All Interpretation Notes

Industry Canada
Investment Canada Act


Interpretation Note No. 1 - Defunct Business

This interpretation note is issued by the Minister responsible for the administration of the Investment Canada Act (the "Act"), under the authority of section 38 of the Act, to assist investors in interpreting the term "business" as it is defined in section 3 of the the Act, in relation to a business which has ceased normal operations.

Defunct Business

A business which has ceased normal operations and become defunct, as exemplified when the business has permanently closed due to its unprofitability, or has been permanently abandoned or discontinued due to a number of reasons, including depletion of reserves, obsolete plant, machinery, equipment, technological processes or product lines, and the closure did not occur for any purpose related to the Act, is not a "business" as defined in section 3 of the Act, and hence the acquisition of its control would not be subject to the Act. Of course, this determination is a question of fact to be determined by the circumstances of each case.

Temporary Closures

A business which has temporarily closed or suspended its operations for any number of reasons including labour disputes, shortages of raw materials, shortage in demand for its product, periodic fluctuations in the business cycle or temporary financial difficulties is still considered to be a "business" as defined in the Act.

Receivership or Bankruptcy

A business has not gone defunct by reason only that its assets have been placed in the hands of a Trustee in Bankruptcy pursuant to the Bankruptcy Act, or that its assets have been placed in receivership. Provided the Trustee or Receiver is carrying on the operations with a view to disposing of the business as a going concern, or to reorganizing its affairs, it is still considered a "business". However, where circumstances have degenerated to the extent that the business is incapable of being carried on or of being sold as a going concern, and the Trustee or Receiver takes steps to liquidate the assets on a piecemeal basis, it is no longer considered to be a "business" as defined in the Act.

Establishment of a New Canadian Business

Although the acquisition of a Canadian business which has become defunct is not subject to the Act, where assets of the defunct business are acquired as the basis for establishing a new Canadian business, the establishment of that new Canadian business may be subject to the notification requirements of the Act. (see Related-Business Guidelines)

Further information is available from:
Industry Canada, Investment Review Division
235 Queen Street, 5th Floor West,
Ottawa, Ontario

Telephone: 343-291-1887
Fax: 343-291-2469

Email: Investment Canada

top of page

Interpretation Note No. 2 - Part of a Business Capable of Being Carried on as a Separate Business

This interpretation note is issued by the Minister responsible for the administration of the Investment Canada Act (the "Act"), under the authority of section 38 of the Act, to assist investors in interpreting the term "Canadian Business" as it is used in subsection 31(2) of the Act.

Definition of "Canadian Business"

The meaning given to a Canadian business by section 3 of the Act is extended by subsection 31(2) to include "a part of a business that is capable of being carried on as a separate business." This Note identifies factors which are taken into account in determining whether the acquisition of assets constitutes the acquisition of a separate business within subsection 31(2).

Concept of "Separate Business"

The concept of a separate or separable business necessarily implies the existence, prior to the acquisition, of an identifiable part of an existing Canadian business having the capacity to be carried on as a separate business. This will depend upon the circumstances of each case, particularly as they bear on the degree of actual or necessary interconnection or interdependence between the part and the remainder of the vendor's business operations.

Relevant Factors

The following factors may be relevant to this determination.

  1. Does the part have separate accounting mechanisms, management, advertising, selling, purchasing, delivery, customers, or an identifiable group of employees?

  2. Are the operations of the part carried on under a separate licence, patent, or similar right?

  3. Is the part carried on in separate premises, or are the physical assets of the part segregated from the other business operations of the vendor?

  4. Does the part supply or provide some service which is more than purely incidental or ancillary to the main business operations of the vendor?

Acquisition of Assets of Part

When a separable part of a business has been identified, it must then be determined whether the purchaser is acquiring all or substantially all of the assets of the identifiable part (see Interpretation Note No. 3).

Further information is available from:
Industry Canada, Investment Review Division
235 Queen Street, 5th Floor West,
Ottawa, Ontario

Telephone: 343-291-1887
Fax: 343-291-2469

Email:Investment Canada

top of page

Interpretation Note No. 3 - All or Substantially All of the Assets

This interpretation note is issued by the Minister responsible for the administration of the Investment Canada Act (the "Act"), under the authority of section 38 of the Act, to assist investors in interpreting paragraph 28(l)(c) of the Act.

Acquisition of Control

Section 28 of the Act provides the manners by which control of a Canadian business may be acquired and includes, under paragraph (1)(c) of that section, the acquisition of all or substantially all of the assets used in carrying on the Canadian business. This note identifies factors which are taken into account in making the determination under paragraph 28(1)(c) of what constitutes "substantially all" of the assets used in carrying on a Canadian business.

Canadian Business

It should be noted that the term "Canadian business" includes a part of a business that is capable of being carried on as a separate business (see Interpretation Note No. 2).

Qualitative Consideration

The determination is not purely a quantitative one based solely on the proportionate value or number of assets to be acquired or retained by the vendor. Assets also have a qualitative value and this value can have a significant effect in the determination of whether the acquisition of less than all the assets of a business constitutes the acquisition of "substantially all" of the assets used in carrying on the business. If an asset essential to the continuance of the business is not acquired, then, notwithstanding the fact that all other assets are acquired, it cannot be said that control of the business is acquired. On the other hand, if the operating assets essential to the continuance of the business are acquired, the test of "substantially all of the assets used in carrying on the Canadian business" would probably be met.

Essential Assets

Assets essential to the continuance of a business are those assets without which the business cannot reasonably be expected to be carried on. Accordingly, if the investor acquires sufficient assets to carry on the former business, and the vendor is left with insufficient assets to be able to continue to carry on that business, the investor can usually be said to have acquired substantially all of the assets used in carrying on that business. In most cases, liquid assets such as cash, promissory notes and investment portfolios are not considered assets essential to the continuance of a business.

Further information is available from:
Industry Canada, Investment Review Division
235 Queen Street, 5th Floor West,
Ottawa, Ontario

Telephone: 343-291-1887
Fax: 343-291-2469

Email: Investment Canada

top of page

Interpretation Note No. 4 - Business

This interpretation note is issued by the Minister responsible for the administration of the Investment Canada Act (the "Act"), under the authority of section 38 of the Act, to assist investors in interpreting the term "business" as it is defined in section 3 of the Act.

Capable of Generating Revenue

An undertaking or enterprise must be capable of generating revenue and be carried on in anticipation of profit before it is considered to be a business. It must therefore be actively earning revenue or be in a present position to produce revenue earning goods or services. Market research, test marketing or feasibility studies are not by themselves considered activities capable, of generating revenue. If it is in a pre-operational state due to the lack of an essential asset, source of supply or manpower, it is not considered to be a business within the meaning of the Act.

Carried on in Anticipation of Profit

If an undertaking or enterprise is carried on with a charitable or other non-profit objective, it will not be considered to be a business. Profit-making must be a purpose of the undertaking or enterprise; however, even if it is being carried on at a loss in the expectation of future profit, it is considered to be a business.

Oil and Gas Properties

A property upon which only exploration for oil or gas has been conducted is not considered to be a business. A property which contains oil or gas reserves is considered to be a business if production of oil or gas is actually occurring or if it has been determined that the property contains economically recoverable quantities of oil or gas and the drilling of a well to recover such oil or gas for the purpose of production has been commenced. A property containing recoverable reserves which is capable of production but which has been temporarily shut-in is considered to be a business.

Other Mineral Properties

As with oil and gas, other mineral properties which are only at the exploration stage are not considered to be businesses. A producing mine, however, is considered to be a business as is a property on which development of a mine has been commenced for the purpose of production. A mine which has been temporarily closed due to prevailing economic conditions and not due to depletion of ore reserves constitutes a business.

Further information is available from:
Industry Canada, Investment Review Division
235 Queen Street, 5th Floor West,
Ottawa, Ontario

Telephone: 343-291-1887
Fax: 343-291-2469

Email: Investment Canada

Date modified:

Notes Explicatives - toutes

Industrie Canada
Loi sur Investissement Canada


Note explicative no 1 - Entreprise défunte

La présente note explicative est émise par le ministre chargé de l'application de la Loi sur investissement Canada (la « Loi »), en vertu de l'article 38 de la Loi, pour aider les investisseurs à interpréter le terme « entreprise » défini à l'article 3 de la Loi par rapport à une entreprise qui a cessé ses activités commerciales normales.

Une entreprise qui a cessé ses activités commerciales normales et qui est défunte comme, par exemple, une entreprise fermée en permanence parce qu'elle n'était pas rentable ou qui a été abandonnée ou qui a mis fin à ses activités définitivement pour plusieurs raisons, notamment l'épuisement des réserves, la désuétude de ses installations, de ses machines, de son équipement, de ses procédés technologiques ou de ses assortiments de produits, lorsque la fermeture n'est pas dans un but lié à la Loi, n'est pas une « entreprise » selon la définition de l'article 3 de la Loi, et l'acquisition de son contrôle n'est donc pas sujette à la Loi. Bien entendu, les circonstances particulières de chaque cas permettent d'établir s'il s'agit d'une entreprise défunte.

Fermetures temporaires

Une entreprise qui temporairement a fermé ses portes ou suspendu ses activités pour un certain nombre de raisons comme les conflits de travail, les pénuries de matières premières, la faible demande pour ses produits, les fluctuations périodiques du cycle des affaires ou les difficultés financières temporaires est toujours considérée comme une « entreprise » selon la définition de la Loi.

Mise sous séquestre ou faillite

Une entreprise n'est pas défunte du seul fait que ses actifs ont été confiés à un syndic de faillite conformément à la Loi sur la faillite ou mis sous séquestre. Si le syndic de faillite ou le séquestre exploite l'entreprise dans l'intention de la vendre comme une entreprise en activité ou de la réorganiser, elle est toujours considérée comme une « entreprise ». Cependant, lorsque la situation s'est détériorée au point où l'entreprise ne peut plus être exploitée ou être vendue comme une entreprise en activité et que le syndic de faillite ou séquestre prend les mesures pour liquider les actifs en parties, elle n'est plus considérée comme une « entreprise » selon la définition de la Loi.

Constitution d'une nouvelle entreprise canadienne

Bien que l'acquisition d'une entreprise canadienne devenue défunte ne soit pas sujette à la Loi, lorsque les actifs de l'entreprise défunte sont acquis en vue de la constitution d'une nouvelle entreprise canadienne, la constitution de cette nouvelle entreprise canadienne peut être sujette à la soumission d'un avis en vertu de la Loi. (voir les principes directeurs à l'égard des entreprises liées)

De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles de:
Industrie Canada, Division de l'examen des investissements
235, rue Queen, 5e étage ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)

Téléphone: 343-291-1887
Fax: 343-291-2469

Courrier électronique :Investissement Canada

haut de la page

Note explicative no 2 - Partie d'une entreprise pouvant être exploitée comme une entreprise distincte

La présente note explicative est établie par le ministre chargé de l'application de la Loi sur Investissement Canada (la « Loi »), en vertu de l'article 38 de la Loi, pour aider les investisseurs à interpréter le terme « entreprise canadienne » dans le sens donné au paragraphe 31(2) de la Loi.

Définition du terme « entreprise canadienne »

La définition du terme « entreprise canadienne », à l'article 3 de la Loi, est étendue par le paragraphe 31(2) pour inclure « une partie d'une entreprise qui pourrait être exploitée d'une façon distincte ». La présente note indique les facteurs dont il a été tenu compte pour déterminer si l'acquisition d'actifs constitue l'acquisition d'une entreprise distincte selon le paragraphe 31(2).

Concept « entreprise distincte »

Le concept d'entreprise distincte ou d'entreprise séparable implique nécessairement l'existence avant l'acquisition, d'une partie identifiable d'une entreprise canadienne déjà établie pouvant être exploitée comme une entreprise distincte. Cela dépendra des circonstances propres à chaque cas, notamment en ce qui a trait au degré véritable ou nécessaire de corrélation ou d'interdépendance entre la partie des activités commerciales du vendeur et le reste de ses activités.

Facteurs pertinents

Les facteurs suivants peuvent servir à la détermination:

  1. La partie applique-t-elle des méthodes comptables, de gestion, de publicité, de vente, d'achat, de livraison distinctes? A-t-elle des clients ou un groupe d'employés distincts?

  2. La partie exerce-t-elle ses activités en vertu d'un accord de licence, de brevets ou de droits semblables distincts?

  3. La partie, exerce-t-elle ses activités dans des locaux distincts et les actifs corporels diffèrent-ils de ceux des autres activités commerciales du vendeur?

  4. La partie offre-t-elle des services qui sont plus qu'accessoires par rapport à l'activité principale du vendeur?

Acquisition d'actifs d'une partie

Lorsqu'une partie séparable d'une entreprise a été identifiée, il faut déterminer si l'acheteur acquiert la totalité ou la quasi-totalité des actifs de la partie identifiable (voir note explicative n° 3).

De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles de:
Industrie Canada, Division de l'examen des investissements
235, rue Queen, 5e étage ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)

Téléphone: 343-291-1887
Fax: 343-291-2469

Courrier électronique:Investissement Canada

haut de la page

Note explicative no 3 - Totalité ou quasi-totalité des actifs

La présente note explicative est établie par le ministre chargé de l'application de la Loi sur investissement Canada (la « Loi »), en vertu de l'article 38 de la Loi, pour aider les investisseurs à interpréter l'alinéa 28(1)c) de la Loi.

Acquisition de contrôle

L'article 28 de la Loi stipule les manières dont une entreprise canadienne peut être acquise et comprend, aux termes de l'alinéa (1)c) de cet article, l'acquisition de la totalité ou de la quasi-totalité des actifs d'exploitation de l'entreprise canadienne. La présente note décrit les facteurs dont il est tenu compte pour déterminer, selon l'alinéa 28(1)c), ce qui constitue la « quasi-totalité » des actifs d'exploitation de l'entreprise canadienne.

Entreprise canadienne

Il est à signaler que l'expression « entreprise canadienne » comprend une partie d'une entreprise qui peut être exploitée comme une entreprise distincte (voirnote explicative n° 2).

Considérations qualitatives

La détermination n'est pas une détermination purement quantitative fondée seulement sur la valeur ou le nombre proportionnel des actifs à acquérir ou qui sont gardés par le vendeur. Les actifs ont aussi une valeur qualitative et cette valeur peut avoir un effet considérable sur la détermination lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer si l'acquisition de moins que la totalité des actifs d'une entreprise constitue l'acquisition de la « quasi-totalité » des actifs servant à exploiter l'entreprise. Si un actif essentiel à la poursuite de l'activité de l'entreprise n'est pas acquis, même si tous les autres actifs sont acquis, on ne peut pas dire que le contrôle de l'entreprise est acquis. D'autre part, si les actifs d'exploitation essentiels à la poursuite des activités de l'entreprise sont acquis, le critère de la « quasi-totalité des actifs d'exploitation d'une entreprise canadienne » est probablement rempli.

Actifs essentiels

Les actifs essentiels à la poursuite de l'activité d'une entreprise sont les actifs sans lesquels l'entreprise ne peut raisonnablement exercer ses activités. Par conséquent, si l'investisseur acquiert une partie suffisante d'actifs pour continuer d'exploiter l'entreprise et qu'il ne reste plus au vendeur une part suffisante d'actifs pour continuer d'exploiter cette entreprise, on peut dire en général que l'investisseur a acquis la quasi-totalité des actifs servant à exploiter cette entreprise. Dans la plupart des cas, les actifs liquides comme l'argent comptant, les billets à ordre et les portefeuilles d'investissements ne sont pas considérés comme des actifs essentiels à la poursuite de l'activité d'une entreprise.

De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles de:

Industrie Canada, Division de l'examen des investissements
235, rue Queen, 5e étage ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)

Téléphone: 343-291-1887
Fax: 343-291-2469

Courrier électronique:Investissement Canada

haut de la page

Note explicative no 4 - Entreprise

La présente note explicative est établie par le ministre chargé de l'application de la Loi sur Investissement Canada (la « Loi »), en vertu de l'article 38 de la Loi, en vue d'aider les investisseurs à interpréter le terme « entreprise » défini à l'article 3 de la Loi.

Capable de générer un revenu

Une entreprise doit être capable de générer un revenu et être exploitée dans le but de réaliser un profit avant de pouvoir être considérée comme une entreprise. Elle doit donc gagner un revenu ou être en mesure d'offrir des biens ou des services qui rapportent. La recherche de marchés, les essais de mise en marché et les études de faisabilité, en soi, ne sont pas considérés comme capables de générer un revenu. Si une activité est au stade pré-opérationnel faute d'un actif essentiel, d'une source d'approvisionnement ou de main­d'oeuvre, elle n'est pas considérée comme une entreprise d'après la définition de la Loi.

Exploitée dans le but de réaliser un profit

Si une activité est exploitée dans un but de charité ou dans un autre but non lucratif, elle ne sera pas considérée comme une entreprise. La recherche de profits doit être un but de l'entreprise; cependant, même si elle est exploitée à perte dans l'espoir de réaliser des profits à l'avenir elle est considérée comme une entreprise.

Terrains d'exploitation pétrolière et gazière

Un terrain sur lequel seulement des travaux d'exploration du pétrole et du gaz ont été effectués n'est pas considéré comme une entreprise. Un terrain qui renferme des réserves de pétrole ou de gaz est considéré comme une entreprise si du pétrole ou du gaz est effectivement produit ou s'il a été établi que le terrain renferme des quantités de pétrole ou de gaz dont l'exploitation serait rentable et que des travaux de forage d'un puits pour la récupération du pétrole ou du gaz en question aux fins de production ont été entrepris. Un terrain renfermant des réserves récupérables aux fins de production où les travaux ont cessé temporairement est considéré comme une entreprise.

Autres terrains d'exploitation minière

Comme pour le pétrole et le gaz, les autres terrains renfermant des ressources minières qui n'ont servi qu'à des travaux d'exploration ne sont pas considérés comme des entreprises. Une mine qui produit est toutefois considérée comme une entreprise tout comme un terrain sur lequel une mine est aménagée aux fins de production. Une mine qui a été fermée temporairement en raison de la conjoncture économique et non à cause de l'épuisement des réserves de minerai constitue une entreprise.

De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles de:
Industrie Canada, Division de l'examen des investissements
235, rue Queen, 5e étage ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)

Téléphone: 343-291-1887
Fax: 343-291-2469

Courrier électronique: Investissement Canada

Date de modification :