Language selection

Search

Simon Kennedy

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Simon Kennedy was named Deputy Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development, effective September 3, 2019.

Previously, he served as Deputy Minister of Health from January 2015. During his tenure at Health Canada, that department took on a national leadership role in responding to the opioids crisis; negotiated agreements with the provinces and territories to allocate $11 billion in new funding to home care and mental health services; and launched important reforms to pharmaceutical pricing, nutrition labelling, and vaping and tobacco product packaging. Mr. Kennedy also oversaw Health Canada's implementation of the government's initiative to legalize and regulate cannabis, including passage of the Cannabis Act.

Mr. Kennedy began his career with the public service in 1990 and has served in a variety of progressively senior roles in seven different organizations, including in six deputy minister–level appointments at the Privy Council Office; Industry Canada; Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada; Health Canada; and Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada. As the Canadian lead on the bi-national Beyond the Border Working Group, he negotiated with the White House the 2011 Canada-U.S. Action Plan for Perimeter Security and Economic Competitiveness. He also served as the Prime Minister's personal representative, or "Sherpa," to the G20 from 2012 to 2014.

He holds a Bachelor of Public Relations from Mount Saint Vincent University and a Master of Science in Communications Management from Syracuse University and is a graduate of INSEAD's Advanced Management Programme. Mr. Kennedy also received his ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) and is co-chair of the ICD Ottawa Chapter. He has served on the boards of a variety of organizations, most recently the Mental Health Commission of Canada, the Canadian Institute for Health Information and the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, among others.

Date modified:

Simon Kennedy

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Sous-ministre, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Simon Kennedy est entré en fonction comme sous-ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique le 3 septembre 2019.

Précédemment, M. Kennedy a occupé les fonctions de sous-ministre de la Santé à compter de janvier 2015, période au cours de laquelle ce ministère a exercé un leadership national dans la réponse à la crise des opioïdes; négocié avec les provinces et les territoires des accords pour l'attribution de 11 milliards de dollars en fonds nouveaux pour les soins à domicile et la santé mentale; et lancé des réformes clés dans les domaines du prix des médicaments, de l'étiquetage nutritionnel, du vapotage et de l'emballage des produits de tabac. Pendant son passage à Santé Canada, M. Kennedy a également dirigé la mise en œuvre de l'initiative gouvernementale de légalisation et de réglementation du cannabis, y compris les mesures entourant l'adoption de la Loi sur le cannabis.

M. Kennedy a entamé sa carrière à la fonction publique en 1990. Il a occupé des postes de direction de plus en plus importants au sein de sept organismes gouvernementaux, dont six mandats au niveau de sous-ministre au Bureau du Conseil privé, à Industrie Canada, à Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, à Santé Canada et à Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada. M. Kennedy a été le représentant du Canada au sein du groupe de travail canado-américain Par-delà la frontière. Dans ce rôle, M. Kennedy a dirigé en 2011 les négociations avec la Maison-Blanche concernant le Plan d'action sur la sécurité du périmètre et la compétitivité économique entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Il a également été le représentant personnel du premier ministre, ou « sherpa », auprès du G-20 de 2012 à 2014.

M. Kennedy est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en relations publiques de l'Université Mount Saint Vincent et d'une maîtrise ès sciences en gestion des communications de l'Université de Syracuse. Il est diplômé du programme de gestion avancé de l'INSEAD et détient la certification IAS.A de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés, organisme dont il copréside le chapitre d'Ottawa. M. Kennedy a siégé au conseil d'administration de divers organismes, dont récemment ceux de la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada, de l'Institut canadien d'information sur la santé et des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada.

Date de modification :