Biopharmaceuticals and pharmaceuticals

Canada has a vibrant life sciences industry, which is composed of companies developing and manufacturing innovative medicines, generic pharmaceuticals, and over the counter (OTC) drug products, as well as medical devices. The sector is made up of five distinct groups of companies that service different market segments and include brand-name pharmaceuticals companies, generic drug firms, biopharmaceutical small and medium sized enterprises (biopharmaceutical SMEs), contract service providers (CSPs) and medical devices firms.

There is considerable activity performed by the pharmaceutical sector in other value-added areas including wholesale, distribution, research and development and regulatory compliance. The sector plays a key role in the commercialization of science and work closely with the research community. Canadian innovators are internationally recognized for research and product development excellence in genomics, proteomics, vaccine development, medical devices, regenerative medicine (stem cells), protein engineering, immunotherapies and drug delivery systems.

In addition to the academic and scientific excellence, Canada has strength in the generation of intellectual property and in clinical development capabilities, which is demonstrated by the significant number of biopharmaceutical products in the pipeline. Canada has one of the highest number of biotechnology companies in the world, with the majority focused on human health, giving Canada a strong record of achievement in biopharmaceuticals. Canada has been rated the best country in the Group of Seven (G7) industrialized nations for cost-effective clinical trials and medical product testing (KPMG, Competitive Alternative 2016). Canada has been one of the leaders in the vaccine industry with global mandates, and more recently becoming one of the centres of activity for developing HIV vaccines and related technologies.

Highlights

Date modified:

Industries biopharmaceutique et pharmaceutique

Le Canada est doté d’une industrie des sciences de la vie particulièrement dynamique. Celle-ci est composée d’entreprises qui mettent au point et fabriquent des médicaments innovants, des produits pharmaceutiques génériques et des médicaments en vente libre. Le secteur est constitué de cinq groupes d’entreprises qui desservent différents segments du marché : les fabricants de médicaments d’origine, les fabricants de médicaments génériques, les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) biopharmaceutiques, les fournisseurs de services contractuels (FSC) et les entreprises spécialisées dans le matériel médical.

L’industrie pharmaceutique exerce une activité considérable dans d’autres domaines à valeur ajoutée comme le commerce de gros, la distribution, la recherche-développement et la conformité réglementaire. Elle joue un rôle de premier plan dans la commercialisation de la science et collabore étroitement avec le milieu de la recherche. Les innovateurs canadiens sont reconnus à l’échelle internationale pour l’excellence de leurs recherches et pour l’extrême qualité des produits qu’ils mettent au point dans les domaines de la génomique, de la protéomique, du développement de vaccins, du matériel médical, de la médecine régénérative (cellules souches), de l’ingénierie des protéines, de l’immunothérapie et des systèmes d’administration des médicaments.

En plus de son excellence universitaire et scientifique, le Canada dispose d’atouts en matière de création de propriété intellectuelle et de capacités de développement clinique, comme en témoigne le grand nombre de produits biopharmaceutiques en cours de développement. Il compte l’un des plus grands nombres d’entreprises de biotechnologie au monde, avec une majorité qui se consacre à la santé humaine, ce qui permet au Canada d’afficher un bilan exceptionnel de réalisations dans le domaine biopharmaceutique. Le Canada se classe en outre en tête de liste des sept pays les plus industrialisés (G7) en ce qui a trait à la rentabilité des essais cliniques et de l’expérimentation des produits médicaux (KPMG, Choix concurrentiels 2016). Le Canada est un des chefs de file de l’industrie des vaccins pour les mandats mondiaux et, plus récemment, il est devenu un des centres d’activité dans le monde pour la mise au point de vaccins contre le VIH et de technologies connexes.

Points saillants

Date de modification :