Archived — Canadian asset map for stem cell and regenerative medicine

Introduction


2.1 Importance of Regenerative Medicine and Stem Cell

Regenerative medicine involves the renewal of body tissues or the restoration of organ and tissue function through the use of living cells, particularly stem cells. Stem cells offer a particularly rich source of regenerative technologies as, under the right conditions, they can differentiate into many different cell types (see below). They have considerable potential to help in the treatment of numerous common and intractable diseases and conditions, such as diabetes, arthritis, stroke, renal failure, heart failure, cancer, spinal cord injury, and neurodegenerative diseases, including Parkinson's and Alzheimer's. They can also be used in organ regeneration, genetic diseases, and other tissue repair or replacement (e.g., bone and skin transplants, cartilage regeneration).

A number of stem cell-based regenerative technologies are used today, such as eye surface stem cells for the treatment of some corneal diseases and injuries; and blood stem cells for treating hematological cancers (e.g. leukemias) and other conditions, such as sickle cell anemia. In fact, bone marrow transplants have become a standard of care for the treatment of certain hematological cancers, while skin stem cells are frequently used in wound healing. However, these clinical uses represent just a small fraction of the opportunities in regenerative medicine and researchers are working furiously to understand the role stem cells may play in other diseases, and to translate these findings into the clinic.

To be clinically effective, stem cells need to be delivered to and integrate with the relevant body site. Delivery methods can include gels, films, scaffolds, and targeted carrier technologies that are produced from biomaterials (e.g., polymers, lipids), modified cells or, in the case of some carrier technologies, modified viruses. The combination of stem cells (or other cell types) and a scaffold or similar technology is called tissue engineering. Furthermore, because stem cells occur in highly limited quantities within the body, effective methods are required to mobilize, isolate, culture, and store them. Adequate production methods are essential to unlocking their clinical potential.

2.2 Purpose of the Asset Map

Using the methodology described in Appendix 1, this Asset Map provides a snapshot of Canadian stem cell and regenerative medicine research. Since this research sector could potentially be extremely broad-based, we have specifically focused on pluripotent, tissue-specific, and cancer stem cell research, biomaterials in terms of scaffolds or similar technologies for use in regenerative medicine, and tissue engineering in terms of production of stem cells and their delivery device. We have not included gene therapy (unless it involves stem cells) or growth factors, xeno-organs, regeneration of plants or animals (unless the studies relate to experimental models of human conditions) or companies working in regenerative medicine.

2.3 Description of Stem Cells

This Asset Map distinguishes between three overall types of stem cell. The two major stem cell types are pluripotent and tissue-specific (also known as adult or stromal). The third type of stem cell specifically targeted in this report are cancer stem cells, a type of tissue-specific cell.

Pluripotent stem cells have the ability to give rise to all kinds of cell in the body, such as those of the heart, lungs, muscles, skeleton, or brain. These unspecialized stem cells are derived from either embryos or from adult stem cells that have been reprogrammed (or "induced") to enter an embryonic stem cell-like state. The latter are called induced pluripotent stem cells.

Tissue-specific stem cells have been identified in many organs and tissues, including brain, bone marrow, peripheral blood, blood vessels, skeletal muscle, skin, teeth, heart, gut, liver, ovarian epithelium, and testis. They are undifferentiated cells that are able to self renew and differentiate. Since their primary role in a living organism is to maintain and repair the tissue in which they are found, their capacity for differentiation is usually limited to cell types in the organ of origin.Footnote 1 So, for example, neural stem cells can become any type of cell in the brain or spinal cord but cannot differentiate into heart cells unless they have been reprogrammed into induced pluripotent stem cells.

Cancer stem cells (also known as tumor initiating cells) are a resilient subset of cells found in tumors with the capacity to self-renew and differentiate. They've been identified in many types of solid tumor cancers, including cancer of the breast, head and neck, lung, prostate, pancreas and glioblastoma. Cancer stem cells appear to be preferentially resistant to both standard chemotherapy and radiotherapy. Although cancer stem cells are not part of regenerative medicine (they regenerate cancer tissues thereby destroying normal tissues), they are an important aspect of stem cell research.

Date modified:

Archivé — Carte des ressources canadiennes dans le domaine des cellules souches et de la médecine régénératrice

Introduction


2.1 Importance de la médecine régénérative et des cellules souches

La médecine régénérative vise à renouveler des tissus du corps ou à rétablir des fonctions d'un organe ou d'un tissu par l'utilisation de cellules vivantes, particulièrement de cellules souches. Les cellules sont une source très riche de technologies régénératives; dans les bonnes conditions, elles peuvent se différencier en cellules de nombreux types (tel qu'expliqué ci-dessous). Ces cellules possèdent un potentiel considérable pour aider à traiter un grand nombre de maladies et d'affections courantes et intraitables, par exemple le diabète, l'arthrite, les accidents cérébrovasculaires, les insuffisances rénales, les insuffisances cardiaques, le cancer, les lésions de la moelle épinière et les maladies neurodégénératives, telles que la maladie de Parkinson et la maladie d'Alzheimer. Elles peuvent servir à la régénération d'organes, au traitement de maladies génétiques et à d'autres applications de réparation et de remplacement de tissus (p. ex., greffes osseuses ou de peau, régénération cartilagineuse).

On utilise déjà un certain nombre de technologies régénératives fondées sur les cellules souches, notamment les cellules souches de la surface oculaire dans le traitement de certaines maladies et lésions de la cornée et les cellules souches du sang dans le traitement des cancers du sang (p. ex., leucémie) et d'autres affections telles que la drépanocytose. En fait, la greffe de moelle osseuse est devenue le traitement standard contre certains cancers du sang, tandis que les cellules souches de la peau sont souvent utilisées dans la guérison des plaies. Ces utilisations cliniques ne représentent toutefois qu'une petite fraction des possibilités offertes par la médecine régénérative, et les chercheurs travaillent d'arrache-pied pour comprendre le rôle potentiel des cellules souches dans d'autres maladies et pour transmettre leurs découvertes au milieu clinique.

Pour être efficaces sur le plan clinique, les cellules souches doivent atteindre la partie du corps visée et s'y intégrer. Les méthodes d'administration comprennent des gels, des films, des échafaudages et des vecteurs ciblés, qui peuvent être constitués de biomatériaux (p. ex., polymères, lipides), de cellules modifiés et, dans le cas de certaines technologies de vecteurs, de virus modifiés. L'ingénierie tissulaire englobe les méthodes de combinaison de cellules souches (ou d'autres types de cellules) avec un échafaudage ou une technologie semblable. Comme les cellules souches sont présentes en quantités limitées dans l'organisme, il faut mettre au point des méthodes efficaces qui permettront de les mobiliser, de les isoler, de les cultiver et de les conserver. Des méthodes de production adéquates sont essentielles pour exploiter leur potentiel clinique.

2.2 Raison d'être de la carte des ressources

Élaborée à l'aide de la méthode décrite à l'annexe 1, la carte des ressources donne un aperçu de la recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative au Canada. Comme ce domaine de recherche pourrait être extrêmement vaste, nous nous sommes concentrés spécifiquement sur les cellules souches pluripotentes, les cellules souches tissulaires et les cellules souches du cancer, sur les biomatériaux utilisés dans les échafaudages et les technologies semblables en médecine régénérative et, enfin, sur l'ingénierie tissulaire du point de vue de la production et de l'administration des cellules souches. Nous ne traitons pas des thérapies géniques (à moins qu'elles ne fassent appel à des cellules souches), des facteurs de croissance, des xéno-organes, de la régénération chez les végétaux et les animaux (à moins que des études ne comportent des modèles expérimentaux humains) ni des sociétés de médecine régénérative.

2.3 Description des cellules souches

La présente carte des ressources distingue trois grands types de cellules souches. Les deux principaux types sont les cellules souches pluripotentes et les cellules souches tissulaires. Les cellules souches du cancer, un sous-type de cellules souches tissulaires, sont le troisième type abordé dans le présent rapport.

Les cellules souches pluripotentes peuvent se transformer en toutes sortes de cellules dans l'organisme (p. ex., du coeur, des poumons, des muscles, du squelette, du cerveau). Ces cellules souches non spécialisées proviennent d'embryons ou de cellules souches adultes ayant été reprogrammées (ou « induites ») de manière à ce qu'elles reviennent au stade de cellule souche embryonnaire.

Les cellules souches tissulaires ont été observées dans un grand nombre d'organes et de tissus, y compris le cerveau, la moelle osseuse, le sang périphérique, les vaisseaux sanguins, les muscles squelettiques, la peau, les dents, le coeur, le tube intestinal, le foie, l'épithélium ovarien et les testicules. Ces cellules indifférenciées ont la capacité de s'autorenouveler et de se différencier. Comme leur rôle primaire dans un organisme vivant est le maintien et la réparation du tissu où elles se trouvent, leur capacité de différenciation se limite généralement aux types de cellules présentes dans l'organe d'origineNote 1. Par exemple, les cellules souches neurales peuvent se transformer en tout type de cellule présente dans le cerveau ou dans la moelle épinière, mais elles ne peuvent pas se différencier en cellules du coeur à moins d'avoir été reprogrammées en cellules souches pluripotentes induites.

Les cellules souches du cancer (aussi appelées cellules initiatrices de tumeurs) forment un sous-ensemble de cellules résistantes présentes dans les tumeurs ayant la capacité de s'autorenouveler et de se différencier. Elles ont été observées dans de nombreux types de tumeurs cancéreuses solides, notamment les cancers du sein, de la tête et du cou, du poumon, de la prostate, du pancréas et les glioblastomes. Les cellules souches du cancer semblent présenter une résistance préférentielle aux chimiothérapies et aux radiothérapies courantes. Bien que les cellules souches du cancer ne soient pas utilisées en médecine régénérative (elles régénèrent les tissus cancéreux, détruisant du même coup les tissus normaux), elles constituent un volet important de la recherche sur les cellules souches.

Date de modification :