Archived — Canadian asset map for stem cell and regenerative medicine

Focus of stem cell and tissue engineering researchers


Of the 416 researchers working in stem cell and regenerative medicine research, 303 (73 percent) work with stem cells of some type, while 79 (19 percent) work in tissue engineering (Figure 6). The others work in social sciences and humanities (n=16), bioprocessing (n=6), various stem cell technologies such as high throughput sorting/analysis or cryopreservation (n=9), or their regenerative medicine research focus was unspecified (n=3).

Figure 6: Percentage of Researchers Working in Each Major Discipline (n=416)

Percentage of Researchers Working in Each Major Discipline (n=416)

Within the stem cell research area, the majority of researchers (54 percent, n=166) work with tissue-specific stem cells. Forty nine (16 percent) investigators work with pluripotent stem cells, while 30 work with cancer stem cells (10 percent). Another 29 (10 percent) work with a number of different stem cell types ("various"), with at least 17 working with both tissue-specific and pluripotent (Figure 7). The specific targets of many of these researchers can be found in Appendix 3b.

Figure 7: Focus of Stem Cell Research (n=303)

Focus of Stem Cell Research (n=303)

4.1 Pluripotent Stem Cells

As described previously, pluripotent stem cells consist of embryonic and induced pluripotent stem cells. Of the 49 researchers who work only with pluripotent stem cells, the majority focus on embryonic stem cells (84 percent exclusively, another 12 percent working with both types, i.e., 96 percent in total). Similarly with the 17 who work with both pluripotent and tissue-specific cells, 82 percent focus on embryonic stem cells (65 percent exclusively, another 17 percent working with both types). Thus, of all 66 researchers who work with pluripotent stem cells, whether or not exclusively, 92 percent work with embryonic stem cells. Twenty percent (n=13) of researchers working with pluripotent stem cells work with those that have been induced (four [6 percent] with induced pluripotent stem cells only, with or without tissue-specific cells; and nine [14 percent] with both types of pluripotent stem cells, again with or without tissue-specific cells) (Figure 8). Individual researchers working with each group of cells are listed in Appendix 3b.

Figure 8: Focus of Pluripotent Stem Cell Researchers (n=66)

Focus of Pluripotent Stem Cell Researchers (n=66)

4.2 Tissue-Specific Stem Cells (Somatic)

The majority of Canadian stem cell researchers work with tissue-specific cells. These can take many different forms as shown in Figure 9.

Of the 166 researchers who only work with tissue-specific stem cells, 58 (36 percent) work with hematopoietic cells. The next most important stem cell types are bone marrow/mesenchymal and neural cells. Bone marrow contains at least two kinds of stem cells: hematopoietic stem cells that form all types of blood cells and mesenchymal stem cells that can generate bone, cartilage, fat, cells that support the formation of blood, and fibrous connective tissue.Footnote 15 In most cases where a researcher mentioned bone marrow stem cells, the kind of stem cell was not specified. In regard to neural stem cells, these include stem cells derived from the brain, spinal cord, and eye. The category of "other" included the few researchers who were working with the stem cells listed at the end of Figure 9. Two of the researchers working with a number of ("various") different stem cell types also worked with these rarer stem types. The tissue-specific focus of individual researchers can be found in Appendix 3b.

Figure 9: Focus of Tissue-Specific Stem Cell Researchers (n=166)

Focus of Tissue-Specific Stem Cell Researchers (n=166)

4.3 Cancer Stem Cells

As indicated in Figure 7, 30 researchers are working with cancer stem cells. Among those researchers who are working with several different stem cell types, one is also working with cancer stem cells. Cancer stem cells are an important group of rare cancer cells that have the ability to self renew, thereby maintaining and growing cancerous tissue. A list of cancer stem cell researchers can be found in Appendix 3b.

4.4 Tissue Engineering

Many of those involved in tissue engineering work with both biomaterials and stem cells. However, some are just involved in developing the biomaterials, particularly scaffolds, that are required to deliver and/or integrate stem cells into a person's body. Figure 10 gives a breakdown of the research focus of Canada's 79 tissue engineers working in the field of regenerative medicine that includes stem cells. At least 65 percent work with both scaffolds and cells, while 27 percent work just with biomaterials. The focus of each tissue engineering researcher can be found in Appendix 3b.

Figure 10: Focus of Tissue Engineering Researchers (n=79)

Focus of Tissue Engineering Researchers (n=79)

top of page

Date modified:

Archivé — Carte des ressources canadiennes dans le domaine des cellules souches et de la médecine régénératrice

Sujets de recherche des chercheurs sur les cellules souches et l'ingénierie tissulaire


Des 416 chercheurs du domaine de la recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative, 303 (73 p. 100) s'intéressent à un type ou à un autre de cellules souches et 79 (19 p. 100) se spécialisent dans l'ingénierie tissulaire (figure 6). Les autres chercheurs travaillent dans les domaines des sciences sociales et humaines (n=16), de la biotransformation (n=6) et des technologies liées aux cellules souches, comme le tri/l'analyse à haut débit ou la cryoconservation (n=9) ou n'ont pas précisé leur domaine de recherche (n=3).

Figure 6: Pourcentage de chercheurs travaillant dans chaque discipline dominante (n=416)

Pourcentage de chercheurs travaillant dans chaque discipline dominante (n=416)

Dans le domaine de la recherche sur les cellules souches, la majorité des chercheurs (54 p. 100, n=166) se consacrent aux cellules souches tissulaires. Quarante-neuf (16 p. 100) chercheurs se sont spécialisés dans les cellules souches pluripotentes et 30 (10 p. 100), dans les cellules souches du cancer. Vingt-neuf autres (10 p. 100) étudient plusieurs types de cellules, dont au moins 17 s'intéressent à la fois aux cellules souches tissulaires et aux cellules souches pluripotentes (figure 7). L'annexe 3b décrit les sujets de recherche précis d'un grand nombre de ces chercheurs.

Figure 7: Orientation de la recherche sur les cellules souches (n=303)

Orientation de la recherche sur les cellules souches (n=303)

4.1 Cellules souches pluripotentes

Tel qu'expliqué ci-dessus, les cellules souches pluripotentes englobent les cellules souches embryonnaires et induites. Des 49 chercheurs étudiant exclusivement les cellules souches pluripotentes, la majorité se concentre sur les cellules souches embryonnaires (84 p. 100, en plus de 12 p. 100 se consacrant aux deux types, soit 96 p. 100 au total). De même, des 17 chercheurs qui s'intéressent aux cellules souches pluripotentes et tissulaires, 82 p. 100 se concentrent sur les cellules souches embryonnaires (65 p. 100 de façon exclusive, les 17 p. 100 restants se consacrant aux deux types). Cela veut dire que, des 66 chercheurs étudiant les cellules souches pluripotentes, peu importe que ce soit de façon exclusive ou non, 92 p. 100 travaillent sur des cellules souches embryonnaires. Vingt pour cent (n=13) des chercheurs étudiant les cellules souches pluripotentes s'intéressent aux cellules induites (quatre [6 p. 100], aux cellules souches pluripotentes induites seulement, sans tenir compte des cellules tissulaires; et neuf [14 p. 100], aux deux types de cellules souches pluripotentes, sans tenir compte des cellules tissulaires) (figure 8). L'annexe 3b contient une liste des chercheurs se consacrant à chaque groupe de cellules.

Figure 8: Orientation de la recherche sur les cellules souches pluripotentes (n=66)

Orientation de la recherche sur les cellules souches pluripotentes (n=66)

4.2 Cellules souches tissulaires (somatiques)

La majorité des chercheurs canadiens sur les cellules souches étudient les cellules tissulaires. Tel que montré à la figure 9, ces cellules peuvent prendre de nombreuses formes.

Des 166 chercheurs étudiant exclusivement les cellules souches tissulaires, 58 (36 p. 100) se spécialisent dans les cellules hématopoïétiques. Les types qui suivent en ordre d'importance sont les cellules mésenchymateuses (issues de la moelle osseuse) et neurales. La moelle osseuse contient au moins deux types de cellules souches : les cellules souches hématopoïétiques, qui peuvent se transformer en tout type de cellule du sang, et les cellules souches mésenchymateuses, qui sont à l'origine des os, des cartilages, des tissus adipeux, des cellules hématogènes et du tissu conjonctif fibreuxNote 15. La plupart des chercheurs ayant fait mention de cellules souches de la moelle osseuse n'ont pas précisé le type de cellules souches en question. Les cellules souches neurales, quant à elles, regroupent les cellules souches issues du cerveau, de la moelle épinière et de l'œil. La catégorie « Autres » englobe les quelques chercheurs à s'être penché sur les cellules souches mentionnées dans le bas de la figure 9. Deux des chercheurs se consacrant à plusieurs types de cellules souches ont également travaillé sur ces types plus rares. L'annexe 3b décrit les cellules tissulaires précises étudiées par chaque chercheur.

Figure 9: Orientation de la recherche sur les cellules souches tissu-spécifiques (n=166)

Orientation de la recherche sur les cellules souches tissu-spécifiques (n=166)

4.3 Cellules souches du cancer

Tel qu'indiqué dans la Figure 7, 30 chercheurs se consacrent aux cellules souches du cancer. Parmi les chercheurs étudiant plusieurs types différents de cellules souches, un travaille également sur les cellules souches du cancer. Les cellules souches du cancer sont un groupe important de cellules cancéreuses rares qui ont la capacité de s'autorenouveler et, du même coup, de permettre l'entretien et la croissance des tissus cancéreux. L'annexe 3b contient une liste des chercheurs se consacrant aux cellules souches du cancer.

4.4 Ingénierie tissulaire

Un grand nombre de chercheurs en ingénierie tissulaire étudient à la fois des biomatériaux et des cellules souches. Cependant, certains d'entre eux travaillent seulement à mettre au point les biomatériaux, particulièrement les échafaudages, qui sont nécessaires à l'administration et/ou à l'intégration des cellules souches dans l'organisme d'une personne. La figure 10 présente les sujets de recherche des 79 ingénieurs tissulaires canadiens oeuvrant dans le domaine de la médecine régénérative, qui englobe les cellules souches. Au moins 65 p. 100 d'entre eux travaillent sur des échafaudages et sur des cellules, tandis que 27 p. 100 se consacrent exclusivement aux biomatériaux. L'annexe 3b présente les sujets de recherche de chaque chercheur en ingénierie tissulaire.

Figure 10: Orientation de la recherche en génie tissulaire (n=79)

Orientation de la recherche en génie tissulaire (n=79)

haut de la page

Date de modification :