activated. You may also contact your Group Manager to follow up.

http://h_wj00016.html#q8


How do I deactivate WPS?

If you would like to remove WPS from a phone number, notify your Group Manager. Group Managers can refer to the ETDS User Guide for detailed instructions.

http://h_wj00016.html#q9


Can I keep WPS when I am move to another organization and take my mobile phone number?

If you are continuing in a position which requires WPS and planning on taking your current phone to another department or organization, your information must be moved within Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's database, the ETDS, to your new Group Manager. Your email address and other contact information must also be updated. Your Group Manager can contact Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada ETDS support to ensure a smooth transition. You can also contact your regional Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada representative.

http://h_wj00016.html#q10


Which Canadian service providers offer WPS?

Rogers Communications Inc. offers WPS on its GSM, 2G/Edge network across Canada. In Manitoba, MTS Allstream offers WPS on its CDMA network.

http://h_wj00016.html#q11


Will WPS work when I am in the United States?

As of January 2010, WPS mobile customers on GSM networks will enjoy cross-border roaming privileges for Wireless Priority Service in the United States. ATandT and T-Mobile have extended their roaming relationship with Rogers Communications Inc. to include WPS.

If you are in the U.S., roaming on either ATandT or T-Mobile, and experiencing network congestion, dial *272 and your destination number to make a priority call.

http://h_wj00016.html#q12


Does WPS work on 3G networks?

WPS works only on 2G networks. If you have a "smart phone" or 3G device, you must manually set your device to use the carrier's 2G network. If you are unsure about how to do this, or whether your phone is 2G or 3G, consult the user manual for your particular model of phone.

http://h_wj00016.html#q13


How often should I test WPS?

Exercising or testing any service you plan to rely on during an emergency is an excellent idea. Without excising and testing, you run the risk of forgetting how and when to use a service. You may even discover that someone on your response team doesn't have a service he or she requires for emergency response.

BCP coordinators can incorporate WPS into their exercises, even when network congestion is not a factor. Contact Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada for more suggestions on exercising emergency telecommunications at WPS information

You may also consider putting a sticker on the back of your phone with "WPS *272" as a reminder for the owner of the phone.

http://h_wj00016.html#q14

Contacts

To obtain more information and/or the name of your Group Manager, contact: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's National Telecommunications Security group at WPS information.

You can also contact your regional Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada representative.

Date modified:

Service prioritaire sans fil (SPSF)

SPSF Service prioritaire sans fil : À utiliser par le personnel essentiel et les décideurs gouvernementaux en situation d'urgence

Les télécommunications sans fil peuvent jouer un rôle vital dans la façon dont vous coordonnez l'action et vous intervenez en cas d'urgence. Si vous faites partie d'un plan de continuité des activités (PCA), il se peut que le Service prioritaire sans fil vous soit utile.

Durant une urgence, bon nombre de gens utilisent des téléphones sans fil, et la congestion de ces réseaux est possible. Le Service Prioritaire sans fil (SPSF) permet d'assurer l'accès prioritaire aux réseaux sans fil en fournissant aux abonnés admissibles le prochain Canal sans fil disponible sur un pylône d'antenne. Il est offert au personnel essentiel responsable de la sécurité publique, de la protection civile, de la continuité du gouvernement et des autres services cruciaux.

Grâce au soutien d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, le SPSF est offert par deux fournisseurs canadiens de services sans fil. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada approuve les demandes de SPSF et tient la base de données de personnel admissible. Les fournisseurs de services imposent des frais pour l'accès prioritaire à leurs réseaux.

Fonctionnalité, processus et procédure du SPSF

Liens rapides

Foire aux questions


Qu'est-ce que le SPSF?

Le SPSF est un service mobile de base amélioré qui permet de mettre en attente les appels du personnel essentiel inscrit pour qu'ils aient accès au prochain canal de service disponible, tout en réduisant au minimum les répercussions sur l'accès des autres consommateurs à la même infrastructure sans fil. Il ne mettra pas fin aux appels en cours. Comme il ne fait qu'accorder aux abonnés un accès prioritaire à un pylône d'antenne pour les appels sortants, il ne garantit pas l'acheminement de l'appel, qui doit quand même passer par les autres parties du réseau. Il permet toutefois d'atténuer la congestion sur le pylône d'antenne local, ce qui est important durant les urgences.

http://h_wj00016.html#q1


Quand et comment puis-je utiliser le SPSF? Composez le *272!

La congestion survient surtout aux pylônes d'antennes. Si votre pylône devient congestionné, vous pouvez activer le SPSF en composant *272 sur votre téléphone mobile SPSF, avant le numéro de destination. Par exemple, composez le *272 613-555-1111. Votre appel sera mis en attente pendant 30 secondes, puis se verra accorder la priorité au prochain canal radio disponible. Si une file d'attente d'utilisateurs du SPSF s'est formée, ils seront servis en ordre de priorité du SPSF. Si vous ne parvenez pas à obtenir la connexion en 30 secondes, veuillez essayer de nouveau.

Veuillez noter que les appareils doivent avoir accès au réseau 2G de votre fournisseur de services. Pour le moment, les réseaux 3G ne supportent pas le SPSF.

http://h_wj00016.html#q2


Qui devrait avoir accès au SPSF?

Le SPSF est destiné au personnel qui assume des responsabilités liées aux urgences, à la sécurité publique, à la continuité du gouvernement ou à d'autres services essentiels. Si vous faites partie d'un PCA (plan de continuité des activités), il se peut que vous soyez admissible au SPSF.

Il existe divers niveaux de priorité pour le SPSF. L'accès au pylône d'antenne est accordé selon ce classement. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada autorise les utilisateurs du SPSF au moyen d'un outil en ligne appelé le Système de données en télécommunications d'urgence (SDTU).

http://h_wj00016.html#q3


Quels sont les niveaux de priorité du SPSF?

  • Niveau de priorité 1 - Dirigeants et décideurs
  • Niveau de priorité 2 - Intervention en cas de catastrophe et commandement et contrôle militaires
  • Niveau de priorité 3 - Santé et sécurité publiques et commandement de l'application de la loi
  • Niveau de priorité 4 - Services publics et bien-être public
  • Niveau de priorité 5 - Reprise après un sinistre

Des exemples sont disponibles pour chaque niveau de priorité du SPSF pour vous aider à déterminer le niveau qui convient le mieux à votre type de travail.

http://h_wj00016.html#q4


Ce service a-t-il un coût?

Oui. Votre fournisseur de services mobiles peut imposer des frais d'activation, des frais mensuels et des frais par minute une fois qu'est effectué un appel , qui varient selon votre forfait de base.

http://h_wj00016.html#q5


Comment puis-je obtenir le SPSF?

Bon nombre d'organisations ont déjà inscrit des gestionnaires de groupe auprès d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada pour obtenir des services prioritaires. Les gestionnaires de groupe soumettent leurs demandes de services prioritaires en ligne par l'entremise du Système de données en télécommunications d'urgence (SDTU).

http://h_wj00016.html#q6

Processus détaillé d'obtention du SPSF - Mis à jour en janvier 2010

  1. Communiquer avec le gestionnaire de groupe du SDTU de votre organisation pour vous assurer que vous êtes admissible au SPSF au sein de votre organisation et, dans l'affirmative, pour demander le service.

    Les gestionnaires de groupe sont normalement les gens qui travaillent à la planification des urgences ou dans les services de télécommunications.

    Voir les Contacts Télécom d'Urgence si vous avez besoin d'aide pour déterminer votre gestionnaire de groupe.
  2. Passer un contrat avec un fournisseur de services qui offre le SPSF, puis prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour obtenir un appareil qui est compatible avec les réseaux 2G (pour le moment, les réseaux 3G ne supportent pas le SPSF) ou être disposé à sélectionner manuellement le réseau 2G, en modifiant les options sur votre téléphone avant de placer un appel SPSF.
  3. Informer votre gestionnaire de groupe de votre numéro de téléphone mobile pour qu'il inscrive vos renseignements, y compris votre niveau de priorité du SPSF, dans le SDTU d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada et demande le SPSF pour votre téléphone mobile.

    Cela permet d'amorcer le processus d'activation.

    Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada vérifie votre niveau de priorité du SPSF et se réserve le droit de le modifier ou d'annuler le SPSF.
  1. Lorsque Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada approuve le niveau de priorité, le gestionnaire de groupe, le propriétaire du téléphone, le fournisseur de services sans fil reçoivent des courriels confirmant que le SPSF a été demandé.
  2. Le fournisseur de services sans fil communique avec le gestionnaire de groupe et le propriétaire du téléphone dans les trois à cinq jours ouvrables suivants, pour confirmer l'activation du SPSF.

    Dans la mesure du possible, les clients reçoivent un message texte sur leur téléphone mobile une fois que le SPSF a été activé. Un courriel est aussi envoyé au client.


Comment puis-je savoir que le SPSF est activé?

Vous pouvez tester le SPSF en composant *272 suivi par un numéro de téléphone. Si vous avez le SPSF, l'appel sera acheminé (vous entendrez un téléphone sonner à l'autre bout). Si vous n'avez pas le SPSF, vous entendrez à répétition une tonalité progressive (différente d'un signal occupé).

Si vous avez suivi les étapes précitées et ne voyez pas les frais mensuels du SPSF apparaître sur votre relevé de téléphone sans fil, veuillez appeler votre fournisseur de services pour confirmer que le service a bel et bien été activé. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec votre gestionnaire de groupe pour faire le suivi.

http://h_wj00016.html#q7


Comment puis-je désactiver le SPSF?

Si vous voulez retirer le SPSF d'un numéro de téléphone, vous devez aviser votre gestionnaire de groupe. Les gestionnaires de groupe peuvent consulter le Guide de l'utilisateur du SDTU pour obtenir des instructions détaillées.

http://h_wj00016.html#q8


Puis-je garder le SPSF lorsque je me joins à une autre organisation et que je conserve mon numéro de téléphone sans fil

Si vous occupez un poste qui nécessite que vous ayez le SPSF et que vous prévoyez d'apporter votre téléphone avec vous dans un autre ministère ou une autre organisation, votre information doit être déplacée au sein de la base de données d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, le SDTU, vers votre nouveau gestionnaire de groupe. Votre adresse électronique et vos coordonnées doivent également être mises à jour. Votre gestionnaire de groupe peut communiquer avec l'équipe de soutien SDTU d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada pour assurer une transition sans problème.

http://h_wj00016.html#q9


Quels fournisseurs de services canadiens offrent le SPSF?

Rogers Communications Inc. offre le SPSF sur son réseau GSM (2G/Edge) partout au Canada. Au Manitoba, MTS Allstream offre le SPSF sur son réseau AMRC.

http://h_wj00016.html#q10


Le SPSF fonctionnera-t-il lorsque je serai aux États-Unis?

A compter de janvier 2010, les clients mobiles du SPSF sur les réseaux GSM ont des privilèges d'itinérance transfrontaliers pour le SPSF aux États-Unis. ATandT et T-Mobile ont élargi leur lien au chapitre de l'itinérance avec Rogers Communications Inc. pour inclure le SPSF.

Si vous êtes aux États-Unis, et que vous vous déplacez sur ATandT ou T-Mobile, et que le réseau est congestionné, composez *272 et votre numéro de destination pour faire un appel prioritaire.

http://h_wj00016.html#q11


Le SPSF fonctionne-t-il sur les réseaux 3G?

Le SPS fonctionne seulement sur les réseaux 2G. Si vous avez un «téléphone intelligent» ou un appareil 3G, vous devez manuellement régler votre appareil pour utiliser le réseau 2G du fournisseur de services. Si vous n'êtes pas certain de la façon de procéder, ou si votre téléphone est 2G ou 3G, veuillez consulter le manuel de l'utilisateur pour votre modèle de téléphone.

http://h_wj00016.html#q12


À quelle fréquence dois-je tester le SPSF?

C'est une excellente idée de mettre à l'essai tout service sur lequel vous vous proposez de vous appuyer dans une situation d'urgence. Sinon, vous risquez d'oublier comment et quand utiliser un service. Vous pourrez même découvrir que quelqu'un de votre équipe d'intervention n'a pas le service dont il a besoin pendant une intervention d'urgence.

Les coordonnateurs des PCA peuvent incorporer le SPSF à leurs exercices, même lorsque la congestion des réseaux n'est pas un facteur. Vous pouvez communiquer avec Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada pour obtenir plus de suggestions sur l'exercice des télécommunications d'urgence.

Vous pouvez également envisager de placer au dos de votre téléphone un autocollant sur lequel est indiqué « SPSF *272 » comme rappel pour le propriétaire du téléphone.

http://h_wj00016.html#q13

Contacts

Pour obtenir plus d'information ou le nom de votre gestionnaire de groupe, veuillez communiquer avec les Services nationaux des télécommunications d'urgence d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

Vous pouvez aussi contacter votre représentant régional d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

Date de modification :