Guylaine F. Roy

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Guylaine Roy

Deputy Minister of Tourism, Official Languages and La Francophonie and Deputy Minister of Women and Gender Equality

On September 23, 2019, Guylaine F. Roy became Deputy Minister for Women and Gender Equality in addition to her current role as Deputy Minister of Tourism, Official Languages and La Francophonie, which she has held since August 2018.

Previously, from May 2017 to August 2018, she was the Associate Deputy Minister of Canadian Heritage, mainly involved in sport files. She joined Canadian Heritage in September 2011 as the Assistant Deputy Minister, Cultural Affairs Sector.

Before joining Canadian Heritage, Guylaine was Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy at Transport Canada. She served in this capacity from 2007 to 2011, providing advice on a range of policy files related to transportation efficiency, competitiveness, environmental sustainability and integration across all modes of transportation.

From 2006 to 2007, in her role as Director General, Environmental Affairs at Transport, Guylaine was responsible for both policies and programs related to transportation and the environment. From 2000 to 2006, in her capacity as Director General, Surface Policy, she was responsible for economic policies related to rail, motor carriers, highways, borders and intelligent transportation systems.

Prior to joining Transport Canada, Guylaine held positions as legal counsel with Justice Canada, Correctional Service Canada and the Privy Council Office. From 1996 to 1998, she held the position of Executive Assistant to the Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet.

Guylaine has a Bachelor's Degree in Law from Université Laval in Québec and has been a federal public servant since 1986. She was a member of the Quebec Bar from 1986 to 2013.

Date modified:

Guylaine F. Roy

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Guylaine Roy

Sous-ministre du Tourisme, des Langues officielles et de la Francophonie et sous-ministre des Femmes et de l'Égalité des genres

Guylaine F. Roy est devenue sous-ministre des Femmes et de l'Égalité des genres le 23 septembre 2019, fonctions qui s'ajoutent à celles de sous-ministre du Tourisme, des Langues officielles et de la Francophonie dont elle est titulaire depuis août 2018.

Auparavant, de mai 2017 à août 2018, elle était sous-ministre déléguée du Patrimoine canadien, principalement impliquée dans des dossiers liés au sport. Elle était entrée au service de Patrimoine canadien en septembre 2011 en qualité de sous-ministre adjointe, Secteur des affaires culturelles.

Avant de se joindre à Patrimoine canadien, Guylaine était sous-ministre adjointe déléguée, Politiques, à Transports Canada. À ce titre, de 2007 à 2011, elle donnait des conseils sur divers dossiers de politique axés sur l'efficacité, la compétitivité, la durabilité environnementale et l'intégration de tous les modes de transport.

En 2006 et en 2007, en tant que directrice générale, Affaires environnementales, à Transports Canada, Guylaine veillait aux politiques et aux programmes liés au transport et à l'environnement. De 2000 à 2006, à titre de directrice générale, Politiques des transports terrestres, Guylaine était chargée des politiques économiques relatives au transport ferroviaire, au transport routier, aux autoroutes, aux frontières et aux systèmes de transport intelligents.

Avant son arrivée à Transports Canada, Guylaine a travaillé à titre de conseillère juridique à Justice Canada, à Service correctionnel Canada et au Bureau du Conseil privé. De 1996 à 1998, elle a été adjointe de direction auprès du greffier du Conseil privé et secrétaire du Cabinet.

Guylaine est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université Laval à Québec et est fonctionnaire fédérale depuis 1986. Mme Roy a été membre du Barreau du Québec de 1986 à 2013.

Date de modification :