GEN-27—Policy on the issuance of inspection certificates and the recording of test results and reverification periods required under the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act

The copy of this document located on Measurement Canada's website is considered to be the controlled copy.

Category: General
Issue date: 2019-05-23
Effective date: 2019-05-23
Revision number: 2
Supersedes: GEN-27 (rev.1)


Table of contents


1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this bulletin is to communicate Measurement Canada's (MC) policy for the issuance of certificates, and the recording of test results and reverification periods when performing initial verifications and reverifications of electricity and gas meters under the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act (EGIA).

2.0 Scope

The policy requirements communicated in this bulletin apply to MC inspectors and accredited organizations.

3.0 References

4.0 Definitions

Certificate (certificat)
An official document issued pursuant to section 14 of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act which certifies that the meters have been inspected and indicates the verification results.
Verification (vérification)
All the operations carried out by an inspector or accredited meter verifier having the object of ascertaining and confirming that a meter entirely satisfies specified requirements. Any reference to "verification" includes both the initial verification and reverification of meters, whether by 100% inspection or through the use of statistical sampling methods authorized by Measurement Canada. The term "verification" also includes the application of a verification mark.

5.0 Background

In accordance with paragraph 21(1)(h) of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Regulations (EGIR), the certificate issued following the verification of an electricity or gas meter must include the errors, if any, of the meter at all points tested.

The policies contained in this bulletin respond to several questions received by MC on certain fundamental areas in the preparation of certificates. Additional clarifications have also been included as a result of questions on the implementation of new requirements pertaining to the lengthening of initial verification periods for electricity and gas meters. Following a review of the information to be provided following an inspection and taking into account the possible need to amend section 21 of the EGIR, this bulletin could be revised to include further directives on the preparation of inspection certificates.

6.0 Administrative requirements for the issuance of the certificate

6.1 Inspector

Pursuant to section 14 of the EGIA, the inspector must issue a certificate on verification or reverification of a meter.

6.2 Accredited organization owns the meter

Where an accredited organization verifies or reverifies a meter it owns, it is not required to issue a certificate as prescribed by section 14 of the EGIA. In such cases, it may instead choose to maintain all the information prescribed by section 21 of the EGIR in records that are required to be kept pursuant to sections 11 and 28 of the EGIR.

6.3 Accredited organization doesn't own the meter (meter service organization)

Pursuant to section 14 of the EGIA, an accredited organization must issue a certificate upon verification or reverification of a meter. In addition, the accredited organization must maintain records pursuant to section 28 of the EGIR. In the case of meters that do not meet the verification criteria, the accredited organization must record the information prescribed by section 21 of the EGIR on the certificate or on records that are authorized and controlled under the organization's quality management system.

6.4 Information location

The information required on the certificate issued pursuant to section 14 of the EGIA may be recorded on accompanying work documents attached to the certificate, provided they contain the following:

The total number of work documents must be recorded on the certificate.

7.0 Recording test results

7.1 Accuracy tests

For each meter inspected and verified, the following information must be recorded on the certificate:

  1. the results of each specified accuracy test;
  2. where test results incorporate a bias, as authorized by MC, the bias value;
  3. the combined standard uncertainty value and coverage factor (k) , as applicable; and
  4. the measure of absolute deviation from target value, as applicable.

7.2 Functionality verification

The results of each functionality test not subject to a maximum permissible error (e.g. coil association test or no load test for an electricity meter) may be indicated with a mark or symbol to indicate pass or failure. Where all devices on a certificate have the same test result for a given functionality test, the result can be indicated only once on the certificate.

7.3 Recording of initial reverification periods

7.3.1 Conditionally lengthened initial reverification period

Where a particular make, model or class of electricity or gas meter is granted a conditionally lengthened initial reverification period, the initial reverification period recorded on the certificate must be the one corresponding to the meter's base initial reverification period prescribed in section 5.2 of bulletin E-26 or section 5.2 of bulletin G-18. A meter owner's records must also indicate the base initial reverification period to which the duration of the conditionally lengthened status applies.

7.3.2 Unconditionally lengthened initial reverification period

Where a conditionally lengthened initial reverification period is unconditional (i.e. compliance with S-S-05 has been demonstrated), meter owners must update their meter records for the make, model, or class of electricity or gas meter to reflect the lengthened initial reverification period.

7.3.3 Issuing a new certificate after a change of initial reverification period

A new inspection certificate doesn't have to be issued after the initial reverification period changes.

8.0 Revisions

The purpose of revision 2 was to clarify the requirements for the inclusion of accuracy test results in respect of the combined standard uncertainty value for the k-factor and the measure of absolute deviation from target.

The purpose of revision 1 was to clarify:

Date modified:

GEN-27 — Politique relative à la délivrance des certificats d'inspection et à l'enregistrement des résultats d'essai et des périodes de revérification requises en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz

La copie du présent document qui est affichée sur le site Web de Mesures Canada est considérée comme la copie contrôlée.

Catégorie : Général
Date de publication : 2019-05-23
Date d'entrée en vigueur : 2019-05-23
Numéro de révision : 2
Remplace : GEN-27 (rév.1)


Table des matières


1.0 Objectif

L'objectif du présent bulletin consiste à énoncer la politique de Mesures Canada (MC) régissant la délivrance des certificats d'inspection et l'enregistrement des résultats d'essai et des périodes de revérification lors de la vérification initiale et revérification des compteurs d'électricité et de gaz en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz.

2.0 Domaine d'application

Les exigences de la politique énoncées dans le présent bulletin s'appliquent aux inspecteurs de MC et aux organismes accrédités.

3.0 Références

4.0 Définitions

Certificat (certificate)
Document officiel délivré en vertu de l'article 14 de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz certifiant que la vérification d'un compteur a été effectuée et indiquant les résultats obtenus lors de cette vérification.
Vérification (verification)
Ensemble des opérations effectuées par un inspecteur ou par un vérificateur de compteur accrédité ayant pour objet d'établir et de confirmer qu'un compteur satisfait entièrement aux exigences prescrites. Le terme « vérification » désigne la vérification initiale et la revérification des compteurs, ainsi que l'apposition de la marque de vérification que ce soit par un contrôle à 100 % ou par l'utilisation de méthodes d'échantillonnage statistique autorisées par Mesures Canada. Le terme « vérification » sous-entend également l'apposition d'une marque de vérification.

5.0 Contexte

En vertu de l'alinéa 21(1)h) du Règlement sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz (RIEG), le certificat délivré à la suite d'une vérification d'un compteur d'électricité ou de gaz doit comprendre les erreurs du compteur, s'il y a lieu, relevées à tous les points de vérification.

Les politiques contenues dans le présent bulletin répondent à plusieurs questions reçues par MC sur certains domaines fondamentaux liés à la préparation des certificats d'inspection. Des précisions supplémentaires ont aussi été apportées à la suite de questions portant sur la mise en œuvre des nouvelles exigences ayant trait à la prolongation de la période de vérification initiale des compteurs d'électricité et de gaz. Après l'examen des exigences en matière de renseignements à fournir à la suite d'une inspection et compte tenu de l'éventuel besoin de modification de l'article 21 du RIEG, le présent bulletin pourrait être révisé afin d'y ajouter d'autres directives sur la préparation de certificats d'inspection.

6.0 Exigences administratives concernant la délivrance du certificat

6.1 Inspecteur

En vertu de l'article 14 de la LIEG, l'inspecteur doit délivrer un certificat après la vérification ou la revérification d'un compteur.

6.2 Organisme accrédité propriétaire du compteur

Lorsqu'un organisme accrédité vérifie ou revérifie un compteur qui lui appartient, il n'est pas obligé de délivrer le certificat prescrit par l'article 14 de la LIEG. Dans ce cas, il peut plutôt choisir de garder tous les renseignements exigés à l'article 21 du RIEG dans des dossiers qui doivent être conservés selon les exigences des articles 11 et 28 du RIEG.

6.3 Organisme accrédité non propriétaire du compteur (organisme d'entretien de compteurs)

En vertu de l'article 14 de la LIEG, un organisme accrédité doit délivrer un certificat à la suite de la vérification ou de la revérification d'un compteur. De plus, l'organisme accrédité doit conserver des dossiers, conformément à l'article 28 du RIEG. En ce qui concerne les compteurs qui ne satisfont pas aux critères de vérification, l'organisme accrédité doit enregistrer les renseignements exigés à l'article 21 du RIEG sur le certificat ou dans des dossiers. Ces derniers doivent être autorisés et maîtrisés conformément aux exigences du système de management de qualité de l'organisme.

6.4 Emplacement des renseignements

Les renseignements exigés sur le certificat délivré en vertu de l'article 14 de la LIEG peuvent être enregistrés sur des documents de travail annexés au certificat, à condition qu'ils contiennent les renseignements suivants :

Le nombre total de documents de travail doit être indiqué sur le certificat.

7.0 Enregistrement des résultats d'essai

7.1 Essais d'exactitude

Pour chaque compteur inspecté et vérifié, les informations suivantes doivent être indiquées sur le certificat d'inspection :

  1. les résultats de chaque essai d'exactitude prescrit;
  2. lorsque les résultats des tests comportent un biais, comme autorisé par MC, la valeur de biais;
  3. la valeur d'incertitude type composée et le facteur de couverture (k), le cas échéant;
  4. la valeur de l'écart moyen absolu de la cible, selon le cas.

7.2 Vérification de la fonctionnalité

Les résultats de chaque essai de fonctionnalité prescrit non assujettis à une erreur maximale admissible (p. ex. pour un compteur d'électricité, l'essai de correspondance des bobines ou l'essai sans charge) peuvent être indiqués par une marque ou un symbole exprimant la réussite ou l'échec. Lorsque tous les appareils figurant sur un certificat obtiennent le même résultat lors d'un essai de fonctionnalité, le résultat peut être indiqué une seule fois sur le certificat.

7.3 Enregistrement des périodes de revérification initiale

7.3.1 Période de revérification initiale conditionnelle

Lorsqu'on accorde à un compteur d'électricité ou de gaz de marque, de modèle ou de type particulier une prolongation conditionnelle de sa période de revérification initiale, la période de revérification initiale indiquée sur le certificat d'inspection doit correspondre à la période de revérification initiale de base du compteur prescrite à l'article 5.2 du bulletin E-26 ou à l'article 5.2 du bulletin G-18. Les dossiers d'un propriétaire de compteurs doivent aussi indiquer la période de revérification initiale de base à laquelle s'applique la durée de la période de prolongation conditionnelle.

7.3.2 Période de revérification initiale inconditionnelle

Lorsqu'on reconnaît qu'une prolongation conditionnelle d'une période de revérification initiale est inconditionnelle (dont on a démontré la conformité à la norme S-S-05), les propriétaires de compteurs doivent mettre à jour les dossiers de leurs compteurs pour ce qui est de la marque, du modèle ou du type de compteur d'électricité ou de gaz pour indiquer la prolongation de la période de revérification initiale.

7.3.3 Délivrance d'un nouveau certificat à la suite d'un changement de période de revérification initiale

Il n'est pas nécessaire de délivrer un nouveau certificat d'inspection à la suite d'un changement de période de revérification initiale.

8.0 Révisions

La révision 2 visait à clarifier les exigences relatives à l'inclusion des résultats d'essais d'exactitude en ce qui concerne la valeur d'incertitude type composée du facteur k et la valeur de l'écart moyen absolu de la cible.

La révision 1 visait à clarifier :

Date de modification :