GEN-32—Inspection fees for marketplace monitoring activities

Category: General
Issue date: 2019-02-28
Effective date: 2019-02-28
Revision number: 2
Supersedes: 1


Table of contents


1.0 Scope

This bulletin applies to Measurement Canada inspectors who perform marketplace monitoring activities.

2.0 Purpose

This bulletin outlines Measurement Canada's fee policy in relation to marketplace monitoring activities.

3.0 References

4.0 Fee policy for inspection activities performed exclusively under marketplace monitoring programs

No fees (including travel expenses and equipment fees) are charged for inspectionFootnote 1 activities performed exclusively under Measurement Canada marketplace monitoring programs, including those performed by Measurement Canada to:

These inspection activities are not prescribed by Weights and Measures Act or the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act.

5.0 Fee policy for mandatory inspections performed as part of marketplace monitoring activities

The applicable fees prescribed in the Weights and Measures Regulations and the Electricity and Gas Inspection Regulations are charged for mandatory inspections performed as part of marketplace monitoring program activities.

These mandatory inspections are prescribed by the Weights and Measures Act and the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act and include, but are not limited to, initial inspections, verifications and reverifications, and initial installation inspections.

5.1 Travel expenses

Inspectors travelling to perform inspections can incur expenses for accommodations, meals, transportation and incidentals. In some cases, these expenses may be charged back to the person who requested the inspection.

For inspections performed under the Weights and Measures Act, travel expenses are only charged when an inspector travels exclusively to perform a mandatory inspection. Travel expenses are not charged when an inspector travels to carry out marketplace monitoring activities, but ends up performing a mandatory inspection.

For inspections performed under the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act, travel fees are charged as specified in bulletin GEN-17—Interpretation of the Schedule of Fees.

5.2 Equipment fees

Equipment fees prescribed in the Weights and Measures Regulations are charged when Measurement Canada performs mandatory inspections of weighing and measuring devices subject to the Weights and Measures Act. This includes mandatory inspections performed as part of marketplace monitoring activities.

6.0 Revisions

The purpose of revision 2 was to:

The purpose of revision 1 was to clarify that the fees for mandatory inspections prescribed by the Regulations must be applied.

Date modified:

GEN-32 — Frais d'inspection pour les activités de surveillance du marché

Catégorie : Général
Date de publication : 2019-02-28
Date d'entrée en vigueur : 2019-02-28
Numéro de révision : 2
Remplace : 1


Table des matières


1.0 Domaine d'application

Ce bulletin concerne les inspecteurs de Mesures Canada qui effectuent des activités de surveillance du marché.

2.0 Objectif

Le présent bulletin donne un aperçu de la politique de facturation de Mesures Canada relativement aux activités de surveillance du marché.

3.0 Références

4.0 Politique de facturation des activités d'inspection effectuées exclusivement dans le cadre d'un programme de surveillance du marché

Aucuns frais (y compris les frais de déplacement et les frais de matériel) ne sont facturés pour les activités d'inspectionNote de bas de page 1 effectuées exclusivement dans le cadre d'un programme de surveillance du marché de Mesures Canada, y compris celles effectuées par Mesures Canada pour :

Ces activités d'inspection ne sont pas prescrites par la Loi sur les poids et mesures ou la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz.

5.0 Politique de facturation des inspections obligatoires effectuées dans le cadre des activités de surveillance du marché

Les frais applicables prescrits par le Règlement sur les poids et mesures et le Règlement sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz sont facturés pour les inspections obligatoires effectuées dans le cadre des activités de surveillance du marché.

Ces inspections obligatoires sont prescrites par la Loi sur les poids et mesures et la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz et comprennent, sans s'y limiter, les inspections initiales, les vérifications et les revérifications, et les inspections initiales d'installations.

5.1 Frais de déplacement

Les inspecteurs qui se déplacent pour effectuer une inspection peuvent engager des dépenses pour le logement, les repas, le transport et les faux frais. Dans certains cas, ces frais peuvent être facturés à la personne qui a demandé l'inspection.

Pour ce qui est des inspections réalisées en vertu de la Loi sur les poids et mesures, des frais de déplacement ne seront facturés que si l'inspecteur se déplace exclusivement pour effectuer une inspection obligatoire. Aucuns frais de déplacement ne sont facturés si l'inspecteur se déplace pour effectuer des activités de surveillance du marché, mais qu'il finit par effectuer une inspection obligatoire.

En ce qui concerne une inspection réalisée en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz, des frais de déplacement sont facturés comme il est précisé dans le bulletin GEN-17 — Interprétation de l'annexe des droits et frais.

5.2 Frais de matériel

Des frais de matériel prescrits en vertu du Règlement sur les poids et mesures sont facturés lorsque Mesures Canada réalise des inspections obligatoires d'appareils de pesage et de mesure visés par la Loi sur les poids et mesures. Cela comprend les inspections obligatoires effectuées dans le cadre d'activités de surveillance du marché.

6.0 Révisions

La révision 2 visait à :

La révision 1 visait à clarifier que pour les inspections obligatoires, les frais applicables prescrits dans le Règlement doivent être imposés.

Date de modification :