Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI) Contribution Agreement Template

Schedule 7 - Special Purpose Equipment

1. Definition

"Special Purpose Equipment" means
  1. equipment, including ancillary systems, instrumentation, or special test equipment that is purchased, leased, manufactured or otherwise acquired for the purposes of the Project, the item cost of which exceeds $250,000, excluding jigs, tools, dies and fixtures; and
  2. prototypes that are designed and built by the Recipient to demonstrate the technology to be commercialized.

2. Disposal and Repayment of Special Purpose Equipment

  1. Disposal

    Except in the situation described in section (c) below, if the Recipient disposes any Special Purpose Equipment, the Minister will require the Recipient to repay the greater of an amount equal to that of

    1. multiplying the proceeds of disposition of the Special Purpose Equipment by the ratio of the total amount of the Contribution paid by the Minister to the total amount paid by the Recipient for supported Eligible Costs; and
    2. multiplying the Fair Market Value of the Special Purpose Equipment on the date of the transfer to commercial production, transfer outside of Canada, sale, lease or other disposition by the ratio of the total amount of the Contribution paid by the Minister to the total amount paid by the Recipient for Eligible Costs.

    The Recipient shall make such repayment within 30 days of the transfer to commercial production, transfer outside of Canada, sale, lease, or other disposition of the Special Purpose Equipment.

  2. Reduction in Amounts Repayable

    Any repayments made in respect of Special Purpose Equipment pursuant to subsection 2(a) shall be credited to and applied against the total amount which the Recipient is required to repay to the Minister pursuant to Schedule 3 hereof.

  3. Exception to Repayment on Special Purpose Equipment

    If the estimated cost as set out in the Statement of Work of all of the items of Special Purpose Equipment, other than prototypes, is 30% or less of the total estimated Eligible Costs, the Recipient will not be obligated to pay the Minister for those items which are transferred by the Recipient to commercial production in Canada.

This exception shall not reduce the Maximum Amount to be Repaid pursuant to Schedule 3 of this Agreement.

3. Costing Principles

  1. To be an Eligible Cost, the Special Purpose Equipment must be necessary for the performance of the Project, be described in sufficient detail herein so as to be readily identifiable, and the relevant cost be specified in the Special Purpose Equipment form attached.
  2. If the Special Purpose Equipment is to be modified or integrated by the Recipient during the Project, the costs related thereto will be eligible only if specifically identified in the Statement of Work in Schedule 2.
  3. Eligible Costs for Special Purpose Equipment will be the net laid down cost to the Recipient, after deducting trade discounts and cash discounts for prompt payment.
  4. Where applicable, periodic payments under a capital lease are Eligible Costs, to a maximum equal to the price of the Special Purpose Equipment, if it were purchased at the commencement of the lease period; all interest and carrying charges are to be excluded. For operating leases, the Eligible Cost is the actual lease payments incurred during the performance of the Project.
  5. Labour and material costs required in the modification or adaptation of the Special Purpose Equipment, for the purposes of the Project, are Eligible costs.
  6. Unless such is otherwise allowed in the Statement of Work, costs of construction or alteration of plant facilities to accommodate the Special Purpose Equipment or any other item of machinery and equipment, and any profit, fees, general and administrative overhead expenses related thereto, are not eligible.

4. Reporting

In accordance with Schedule 5 (Claim Reports), the Recipient shall report to the Minister, using the Special Purpose Equipment form attached, on all activities associated with Special Purpose Equipment.

The Recipient also agrees to monitor the location and use of all the Special Purpose Equipment that will eventually appear on the list.

Special Purpose Equipment Form

Recipient:

This list is to include all items of Special Purpose Equipment (SPE) purchased by the Recipient for the purposes of carrying out the Project.

The Recipient agrees to provide an up-to-date copy of this list with any claim that modifies its content, as specified in Schedule 5.

List of Equipment
1 2 3 4
Item No. Description,
Serial Number and Model Number
Qty Cost of the Item(s) to Recipient (Cdn $)
1
2
3
4
5
Date modified:

Modèle d’entente de contribution de l'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la defense (ISAD)

Annexe 7 - Équipement spécial

1. Définition

Par « équipement spécial », on entend
  1. (a) l'équipement, y compris les systèmes auxiliaires, les instruments ou l'équipement d'essai spécial, qui sera acheté, loué, fabriqué ou acquis autrement pour les besoins du projet, et dont le coût dépasse 250 000 $, à l'exclusion des gabarits, des outils, des moules et des montages ;
  2. les prototypes conçus et construits par le bénéficiaire pour faire la démonstration de la technologie à commercialiser.

Et comme identifié par le bénéficiaire sur le formulaire relatif à l'équipement spécial, ci-joint, en vertu des paragraphes ci-dessus.

2. Cession et remboursement de l'équipement spécial

  1. Cession

    Sauf dans le cas prévu à l'alinéa c) ci-après, si le bénéficiaire cède une pièce d'équipement spécial, le Ministre exigera que le bénéficiaire rembourse le plus élevé des montants suivants :

    1. le montant calculé en multipliant le produit de la cession de l'équipement spécial par le ratio du montant total de la contribution versée par le Ministre au montant total payé par le bénéficiaire au titre des coûts admissibles soutenus ;
    2. le montant calculé en multipliant la juste valeur marchande de l'équipement spécial à la date du transfert à la production commerciale, du transfert à l'extérieur du Canada ou de la cession, notamment par vente ou location, par le ratio du montant total de la contribution versée par le Ministre au montant total payé par le bénéficiaire au titre des coûts admissibles.

    Le bénéficiaire doit effectuer un tel remboursement dans les 30 jours suivant le transfert à la production commerciale, le transfert à l'extérieur du Canada ou la cession, notamment par vente ou location, de l'équipement spécial.

  2. Réduction du montant à rembourser

    Tout remboursement effectué pour de l'équipement spécial, conformément au paragraphe 2 a), sera crédité en fonction du montant total que le bénéficiaire doit rembourser au ministre en vertu de l'annexe 3.

  3. Exception au remboursement au titre de l'équipement spécial

    Si le coût estimatif dans l'énoncé des travaux de l'ensemble de l'équipement spécial, autre que les prototypes, se chiffre au plus à 30 p. 100 de la totalité des coûts admissibles estimatifs, le bénéficiaire ne sera pas tenu de payer au Ministre les pièces d'équipement qu'il transfère à la production commerciale au Canada.

Cette exception n'entraîne pas une réduction du montant maximum à rembourser à l'annexe 3 de la présente entente.

3. Principes relatifs à l'établissement des coûts

  1. Pour faire partie des coûts admissibles, l'équipement spécial doit être nécessaire à l'exécution du projet et être décrit de façon suffisamment détaillée aux présentes pour être facilement identifiable; de plus, le coût pertinent doit être indiqué dans le formulaire relatif à l'équipement spécial ci-joint.
  2. Si l'équipement spécial doit être modifié ou intégré par le bénéficiaire pendant la durée du projet, les coûts connexes ne seront admissibles que s'ils sont expressément indiqués dans l'énoncé des travaux, à l'annexe 2.
  3. Les coûts admissibles de l'équipement spécial seront le coût net installé assumé par le bénéficiaire, après déduction des rabais commerciaux et des escomptes en espèces pour un paiement prompt.
  4. Le cas échéant, les paiements périodiques prévus par un contrat de location-acquisition sont des coûts admissibles, jusqu'à concurrence d'un montant égal au prix de l'équipement spécial, s'il a été acheté au début de la période du bail; tous les intérêts et les charges financières doivent en être exclus. Dans le cas des contrats de location-exploitation, les coûts admissibles sont les paiements de location réellement effectués dans le cadre de l'exécution du projet.
  5. Les coûts de la main-d'œuvre et du matériel occasionnés par la modification ou l'adaptation de l'équipement spécial, aux fins du projet, sont des coûts admissibles.
  6. Sauf indication contraire dans l'énoncé des travaux, les coûts de construction ou de modification d'usines destinées à recevoir l'équipement spécial ou toute autre machine ou pièce d'équipement et tous les bénéfices, droits, frais généraux et administratifs connexes ne sont pas admissibles.

4. Rapports

Comme l'indique l'annexe 5 (Demandes de remboursement), le bénéficiaire doit faire rapport au Ministre, en remplissant le formulaire relatif à l'Équipement spécial ci-joint, de toutes les activités liées à l'équipement spécial.

Le bénéficiaire convient en outre de surveiller l'emplacement et l'utilisation de toutes les pièces d'équipement qui viendront à figurer sur la liste.

Formulaire relatif à l'équipement spécial

Bénéficiaire :

La liste doit comprendre toutes les pièces d'équipement spécial achetées par le bénéficiaire afin de réaliser le projet.

Le bénéficiaire convient de fournir une copie à jour de cette liste avec toute demande de remboursement qui en modifie le contenu, comme le précise l'annexe 5.

Liste de l'équipement
1 2 3 4
Pièce no Description
Numéro de série et numéro de modèle
Quantité Coût de chaque pièce pour le bénéficiaire ($ Can)
1
2
3
4
5
Date de modification :