Guylaine Roy

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Guylaine Roy

Deputy Minister of Tourism, Official Languages and La Francophonie

On August 13, 2018, Guylaine F. Roy was appointed Deputy Minister of Tourism, Official Languages and La Francophonie.

Previously, from May 2017 to August 2018, she was the Associate Deputy Minister of Canadian Heritage. She joined Canadian Heritage in September 2011 as the Assistant Deputy Minister, Cultural Affairs Sector. In this role, she was responsible for policies and programs related to the arts, cultural industries, copyright legislation and international trade policy, broadcasting and digital communications, the TV5 program, and federal/provincial relations in the cultural sector. She was also responsible for the application of the Investment Canada Act to the cultural sector.

Before joining Canadian Heritage, Guylaine was Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy at Transport Canada. She served in this capacity from 2007 to 2011, providing advice on a range of policy files related to transportation efficiency, competitiveness, environmental sustainability and integration across all modes of transportation.

From 2006 to 2007, in her role as Director General, Environmental Affairs at Transport, Guylaine was responsible for both policies and programs related to transportation and the environment. From 2000 to 2006, in her capacity as Director General, Surface Policy, she was responsible for economic policies related to rail, motor carriers, highways, borders and intelligent transportation systems.

Prior to joining Transport Canada, Guylaine held positions as legal counsel with the Department of Justice Canada, Correctional Service Canada and the Privy Council Office. From 1996 to 1998, she held the position of Executive Assistant to the Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet.

Guylaine has a Bachelor's Degree in Law from Université Laval in Québec and has been a federal public servant since 1986. She was a member of the Quebec Bar from 1986 to 2013.

Date modified: