Frequently Asked Questions

An Overview of the Investment Canada Act (FAQs)

Note: This document is not intended to provide legal advice. Investors and their representatives are urged to contact Investment Review Division officials directly at 613-954-1887 for more detailed information.

Introduction

The purpose of the Investment Canada Act (the Act) is "to provide for the review of significant investments in Canada by non-Canadians in order to ensure such benefit to Canada" (s. 2). The legislation describing the "review function" and associated rules are complex and because of that complexity, this document is intended to serve both as an introduction to and a description of the key features of the Act. It will hopefully help investors and others who are interested in the application of the legislation understand how non-Canadian investors are to respond to the requirements of the Act.

It should be noted, however, that this is only a general guide for the reader. It does not include all the details found in the Act and is not intended to express a legal opinion of the Government of Canada as to the interpretation of the Act nor is it bound by its content. For the application of the Act to a particular situation, the reader is advised to consult the specific provisions of the Act and obtain appropriate legal counsel.

With respect to all investments except those that fall within a prescribed type of business activity as set out in Schedule IV of the Regulations, the Department responsible for the administration of the Act is Industry Canada. With respect to investments which fall within a Schedule IV prescribed business activity, the Department responsible for the administration of the Act is the Department of Canadian Heritage.

For further information on investments other than Schedule IV investments, please call 613-954-1887 or contact us by fax at 613-996-2515, or by letter addressed to: 235 Queen Street, Room 400B East Tower, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0H5

Email: investcan@ic.gc.ca

For further information on Schedule IV investments, please call 819-994-5637 or contact the Department of Canadian Heritage by fax at 819-994-5408, or by letter addressed to: Department of Canadian Heritage, Cultural Sector Investment Review, Cultural Affairs Sector, 25 Eddy Street, 7th Floor, Gatineau, Quebec, K1A 0M5

Email: Harold.Boies@pch.gc.ca

What's Covered in the FAQs

top of page

Does the Investment Canada Act apply to me?

If you are not a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident, within the meaning of the Immigration Act (ie. a person who has been ordinarily resident in Canada for not more than one year after the time at which he/she first became eligible to apply for Canadian citizenship), then you are a non-Canadian and must comply with the provisions of the Investment Canada Act.

For the purposes of the Act, a non-Canadian includes any entity that is not controlled or beneficially owned by Canadians.

If you are a non-Canadian, then you MUST either file a Notification or an Application for Review of the investment unless a specific exemption applies. (s.10)

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q1
top of page

When do I have to file a Notification?

If you are a non-Canadian then you must file a notification each and every time you commence a new business activity in Canada and each time you acquire control of an existing Canadian business where the establishment or acquisition of control is not a reviewable transaction.

A Notification must be filed no later than thirty days after the implementation of the investment.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q2
top of page

When will an investment be reviewable?

  1. An investment is reviewable if there is an acquisition of a Canadian business and the asset value of the Canadian business being acquired equals or exceeds the following thresholds:
    1. For non-WTO investors, the threshold is $5 million for a direct acquisition and over $50 million for an indirect acquisition; the $5 million threshold will apply however for an indirect acquisition if the asset value of the Canadian business being acquired exceeds 50% of the asset value of the global transaction.
    2. Except as specified in paragraph (c) below, a threshold is calculated annually for reviewable direct acquisitions by or from WTO investors. The threshold for 2013 is $344 million. Pursuant to Canada's international commitments, indirect acquisitions by or from WTO investors are not reviewable.
    3. The limits set out in paragraph (a) apply to all investors for acquisitions of a Canadian business that is a cultural business.
  2. Notwithstanding the above, any investment which is usually only notifiable, including the establishment of a new Canadian business, and which falls within a specific business activity listed in Schedule IV of the Regulations Respecting Investment in Canada, may be reviewed if an Order-in-Council directing a review is made and a notice is sent to the Investor within 21 days following the receipt of a certified complete notification.
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q3

How do I know which Department will review my investment?

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q4
top of page

How long does the review process take?

Every effort is made to process applications for review as quickly as possible. Under the Act, the Minister has 45 days to determine whether or not to allow the investment. The Minister can unilaterally extend the 45 day period by an additional 30 days by sending a notice to the investor prior to the expiration of the initial 45 day period. Further extensions are permitted if both the investor and the Minister agree to the extension. If no approval or notice of extension is received within the applicable time then the investment is deemed approved. It is not unusual for the Minister to extend the initial 45 day review period by an additional 30 days to permit full consideration of the investment. In the case of investments in cultural businesses, the review will usually require at least 75 days to complete. (ss.21, 22, 23)

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q5
top of page

Can I implement an investment that is subject to review prior to a decision?

Generally, a reviewable investment may not be implemented prior to the investor having received a decision from the Minister that the investment is of "net benefit" to Canada. There are three exceptions:

  1. Where the Minister is satisfied that a delay in implementing the investment would result in undue hardship to the investor or would jeopardize the operations of the Canadian business and the Minister has sent a notice to the investor permitting implementation of the investment prior to completion of the review process;
  2. Where the investment is implemented as the result of an acquisition of control of a corporation incorporated outside of Canada; and
  3. Where the investment is not normally reviewable, but the Government exercises its authority by Order-in-Council to review the investment because the investment involves a Schedule IV business activity.
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q6
top of page

What does "net benefit" mean?

In determining whether an investment is of "net benefit", the Minister will consider the following factors:

  1. the effect on the level of economic activity in Canada, on employment; on resource processing; on the utilization of parts and services produced in Canada and on exports from Canada;
  2. the degree and significance of participation by Canadians in the Canadian business or new Canadian business and in any industry or industries in Canada;
  3. the effect of the investment on productivity, industrial efficiency, technological development, product innovation and product variety in Canada;
  4. the effect of the investment on competition within any industry in Canada;
  5. the compatibility of the investment with national industrial, economic and cultural policies; and
  6. the contribution of the investment to Canada's ability to compete in world markets.

The investor should address each of these factors and provide supporting documentation and financial data when submitting an application for review. Depending upon the nature of and the circumstances surrounding the investment, some of the above factors will be given more weight than others. The more specific the investor's plans and/or undertakings which address the above factors, the greater the likelihood a speedy approval will be obtained.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q7
top of page

What happens if the Minister is not satisfied of "net benefit" and does not approve the investment?

If the Minister advises that he/she is not satisfied that the investment represents a "net benefit" to Canada, the Act provides an opportunity for the investor to make additional representations and undertakings which would demonstrate the "net benefit" of the investment. Ultimately, if the Minister remains unsatisfied, a notice will be sent to the investor advising of the Minister's decision and the investor will be prohibited from implementing the investment or if the investment has already been implemented the investor will be required to divest itself of the investment. (ss. 23, 24)

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q8
top of page

Binding Opinions

An investor may seek an opinion from the Minister or Director of Investments with respect to any matter of interpretation of the Investment Canada Act. Once an opinion is provided the opinion is binding upon the Minister and the Director for so long as the material facts on which the opinion was based remain substantially unchanged. Opinions are generally sought in respect to the status of an individual or entity as a Canadian, general questions of interpretation, and whether or not there are grounds for an early implementation of the investment. (s. 37)

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q9
top of page

Third Party Representations

While other federal government departments and provincial governments are regularly consulted during the review process, representations are not solicited from any other persons. However, where unsolicited representations are received that could have an adverse bearing on the determination of net benefit, applicants will be advised of the substance of those representations and given an opportunity to respond to them. The identity of persons making third party representations will not be disclosed to the applicant. Information provided to the Government by the applicant will not be divulged to a third party intervenor without the consent of the applicant.

Where relevant to the factors used in the determination of net benefit, the Minister will be advised both of any outside representations made with respect to an investment and of any response to those representations made by the applicant.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q10
top of page

Confidentiality

The Investment Canada Act contains very rigid confidentiality provisions. All information received by Industry Canada and its officials in relation to an investor or a Canadian business is treated as privileged and confidential information and may not be disclosed except in relation to the administration of the Act or with the consent of the parties to whom the information pertains. The confidentiality provisions are meant to encourage investors to share information with the appropriate Industry Canada officials to make the review process more efficient for all parties and to allow a provider of information to be secure in the knowledge that the sensitive business information provided will not be misused or indiscretely communicated.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q11

For More Information

Further information may be obtained by contacting:
Industry Canada, Investment Review Division in Ottawa at 613-954-1887.

Or you may write to us at:
235 Queen Street, Room 400B East Tower
C.D. Howe Building
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5

Fax: 613-996-2515

Email: investcan@ic.gc.ca

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/eng/h_lk00007.html#q12

Foire aux questions

Un survol de la Loi sur Investissement Canada (FAQs)

Remarque : Le présent document ne vise pas à donner un avis juridique. Les investisseurs et leurs représentants sont priés de communiquer directement avec les fonctionnaires de l'Examen des investissements directement au 613-954-1887 pour des renseignements plus détaillés.

Introduction

La Loi sur Investissement Canada (la Loi) vise notamment à « instaurer l'examen des investissements importants effectués au Canada par des non-Canadiens afin de garantir ces avantages  » (art. 2). Les dispositions législatives décrivant la « fonction examen  » et les règles connexes étant complexes, le présent document vise à servir de guide à la fois introductif et descriptif des principales caractéristiques de la Loi. Il devrait aider les investisseurs et les autres personnes intéressées par l'application de la Loi à comprendre comment les investisseurs non-Canadiens sont appelés à satisfaire aux exigences de la Loi.

Il y a toutefois lieu de souligner qu'il ne s'agit que d'un guide général pour le lecteur. Il ne comprend pas toutes les prescriptions détaillées de la Loi et n'a pas pour objectif de donner un avis juridique du gouvernement du Canada sur l'interprétation de la Loi; le gouvernement n'est pas lié non plus par son contenu. Quant à l'application de la Loi à une situation factuelle particulière, le lecteur est invité à consulter les dispositions précises de la Loi et à obtenir un avis juridique approprié.

En ce qui a trait à tous les investissements, sauf ceux faisant partie d'un type précis d'activité conforme à l'annexe IV du Règlement, Industrie Canada est le ministère chargé de l'administration de la Loi. Quant aux investissements qui font partie d'un type précis d'activité commerciale visé à l'annexe IV, le ministère chargé de l'administration de la Loi est le ministère du Patrimoine canadien.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les investissements autres que ceux énumérés à l'annexe IV, veuillez composer le numéro 613-954-1887 ou communiquer par télécopieur au numéro 613-996-2515, ou par lettre à l'adresse suivante : 235, rue Queen, pièce 400B tour Est, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0H5.

Courrier électronique : investcan@ic.gc.ca

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les investissements prescrits à l'article IV, veuillez composer le numéro 613-998-9266 ou communiquer avec le ministère du Patrimoine canadien par télécopieur au numéro 613-998-9200, ou par lettre à l'adresse suivante : Ministère du Patrimoine canadien, Examen des investissements, Commerce et investissements, 7ème étage, 25 rue Eddy, Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0M5

Courrier électronique : Harold.Boies@pch.gc.ca

haut de la page

La Loi sur investissement Canada s'applique-t-elle à moi?

Si vous n'êtes pas un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent au sens de la Loi sur l'immigration (c'est-à-dire une personne qui a résidé habituellement au Canada pendant une période maximale de un an à compter de la date où elle est devenue pour la première fois admissible à demander la citoyenneté canadienne), vous êtes alors un non-Canadien et vous êtes assujetti aux dispositions de la Loi sur Investissement Canada.

Aux fins de la Loi, l'expression non-Canadien comprend toute unité qui n'est pas contrôlée par, ou dont la propriété véritable n'appartient pas à des Canadiens.

Si vous êtes un non-Canadien, vous DEVEZ déposer soit un avis d'investissement, soit une demande d'examen de l'investissement, à moins qu'une exemption particulière ne s'applique. (art. 10)

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q1
haut de la page

Quand suis-je tenu de déposer un avis d'investissement?

Si vous êtes un non-Canadien, vous devez déposer un avis d'investissement chaque fois que vous entreprenez une nouvelle activité commerciale au Canada et chaque fois que vous prenez le contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne existante lorsque l'établissement ou l'acquisition du contrôle ne constitue pas une opération sujette à l'examen.

Un avis d'investissement doit être déposé au plus tard le trentième jour suivant la mise en œuvre de l'investissement.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q2
haut de la page

Quand un investissement est-il sujet à l'examen?

  1. Un investissement est sujet à l'examen s'il y a acquisition d'une entreprise canadienne et que la valeur des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne acquise est égale ou supérieure aux seuils suivants:
    1. Si l'investisseur n'est pas un investisseur OMC, le seuil est de 5 millions de dollars pour une acquisition directe et de 50 millions de dollars pour une acquisition indirecte; le seuil de 5 millions de dollars s'appliquera pour unce acquisition indirecte si la valeur des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne acquise excède 50% de la valeur de la transaction globale.
    2. à l'exception de ce qui est spécifié à l'alinéa (c) ci-dessous, un seuil est calculé sur une base annuelle pour les acquisitions directes d'entreprises par des investisseurs OMC, ou d'entrerprises sous contrôle d'investisseurs OMC. Le seuil pour 2013 est de 344 millions de dollars. Conformément aux obligations internationales du Canada, les acquisitions indirectes d'entreprises par des investisseurs OMC, ou d'entreprises sous le contrôle d'investisseurs OMC, ne sont pas sujets à l'examen
    3. Les limites élaborées à l'alinéa (a) s'appliquent à tous les investisseurs pour les acquisitions d'une entreprise canadienne qui est une entreprise culturelle.
  2. Nonobstant les limites susmentionnées, tout investissement qui ne doit habituellement faire l'objet que d'un avis, y compris la création d'une nouvelle entreprise canadienne, et qui constitue un type précis d'activité commerciale compris dans l'Annexe IV du Règlement concernant l'investissement au Canada, peut être sujet à l'examen si un décret du gouverneur en conseil est pris pour soumettre cet investissement à l'examen et qu'un avis d'examen est envoyé à l'investisseur dans les 21 jours suivant la réception d'un avis d'investissement certifié complet.
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q3
haut de la page

Comment puis-je savoir quel Ministère fera l'examen de mon investissement?

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q4
haut de la page

Quelle est la durée du processus d'examen des investissements?

Tous les efforts sont déployés pour traiter les demandes d'examen le plus rapidement possible. En vertu de la Loi, le ministre dispose de 45 jours pour déterminer s'il y a lieu de permettre l'investissement. Le ministre peut unilatéralement prolonger ce délai de 45 jours d'une autre période de 30 jours en expédiant à l'investisseur un avis avant l'expiration du délai original de 45 jours. D'autres prolongations peuvent s'appliquer si l'investisseur et le ministre s'entendent tous deux à ce sujet. Si aucune approbation ni aucun avis de prolongation ne sont reçus dans le délai applicable, l'investissement est réputé approuvé. Il arrive parfois que le ministre prolonge le délai initial d'examen de 45 jours d'une période supplémentaire de 30 jours afin de permettre un examen complet de l'investissement. Dans le cas d'investissements dans des entreprises culturelles, l'examen exige habituellement au moins 75 jours. (articles 21, 22 et 23)

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q5
haut de la page

Est-il possible d'effectuer un investissement qui est sujet à l'examen avant une décision?

En général, aucun investissement sujet à l'examen ne peut être effectué avant que l'investisseur n'ait reçu une décision du ministre portant que l'investissement sera vraisemblablement à l'« avantage net  » du Canada. Il existe toutefois trois exceptions à ce principe :

  1. lorsque le ministre estime qu'un délai dans la mise en œuvre d'un investissement causerait un préjudice injustifié à l'investisseur ou mettrait en danger les opérations de l'entreprise canadienne qui fait l'objet de l'investissement, et qu'il a expédié à l'investisseur un avis permettant la mise en œuvre de l'investissement avant la fin du processus d'examen;

  2. lorsque l'investissement est effectué par suite de l'acquisition du contrôle d'une personne morale constituée ailleurs qu'au Canada;

  3. lorsqu'il s'agit d'un investissement qui ne serait normalement pas sujet à l'examen, mais à l'égard duquel le gouvernement exerce son pouvoir en prenant un décret qui l'assujettit à l'examen parce que l'investissement fait partie d'une activité commerciale prescrite à l'article IV.
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q6
haut de la page

Que signifie l'expression « avantage net  »?

Lorsqu'il est appelé à déterminer si l'investissement est à l' « avantage net  » du Canada, le ministre doit tenir compte des facteurs suivants:

  1. l'effet de l'investissement sur le niveau et la nature de l'activité économique au Canada, notamment sur l'emploi, la transformation des ressources, l'utilisation de pièces et d'éléments produits et de services rendus au Canada et sur les exportations canadiennes;

  2. l'étendue et l'importance de la participation de Canadiens dans l'entreprise canadienne ou la nouvelle entreprise canadienne en question et dans le ou les secteurs industriels canadiens;

  3. l'effet de l'investissement sur la productivité, le rendement industriel, le progrès technologique, la création de produits nouveaux et la diversité des produits au Canada;

  4. l'effet de l'investissement sur la concurrence dans un ou plusieurs secteurs industriels au Canada;

  5. la compatibilité de l'investissement avec les politiques nationales en matière industrielle, économique et culturelle;

  6. la contribution de l'investissement à la compétitivité canadienne sur les marchés mondiaux.

L'investisseur devrait traiter de chacun de ces facteurs et fournir la documentation et les données financières sur lesquelles il s'appuie lorsqu'il présente une demande d'examen. Compte tenu de la nature de l'investissement et des circonstances qui l'entourent, certains des facteurs susmentionnés peuvent avoir une importance relative plus grande. Plus les projets et les engagements de l'investisseur portant sur ces facteurs sont précis, plus on peut s'attendre à l'obtention rapide d'une approbation.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q7
haut de la page

Qu'arrive-t-il si le ministre n'est pas d'avis que l'investissement sera à l'« avantage net  » du Canada et qu'il ne l'approuve pas?

Dans les cas où le ministre avise l'investisseur qu'il n'est pas d'avis que l'investissement représente un « avantage net  » pour le Canada, la Loi accorde à l'investisseur l'occasion de présenter des observations ou de prendre des engagements susceptibles de démontrer que l'investissement apporterait un « avantage net  ». Si en dernière analyse le ministre ne change pas d'avis, il notifie sa décision par un avis à l'investisseur, qui est tenu de s'abstenir d'effectuer l'investissement visé ou, si l'investissement a déjà été effectué, de se départir de l'investissement. (articles 23 et 24)

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q8
haut de la page

Valeur des opinions

L'investisseur peut demander une opinion au ministre ou au directeur des investissements au sujet de toute question d'interprétation de la Loi sur Investissement Canada. Dès qu'une opinion est donnée, elle lie le ministre et le directeur des investissements tant qu'aucune modification importante n'est apportée aux faits sur lesquels elle est fondée. Les demandes d'opinion portent généralement sur le statut de Canadien d'une personne ou d'une unité, sur des questions générales d'interprétation et sur l'existence de motifs pouvant justifier la mise en œuvre hâtive d'un investissement. (art. 37)

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q9
haut de la page

Observations soumises par des tiers

Même si d'autres ministères fédéraux et des gouvernements provinciaux sont régulièrement consultés au cours du processus d'examen, le ministère ne sollicite aucune observation de la part d'autres personnes. Toutefois, en présence d'observations non sollicitées qui pourraient avoir une incidence négative sur l'issue de la question de l'« avantage net  », les demandeurs sont avisés de l'essentiel de ces observations et ils ont l'occasion d'y répondre. Le demandeur ne pourra connaître l'identité des tiers qui présentent les observations en cause. Les renseignements communiqués au gouvernement par le demandeur ne peuvent, sans le consentement de celui-ci, être divulgués aux tiers qui interviennent.

Lorsqu'elles sont pertinentes relativement aux facteurs employés pour déterminer s'il y aura « avantage net  », le ministre prendra connaissance autant des observations faites par des tiers au sujet de l'investissement que des observations que le demandeur aura présentées en réponse à ces observations.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q10
haut de la page

Confidentialité

La Loi sur Investissement Canada comporte des dispositions très strictes en matière de confidentialité. Tous les renseignements reçus par Industrie Canada et par ses employés au sujet d'un investisseur ou d'une entreprise canadienne sont traités comme des renseignements privilégiés et confidentiels qui ne peuvent être communiqués qu'en matière d'application de la Loi ou avec le consentement des parties visées par les renseignements. Les dispositions relatives à la confidentialité visent à encourager les investisseurs à partager l'information avec les fonctionnaires qualifiés d'Industrie Canada afin d'améliorer l'efficience du processus d'examen des investissements pour toutes les parties et d'assurer les auteurs de renseignements que les renseignements commerciaux délicats fournis ne seront pas utilisés à mauvais escient ni communiqués indiscrètement.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q11

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec la Division de l'examen des investissements, à Ottawa, au numéro 613-954-1887.

ou écrire à :

235, rue Queen, pièce 400B tour Est
édifice C.D. Howe Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5

Télécopieur : 613-996-2515

Courrier électronique: investcan@ic.gc.ca

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ica-lic.nsf/fra/h_lk00007.html#q12