Thresholds

Thresholds for Review

Private sector WTO investments

Pursuant to subsections 14.1(1) and (2) of the Investment Canada Act ("the Act"), starting June 22, 2017, the review threshold is $1 billion in enterprise value for investments to directlyFootnote * acquire control of a Canadian business by:

  1. WTO investors that are not state-owned enterprises; and
  2. by non-WTO investors that are not state-owned enterprises where the Canadian business that is the subject of the investment is, immediately prior to the implementation of the investment, "controlled by a WTO investor".

Starting January 1, 2019, and for subsequent years, the threshold level will be adjusted annually based on growth in nominal GDP in accordance with the formula set out in subsection 14.1(2) (i.e., the growth in nominal GDP at market prices multiplied by the threshold amount determined for the previous year.)

The manner of calculating the enterprise value of the Canadian business that is the subject of the investment is prescribed in sections 3.3, 3.4 and 3.5 of the Investment Canada Regulations depending, on whether the Canadian business is a publicly traded entity, non-publicly traded entity or acquired by the acquisition of assets, respectively.

Private sector trade agreement investments

Pursuant to subsections 14.11(1), (2) and (3) of the Act, starting September 21, 2017, the review threshold is $1.5 billion in enterprise value for investments to acquire control of a Canadian business by:

  1. trade agreement investors that are not state-owned enterprises; and
  2. by non-trade agreement investors that are not state-owned enterprises where the Canadian business that is the subject of the investment is, immediately prior to the implementation of the investment, “controlled by a trade agreement investor”.

As defined in subsection 14.11(6) of the Act and the accompanying schedule, trade agreement investors include entities and individuals whose country of ultimate control is party to one of the following trade agreements:

  • Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement Implementation Act
  • North American Free Trade Agreement
  • Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act
  • Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act
  • Canada-Columbia Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act
  • Canada-Panama Economic Growth and Prosperity Act
  • Canada-Honduras Economic Growth and Prosperity Act
  • Canada-Korea Economic Growth and Prosperity Act

Starting January 1, 2019, and for subsequent years, the threshold level will be adjusted annually based on growth in nominal GDP in accordance with the formula set out in subsection 14.11(3) (i.e., the growth in nominal GDP at market prices multiplied by the threshold amount determined for the previous year.)

The manner of calculating enterprise value of the Canadian business that is the subject of the investment is prescribed in sections 3.3, 3.4 and 3.5 of the Investment Canada Regulations depending on whether the Canadian business is a publicly traded entity or acquired by the acquisition of assets, respectively.

State-owned enterprise WTO investments

Pursuant to the subsections 14.1(1.1) and (2) of the Act, the review threshold for 2017 is $379 million in asset value for investments to directlyFootnote * acquire control of a Canadian business by:

  1. WTO investors that are state-owned enterprises; and
  2. non-WTO investors that are state-owned enterprises where the Canadian business that is the subject of the investment is, immediately prior to the implementation of the investment, "controlled by a WTO investor".

The official amount was published on page 664 of the Canada Gazette on February 11, 2017.

This threshold will be annually revised to reflect the change in Canada's nominal gross domestic product (GDP) in accordance with the formula set out in subsection 14.1(2) (i.e., the annual change in nominal GDP at market prices multiplied by the threshold amount determined for the previous year).

The manner of calculating the value of the Canadian business that is the subject of the investment is prescribed in section 3.1 of the Investment Canada Regulations and is based on the Canadian business' asset value as shown on the balance sheet of the Canadian business at the end of the last completed fiscal year before its proposed acquisition.

Non-WTO investments and investments in cultural business

Pursuant to subsections 14(3) and 14(4) of the Act, the thresholds for investments which are subject to review are 5 million dollars in asset value for direct investments and 50 million dollars in asset value for indirect transactions. These thresholds apply to investments by an investor who is not a "WTO investor", as defined in subsection 14(6) of the Act, which involve the acquisition of control of a Canadian business which is not "controlled by a WTO investor" immediately prior to the implementation of the investment.

These thresholds also apply to investments made by all non-Canadian investors to acquire control of a Canadian business that is a cultural business as described in section 14.1(6) of the Act. Notwithstanding the above, any investment which is usually only notifiable, including the establishment of a new Canadian business, and which falls within a specific business activity listed in Schedule IV of the Investment Canada Regulations (cultural heritage or national identity), may be reviewed if an Order-in-Council directing a review is made and a notice is sent to the investor within 21 days following the receipt of a certified complete notification.

The manner of calculating the value of the Canadian business that is the subject of the investment is prescribed in Section 3.1 of the Investment Canada Regulations and is based on the Canadian business' asset value as shown on the balance sheet of the Canadian business at the end of the last completed fiscal year before its proposed acquisition.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Seuils

Seuils déclencheurs d'examen

Investissements par des investisseurs OMC du secteur privé

En vertu des paragraphes 14.1(1) et (2) de la Loi sur Investissement Canada (« la Loi »), à compter du 22 juin 2017, le seuil déclencheur d'examen est à 1 milliard de dollars au titre de la valeur d'affaire pour les investissements visant l'acquisition directeNote de bas de page * du contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne par :

  1. des investisseurs OMC qui ne sont pas des entreprises d'État et
  2. des investisseurs non OMC qui ne sont pas des entreprises d'État si l'entreprise canadienne visée par l'investissement est, avant que l'investissement ne soit effectué, contrôlée par un investisseur OMC.

À compter du 1er janvier 2021, et pour toutes les années subséquentes, le seuil déclencheur d'examen sera rajusté annuellement selon la croissance du PIB nominal conformément à la formule énoncée au paragraphe 14.1(2) (c'est-à-dire, la croissance du PIB nominal aux prix du marché multiplié par le montant du seuil établi pour l'année précédente).

La méthode de calcul de la valeur d'affaire des unités ouvertes, les unités qui ne sont pas ouvertes et les entreprises canadiennes acquises grâce à l'acquisition d'éléments d'actif pour les entreprises visées est définie aux articles 3.3, 3.4 et 3.5, respectivement, du Règlement sur Investissement Canada.

Investissements aux termes de l'accord commercial conclu avec le secteur privé

En vertu des paragraphes 14.11(1), (2) et (3) de la Loi, à compter du 21 septembre 2017, le seuil déclencheur d'examen passera à 1,5 milliard de dollars au titre de la valeur d'affaire pour les investissements visant l'acquisition d'une entreprise canadienne par :

  • des investisseurs aux termes de l'accord commercial qui ne sont pas des entreprises d'État;
  • des investisseurs aux termes de l'accord non commercial qui ne sont pas des entreprises d'État si l'entreprise canadienne visée par l'investissement net est, avant que l'amortissement ne soit effectué, « contrôlée par un investissement aux termes de l'accord commercial ».

Comme il est précisé au paragraphe 14.11(6) de la Loi et le calendrier connexe, les investisseurs aux termes de l'accord commercial incluent les entités et les individus dont le pays du contrôlant ultime fait partie de l'un ou l'autre des accords suivants :

  • Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canda et l'Union européenne
  • Accord de libre-échange nord-américain
  • Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili
  • Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou
  • Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie
  • Loi sur la croissance économique et la prospérité Canada-Panama
  • Loi sur la croissance économique et la prospérité Canada-Honduras
  • Loi sur la croissance économique et la prospérité Canada-Corée

À compter du 1er janvier 2019, et pour toutes les années subséquentes, le seuil déclencheur d'examen sera rajusté annuellement selon la croissance du PIB nominal conformément à la formule énoncée au paragraphe 14.11(3) (c'est-à-dire, la croissance du PIB nominal aux prix du marché multiplié par le montant du seuil établi pour l'année précédente).

Le mode de calcul de la valeur d'affaire des sociétés canadiennes faisant l'objet de l'investissement est prescrit aux articles 3.3, 3.4 et 3.5 du Règlement sur Investissement Canada et dépend de la nature de la société canadienne, c'est-à-dire société cotée en bourse, société non cotée en bourse ou société acquise par acquisition d'actifs.

Investissements par des investisseurs OMC qui sont des entreprises d'État

En vertu des paragraphes 14.1(1.1) et 14.1(2) de la Loi, pour l'année 2017, le seuil déclencheur d'examen est établi à 379 millions de dollars en valeur des actifs pour les investissements visant l'acquisition directeNote de bas de page * du contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne par :

  1. des investisseurs OMC qui sont des entreprises d'État et
  2. des investisseurs non OMC qui sont des entreprises d'État lorsque l'entreprise canadienne visée par l'investissement est, avant que l'investissement ne soit effectué, contrôlée par un investisseur OMC.

Le montant officiel a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, le 11 février 2017, à la page 664.

Ce seuil sera rajusté annuellement selon la croissance du PIB nominal conformément à la formule énoncée au paragraphe 14.1(2) (c'est-à-dire, la croissance du PIB nominal aux prix du marché multiplié par le montant du seuil établi pour l'année précédente).

La méthode de calcul de la valeur de l'entreprise canadienne visée par l'investissement est définie à l'article 3.1 du Règlement sur Investissement Canada. Ce calcul est fondé sur la valeur des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne figurant au bilan à la fin du dernier exercice précédant l'acquisition proposée.

Investissements par des investisseurs non OMC et investissements dans des entreprises culturelles

En vertu des paragraphes 14(3) et 14(4) de la Loi, les seuils appliqués aux opérations assujetties à l'examen sont de 5 millions de dollars en valeur des actifs pour les investissements directs et de 50 millions de dollars en valeur des actifs pour les transactions indirectes. Ces seuils s'appliquent aux investissements par des investisseurs qui ne sont pas des  »investisseurs OMC », au sens du paragraphe 14(6) de la Loi, qui visent l'acquisition du contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne qui n'est pas contrôlée par un investisseur OMC avant que l'investissement ne soit effectué.

Ces seuils s'appliquent aussi aux investissements effectués par tous les investisseurs non canadiens souhaitant acquérir le contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne considérée comme une entreprise culturelle aux termes du paragraphe 14.1(6) de la Loi. Nonobstant ce qui précède, tout investissement qui doit généralement faire l'objet d'un avis seulement, notamment la constitution d'une nouvelle entreprise canadienne, et qui fait partie des activités commerciales figurant à l'Annexe IV du Règlement sur Investissement Canada (patrimoine culturel ou identité nationale), peut faire l'objet d'un examen si un décret ordonnant un examen est pris et un avis est envoyé à l'investisseur dans un délai de 21 jours à compter de la réception d'un avis complet certifié.

La méthode de calcul de la valeur de l'entreprise canadienne visée par l'investissement est définie à l'article 3.1 du Règlement sur Investissement Canada. Ce calcul est fondé sur la valeur des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne figurant au bilan à la fin du dernier exercice précédant l'acquisition proposée.

Date de modification :