Inspections

Measurement Canada monitors the accuracy of measuring devices, such as gas pumps, meters and scales, through a variety of inspections and compliance improvement strategies. The agency also investigates complaints of suspected inaccurate measurement and institutes corrective action where necessary.

Inspections are part of a thorough process of measuring device evaluation, approval, and monitoring to ensure consumer and business confidence in the fairness and accuracy of measurement-based financial transactions.

Learn about Measurement Canada's inspection sticker.

Initial Inspections

Before being placed into service, measuring devices such as gas pumps or scales must be inspected and certified to be measuring accurately. Electricity or natural gas meters are subject to individual initial inspection or a sampling program designed by Measurement Canada.

Initial inspections of measuring devices used in any trade sectors must be performed by a Measurement Canada authorized service provider (ASP). A list of authorized service providers (accredited or registered) is maintained by Measurement Canada.

Mandatory Re-inspections

Measuring devices in eight sectors are required to be inspected at set intervals. The eight sectors affected by these mandatory inspection frequencies are: retail petroleum, wholesale petroleum, dairy, retail food, fishing, logging, grain and field crops, and mining.

Electricity and gas meters are also subject to mandatory inspection frequencies, most of which are re-inspected on the basis of sampling.

The majority of these inspections are performed by authorized service providers.

Marketplace Monitoring Program

The Marketplace Monitoring Program is designed to monitor industry compliance with laws and requirements through the analysis of inspection results of measurement devices used in measurement-based financial transactions. This allows Measurement Canada to evaluate the overall status of accuracy and equity in the marketplace, to detect problems and take appropriate action, and to maintain an independent presence in the marketplace in order to contribute to a level of confidence for businesses and consumers.

Net Quantity Inspections

The Net Quantity Inspections program ensures that the quantity of a product provided to a customer is stated and meets the accuracy requirements outlined in the Weights and Measures Act and Regulations.

Examples of products inspected by Measurement Canada for accurate quantity are:

  • clerk-served products such as meats sold at deli counters, bulk firewood and propane cylinder refills;
  • bulk or non-packaged retail products, such as loose fruits and vegetables, bulk candies sold from bins, bulk purchases of gravel or topsoil; and
  • bulk and prepackaged non-retail products for commercial or institutional use.

Retail, packaged products are not subject to the Weights and Measures Act but are subject to the requirements of the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act (CPLA).

Responsibility for enforcement of the CPLA is shared by:

Inspections

Mesures Canada surveille la précision d'appareils de mesure, comme des pompes à essence, des compteurs et des balances, au moyen d'une variété d'inspections et de stratégies d'amélioration de la conformité. Mesures Canada mène également des enquêtes à la suite de plaintes relatives à des mesures présumées inexactes et engage des actions correctives, lorsque c'est nécessaire.

Les inspections font partie d'un processus exhaustif d'évaluation, d'approbation et de surveillance des appareils de mesure visant à garantir que les consommateurs et les commerçants ont confiance en l'équité et l'exactitude des transactions financières fondées sur la mesure.

Renseignez-vous sur l'étiquette d'inspection de Mesures Canada.

Inspections initiales

Avant d'être mis en service, les appareils de mesure, comme des pompes à essence ou des balances, doivent être inspectés et certifiés pour faire en sorte qu'ils mesurent avec précision. Les compteurs d'électricité ou de gaz naturel sont assujettis à des inspections initiales individuelles ou à un programme d'échantillonnage élaboré par Mesures Canada.

Les inspections initiales des appareils de mesure utilisés dans les secteurs commerciaux doivent être effectuées par un fournisseur de services autorisé (FSA) de Mesures Canada. Mesures Canada tient à jour une liste des fournisseurs de services autorisés (accrédités ou enregistrés).

Réinspections obligatoires

Les appareils de mesure utilisés dans huit secteurs doivent être inspectés à intervalles réguliers. Les huit secteurs suivants sont touchés par ces fréquences d'inspection obligatoires: pétrole au détail, pétrole en gros, produits laitiers, aliments au détail, pêche, foresterie, grains et grandes cultures, et mines et métaux.

Les compteurs de gaz et d'électricité sont aussi assujettis aux fréquences d'inspection obligatoires. La réinspection de la plupart de ces compteurs est effectuée à partir d'un système d'échantillonnage.

La majorité de ces inspections sont effectuées par des fournisseurs de services autorisés.

Programme de surveillance du marché

Le Programme de surveillance du marché vise à surveiller la conformité de l'industrie aux lois et aux exigences au moyen de l'analyse des résultats d'inspection des appareils de mesure utilisés pour des transactions financières fondées sur la mesure. Ce Programme permet à Mesures Canada d'évaluer globalement l'exactitude de la mesure et l'équité sur le marché, de déceler les problèmes et de prendre les mesures appropriées en plus de maintenir une présence indépendante sur le marché, ce qui contribue à la confiance des commerçants et des consommateurs.

Inspections de la quantité nette

Le Programme d'inspection de la quantité nette garantit que la quantité d'un produit vendu à un client est indiquée et qu'elle satisfait aux exigences en matière d'exactitude énoncées dans la Loi et le Règlement sur les poids et mesures.

Exemples de produits inspectés par Mesures Canada pour déterminer l'exactitude des quantités :

  • produits servis par des commis, comme viandes à des comptoirs de charcuterie, bois de chauffage en vrac et remplissage de bouteilles de propane;
  • produits au détail non emballés ou en vrac, comme fruits et légumes non emballés, friandises en vrac et achats en vrac de gravier ou de terre végétale;
  • produits non destinés à la vente au détail préemballés et vendus en vrac, destinés à un usage commercial ou institutionnel.

Les produits emballés vendus au détail ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi sur les poids et mesures, mais sont visés par les exigences de la Loi sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation (LEEPC).

La responsabilité de l'application de la LEEPC est partagée entre les deux organismes suivants :

Date de modification :