Archived — Canadian asset map for stem cell and regenerative medicine

Diseases/conditions targeted by stem cell and regenerative medicine researchers


Of the 416 researchers working in stem cell and regenerative medicine research, 16 are investigating social science and humanities aspects. These individuals have been excluded from the disease analysis. Thus, the data in Figures 11 to 14 refer only to 400 researchers or a subset thereof. The disease focus of each researcher is shown in Appendices 3a and 3c.

As indicated in Figure 11, the highest number of researchers (n=101) work in two or more disease areas (designated "various"), such as hematological and cardiovascular, or neurological, urological, and cutaneous conditions. This is particularly true for those who focus on tissue engineering. Some of these individuals are referred to in the subsections below.

Figure 11: Disease Focus of Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Researchers (n=400)

Disease Focus of Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Researchers (n=400)

5.1 Cancer

The most common condition targeted by Canada's researchers is cancer with 94 working in this area (Figure 11). In addition, two of the nine working in hematological diseases include cancer research, as do nine working in the "various" category. Thus, at least 105 (26 percent) investigators work in cancer research. As indicated in Figure 12, the most common focus of cancer research is hematological, particularly leukemia.

Figure 12: Number of Researchers Working on Cancer (n=105)

Number of Researchers Working on Cancer (n=105)

5.2 Neurology

The second most important disease focus is neurological. As well as the 56 individuals almost exclusively focused on such diseases, at least another 10 categorized in the "various" group also work in this area. The most common diseases being investigated by these 66 researchers (who constitute 17 percent of the 400 total number of researchers) are those of the eye, spinal cord, and multiple sclerosis (Figure 13). "Other" conditions include ALS (n=2), Parkinson's (n=2), Alzheimer's (n=2), Rett's syndrome (n=1), stroke (n=2), brain or unspecified injury (n=3), neurological development (n=1), and olfactory (n=2).

Figure 13: Number of Researchers Working on Neurological Conditions (n=66)

Number of Researchers Working on Neurological Conditions (n=66)

5.3 Musculoskeletal

Figure 11 indicates that 49 investigators are almost exclusively focused on musculoskeletal conditions, including bone, disc, ligament and cartilage formation and/or regeneration and muscular dystrophy. The targeted condition is not specified or involves multiple aspects in 32 cases. An additional eight researchers in the "various" category also work on musculoskeletal conditions, bringing the total to 57 (14 percent of the 400 total).

5.4 Cardiovascular

Of the 41 researchers working almost exclusively in cardiovascular research, 23 (56 percent) are almost entirely focused on the heart. In addition, 16 of those working in several disease areas include cardiovascular conditions among their areas of focus. Thus at least 57 (14 percent of the 400 total) researchers are working on cardiovascular diseases.

5.5 Metabolic Including Diabetes

All 12 people working on metabolic diseases as shown in Figure 11 work on diabetes. In addition, five of the researchers in the "various" category also work on diabetes. Thus 17 (4 percent of the 400 total) investigators are using stem cells or related tissue engineering to address diabetes.

5.6 Hematological

Figure 11 shows that nine researchers are working on hematological conditions other than cancer. In addition, five of the researchers working in several disease areas are targeting hematological conditions. Table 2 shows a breakdown of the hematological focus of these 14 researchers.

Table 2. Number of Researchers Working Within the Hematological Disease Area (excluding Cancer)
Type of Disease Number of Researchers
Anemia 5
Hemophilia 4
Unspecified 5

5.7 Other

Figure 14 shows all other disease areas targeted by Canada's stem cell and regenerative medicine researchers. Those receiving the most attention are immunological conditions (n=6), including allergies, asthma, immunodeficiency, and autoimmune. Five researchers are also working on better understanding embryogenesis, while eight researchers are working on aspects of male and female fertility ("reproduction"). Respiratory conditions, such as cystic fibrosis, or lung development or repair, are the focus of four researchers. All other conditions are targeted by three researchers or fewer.

Figure 14: Number of Researchers Working on "Other" Conditions (n=38)

Number of Researchers Working on "Other" Conditions (n=38)

5.8 Translational Medicine

Although the constraints involved in the preparation of this report did not allow for a detailed analysis of researchers that are driving translational medicine (moving findings from the laboratory to the clinic), many were noted during the analysis that did take place. Thirty nine of these are listed in Appendix 3d.

There is no doubt that many other researchers listed in Appendix 3a are also working to translate the basic stem cell research findings to the clinic, as the SCN indicated that its approximately 100 researchers had spent around $50 million on translational research over the past 10 years (Lyall, personal communication). Furthermore, Canada has a history of clinical innovations with stem cells. For example, clinicians at the University of Alberta published "The Edmonton Protocol" in the New England Journal of Medicine (2000), providing the first proof of principle that Type 1 Diabetes could be treated effectively by using replacement beta cells (in this case from donated pancreases).Footnote 16 This innovation has spurred researchers to explore the potential of deriving functional beta cells from stem cells. In addition, Canadian clinicians developed the "Halifax Protocol" which is now being used in international clinical trials to treat Parkinson's disease.Footnote 17 Our researchers are also developing new protocols for multiple sclerosis, graft-versus-host disease, stroke, pulmonary hypertension, neuroblastoma and other diseases that can be addressed with stem cells.

top of page

Date modified:

Archivé — Carte des ressources canadiennes dans le domaine des cellules souches et de la médecine régénératrice

Maladies et affections visées par les chercheurs sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative


Des 416 chercheurs œuvrant dans le domaine de la recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative, 16 étudient des thèmes liés aux sciences sociales et humaines. Ces chercheurs ont été exclus de l'analyse portant sur les maladies. Par conséquent, les données des figures 11 à 14 ne concernent que les 400 chercheurs restants ou un sous-ensemble de ceux-ci. Les annexes 3a et 3c présentent les maladies étudiées par chaque chercheur.

La figure 11 montre que les chercheurs travaillant sur plusieurs types de maladies, tels que les maladies hématologiques, cardiovasculaires, neurologiques, urologiques ou cutanées, sont plus nombreux (n=101) que les chercheurs se limitant à un type de maladie donné, quel qu'il soit. Cette tendance est particulièrement marquée chez les chercheurs se consacrant à l'ingénierie tissulaire. Certains de ces chercheurs sont définis davantage dans les sous-sections ci-dessous.

Figure 11: Orientation de la recherche sur les maladies (n=400)

Orientation de la recherche sur les maladies (n=400)

5.1 Cancer

La principale maladie étudiée par les chercheurs canadiens est le cancer; 94 chercheurs travaillent dans ce domaine (figure 11). Par ailleurs, deux des neuf chercheurs étudiant les maladies hématologiques mènent aussi des recherches sur le cancer, tout comme neuf chercheurs s'intéressant à plusieurs maladies. Cela veut dire qu'au moins 105 (26 p. 100) des chercheurs recensés participent à des recherches sur le cancer. Tel qu'indiqué dans la figure 12, les cancers du sang (particulièrement la leucémie) sont le principal type de cancer étudié

Figure 12: Nombre de chercheurs travaillant dans le domaine du cancer (n=105)

Nombre de chercheurs travaillant dans le domaine du cancer (n=105)

5.2 Maladies neurologiques

Les maladies neurologiques viennent au deuxième rang des maladies les plus étudiées. En plus des 56 chercheurs se consacrant presque exclusivement à ces maladies, au moins 10 chercheurs étudiant plusieurs maladies s'y intéressent. Les principales maladies étudiées par ces 66 chercheurs (qui constituent 17 p. 100 de l'ensemble des 400 chercheurs) sont les maladies de l'œil, les lésions de la moelle épinière et la sclérose en plaques (figure 13). Les maladies de la catégorie « Autres » comprennent la sclérose latérale amyotrophique (n=2), la maladie de Parkinson (n=2), la maladie d'Alzheimer (n=2), le syndrome de Rett (n=1), les accidents cérébrovasculaires (n=2), les lésions du cerveau ou non précisées (n=3), les troubles du développement neurologique (n=1) et les troubles de l'odorat (n=2).

Figure 13: Nombre de chercheurs travaillant dans le domaine des maladies neurologiques (n=66)

Nombre de chercheurs travaillant dans le domaine des maladies neurologiques (n=66)

5.3 Maladies musculo-squelettiques

La figure 11 indique que 49 chercheurs se consacrent presque exclusivement aux maladies musculo-squelettiques, qui englobent les troubles de la formation et/ou de la régénération des os, des disques, des ligaments et des cartilages ainsi que la dystrophie musculaire. Dans 32 cas, la maladie étudiée n'a pas été précisée ou touchait plusieurs aspects. Huit chercheurs étudiant plusieurs maladies s'intéressent également aux maladies musculo-squelettiques, ce qui donne un total de 57 (14 p. 100 de l'ensemble des 400 chercheurs).

5.4 Maladies cardiovasculaires

Des 41 chercheurs se consacrant presque exclusivement à la recherche cardiovasculaire, 23 (56 p. 100) se concentrent presque entièrement sur le cœur. Seize chercheurs étudiant plusieurs types de maladies ont mentionné les maladies cardiovasculaires parmi leurs sujets de recherche. Cela veut dire qu'au moins 57 chercheurs (14 p. 100 de l'ensemble des 400 chercheurs) travaillent sur des maladies cardiovasculaires.

5.5 Maladies métaboliques, y compris le diabète

Les 12 chercheurs classés dans la figure 11 comme travaillant sur des maladies métaboliques se consacrent tous au diabète. Cinq des chercheurs étudiant plusieurs maladies s'intéressent également au diabète. Cela veut dire que 17 chercheurs (4 p. 100 de l'ensemble des 400 chercheurs) ont recours à des cellules souches ou à des techniques d'ingénierie tissulaire connexes pour étudier le diabète.

5.6 Maladies hématologiques

La figure 11 montre que neuf chercheurs se consacrent à des maladies hématologiques autres que le cancer. Cinq des chercheurs travaillant sur plusieurs maladies s'intéressent également aux maladies hématologiques. Le tableau 2 présente la répartition de ces 14 chercheurs selon le type de maladie étudié.

Tableau 2. Nombre de chercheurs oeuvrant dans le domaine des maladies hématologiques (exclusion faite du cancer)
Type de maladie Nombre de chercheurs
Anémie 5
Hémophilie 4
Non précisé 5

haut de la page

5.7 Autres

La figure 14 présente tous les autres types de maladie visés par les chercheurs sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative du Canada. Les principaux types de maladie étudiés sont les maladies immunitaires (n=6), qui englobent les allergies, l'asthme, les déficits immunitaires et les maladies auto-immunes. Cinq chercheurs travaillent également à éclaircir l'embryogénèse, tandis que huit autres se penchent sur la fertilité masculine et féminine (la « reproduction »). Quatre chercheurs s'intéressent aux maladies respiratoires, telles que la fibrose kystique et les troubles du développement pulmonaire et de la réparation des tissus pulmonaires. Tous les autres types de maladie sont étudiés par trois chercheurs ou moins.

Figure 14: Nombre de chercheurs travaillant sur d'autres maladies (n=38)

Nombre de chercheurs travaillant sur d'autres maladies (n=38)

5.8 Médecine translationnelle

Bien que les contraintes de la préparation du présent rapport ne permettent pas une analyse détaillée des chercheurs du domaine de la médecine translationnelle (c.-à-d. mise en application des résultats de laboratoire dans le milieu clinique), un grand nombre d'entre eux ont été recensés. Trente-neuf d'entre eux figurent à l'annexe 3d.

Il ne fait aucun doute que de nombreux autres chercheurs figurant à l'annexe 3a travaillent aussi à la mise en application des résultats des études sur les cellules souches dans le milieu clinique : le RCS a annoncé que ses quelque 100 chercheurs avaient reçu environ 50 millions de dollars pour la médecine translationnelle durant les 10 dernières années (Lyall, communication personnelle). De plus, le Canada a une longue tradition d'innovations cliniques sur les cellules souches. Par exemple, des cliniciens de la University of Alberta ont publié « The Edmonton Protocol » dans le New England Journal of Medicine (2000), qui fournissait la première démonstration du principe selon lequel le diabète de type 1 peut être traité efficacement par des cellules bêta de remplacement (en l'occurrence, de dons de pancréas)Note 16. Cette innovation a amené des chercheurs à explorer la possibilité de générer des cellules bêta fonctionnelles à partir de cellules souches. Des cliniciens canadiens ont aussi établi le « protocole d'Halifax », qui est maintenant utilisé dans les essais cliniques internationaux pour traiter la maladie de ParkinsonNote 17. Nos chercheurs sont également en train d'élaborer de nouveaux protocoles concernant la sclérose en plaques, le syndrome de réaction du greffon contre l'hôte, les accidents cérébrovasculaires, l'hypertension artérielle pulmonaire, les neuroblastomes et d'autres maladies pouvant être traitées par des cellules souches.

haut de la page

Date de modification :