Public alerting

Canada is developing a National Public Alerting System (NPAS) that enables designated government authorities using AM/FM radio and television through terrestrial, cable and satellite channels to warn the public of imminent or unfolding dangers to life. Background information about NPAS is available on the National Public Alerting System web page.

As the system expands to include other technologies such as wireless telecommunications, alerting messages will reach the public using more dynamic and advanced technologies.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada provides technical assistance to Public Safety Canada for public alerting technologies and standard development initiatives. We welcome participation from public alerting service providers, technology developers and wireless infrastructure operators who have a common interest in advancing Canada's public alerting capability.

If you have any questions regarding Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's initiative in NPAS, please contact us at Public Alerting.

Wireless Public Alerting Service — A Pilot for Effective Emergency Public Alerting

The Wireless Public Alerting Service (WPAS) project is a three‑year federal government‑led initiative that aims to develop and demonstrate an effective solution for emergency wireless public alerting. The main objective of the project is to define, design, develop, test and pilot a wireless public alerting service using cell broadcast technologyFootnote 1 over the long‑term evolution (LTE) standardFootnote 2 and integrating the service with the National Public Alerting System (NPAS).Footnote 3 The technology used meets the expectations and requirements defined by Canadian federal/provincial/territorial (F/P/T) alerting authorities.

During the pilot phase, WPAS allows public alerting authorities to broadcast emergency alerts to a defined geographic area, which can be as small as a few city blocks, such that only people in the defined area will receive the alerts. Cell phones in the targeted area will receive the alerts within seconds of being issued, provided the phones are powered on and have the cell broadcast feature enabled.

The pilot WPAS alerts are sent by alerting authorities and are based on the urgency, certainty and severity of the threat. Alerts could include information on wildfires, tornadoes, chemical spills, train derailments, Amber Alerts or water contamination.

The WPAS project, which began in May 2014, is managed by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED). It is funded through the Canadian Safety and Security Program (CSSP), a federal program led by Defence Research and Development Canada's (DRDC) Centre for Security Science, in partnership with Public Safety Canada. Project partners include Bell Mobility, Pelmorex Media Inc., Office of the Fire Marshal and Emergency Management Ontario, Ontario Power Generation, Public Safety Canada, and Mobility & Wireless Solutions.

Questions regarding the WPAS project can be directed to Public Alerting.

More information on the WPAS project is provided on the Wireless Public Alerting Service — FAQ page.

Date modified:

Alerte au public

Le Canada est en train d'élaborer un système national d'alertes au public (SNAP), qui habilitera les autorités gouvernementales désignées à utiliser les chaînes radio AM et FM ainsi que les chaînes de télévision diffusant par voie terrestre, câble et satellite pour avertir le public de dangers pour la vie imminents ou en cours. Des renseignements généraux sur le SNAP sont disponibles sur la page web du Système national d'alertes au public.

Au fur et à mesure que le système prendra de l'expansion pour inclure d'autres technologies, comme les télécommunications sans fil, les messages d'alerte atteindront le public au moyen de technologies plus dynamiques et plus avancées.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada apporte l'aide technique à Sécurité publique Canada concernant les initiatives d'élaboration des technologies et normes quant aux alertes au public. Nous acceptons avec joie la participation des fournisseurs de service d'alertes au public, les concepteurs de technologies et les exploitants de l'infrastructure du sans fil qui ont un intérêt commun envers le renforcement de la capacité du Canada en matière d'alertes au public.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de l'initiative d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada quant au SNAP, veuillez nous contacter à Alerte au public.

Service d'alertes sans fil au public — Un projet pilote pour mettre sur pied un service d'alertes au public efficace en cas d'urgence

Le projet du service d'alertes sans fil au public (SASFP) est une initiative du gouvernement fédéral échelonnée sur trois ans qui vise à mettre au point et à tester une solution efficace pour un service d'alertes sans fil au public en cas d'urgence. Son principal objectif consiste à définir, à concevoir, à mettre au point et à mettre à l'essai un service d'alertes sans fil au public à l'aide de la technologie de diffusion cellulaireNote de bas de page 1 utilisant la norme de la technologie LTENote de bas de page 2, et en intégrant le service au système national d'alertes au publicNote de bas de page 3. La technologie utilisée satisfait aux attentes et aux exigences des autorités canadiennes fédérales, provinciales et territoriales responsables en matière d'alertes.

Durant la phase de mise à l'essai, le SASFP permet aux autorités émettrices d'alertes au public de diffuser des alertes d'urgence dans une zone géographique définie, qui peut ne couvrir que quelques pâtés de maisons, de sorte que seules les personnes se trouvant dans ce secteur reçoivent les alertes. Les téléphones cellulaires dans la zone ciblée recevront les alertes dans les secondes suivant leur diffusion, pour autant que les téléphones soient sous tension et que la fonction de diffusion cellulaire soit activée.

Les alertes dans le cadre du projet pilote du SASFP sont transmises par les autorités émettrices d'alertes en fonction de l'urgence, de la certitude et de la gravité de la menace. Il pourrait s'agir, par exemple, d'information sur des feux de friches, des tornades, des déversements de produits chimiques, des déraillements de train, des alertes Amber ou sur la contamination de l'eau.

Le projet du SASFP, lancé en mai 2014, est géré par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE). Il est financé par le Programme canadien de sûreté et de sécurité (PCSS), un programme fédéral dirigé par le Centre des sciences pour la sécurité (CSS) de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC), en partenariat avec Sécurité publique Canada. Les partenaires du projet sont Bell Mobilité, Pelmorex Media Inc., le Bureau du commissaire des incendies et Gestion des situations d'urgence Ontario, Ontario Power Generation, Sécurité publique Canada, et Mobility & Wireless Solutions.

Les questions concernant le projet du SASFP peuvent être transmises à Alerte au public.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le projet du SASFP, veuillez vous référer à la foire aux questions — Service d'alertes sans fil au public.

Date de modification :