Archived — Canadian asset map for stem cell and regenerative medicine

Overview of stem cell and regenerative medicine research in Canada


3.1 Canada's Global Position in Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Research

Canada has been a leader in the stem cell research field since Canadian researchers Drs. James Till and Ernest McCulloch of the Princess Margaret Hospital/Ontario Cancer Institute in Toronto first proved the existence of stem cells (hematopoietic) almost 50 years ago.Footnote 2 For this achievement, they were awarded the 2005 Lasker Prize (often described as America's "Nobel").Footnote 3 Their work has contributed to the development of several lifesaving therapies, such as bone-marrow transplantation to treat cancer. In fact, more than 42,000 people worldwide have been treated using blood stem cells to renew their blood supply.Footnote 4 Furthermore, through the continued training of researchers in their and their former students' labs, Canada has continued to make significant contributions in this area:Footnote 5

In fact, Canada's importance in hematopoietic stem cell research up until at least 2000 was illustrated by a Nature Immunology review that found 15 of the 32 most important papers in the field over the period from 1960–2000 were authored by Canadians.Footnote 8 In the field of embryonic stem cell research, Canada ranked second in the number of publications from 1991–2001, and first in both total citations and citations per paper.Footnote 9

However, in recent years Canada has been slipping in importance, mainly because of a slowdown in comparative research funding. Thus, according to the MaRS Regenerative Medicine 2009 Industry Briefing report,Footnote 10 in 2009 Canada occupied 4th position in the global rankings of stem cell researching countries aft er the United States (US), United Kingdom (UK), and South Korea in terms of government funding and 3rd in terms of influential stem cell patents (after the US and UK), although it still had a leading position (1st) in terms of citations. Although the South Korean investments mentioned above have probably declined recently following the bogus cloning research results of Hwang, other governments (e.g., Germany, the EU) and US states have been making significant and growing investments (Drew Lyall [Executive Director, SCN], personal communication). Thus, since 2007, individual US states other than California have promised over $1 billion in stem cell research funding, generally over a 10 year period (e.g., Connecticut $100 million, New Jersey $250 million and New York $600 million),Footnote 11 while Wisconsin has established a $750 million public-private partnership for such research.Footnote 12 California alone is investing $3 billion in the full spectrum of stem cell research and therapeutic development, from fundamental research to manufacturing facilities to clinical trials and beyond.Footnote 13

3.2 Funding for Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Research

The majority of funding information was obtained from federal government sources. Funding information was also available on the Terry Fox Foundation (TFF), US National Institutes of Health (NIH), AllerGen, the Ontario Government, and the Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation websites. Dollar figures were not provided on the websites of other provincial governments. Although the SCN breaks down its funds for individual research projects, only total NCE funding for the Network was used in the analysis (see Appendix 1 Methodology).

A minimum of $277.5 million from the aforementioned sources was spent on stem cell and regenerative medicine research over the last five years (2006/7–2010/11). As illustrated in Figure 1, CIHR was the largest funder, providing 36 percent of the funds. The NCE funds, at 10 percent of the total, were those dedicated to the SCN.

Figure 1: Source of Funding for Stem Cell & Regenerative Medicine Research 2006/7 to 2010/11 ($277.5M)

Source of Funding for Stem Cell & Regenerative Medicine Research 2006/7 to 2010/11 ($277.5 million)

Based on the data contained in the BC Regenerative Medicine Asset Map, the aforementioned funders included in this analysis probably account for only 50 percent–60 percent of funding in stem cell and biomaterials research for regenerative medicine. Thus, over the last five years, approximately $460 million–$560 million were probably spent on research into these fields. Information contained on the websites of various researchers indicates that other funders include:

3.3 Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Research Centres

As listed in Table 1, 25 of Canada's universities are associated with stem cell and regenerative medicine research. If the individual research institutes within or affiliated with these universities are also counted (see Appendix 4), then Canada has at least 68 centres where researchers are investigating stem cells and regenerative medicine. Information on the most important of these centres can be found in Section 8.

Table 1. Canadian Universities Associated with Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Research
Province University
British Columbia (BC) Simon Fraser University
University of British Columbia
University of Victoria
Alberta (AB) University of Alberta
University of Calgary
Saskatchewan (SK) University of Saskatchewan
Manitoba (MB) University of Manitoba
Ontario (ON) Carleton University
McMaster University
Queen’s University
University of Guelph
University of Ottawa
University of Toronto
University of Waterloo
University of Western Ontario
York University
Quebec (QC) École polytechnique de Montréal
McGill University
University of Laval
University of Montreal
University of Quebec or Montreal
University of Sherbrooke
Nova Scotia (NS) Dalhousie University
New Brunswick (NB) New Brunswick Heart Centre
Newfoundland & Labrador (NL) Memorial University

3.4 Funding and Researchers by University and Province

As illustrated in Figure 2,Footnote 14 65 percent of the $277.5 million in funding went to Ontario (ON). Québec (QC) received 15 percent followed by British Columbia (BC) and Alberta (AB) (9 percent each).

Figure 2: Total Funding by Province 2006/7 to 2010/11 (Total $277.5 million)

 Total Funding by Province 2006/7 to 2010/11 (Total $277.5 million)

Associated with the fact that Ontario received the most funding, the University of Toronto received the lion's share of funds between 2006/7 and 2010/11, at $117 million (Figure 3Footnote 14). All other universities received less than $50 million.

Figure 3: University Funding Over $10M (2006/7 to 2010/11)

University Funding Over $10M (2006/7 to 2010/11)

Using the definitions stated in section 2.2. and the Methodology (Appendix 1), 416 researchers (in professor, associate professor, or similar positions) were identified as working in the field of stem cells and regenerative medicine research. A list of them can be found in Appendix 3a. Although all these researchers have obtained grants for stem cell and related research and/or mention stem cell and related research on their websites, it should be noted that they oft en work in additional research areas and stem cells may not be their key focus.

A breakdown of the number of researchers working in each province and institution can be found in Appendix 4. The provincial spread of researchers is illustrated in Figure 4. Forty seven percent reside in Ontario, 25 percent in Quebec, 13 percent in British Columbia and 9 percent in AB. In terms of universities, the University of Toronto (or its affiliated institutions) houses by far the greatest number of researchers (26 percent), followed by the University of British Columbia (12 percent), the University of Ottawa (8 percent), McGill University (8 percent), and Université de Montréal (8 percent) (Figure 5 and Appendix 4). Information on individual research institutions affiliated with these universities can be found in Section 8.

Figure 4: Number of Researchers By Province

Number of Researchers By Province

Figure 5: Number of Researchers By University

Number of Researchers By University

top of page

Date modified:

Archivé — Carte des ressources canadiennes dans le domaine des cellules souches et de la médecine régénératrice

Survol des travaux de recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative au Canada

3.1 Position du Canada dans le monde en matière de recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative

Le Canada est un chef de file dans le domaine de la recherche sur les cellules souches depuis que les chercheurs canadiens James Till et Ernest McCulloch, de l'Ontario Cancer Insitutes du Princess Margaret Hospital de Toronto, ont été les premiers à démontrer l'existence de cellules souches (hématopoïétiques) il y a près de 50 ansNote 2. Cette percée leur a valu le prix Lasker de 2005 (généralement considéré comme le « prix Nobel de l'Amérique »)Note 3. Leurs travaux ont ouvert la voie à plusieurs thérapies sauvant des vies, tels que la greffe de moelle osseuse pour traiter le cancer. À l'échelle mondiale, plus de 42 000 personnes ont reçu des cellules souches du sang pour renouveler leur sangNote 4. Le Canada contribue encore de façon importante à ce domaine en offrant une formation continue en laboratoire à la communauté scientifiqueNote 5 :

Le rôle du Canada dans la recherche sur les cellules souches hématopoïétiques, au moins jusqu'en 2000, a été mis en évidence dans un article de Nature Immunology, selon lequel 15 des 32 publications les plus importantes dans le domaine de 1960 à 2000 avaient été rédigées par des CanadiensNote 8. En ce qui a trait à la recherche sur les cellules souches embryonnaires, le Canada s'est classé au deuxième rang pour le nombre de publications de 1991 à 2001 et au premier rang pour le nombre total de citations et le nombre de citations par publicationNote 9.

Cependant, au cours des dernières années, le Canada a perdu de son importance, en grande partie à cause de la réduction du financement de la recherche. Selon un rapport d'information à l'intention de l'industrie sur la médecine régénérative (MaRS, 2009)Note 10, en 2009, le Canada se situait au quatrième rang mondial au chapitre du financement de la recherche sur les cellules souches (derrière les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni et la Corée du Sud) et au troisième rang au chapitre des brevets importants sur les cellules souches (derrière les États-Unis et le Royaume-Uni), mais occupait toujours le premier rang en ce qui concerne les citations. Bien que les investissements sud-coréens aient probablement diminué récemment à la suite de la découverte des fraudes du professeur Hwang, d'autres gouvernements (p. ex., Allemagne, Union européenne) et certains États américains ont engagé des sommes importantes et croissantes (Drew Lyall, directeur exécutif, RCS, communication personnelle). Depuis 2007, des États américains autres que la Californie ont promis d'allouer plus de 1 milliard de dollars à la recherche sur les cellules souches, généralement sur une période de 10 ans (100 millions de dollars au Connecticut, 250 millions de dollars au New Jersey et 600 millions de dollars à New York)Note 11, tandis que le Wisconsin a établi un partenariat privé-public d'une valeur de 750 millions de dollars dans ce domaineNote 12. Quant à la Californie, elle consacre à elle seule 3 milliards de dollars à la recherche sur les cellules souches et à la mise au point de traitements (recherche fondamentale, établissements de production, essais cliniques, etc.)Note 13.

3.2 Financement de la recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative

La majorité des données sur le financement proviennent de sources fédérales. Nous avons aussi consulté les sites Web de la Fondation Terry Fox, des National Institutes of Health (États-Unis), d'AllerGen, du gouvernement de l'Ontario et de la Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation. Les sites Web des autres gouvernements provinciaux n'indiquaient pas les sommes allouées. Bien que le RCS répartisse ses fonds entre plusieurs projets de recherche, seul le financement total par les RCE a été utilisé dans l'analyse (veuillez vous reporter à l'Annexe 1 – Méthodologie).

Au moins 277,5 millions de dollars reçus des sources mentionnées ci-dessus ont été investis dans la recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative durant les cinq dernières années (de 2006-2007 à 2010-2011). Tel qu'indiqué à la figure 1, les IRSC ont fourni le plus important financement (36 p. 100 des fonds de recherche). Le financement offert par les RCE, qui représente 10 p. 100 du montant, est allé au RCS.

Figure 1: Sources de financement pour la recherche dans le domaine des cellules souches et de la médecine régénérative de 2006-07 à 2010-11 (277,5 millions de dollars)

Sources de financement pour la recherche dans le domaine des cellules souches et de la médecine régénérative de 2006-07 à 2010-11-277,5 millions de dollars

À la lumière des données figurant dans la carte des ressources de médecine régénérative de la Colombie-Britannique, les bailleurs de fonds ci-dessus visés par la présente analyse ne fournissent vraisemblablement que 50 à 60 p. 100 des sommes attribuées à la recherche sur les cellules souches et les biomatériaux en médecine régénérative. Cela veut dire qu'environ 460 à 560 millions de dollars auraient été investis dans ce domaine de recherche durant les cinq dernières années. Selon les renseignements affichés sur les sites Web de divers chercheurs, les autres bailleurs de fonds comprennent notamment :

3.3 Centres de recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative

Tel qu'indiqué dans le tableau 1, 25 universités canadiennes participent à la recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative. Si l'on prend en compte les établissements de recherche au sein de ces universités ou affiliés à celles-ci (pour plus de détails, veuillez vous reporter à l'annexe 4), on arrive à au moins 68 centres canadiens où des chercheurs étudient les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative. La section 8 contient des renseignements sur les centres les plus importants.

Tableau 1. Universités canadiennes participant à la recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative
Province Université
Colombie-Britannique (CB) Simon Fraser Université
Université de Colombie-Britannique
Université de Victoria
Alberta (AB) Université de l’Alberta
Université de Calgary
Saskatchewan (SK) Université de Saskatchewan
Manitoba (MB) Université de Manitoba
Ontario (ON) Carleton Université
McMaster Université
Queen's Université
Université de Guelph
Université d'Ottawa
Université de Toronto
Université de Waterloo
Université de Western Ontario
York Université
Québec (QC) École polytechnique de Montréal
McGill Université
Université de Laval
Université de Montréal
Université de Québec à Montréal
Université de Sherbrooke
Nouvelle-Écosse (NS) Dalhousie Université
Nouveau-Brunswick (NB) New Brunswick Heart Centre
Terre-neuve et Labrador (NL) Memorial Université

3.4 Financement et chercheurs par université et par province

Tel qu'illustré à la figure 2Note 14, 65 p. 100 du financement de 277,5 millions de dollars est allé en Ontario. Le Québec a reçu 15 p. 100 du financement, et la Colombie-Britannique et l'Alberta, 9 p. 100 chacune.

Figure 2: Financement total par province de 2006-07 à 2010-11 (277,5 millions de dollars)

Financement total par province de 2006-07 à 2010-11 (277,5 millions de dollars)

Parallèlement au fait que l'Ontario a obtenu le financement le plus important, la University of Toronto a reçu la part du lion des sommes allouées de 2006-2007 à 2010-2011, soit 117 millions de dollars (figure 3Note 14). Toutes les autres universités ont reçu moins de 50 millions de dollars.

Figure 3: Financement universitaire de plus de 10 millions de dollars (de 2006-07 à 2010-11)

Financement universitaire de plus de 10 millions de dollars (de 2006-07 à 2010-11)

En suivant les définitions énoncées à la section 2.2 et la méthodologie décrite à l'annexe 1, nous avons cerné 416 chercheurs (professeurs, professeurs agrégés et autres postes similaires) travaillant dans le domaine de la recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative. La liste des chercheurs figure à l'annexe 3a. Bien que tous ces chercheurs aient obtenu des bourses de recherche sur les cellules souches et des sujets connexes et/ou qu'ils mentionnent les cellules souches et d'autres sujets de recherche connexes sur leurs sites Web, il importe de noter que bon nombre d'entre eux travaillent également dans d'autres domaines et que les cellules de souches ne sont pas nécessairement leur principal sujet de recherche.

L'annexe 4 présente le nombre des chercheurs par province et par établissement. La figure 4 montre la répartition des chercheurs par province. Quarante-sept pour cent des chercheurs habitent en Ontario, 25 p. 100, au Québec, 13 p. 100, en Colombie-Britannique et 9 p. 100, en Alberta. En ce qui concerne les universités, la University of Toronto (et ses établissements affiliés) compte de loin la plus forte proportion de chercheurs (26 p. 100). Elle est suivie par The University of British Columbia (12 p. 100), l'Université d'Ottawa (8 p. 100), l'Université de McGill (8 p. 100) et l'Université de Montréal (8 p. 100) (figure 5 et annexe 4). Pour plus de détails sur les établissements de recherche affiliés aux universités, veuillez vous reporter à la section 8.

Figure 4: Nombre de chercheurs par province

Nombre de chercheurs par province

Figure 5: Nombre de chercheurs par université

Nombre de chercheurs par université

haut de la page

Date de modification :