Frequently Asked Questions - Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy Consultation

Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy

Frequently Asked Questions

Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy Consultation

What is the purpose of this consultation?

We are seeking the thoughts and views of Canadians on how to strengthen our science, technology and innovation (ST&I) strategy.

Our goal is to develop a strategy for harnessing both discovery-driven and applied research to propel further innovation; create high value jobs, and contribute to our long term prosperity. We want to ensure that Canada remains well positioned in the global arena for excellence, talent, and prosperity.


Don't we already have a Science and Technology Strategy? Why is this needed?

In 2007, Prime Minister Harper announced the Government of Canada's Science and Technology Strategy, Mobilizing Science and Technology to Canada's Advantage, which identified People, Knowledge and Entrepreneurial advantages.

The Government of Canada remains focused on setting the right conditions to build knowledge, support great ideas, and ensure economic growth and long-term prosperity. The 2007 Strategy has served Canadians well. Recent achievements have transformed the National Research Council, doubled the investment in the Industrial Research Assistance Program, supported research collaborations through the federal granting councils and created the new Venture Capital Action Plan.

However, the global landscape has changed in the past seven years. That is why, as announced in the 2013 Speech from the Throne, we are updating our strategy, to provide a new framework that more adequately reflects today's global economy and guides federal ST&I investments and priorities to further build on Canada's core strengths in research.


Who is being consulted and when?

All Canadians are invited to participate in this process and share their thoughts and views.

Through this consultation process, we are also seeking the views of a wide-range of stakeholders from all sectors of the ST&I system, including universities, colleges and polytechnics, the business community, and not-for-profit research institutions.


How do I provide my comments?

You can read the consultation paper and discussion questions.

Responses can be sent by email to ic.science-tech-innovation-consultation.ic@canada.ca, or through the mail to:

Industry Canada
Science and Innovation Sector
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5
Canada

All comments must be received by .


How will my comments be taken into account?

All written submissions will be reviewed and will be considered in updating the Strategy. They may also help inform the development of future government science policy.


When will the new Strategy be released?

Following the consultation phase, we will review and consider all comments. The updated Strategy will be released in the months following the end of the consultation phase.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Foire aux questions - Consultation sur la stratégie en matière de sciences, de technologie et d'innovation

Stratégie en matière de sciences, de technologie et d'innovation

Foire aux questions

Consultation sur la stratégie en matière de sciences, de technologie et d'innovation

Quel est l'objectif de cette consultation?

Nous tentons d'obtenir les commentaires et les points de vue des Canadiens sur la façon de renforcer notre stratégie en matière de sciences, de technologie et d'innovation (STI).

Notre objectif consiste à élaborer une stratégie pour mobiliser la recherche appliquée et la recherche axée sur le développement afin de promouvoir davantage l'innovation, de créer des emplois de grande valeur et de contribuer à notre prospérité à long terme. Nous voulons faire en sorte que les Canadiens demeurent en bonne position sur la scène mondiale en termes d'excellence, de talent et de prospérité.


N'avons-nous pas déjà une stratégie en matière de sciences, de technologie et d'innovation? En quoi cette stratégie est-elle nécessaire?

En 2007, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a annoncé le lancement de la stratégie fédérale des sciences et de la technologie, Réaliser le potentiel des sciences et de la technologie au profit du Canada, qui a cerné l'avantage humain, l'avantage du savoir et l'avantage entrepreneurial.

Le gouvernement du Canada demeure déterminé à établir les conditions propices au développement du savoir, au soutien des idées exceptionnelles, à la croissance économique et à la prospérité à long terme. La stratégie de 2007 a bien répondu aux besoins des Canadiens. Le gouvernement a récemment transformé le Conseil national de recherches du Canada, doublé les fonds consentis au Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle, appuyé la collaboration en recherche par l'intermédiaire des conseils subventionnaires fédéraux et mis sur pied le Plan d'action pour le capital de risque.

Toutefois, le contexte mondial a changé au cours des sept dernières années. C'est la raison pour laquelle, comme il a été annoncé dans le discours du Trône de 2013, nous effectuons la mise à jour de notre stratégie pour fournir un nouveau cadre qui reflète plus adéquatement l'économie mondiale actuelle et oriente les investissements et les priorités fédérales en matière de sciences, de technologie et d'innovation afin de mieux exploiter les forces fondamentales du Canada en recherche.


Qui consultera-t-on et quand?

Tous les Canadiens sont invités à participer à ce processus et à partager leurs commentaires et leurs points de vue.

Par le truchement de ce processus de consultation, nous cherchons à connaître le point de vue d'un large éventail d'intervenants de tous les secteurs en matière de sciences, de technologie et d'innovation, y compris les universités, les collèges et les écoles polytechniques, le milieu des affaires, et les centres de recherche à but non lucratif.


Comment puis-je faire part de mes commentaires?

Vous pouvez lire le document de consultation et les points de discussion.

Les réponses peuvent être envoyées à cette adresse : ic.science-tech-innovation-consultation.ic@canada.ca, ou par la poste à :

Industrie Canada
Secteur science et innovation
Édifice C.D. Howe
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H5
Canada

Tous les commentaires doivent être reçus avant le .


De quelle façon mes commentaires seront-ils pris en compte?

Toutes les demandes écrites seront examinées et étudiées aux fins de mise à jour de la stratégie. Les commentaires pourraient aussi contribuer à l'élaboration d'une future politique scientifique gouvernementale.


Quand la nouvelle stratégie sera-t-elle publiée?

Nous examinerons et étudierons tous les commentaires reçus après la période de consultation. La stratégie à jour sera publiée dans les mois suivant la fin de la période de consultation.

Date de modification :