About Copyright


What is Copyright?

Copyright is the exclusive legal right to reproduce, publish and sell a work. In other words, the Copyright Act provides copyright protection to what is referred to as authors/creators.

Under copyright legislation, the author/creator is the party that not only writes something, but that also takes a photograph, designs computer software, produces audiovisual materials, composes music, designs maps, or draws plans or illustrations in either paper format or other mediums.

It is important to note that the Copyright Act does not protect ideas, concepts, or themes, but that it does protect the language and words used to express such ideas, concepts and themes.

In Canada, copyright in a work comes into existence when a work is created. Under Canadian copyright legislation rights of the author/creator are protected whether or not he or she has marked the work with the standard copyright symbol "©".

top of page

What types of works are protected?

Copyright in works are divided into seven categories.

Literary work (Covers works in electronic and paper formats)
Memoranda, email messages, journals, books, magazines, text books, talking books (the underlying work, not the recorded voice), periodicals, monographs, government records and reports, pamphlets, newspapers, poetry, genealogical materials, letters, statistics, computer software, statutes, law reports, judicial decisions, forms, court records, databases, published and unpublished research papers, brokers' reports, stock reports, annual reports, manuscripts, microforms (print on plastic), theses, conference proceedings, industry standards, Braille, postings to Internet newsgroups, large print materials, compilations of literary works on CD-ROMs and databases.
Dramatic work
Video recordings, documentaries, films, radio, television and cable programs, plays, choreography, CD-ROMs containing compilations of dramatic works.
Artistic work
Patterns, art slides, maps, atlases, paintings, architectural drawings, plans, stage and costume designs, digital images, drawings, photographs, charts, mosaics, art prints, compilations of artistic works on CD-ROMs and on Websites.
Musical work
Sheet music, songs with or without words, audiocassettes, audio CDs.
Sound recording
CDs, talking books, oral history tapes, vinyl albums, phonographs, audio books, audio cassettes, papers recorded at seminars, audio tapes of speeches and lectures, sound effects, spoken word recordings, language cassettes for ESL, compilations of sound recordings on CDs.
Performer's performance
Recorded performances of actors, authors, singers, musicians and dancers on tapes, cassettes, CDs, CD-ROMs, video recordings and films, compilations of performances by performers on records, CDs and in audiovisual formats.
Communication signal
Television and radio signals
top of page

Who Owns Copyright?

As a general rule, the author/creator is the first owner of copyright in a work. Where permission to use copyrighted material is needed, it is only the author/creator who can permit usage of his works. The author/creator of a work is furthermore, the only party that can sell, license or give away copyright. The author/creator can also transfer copyright in his works in its entirety or in parts.

Thus, ownership of copyright is like a chain, with the author/creator being the first owner, therefore being the first link in the chain. Links are added each time the author/creator sells, licenses or gives away all or part of the copyright.

Exceptions

Although an author/creator is the first owner of copyright in a work, there are exceptions.

Government of Canada works
Unless otherwise specified, copyright in works prepared by or under the direction or control of the Government of Canada (Crown) is owned by the Crown.
Works created by employees
Where an author/creator is employed, and the work is made as part of that employment, the employer instead of the author/creator is the first owner of the copyright.
Sound recordings
Copyright in a sound recording belongs to the maker of the recording instead of the author/creator. A maker is the person by whom the arrangements necessary for the first fixation of the sounds are undertaken.
Performances by performers
Copyright in the performances of actors, singers, dancers and musicians belong to the performer.
Communication signals
Copyright in a signal emitted by a broadcaster belongs to the broadcaster of the signal.

The Reproduction of Federal Law Order

As the result of the Order In Council that was passed in January of 1997, there is no requirement to seek permission to reproduce primary legal information of the Government of Canada and there are no applicable fees. The Reproduction of Federal Law Order applies only to Government of Canada legislation, statutes, regulations, court decisions and tribunal decisions and authorizes anyone, unless otherwise specified, to copy federal legislation, statutes, regulations, court decisions and tribunal decisions without the usual restrictions that govern Crown copyright materials, provided that one is careful to ensure the accuracy of the materials reproduced and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version.

The Reproduction of Federal Law Order does not apply to any materials that have been copyrighted privately or separately by a third party, and that happens to have been included with, added to, or referred to in the Government of Canada legislation, statute, regulation and/or decision. An example of this would extend to the reproduction of added-value features such as the captions of headnotes, footnotes, summaries and additional comments which are added to decisions handed down by federally constituted courts and tribunals. These added-value features are not included in the Order and therefore, reproduction is prohibited without having secured written authorization.

Physical Ownership of a Work Versus Ownership of Copyright

There is a difference between owning a physical object and owning copyright. Ownership of a physical object does not include ownership of the copyright of that object. For example, the purchase of a magazine, book, photograph, map, film, or sound recording does not mean that you also own copyright of these objects. Therefore, in order to use the physical object outside of its intended purpose, you are obliged under the Copyright Act to obtain written permission from the author/creator. Failure to do so could be deemed an infringement of copyright.

top of page

How long does Copyright last?

As per the Copyright Act, copyright in a work exists for the life of the author/creator, the remainder of the calendar year in which he is deceased, plus fifty years after the end of that calendar year.

For Crown copyrighted works, there is a slight difference. Section 12 of the Copyright Act stipulates:

12. Without prejudice to any rights or privileges of the Crown, where any work is, or has been, prepared or published by or under the direction or control of Her Majesty or any government department, the copyright in the work shall, subject to any agreement with the author, belong to Her Majesty and in that case shall continue for the remainder of the calendar year of the first publication of the work and for a period of fifty years following the end of that calendar year. [S.C. 1993, c. 44, s. 60(1)]

Works in the Public Domain

Public domain refers to works that belong to the public. Works in the public domain can be used free of charge and do not require written permission from the author/creator.

Works can be in the public domain for a variety of reasons. Examples: the term of the copyright has expired, the work was not eligible for copyright protection in the first place, or the copyright owner has authorized the public to use the work without permission or payment.

Some examples of works in the public domain are explained below.

Titles, names, slogans, short word combinations:

To be protected, a work must be something substantial. Sometimes an original and distinctive title can be protected.

Ideas:

Copyright protects the expression of an idea but does not extend to the idea itself. Until an idea is expressed in a fixed form (i.e. paper, electronic or digital media), there is no copyright protection.

Facts:

It is the expression of facts that is protected by copyright, not the facts themselves. For example, the facts in a magazine article are in the public domain. Anyone can use those facts as long as they do not copy the way the author of the article has expressed them. As long as you use your own words, you will not infringe copyright.

Expired copyright:

When the term of copyright protection ends or expires, works fall into the public domain. A work in the public domain is free for everyone to use without permission or payment of royalties. In Canada, you can even modify public domain works without permission.

top of page

Moral rights

There is a provision in the Copyright Act (R.S.C., Chapter C-42, Section 14), which sets out the moral rights of an author/creator. Moral rights are personal to an author/creator regardless of who owns copyright. Unless an author/creator waives his moral rights, these rights cannot be assigned.

Moral rights exist for the same period of time as the copyright in a work.

An author/creator may exercise the following moral rights as provided for in the Copyright Act:

Right of Paternity
This right includes the right to claim authorship, the right to remain anonymous, or the right to use a pseudonym or pen name.
Right of Integrity
In the case of a work being adapted, modified or translated, the author/creator's right of integrity must be respected. As stipulated in the Copyright Act, an author/creator's right to the integrity of his work is violated if the work is a distortion, mutilation or modification of the work that is prejudicial to the honor or reputation of the author/creator.
Right of Association
Part of the Right of Integrity is an author's/creator's Right of Association. This means that an author/creator has the right to prevent anyone from using his work in association with a product, service, cause, or institution.
top of page

Infringement of Copyright

Infringement
Infringement is the legal word for breach or violation of the rules in the copyright law. There are two kinds of infringements: direct and indirect.
Indirect infringement
Indirect infringement refers to persons who deal with infringing copies, or who, without legal authority, permit a public performance of a work. These provisions usually concern commercial dealings through sales of copies, commercial distribution, and trade.
Direct infringement
Direct infringement is where someone, without permission, does something only the copyright owner has the right to do or authorize. For example, only the copyright owner has the right to make a copy or authorize the making of a copy. When a person makes a copy this is direct infringement unless permission is obtained or an exception applies.

Consequences

There are consequences for breaking any law. Breaking or infringing the copyright law is no different. The consequences of infringing the copyright law can be civil or criminal, and are set out in the copyright legislation.

For example, a civil court may decide that money be paid as compensation for damages caused by unauthorized use of a copyright work. This civil remedy is the most common and frequently-sought type of remedy.

Another type of civil remedy is an injunction to prevent or stop infringing activities. A court has the authority to order the infringing party to account for the profit made from infringing activities and to order that all infringing copies become the property of the copyright owner.

A unique feature of the civil remedy system in the Copyright Act is a statutory limit on the amount of damages that a court can award to a copyright owner who has not authorized a collective society to license the photocopying of his or her work. Damages are limited to the amount the copyright owner would have received from a collective, either under an agreement or under a tariff set by the Copyright Board of Canada.

Infringement of the Copyright Act can also have criminal consequences. These remedies in the Copyright Act involve fines and possible imprisonment. The Act provides for a maximum fine of $1,000,000 where the offence is a serious one. The criminal sections in the Copyright Act are traditionally used to deal with commercial piracy. Examples most frequently encountered are copying videotapes/DVD in order to rent or sell them, and selling or dealing in illegal copies of video games, compact discs, computer programs, or music.

top of page

About Crown Copyright

Crown copyright protects literary, artistic, dramatic, and musical works as well as sound recordings, performances by performers, and communication signals that have been created under the direction and control of the Government of Canada.

Section 12 of the Copyright Act is the legal instrument governing Crown copyright. It states:

12. Without prejudice to any rights or privileges of the Crown, where any work is, or has been, prepared or published by or under the direction or control of Her Majesty or any government department, the copyright in the work shall, subject to any agreement with the author, belong to Her Majesty and in that case shall continue for the remainder of the calendar year of the first publication of the work and for a period of fifty years following the end of that calendar year. [S.C. 1993, c. 44, s. 60(1)]

Section 12 of the Copyright Act provides that the Crown owns the copyright in works that are prepared or published by or under the direction or control of the Crown or any government department, subject to any agreement stating otherwise.

However, Government of Canada employees have moral rights in the works they create, unless they choose to waive these rights.

top of page

Types of Licenses

The terms, non-exclusive, sole, and exclusive define the types of licenses that are typically granted in Canada. They are described in more detail below.

The term non-exclusive means that there is no limit to the number of licenses that can be granted. A non-exclusive license is the most common type of license issued by the Government of Canada in licensing works protected under Crown copyright.

When a Government of Canada work is licensed on a non-exclusive basis it means that the Crown reserves the copyright and grants rights to the licensee for a specific purpose, duration and territory.

With a sole license the Government of Canada reserves its rights to make use of and copy its own work, but agrees not to license any other person than the sole licensee.

The last type of license is an exclusive license. This means that the person receiving the permission/license will be the only one with the rights to use the work. This even prevents the person who grants the permission from reproducing his own work. This is seen as a disguised assignment, abandonment or sale of copyright.

For Government of Canada works the term exclusive may be used as long as it does not qualify the entire license agreement, and as long as the author department is aware that it is also preventing itself from using the work in areas where it has granted exclusivity, for example, a language, territory, duration, medium, or a combination of these. Exclusive licenses for the purpose of licensing out Crown copyrighted works are rarely granted by the Government of Canada.

Rate this page

The content of this page was useful to me.

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:
  • More

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

À propos du droit d'auteur

Avis

À propos du droit d'auteur


Qu'est-ce que le droit d'auteur?

Le droit d'auteur est le droit exclusif de reproduire, de publier et de vendre une œuvre. En d'autres termes, la Loi sur le droit d'auteur assure la protection du droit d'auteur des personnes désignées comme les auteurs/les créateurs.

Sous le régime de la législation du droit d'auteur, l'auteur/le créateur est non seulement la personne qui écrit quelque chose, mais également celle qui prend une photographie, conçoit un logiciel informatique, produit un document audiovisuel, compose de la musique, dessine des cartes, des plans ou des illustrations, soit sous format papier, soit sous d'autres supports matériels.

Toutefois, il importe de noter que la Loi sur le droit d'auteur ne protège pas les idées, les notions ou les thèmes, mais qu'elle protège la formulation et les mots employés pour exprimer les idées, notions et thèmes.

Au Canada, le droit d'auteur sur une œuvre naît au moment de la création de l'œuvre. La législation canadienne surle droit d'auteur n'oblige pas l'auteur/le créateur à joindre à son œuvre le symbole usuel du droit d'auteur (©), ni à faire enregistrer l'œuvre.

Les catégories d'œuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur

Le droit d'auteur sur les œuvres comprend sept catégories.

Œuvre littéraire (s'applique aux œuvres électroniques et format papier)
Notes de service, courriels, revues, livres, magazines, manuels, livres sonores (l'œuvre sous-jacente et non l'enregistrement de la voix), périodiques, monographies, dossiers et rapports gouvernementaux, brochures, journaux, poésie, documents généalogiques, correspondance, statistiques, logiciels informatiques, lois, recueils de jurisprudence, décisions judiciaires, formulaires, dossiers judiciaires, bases de données, articles de recherche publiés et non publiés, rapports de courtiers, rapports sur les titres, rapports annuels, manuscrits, microformes (œuvres imprimées sur support plastique), thèses, actes de colloques ou de conférences, normes professionnelles, ouvrages en Braille, articles de forum sur Internet, documents en gros caractères et compilations d'œuvres littéraires sur des CD-ROM et des bases de données.
Œuvre dramatique
Enregistrements vidéo, documentaires, films, émissions de radio, de télévision et par câble, pièces de théâtre, chorégraphies et CD-ROM contenant des compilations d'œuvres dramatiques.
Œuvre artistique
Modèles, diapositives d'art, cartes, atlas, peintures, dessins d'architecte, plans, scénographies et créations de costumes, images numériques, dessins, photographies, graphiques, mosaïques, estampes et compilations d'œuvres artistiques sur des CD-ROM et des sites Web.
Œuvre musicale
Musique en feuilles, chansons avec paroles ou sans paroles, cassettes audio et CD audio.
Enregistrement sonore
CD, livres sonores, enregistrements magnétoscopiques d'histoire orale, albums de disques vinyle, phonogrammes, livres audio, cassettes audio, enregistrements de conférences de séminaires, bandes audio d'allocutions et de conférences, effets sonores, enregistrements des paroles, cassettes d'anglais langue seconde et compilations d'enregistrements sonores sur des CD.
Prestation
Prestations enregistrées d'acteurs, d'auteurs, de chanteurs, de musiciens et de danseurs sur bandes, cassettes, CD, CD-ROM, enregistrements vidéo et films, compilations de prestations sur disques, CD et en formats audiovisuels.
Signal de communication
Signaux de télévision et de radio.

Qui est le titulaire du droit d'auteur?

En règle générale, l'auteur/le créateur d'une œuvre est le premier titulaire du droit d'auteur. Lorsqu'il est nécessaire d'obtenir une autorisation pour utiliser une œuvre protégée par le droit d'auteur, seul l'auteur/le créateur de l'œuvre peut autoriser l'utilisation de son œuvre. L'auteur/le créateur peut également céder le droit d'auteur sur son œuvre en tout ou en partie.

Par conséquent, la propriété du droit d'auteur est semblable à une chaîne, où l'auteur/le créateur est le premier titulaire du droit d'auteur et constitue donc le premier maillon de la chaîne. Il s'ajoute des maillons à la chaîne chaque fois que l'auteur/le créateur vend, concède sous licence ou donne son droit d'auteur.

Exceptions

Bien que l'auteur/le créateur d'une œuvre est le premier titulaire du droit d'auteur, il existe des exceptions.

Œuvre du gouvernement du Canada
Le droit d'auteur sur les œuvres préparées ou publiées par l'entremise, sous la direction ou sous la surveillance du gouvernement fédéral (les œuvres de la Couronne) appartient à la Couronne, sauf stipulation contraire.
Œuvre exécutée dans l'exercice d'un emploi
Lorsque l'auteur est employé par une autre personne et que l'œuvre est exécutée dans l'exercice de cet emploi, l'employeur, et non l'auteur, est le premier titulaire du droit d'auteur.
Enregistrements sonores
Le droit d'auteur sur un enregistrement sonore appartient au producteur de l'enregistrement plutôt qu'à l'auteur. Le producteur est la personne qui effectue les opérations nécessaires à la première fixation des sons.
Prestations
Le droit d'auteur sur la prestation des acteurs, chanteurs, danseurs et musiciens appartient à l'artiste-interprète.
Signaux de communication
Le radiodiffuseur a un droit d'auteur sur le signal de communication qu'il émet.

Le Décret sur la reproduction de la législation fédérale et des décisions des tribunaux de constitution fédérale

En vertu du Décret de janvier 1997, il est possible de reproduire l'information juridique fondamentale du gouvernement du Canada sans frais ni permission. Le Décret sur la reproduction de la législation fédérale et des décisions des tribunaux de constitution fédérale s'applique uniquement aux lois et règlements du gouvernement du Canada et aux décisions des tribunaux judiciaires et administratifs de constitution fédérale et, sauf indication contraire, autorise toute personne à reproduire les textes législatifs fédéraux et les décisions des tribunaux judiciaires et administratifs de constitution fédérale sans être assujettie aux restrictions qui régissent d'ordinaire la reproduction des documents protégés par le droit d'auteur de la Couronne, pourvu que soient prises les précautions voulues pour que les reproductions soient exactes et ne soient pas présentées comme version officielle.

Le Décret sur la reproduction de la législation fédérale et des décisions des tribunaux de constitution fédérale ne s'applique pas aux documents assujettis aux droits d'auteur de tiers et qui ont été inclus dans les lois et règlements du gouvernement du Canada ou dans les décisions des tribunaux de constitution fédérale ou y ont été ajoutés ou auxquels ces lois, règlements et décisions renvoient. Il peut s'agir par exemple d'éléments à valeur ajoutée tels que les titres de notes générales, les notes en bas de page, les résumés et les commentaires additionnels qui sont ajoutés aux décisions rendues par les tribunaux judiciaires et administratifs de constitution fédérale. Comme ces éléments à valeur ajoutée ne sont pas visés par le Décret, il est interdit de les reproduire sans en avoir obtenu au préalable l'autorisation écrite.

Titulaire d'une œuvre physique versus titulaire du droit d'auteur

Il y a une différence entre être titulaire d'une œuvre physique et être titulaire d'un droit d'auteur. La propriété d'un objet matériel ne comprend pas la propriété du droit d'auteur sur cet objet. Par exemple, l'achat d'un magazine, d'un livre, d'une photographie, d'une carte, d'un film ou d'un enregistrement sonore ne donne pas la propriété du droit d'auteur sur ces objets. Par conséquent, afin de reproduire l'objet matériel, on est tenu par la Loi sur le droit d'auteur d'obtenir l'autorisation écrite de l'auteur/du créateur. À défaut de remplir cette obligation, ceci peut être considéré comme une violation du droit d'auteur.

La durée du droit d'auteur

Comme le prévoit la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, le droit d'auteur sur une œuvre subsiste pendant la vie de l'auteur/le créateur, puis jusqu'à la fin de la cinquantième année suivant celle de son décès.

Cependant, pour les œuvres de la Couronne protégées par le droit d'auteur, il existe une légère différence. L'article 12 de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur prévoit en effet :

12. Sous réserve de tous les droits et privilèges de la Couronne, le droit d'auteur sur les œuvres préparées ou publiées par l'entremise, sous la direction ou sous la surveillance de Sa Majesté ou d'un ministère du gouvernement, appartient, sauf stipulation conclue avec l'auteur, à Sa Majesté et, dans ce cas, il subsiste jusqu'à la fin de la cinquantième année suivant celle de la première publication de l'œuvre. [L.C. 1993, ch. 44, art. 60(1)]

Œuvres dans le domaine public

Quand on parle du domaine public, l'expression renvoie aux œuvres qui appartiennent au public. Par conséquent, toute personne qui souhaite utiliser des œuvres du domaine public peut le faire gratuitement et sans avoir obtenu l'autorisation écrite de l'auteur/du créateur.

Des œuvres peuvent appartenir au domaine public pour diverses raisons. Par exemple, la durée du droit d'auteur est expirée, l'œuvre n'était pas éligible à la protection du droit d'auteur ou le titulaire du droit d'auteur a autorisé le public à utiliser son œuvre sans autorisation et sans paiement.

Voici certaines exemples d'œuvres du domaine public.

Titres, noms, slogans, courtes combinaisons de mots :

Pour faire l'objet d'une protection, une œuvre doit être quelque chose de substantiel. Il arrive parfois, qu'un titre original et distinctif soit protégé.

Idées :

Le droit d'auteur protège l'expression d'une idée, mais non l'idée elle-même. Jusqu'à ce que l'idée soit exprimée sous forme donnée (p. ex. format papier, forme électronique ou autres support matériels au média numérique), la protection du droit d'auteur n'existe pas.

Faits :

C'est l'expression des faits qui est protégée par le droit d'auteur et non les faits eux-mêmes. Par exemple, les faits présentés dans un article de revue sont du domaine public. Toute personne peut utiliser ces faits, dans la mesure où elle ne copie pas la manière dont l'auteur de l'article les a exprimés. Dans la mesure où on utilise ses propres mots, on ne porte pas atteinte au droit d'auteur.

Droit d'auteur venu à expiration :

Au terme ou à l'expiration de la durée de protection du droit d'auteur, l'œuvre tombe dans le domaine public. L'œuvre appartenant au domaine public peut être utilisée par quiconque sans l'autorisation ou paiement de redevances. Au Canada, on peut même modifier l'œuvre sans autorisation.

Droits moraux

Il existe une prévision dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur (L.R.C., 1985, ch. C-42) qui traite les droits moraux de l'auteur/le créateur. Peu importe qui est titulaire du droit d'auteur, et à moins que l'auteur/le créateur renonce à ses droits moraux, ces droits ne peuvent être cédés.

Les droits moraux ont la même durée que le droit d'auteur sur l'œuvre.

L'auteur/le créateur peut exercer les droits moraux suivants, prévus par la Loi sur le droit d'auteur.

Droit de paternité
Ce droit comporte le droit de revendiquer la paternité de l'œuvre, le droit à l'anonymat et le droit d'utiliser un pseudonyme ou un nom de plume.
Droit à l'intégrité de l'œuvre
Ce droit comporte le droit à l'intégrité de l'œuvre. Toute utilisation de l'œuvre d'un auteur/créateur qui porte préjudice à l'honneur ou à la réputation de ce créateur constitue une atteinte aux droits moraux de l'auteur/du créateur. Toute atteinte au droit moral à l'intégrité de l'œuvre doit comporter une modification de l'œuvre. Selon la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, la violation doit être une déformation, mutilation ou autre modification de l'œuvre.
Droit d'aval
Le Droit à l'intégrité de l'œuvre inclut aussi le Droit d'aval de l'auteur/créateur : C'est-à-dire, un auteur/créateur a le droit d'interdire à quiconque d'utiliser son œuvre en liaison avec un produit, un service, une cause ou une institution.

Violation du droit d'auteur

Violation
Le terme juridique violation désigne le manquement ou l'atteinte aux règles du droit d'auteur. Il y a deux types de violation, la violation directe et la violation indirecte.
Violation indirecte
La violation indirecte fait référence aux personnes qui procèdent avec des exemplaires contrefaits, ou qui, sans autorisation légale, permettre l'exécution publique d'une œuvre. Ces dispositions visent généralement les opérations commerciales telles que la vente de copies, la distribution commerciale et le commerce en général.
Violation directe
La violation directe est lorsqu'une personne, sans autorisation, accomplit un acte que seul le titulaire du droit d'auteur a le droit de faire ou d'autoriser. Par exemple, seul le titulaire du droit d'auteur a le droit de faire une copie ou d'autoriser la reproduction de l'œuvre. Si une personne accomplit cet acte, il s'agit d'une violation directe à moins qu'une autorisation ait été obtenue ou que s'applique une exception.

Conséquences

Toute contravention à la loi comporte des conséquences. Il en va de même pour les contraventions à la législation sur le droit d'auteur. Ces conséquences peuvent être de nature civile ou pénale et celles-ci sont prévues dans la législation sur le droit d'auteur.

À titre d'exemple de réparation civile, le défendeur peut être tenu par une décision des tribunaux de verser des dommages-intérêts en compensation des dommages causés par une utilisation non autorisée d'une œuvre protégée par le droit d'auteur. C'est le type de réparation le plus courant et le plus fréquemment demandé.

L'injonction est un autre type de réparation civile courante, qui vise à prévenir ou à faire cesser les activités de contrefaçon. Le tribunal a également le pouvoir d'ordonner à la partie portant atteinte au droit d'auteur la restitution des bénéfices réalisés à partir des activités contrefaisantes et la remise au titulaire du droit d'auteur de tous les exemplaires de contrefaçon.

Caractéristique unique du régime des réparations civiles prévues dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, est que la loi fixe un maximum des dommages-intérêts que le tribunal peut accorder à un titulaire de droit d'auteur qui n'a pas autorisé à une société de gestion de reproduire son œuvre par reprographie (photocopie). Ces dommages-intérêts ne peuvent excéder le montant que le titulaire du droit d'auteur aurait reçu de la société de gestion, soit à raison d'une entente, soit en vertu d'un tarif homologué par la Commission du droit d'auteur Canada.

La violation de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur peut également entraîner des conséquences au plan pénal. Les peines prévues dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur sont les amendes et la peine d'emprisonnement. La Loi sur le droit d'auteur prévoit une amende maximale de 1 000 000 $ dans les cas d'infraction grave. Les parties de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur qui traitent des sanctions pénales servent généralement à sanctionner la piraterie commerciale. Les exemples qu'on observe le plus souvent sont la copie de bandes vidéo destinées à la location ou à la vente ainsi que la vente ou le commerce illicite de copies contrefaisantes de jeux vidéo, de disques compacts, de programmes d'ordinateurs ou de musique.

À propos du droit d'auteur de la Couronne

Le droit d'auteur de la Couronne protège les œuvres de nature littéraire, dramatique, musicale ou artistique, ainsi que les enregistrements sonores, les prestations et les signaux de communication qui ont été créées sous la direction et la surveillance du gouvernement du Canada.

L'article 12 de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur est l'instrument juridique gouvernant le droit d'auteur de la Couronne. L'article 12 stipule :

12. Sous réserve de tous les droits ou privilèges de la Couronne, le droit d'auteur sur les œuvres préparées ou publiées par l'entremise, sous la direction ou la surveillance de Sa Majesté ou d'un ministère du gouvernement, appartient, sauf stipulation conclue avec l'auteur, à Sa Majesté et, dans ce cas, il subsiste jusqu'à la fin de la cinquantième année suivant celle de la première publication de l'œuvre. [L.C. 1993, ch. 44, art. 60(1)]

L'article 12 de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur précise que la Couronne détient le droit d'auteur sur les œuvres préparées ou publiées par l'entremise, sous la direction ou la surveillance de la Couronne ou d'un ministère du gouvernement, sauf stipulation contraire.

Les employés du gouvernement du Canada détiennent toutefois les droits moraux sur les œuvres qu'ils ont créées, à moins qu'ils n'y renoncent.

Types de licences

Les termes non exclusif, unique et exclusif définissent les types de licences généralement accordées au Canada. Ces termes sont définis plus en détail ci-dessous.

Une licence est dite non exclusive lorsqu'elle n'a pas pour effet de limiter le nombre de licences pouvant être accordées. Il s'agit du type de licence le plus souvent délivrée par le gouvernement du Canada pour autoriser l'utilisation des œuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur de la Couronne.

En accordant une licence non exclusive d'utilisation d'une œuvre du gouvernement du Canada, la Couronne se réserve le droit d'auteur et cède au licencié le droit d'utilisation à une fin, pour une durée et sur un territoire donné.

En accordant une licence unique, le gouvernement du Canada conserve le droit d'utiliser et de copier l'œuvre visée, mais s'engage à n'accorder de licence à personne d'autre que le licencié unique.

Dans le cas de la licence exclusif, le licencié se voit accorder la permission d'utiliser l'œuvre en exclusivité. Ce faisant, le titulaire du droit d'auteur renonce même à son droit de reproduire l'œuvre en question. L'octroi d'une telle licence équivaut à un acte de cession, à un abandon ou à une vente des droits d'auteur.

Le terme exclusive peut être utilisé relativement aux œuvres du gouvernement du Canada pour autant qu'il ne qualifie pas le contrat de licence comme tel et que le ministère auteur soit conscient qu'il renonce ce faisant à utiliser l'œuvre dans les domaines pour lesquels il a accordé l'exclusivité (p. ex. une langue, un territoire, une période de temps, un support ou une combinaison de ces éléments). Il est rare que le gouvernement du Canada accorde des licences exclusives pour autoriser des tiers à utiliser des œuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur de la Couronne.

Date de modification :