Seizing Canada's Moment: Moving Forward in Science, Technology and Innovation 2014

Seizing Canada's Moment:

Moving Forward in Science, Technology and Innovation 2014

4.0 Focusing on Priorities

A strong knowledge base allows Canada to respond to social and economic challenges, and leads to unexpected discoveries and breakthroughs. This requires federal support across all disciplines that include both discovery and application driven research. It also requires that Canada's research strengths are leveraged to gain a competitive edge in areas critically important to Canada.

…The Canadian advanced manufacturing sector must adapt to a whole new era of fast-paced technological change, particularly in the fields of digital technology, materials, bio- and nano-technology, and big data…the weight of manufacturing in Canadian R&D is so important that it is imperative for the government to make it a national S&T priority. Therefore CME recommends that Canada's S&T strategy include advanced manufacturing as a priority.

Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters (CME)
CME submission to Science, Technology and Innovation Consultation (posted on CME website, )

The 2007 Strategy identified four research priorities – Environment, Natural Resources and Energy, Health and Life Sciences and Information and Communication Technologies.

In the years since, we have targeted investments in these priority areas and we are already seeing a great return on these investments. In 2012, the Council of Canadian Academies' follow-up assessment on the state of science and technology affirmed Canada's leadership in these four broad research areas. Our government will continue to sustain and enhance the nation's advantages in these strategic areas.

However, we understand the need to adopt high-potential platform technologies that transform industries and yield strong social and economic benefits. So we are adding Advanced Manufacturing as a new priority. Advanced manufacturing can include disruptive and enabling technologies such as new materials (e.g., composites, biotechnology and nanotechnology), as well as new methods of design and production (e.g., simulation, automation, additive manufacturing). Firms that embrace advanced manufacturing will have a powerful tool to deliver high value-added activities and products.

Equally important is to continue to research and innovate in Canada's strong traditional sectors. Agriculture encompasses a broad range of activities including technological development, genomic research, and manufacturing. Agriculture has been added to the Environment priority to focus research resources on this vital sector.

With advice from the Science, Technology and Innovation Council, we have identified areas of particular focus within each of the five research priorities that are of strategic importance to Canada.

Research Priorities and their Focus Areas
Research Priorities Focus Areas

Environment and Agriculture

  • Water: Health, Energy, Security
  • Biotechnology
  • Aquaculture
  • Sustainable methods of accessing energy and mineral resources from unconventional sources
  • Food and food systems
  • Climate change research and technology
  • Disaster mitigation

Health and Life Sciences

  • Neuroscience and mental health
  • Regenerative medicine
  • Health in an aging population
  • Biomedical engineering and medical technologies

Natural Resources and Energy

  • Arctic: Responsible development and monitoring
  • Bioenergy, fuel cells and nuclear energy
  • Bio-products
  • Pipeline safety

Information and Communications Technologies

  • New media, animation and games
  • Communications networks and services
  • Cybersecurity
  • Advanced data management and analysis
  • Machine-to-machine systems
  • Quantum computing

Advanced Manufacturing

  • Automation (including robotics)
  • Lightweight materials and technologies
  • Additive manufacturing
  • Quantum materials
  • Nanotechnology
  • Aerospace
  • Automotive

These focus areas are relevant both to Canada's key economic sectors and societal challenges. By targeting them, we will encourage a greater integration of innovative technologies, products and processes and, by extension, create greater benefits for Canadians and key Canadian sectors.

For example:

These research priorities and focus areas address the needs of Canada's key industrial sectors, such as space, robotics, aerospace and automotive. Advanced manufacturing will provide higher-value added services, such as R&D, design and after-market support, that link to opportunities in global value chains. Automation, 3D printing and advanced data management, for instance, can revolutionize the way manufacturers operate in both traditional and emerging industrial sectors.

In a changing world, our research priorities cannot remain static. To inspire Canada's innovators to take the next leap forward in ST&I or capitalize on a new opportunity, our Government will review and identify emerging areas of comparative advantage to inform medium- and long-term planning.

Advanced Manufacturing

Advanced manufacturing technologies including automation, robotics, biotechnology and nanotechnology are rapidly developing, high-technology areas that cut across multiple traditional industries.

They provide competitive advantage to manufacturers by enabling the development of premium, differentiated products and they represent new, more effective processes for existing products.

These new processes, business models, product design and materials are driving gains in productivity and are crucial to ensure the competitiveness of Canadian firms on the global stage.

Advanced manufacturing firms are improving productivity to compete for global mandates. These firms are:

These activities make Canadian firms more competitive and help grow jobs and opportunities for Canadians.

"Internet of Things" Untapped Potential for Canadian Business

The "Internet of Things" (IoT) is considered among experts as the next wave in the communications revolution and Canadian businesses are posed to embrace it. According to the Telus / International Data Corporation Internet of Things Study 2014: The Connected Canadian Business, released in July 2014, some 30 percent of medium and large businesses surveyed plan to deploy IoT technology in the next 24 months.

IoT – the evolution of machine-to-machine (M2M) technology – is a network of uniquely identifiable end points (or things) that communicate without human interaction, most commonly over a wireless network. It is the use of sensors, actuators and data communications technology built into physical objects—from roadways to pacemakers—that enable those objects to be tracked, coordinated or controlled across a data network or the Internet. The systems collect, analyze and act on information in real time and are being deployed to create "smart" connected businesses, homes, cars and cities. Cisco, which opened Toronto's Internet of Everything Innovation Centre in March 2014, has predicted that the Internet of Everything will generate up to $19 trillion dollars of global economic opportunity over the next decade.

Canada's Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy positions our country well for the upcoming opportunities through our priorities, including:

As device communications and complexities grow, Canada is well positioned with its priorities, highly-skilled people and world-class researchers to capitalize on this opportunity.

Emphasizing Key Technologies

The aerospace and space sectors make critical contributions to Canada's prosperity and security. To keep government policies and programs relevant and in step with changing global conditions, the Aerospace Review (Emerson Panel) was launched in February 2012. In examining research priorities, the Panel noted that, "a 'sweet spot' exists where there is a confluence of the tools vital to Canada's future, rising demand in the global marketplace, and the technologies and products conceived and tested by Canadian researchers and businesses." Research priorities in information and communications technologies and advanced manufacturing will support Canada's space and aerospace industries in gaining a competitive edge in the global marketplace.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Un moment à saisir pour le Canada : Aller de l'avant dans le domaine des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation 2014

Un moment à saisir pour le Canada :

Aller de l'avant dans le domaine des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation 2014

4.0 Mettre l'accent sur les priorités

Le secteur canadien de la fabrication de pointe doit s'adapter à une nouvelle ère de changement technologique rapide, surtout dans les domaines de la technologie numérique, des matériaux, de la biotechnologie et de la nanotechnologie et des mégadonnées […] l'incidence de la fabrication dans la R-D du Canada est tellement importante qu'il est essentiel pour le gouvernement d'en faire une priorité nationale en matière de S-T. Par conséquent, Manufacturiers et exportateurs du Canada (MEC) recommande que la stratégie de S-T du Canada fasse de la fabrication de pointe une priorité.

Présentation de Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada (MEC)
à la Consultation sur les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation (affichée sur le site Web des CME le )

Grâce à une solide base de connaissances, le Canada peut relever des défis sociaux et économiques, ce qui peut se traduire par des découvertes et des percées inattendues. Cela nécessite du soutien fédéral dans toutes les disciplines qui comprennent de la recherche axée tant sur la découverte que sur l'application. Cela exige aussi que les forces du Canada en matière de recherche soient mises à profit pour acquérir un avantage concurrentiel dans les domaines d'importance critique pour le Canada.

La stratégie de 2007 désignait quatre domaines de recherche prioritaires — l'environnement; les ressources naturelles et l'énergie; la santé et les sciences de la vie; et les technologies de l'information et des communications.

Dans les années qui ont suivi, nous avons privilégié les investissements dans ces domaines prioritaires et nous constatons déjà des rendements importants sur ces investissements. En 2012, l'évaluation de suivi de l'état des sciences et de la technologie du Conseil des académies canadiennes attestait le leadership du Canada dans ces quatre domaines généraux de recherche. Le gouvernement continuera de maintenir et d'améliorer les avantages de notre pays dans ces quatre secteurs stratégiques.

Toutefois, nous sommes conscients de la nécessité d'adopter des plateformes technologiques à fort potentiel qui transforment les industries et confèrent de grands avantages sociaux et économiques. Nous ajoutons donc la fabrication de pointe comme nouvelle priorité. La fabrication de pointe peut comprendre des technologies perturbatrices et habilitantes telles que les nouveaux matériaux (p. ex. composites, biotechnologie et nanotechnologie), ainsi que des nouvelles méthodes de conception et de production (p. ex. simulation, automatisation, fabrication additive). Les entreprises qui adoptent la fabrication de pointe disposeront d'un outil puissant pour offrir des produits et des activités à forte valeur ajoutée.

Il est tout aussi important de poursuivre les recherches et l'innovation dans les secteurs où le Canada a traditionnellement excellé. L'agriculture englobe une vaste gamme d'activités, notamment le développement technique, la recherche génomique et la fabrication. L'agriculture a été ajoutée à la priorité de l'environnement afin de concentrer des ressources de recherche sur ce secteur essentiel.

Forts des conseils du Conseil des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation, nous avons répertorié cinq priorités de recherche qui revêtent une importance stratégique pour le Canada.

Priorités de recherche et leur secteurs d'intérêt
Priorités de recherche Secteurs d'intérêt

Environnement et agriculture

  • Eau : santé, énergie, sécurité
  • Biotechnologie
  • Aquiculture
  • Méthodes durables pour accéder aux ressources énergétiques et minérales tirées de sources non conventionnelles
  • Alimentation et systèmes alimentaires
  • Recherche sur les changements climatiques et technologie connexe
  • Atténuation des catastrophes

Santé et sciences de la vie

  • Neurosciences et santé mentale
  • Médecine régénératrice
  • Santé chez une population vieillissante
  • Génie biomédical et technologies médicales

Ressources naturelles et énergie

  • Arctique : exploitation et surveillance responsables
  • Bioénergie, piles à combustible et énergie nucléaire
  • Bioproduits
  • Sécurité des pipelines

Technologies de l'information et des communications

  • Nouveaux médias, animation et jeux
  • Réseaux et services de communication
  • Cybersécurité
  • Analyse et capacités avancées de gestion des données
  • Systèmes machine à machine
  • Informatique quantique

Fabrication de pointe

  • Automatisation (notamment la robotique)
  • Matériaux légers et technologies connexes
  • Fabrication additive
  • Matériaux quantiques
  • Nanotechnologie
  • Aérospatiale
  • Secteur de l'automobile

Ces secteurs d'intérêt sont pertinents tant pour les secteurs économiques clés que pour les défis sociaux du Canada. En les ciblant, nous favoriserons une intégration accrue des technologies, des produits et des procédés novateurs et, par le fait même, générerons plus d'avantages pour la population canadienne et les secteurs clés au Canada.

Par exemple :

Ces priorités de recherche et secteurs d'intérêt peuvent répondre aux besoins de secteurs industriels clés du Canada, tels que ceux de l'espace, de la robotique, de l'aérospatiale et de l'automobile. La fabrication de pointe fournira des services à valeur ajoutée plus élevée, tels que la R-D, la conception et le service après-vente, qui sont liés aux possibilités que représentent les chaînes de valeur mondiales. Par exemple, l'automatisation, l'impression tridimensionnelle, et les capacités avancées de gestion des données peuvent révolutionner la façon dont les fabricants œuvrent dans les secteurs industriels traditionnels et émergents.

Dans un monde en évolution constante, nos priorités de recherche ne peuvent demeurer statiques. Pour inciter les innovateurs du Canada à faire le prochain grand pas en avant dans la STI ou à tirer parti d'une nouvelle possibilité, le gouvernement examinera et recensera les domaines émergents comportant un avantage comparatif afin d'éclairer la planification à moyen et à long terme.

Fabrication de pointe

Les technologies liées à la fabrication de pointe, y compris l'automatisation, la robotique, la biotechnologie et la nanotechnologie, se développent rapidement et constituent des domaines de haute technologie qui recoupent de nombreuses industries traditionnelles.

Ces technologies procurent aux fabricants un avantage concurrentiel en leur permettant de mettre au point des produits différents et haut de gamme, et elles offrent de nouveaux processus plus efficaces pour la fabrication des produits existants.

Ces processus, modèles opérationnels, concepts de produits et matériaux nouveaux permettent d'effectuer des gains de productivité et sont essentiels pour assurer la compétitivité des entreprises canadiennes sur la scène mondiale.

Les entreprises de fabrication de pointe améliorent la productivité afin de livrer concurrence pour obtenir des mandats mondiaux. Ces entreprises :

Ces activités rendront les entreprises canadiennes plus compétitives et permettront de créer des emplois et des débouchés pour la population canadienne.

« Internet des objets » — Potentiel inexploité pour les entreprises canadiennes

L' « Internet des objets » (IdO) est considéré par les spécialistes comme la prochaine vague de la révolution des communications, et les entreprises canadiennes sont prêtes à l'adopter. Selon le document Telus / International Data Corporation Internet of Things Study 2014 : The Connected Canadian Business, publié en juillet 2014, environ 30 % des petites et moyennes entreprises visées par le sondage prévoient déployer la technologie de l'IdO au cours des 24 prochains mois.

L'IdO, c'est-à-dire l'évolution de la technologie machine à machine (MàM), est un réseau de points d'extrémité (ou objets), identifiables de manière unique, qui communiquent sans interaction humaine, généralement au moyen d'un réseau sans fil. C'est l'utilisation de capteurs, d'actionneurs et d'une technologie de communication de données intégrés dans des objets physiques — des routes aux stimulateurs cardiaques — qui permet à ces objets d'être suivis, coordonnés ou contrôlés par l'entremise d'un réseau de données ou d'Internet. Les systèmes recueillent, analysent et traitent l'information en temps réel, et sont déployés de façon à créer des entreprises, des domiciles, des véhicules et des villes connectés « intelligents ». Cisco, qui a ouvert l'« Internet of Everything Innovation Centre » à Toronto en mars 2014, a prédit que l'Internet des objets générerait jusqu'à 19 000 milliards de dollars de débouchés économiques à l'échelle mondiale au cours de la prochaine décennie.

La stratégie en matière de sciences, de technologie et d'innovation du Canada positionne bien notre pays pour tirer parti des possibilités à venir, grâce à nos priorités, y compris :

Avec la croissance des communications entre les appareils et l'accroissement des complexités, le Canada est bien placé pour tirer parti de ces possibilités grâce à ses priorités, à sa main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée et à ses chercheurs de calibre mondial.

Mettre l'accent sur les technologies clés

Les secteurs de l'espace et de l'aérospatiale apportent une contribution décisive à la prospérité et à la sécurité du Canada. Pour que les politiques et les programmes gouvernementaux demeurent pertinents et au diapason des conditions mondiales en évolution constante, l'Examen de l'aérospatiale (Groupe Emerson) a été mis sur pied en février 2012. En examinant les priorités de recherche, ce groupe a indiqué ce qui suit : « Il existe des opportunités particulières lorsqu'on observe une convergence entre les outils essentiels à l'avenir du Canada, une hausse de la demande sur le marché mondial et les technologies et produits conçus et testés par les entreprises et les chercheurs canadiens. » Les priorités de recherche relatives aux technologies de l'information et des communications et à la fabrication de pointe soutiendront les industries de l'espace et de l'aérospatiale du Canada en leur leur procurant un avantage concurrentiel sur le marché mondial.

Date de modification :