Archived — Canadian asset map for stem cell and regenerative medicine

Networks


7.1 National and International Networks

Canada's stem cell and regenerative medicine researchers are members of a number of different relevant national and international networks. These include those networks described in Table 6. Unless otherwise indicated, the description information has been sourced from the URL listed in the table.

Table 6. National and International Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Networks
Name Description URL
National
Stem Cell Network (SCN) Headquartered at University of Ottawa, ON, this federal government-funded Network of Centers of Excellence (NCE) was formed in 2001 and currently includes 96 researchers and 167 industry, public service and academic partners. It is a catalyst for enabling translation of stem cell research into clinical applications, commercial products or public policy. It will receive $63.62M in federal government funding between 2001 & 2012. www.stemcellnetwork.ca
Centre for Commercialization of Regenerative Medicine (CCRM) This federal government-funded Centre of Excellence for Commercialization and Research (CECR) was established at the end of 2010 at University of Toronto, ON. It aims to accelerate the commercialization of regenerative medicine technologies by bringing together business leadership and innovative stem cell and biomaterial technology development. It will receive $15M in federal government funding between 2011 and 2015.Footnote 24 www.ccrm.ca
AllerGen NCE Inc. Allergy and asthma research federal government-funded NCE headquartered at McMaster University, ON. Formed in 2004, it funds some stem cell research in asthma and inflammatory disease. www.allergen-nce.ca
C17 Council Organization composed of the institutionally appointed heads of the 16 pediatric hematology, oncology, and stem cell transplantation programs in Canada. Acts as an authoritative Canadian voice representing the interests of children and adolescents with cancer and blood disorders. www.c17.ca
Canadian Blood & Marrow Transplant (BMT) Group National, voluntary, multi-disciplinary organization providing leadership and promoting excellence in patient care, research and education in the field of blood and marrow transplantation. www.cbmtg.org
Canadian Tumour Repository Network (CTRNet) A translational cancer research resource, funded by CIHR, that furthers Canadian health research by linking cancer researchers with provincial tumour banks. www.ctrnet.ca
International
Cancer Stem Cell Consortium (CSCC) Founded in 2007 by a group of Canadian funding agencies (CFI, CIHR, Genome Canada, Ontario Institute for Cancer Research, Stem Cell Network) to support international collaboration on research on cancer stem cells. Currently has a strategic partnership with the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine. Aims to secure and manage an estimated $500M in research funds during an initial 5-year period (2009–2014).Footnote 25 http://www.cancerstemcellconsortium.com/
International Consortium of Stem Cell Networks HQ in Ottawa, ON. Consists of 18 stem cell networks from more than 10 countries; currently chaired by Dr. Michael Rudnicki, Scientific Director of Canada's Stem Cell Network. www.stemcellconsortium.org
International Society for Cellular Therapy A global association driving the translation of scientific research to deliver innovative cellular therapies to patients that was established in 1992. Dr. Armand Keating is on the Mesenchymal and Tissue Stem Cells Committee. www.celltherapysociety.org
International Society of Stem Cell Research An independent, nonprofit organization formed to foster the international exchange of information on stem cell research between the world's leading stem cell scientists and researchers. HQ in Deerfield, Illinois, US. Drs. Connie Eaves and Derek van der Kooy are on the Board of Directors. Dr. Gordon Keller is a member of the Global Advisory Council. www.isscr.org
International Stem Cell Forum Consists of 14 leading funders of stem cell research from 13 countries. Founded in January 2003 to encourage international collaboration and funding support for stem cell research. Canada's member is CIHR.Footnote 26 N/A
Pediatric Bone & Marrow Transplant Consortium (PBMTC) A voluntary group of clinicians and scientists that includes over 100 pediatric PBMTC centers in Canada, US, Australia and New Zealand. Purpose is to engage in scientific and educational activities related to the use of hematopoietic stem cells in the treatment of diseases of children and adolescents. Canadian members include Alberta Children's Hospital, BC Children's Hospital, Cancer Care Manitoba, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Ste Justine Chu Ste-Justine, McGill University Health Center – Montreal Children's Hospital, and Sick Kids. www.pbmtc.org

7.2 Provincial Networks

There are also a number of provincial research networks to which researchers belong. These include those listed in Table 7.Footnote 27

BC Preclinical Research Consortium
Table 7. Provincial Networks for Stem cell and Regenerative Medicine Researchers
Name Reach URL
British Columbia
BC Network for Aging Research British Columbia www.bcnar.ca
Child & Youth Health Research Network British Columbia www.cyhrnet.ca
BC Clinical Genomics Network British Columbia www.bccgn.ca
British Columbia www.bcprc.ca
BC Biolibrary British Columbia www.bcbiolibrary.icapture.ubc.ca
BC Proteomics Network British Columbia www.bcproteomicsnetwork.ca
British Columbia Pancreatic Cancer Research Net British Columbia www.bccancer.bc.ca/
Brain Research Centre British Columbia www.brain.ubc.ca
ICORD (International Collaboration On Repair Discoveries) British Columbia icord.org
Centre for Lymphoid Cancer British Columbia www.bccancer.bc.ca/
Alberta
Joint Injury and Arthritis Research Group Alberta
Saskatchewan
Airways Research Group University of Saskatchewan www.medicine.usask.ca/research/health-research-groups/airways-research-group/index.html
Manitoba
Manitoba Neuroscience Network Manitoba www.sfn-manitoba.ca/mnn.html
Spinal Cord Research Centre University of Manitoba www.scrc.umanitoba.ca/SCRC/About.html
Medical Genetics Research Group Manitoba www.umanitoba.ca/faculties/medicine/units/biochem/research/genetics.html
Ontario
Health Services Research Network (cancer research) (PDF 38 KB, 2 pages) Ontario www.oicr.on.ca/newsreleases/2010/Backgrounder_Health_Services_Research_July122010.pdf (38 KB, 2 pages)
Imaging Network Ontario Ontario sunnybrook.ca/research/content/?page=sri_proj_imno_home
Ontario Cancer Genetics Network Ontario www.cancercare.on.ca/cms/one.aspx?pageId=10051
Ontario Stem Cell Initiative (virtual network of over 60 stem cell scientists in Ontario) Ontario www.ontariostemcell.ca
Ontario Translational Research Network (cancer research) Ontario www.otrn.ca
Quebec
Network for Oral and Bone Health Research Quebec www.rsbo.ca
Vision Research Network Quebec www.visionnetwork.ca
Cancer Research Network Quebec www.rrcancer.ca
Réseau de thérapie cellulaire et tissulaire (ThéCell) Quebec www.reseauthecell.qc.ca
Groupe de recherche en sciences et technologies biomédicales (GRSTB) Institut de génie biomédical of École polytechnique Montréal www.polymtl.ca/recherche/rc/unites/details.php?NoUnite=42
Groupe de recherche sur le système nerveux central Faculty of Medicine of University of Montreal www.grsnc.umontreal.ca
Montreal Diabetes Research Center Montreal Institutions www.montreal-diabetes-research-center.org/en/index.asp
Maritime Provinces
Atlantic Path Research Network (cancer research) Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador atlanticpath.ca/research/research.html
New Brunswick Cancer Network New Brunswick www.gnb.ca/0051/cancer/index-e.asp
Date modified:

Archivé — Carte des ressources canadiennes dans le domaine des cellules souches et de la médecine régénératrice

Réseaux


7.1 Réseaux nationaux et internationaux

Les chercheurs sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative du Canada appartiennent à différents réseaux nationaux et internationaux, notamment ceux décrits dans le tableau 6. À moins d'avis contraire, la description est tirée du lien URL figurant dans le tableau.

Tableau 6. Réseaux nationaux et internationaux de cellules souches et de médecine régénérative
Nom Description Adresse url
Échelle nationale
Réseau de cellules souches Basé à l'Université d'Ottawa en Ontario, ce réseau de centres d'excellence financé par le gouvernement fédéral a été créé en 2001 et comprend actuellement 96 chercheurs et 167 partenaires de l'industrie, de la fonction publique et du domaine universitaire. Il agit en tant que catalyseur qui favorise la concrétisation de la recherche sur les cellules souches en applications cliniques, dans des produits commerciaux et dans la politique publique. De 2001 à 2012, il sera financé à hauteur de 63,62 millions de dollars par le gouvernement fédéral. www.stemcellnetwork.ca/index.php?page=home&hl=fra
Centre pour la commercialisation de la médecine régénératrice (anglais seulement) Ce centre qui est financé par le gouvernement fédéral a été créé à la fin de 2010 à la University of Toronto en Ontario. Il vise à accélérer la commercialisation des technologies de médecine régénératrice en réunissant la direction d'entreprise et le développement d'une technologie innovante en matière de cellules souches et de biomatériaux. De 2011 à 2015, il sera financé à hauteur de 15 millions de dollars par le gouvernement fédéralNote 24. www.ccrm.ca
AllerGen NCE Inc. (anglais seulement) Réseaux de centres d'excellence axés sur la recherche sur l'allergie et l'asthme, financés par le gouvernement fédéral et dont le siège social se trouve à la McMaster University en Ontario. Créés en 2004, ils financent des recherches sur les cellules souches dans le domaine de l'asthme et des maladies inflammatoires. www.allergen-nce.ca
C17 Council (anglais seulement) Organisme composé des dirigeants des 16 programmes d'hématologie, d'oncologie et de greffe de cellules souches spécialisés en pédiatrie au Canada. C'est une voix respectée au Canada dans la défense des intérêts des enfants et des adolescents atteints du cancer et de maladies sanguines. www.c17.ca
Canadian Blood & Marrow Transplant Group (anglais seulement) Organisme national, bénévole et multidisciplinaire qui fournit un leadership et promeut l'excellence en matière de soins aux patients, la recherche et l'éducation dans le domaine de la transplantation de sang et de moelle. www.cbmtg.org
Réseau canadien des banques de tumeurs Ressource pour la recherche translationnelle en cancer, subventionnée par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada qui aide la recherche en santé au Canada en mettant en relation les chercheurs en oncologie par l'intermédiaire des banques de tumeurs provinciales. http://www.ctrnet.ca/fr/
Échelle internationale
Consortium sur les cellules souches du cancer (anglais seulement) Fondé en 2007 par un groupe d'organismes subventionnaires canadiens (la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, Génome Canada, l'Ontario Institute for Cancer Research, le Réseau de cellules souches) pour soutenir la collaboration internationale sur la recherche sur les cellules souches du cancer. Dispose actuellement d'un partenariat stratégique avec le California Institute for Regenerative Medicine. Vise à sécuriser et à gérer une somme estimée à 500 millions de dollars en fonds de recherche pendant une période initiale de cinq ans (2009-2014)Note 25. http://www.cancerstemcellconsortium.com/
International Consortium of Stem Cell Networks (anglais seulement) Siège social à Ottawa en Ontario. Se compose de 18 réseaux de cellules souches issus de plus de 10 pays, actuellement présidés par le Dr Michael Rudnicki, directeur scientifique du Réseau de cellules souches du Canada. www.stemcellconsortium.org
International Society for Cellular Therapy (anglais seulement) Créée en 1992, cette association mondiale dirige la concrétisation de la recherche scientifique en vue d'offrir des thérapies cellulaires innovantes aux patients. Le DrArmand Keating est membre du Comité des cellules souches tissulaires et mésenchymateuses. www.celltherapysociety.org
International Society of Stem Cell Research (anglais seulement) Organisme indépendant sans but lucratif créé afin de favoriser l'échange international d'information sur la recherche sur les cellules souches entre les scientifiques et les chercheurs de renommée mondiale dans ce domaine. Siège social à Deerfield, Illinois, États-Unis. Les docteurs Connie Eaves et Derek van der Kooy sont membres du conseil d'administration. Le Dr Gordon Keller est membre du Conseil consultatif mondial. www.isscr.org
International Stem Cell Forum (anglais seulement) Se compose de 14 principaux bailleurs de fonds pour la recherche sur les cellules souches qui proviennent de 13 pays. Fondé en Janvier 2003 afin d'encourager la collaboration internationale et le soutien financier pour la recherche sur les cellules souches. Les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada en sont le membre canadienNote 26. s.o.
Pediatric Bone & Marrow Transplant Consortium (anglais seulement) Groupe de cliniciens et de scientifiques bénévoles qui comprend plus de 100 centres pédiatriques PBMTC au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande. Le but est de participer à des activités scientifiques et pédagogiques liées à l'utilisation de cellules souches hématopoïétiques dans le traitement des maladies des enfants et des adolescents. Les membres canadiens comprennent l'Alberta Children's Hospital, British Columbia Children's Hospital, Cancer Care Manitoba, le Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Sainte-Justine (CHU Ste-Justine), le Centre universitaire de santé McGill – Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants, et The Hospital for Sick Children. www.pbmtc.org

7.2 Réseaux provinciaux

Les chercheurs participent également à un certain nombre de réseaux de recherche provinciaux, qui comprennent ceux mentionnés dans le tableau 7 ci-dessousNote 27.

tableau 6. Réseaux nationaux et internationaux de cellules souches et de médecine régénérative

Tableau 7. Réseaux provinciaux de chercheurs sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénérative
Nom Portée Adresse url
Colombie-britannique
BC Network for Aging Research (anglais seulement) Colombie-Britannique www.bcnar.ca
Child & Youth Health Research Network Colombie-Britannique www.cyhrnet.ca
BC Clinical Genomics Network (anglais seulement) Colombie-Britannique www.bccgn.ca
BC Preclinical Research Consortium (anglais seulement) Colombie-Britannique www.bcprc.ca
BC Biolibrary (anglais seulement) Colombie-Britannique www.bcbiolibrary.icapture.ubc.ca
BC Proteomics Network (anglais seulement) Colombie-Britannique www.bcproteomicsnetwork.ca
British Columbia Pancreatic Cancer Research Net (anglais seulement) Colombie-Britannique www.bccancer.bc.ca/
Brain Research Centre (anglais seulement) Colombie-Britannique www.brain.ubc.ca
ICORD (anglais seulement) Colombie-Britannique icord.org
Centre for Lymphoid Cancer (anglais seulement) Colombie-Britannique www.bccancer.bc.ca/
Alberta
Joint Injury and Arthritis Research Group (anglais seulement) Alberta
Saskatchewan
Airways Research Group(anglais seulement) Université de Saskatchewan www.medicine.usask.ca/research/health-research-groups/airways-research-group/index.html
Manitoba
Manitoba Neuroscience Network (anglais seulement) Manitoba www.sfn-manitoba.ca/mnn.html
Spinal Cord Research Centre (anglais seulement) Université de Manitoba www.scrc.umanitoba.ca/SCRC/About.html
Medical Genetics Research Group (anglais seulement) Manitoba www.umanitoba.ca/faculties/medicine/units/biochem/research/genetics.html
Ontario
Health Services Research Network (anglais seulement) Ontario www.oicr.on.ca/newsreleases/2010/Backgrounder_Health_Services_Research_July122010.pdf (38 KB, 2 pages)
Imaging Network Ontario (anglais seulement) Ontario sunnybrook.ca/research/content/?page=sri_proj_imno_home
Ontario Cancer Genetics Network (anglais seulement) Ontario www.cancercare.on.ca/cms/one.aspx?pageId=10051
Ontario Stem Cell Initiative (anglais seulement), réseau virtuel de plus de 60 scientifiques dans le domaine des cellules souches en Ontario Ontario www.ontariostemcell.ca
Ontario Translational Research Network (anglais seulement), recherche sur le cancer Ontario www.otrn.ca
Québec
Réseau de recherche en santé buccodentaire et osseuse Québec www.rsbo.ca
Réseau de recherche en santé de la vision Québec www.visionnetwork.ca
Réseau de recherche en cancer Québec www.rrcancer.ca
Réseau de thérapie cellulaire et tissulaire Québec www.reseauthecell.qc.ca
Groupe de recherche en sciences et technologies biomédicales Institut de génie biomédical de l'École polytechnique de Montréal www.polymtl.ca/recherche/rc/unites/details.php?NoUnite=42
Groupe de recherche sur le système nerveux central Faculté de médecine de l'Université de Montréal www.grsnc.umontreal.ca
Centre de Recherche du Diabète de Montréal Institutions de Montréal www.montreal-diabetes-research-center.org/fr/index.asp
Provinces Maritimes
Réseau de recherche de LA VOIE atlantique (recherche sur le cancer) Nouvelle-Écosse, Nouveau-Brunswick, Île du Prince-Édouard, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador lavoieatlantique.ca/recherche/recherche.html
Réseau du cancer du Nouveau-Brunswick Nouveau-Brunswick www.gnb.ca/0051/cancer/index-f.asp
Date de modification :