V-09—Inspection of gasoline and diesel fuel dispensers and refuellers at authorized service providers' or dealers' premises

Category: Volume
Bulletin: V-09 (rev. 4)
Document(s): W&M Act, section 26 (1); W&M Regs, section 237
Issue date: 2013-05-01
Effective date: 2013-05-01
Supersedes: V-09 (rev. 3)


Table of contents


1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this bulletin is to outline the conditions under which fuel dispensers and high-speed refuellers may be initially inspected at an authorized service provider's or dealer's premises.

2.0 Scope

This bulletin applies to fuel dispensers and high-speed refuellers used to measure gasoline or diesel fuel in retail and commercial service. These are self-contained, built for purpose, measuring systems with positive displacement meters. It does not apply to coriolis, turbine or magnetic flow liquid meter technologies.

3.0 Authority

Section 26 (1) of the Weights and Measures Act makes it an offence for a dealer to sell, lease or otherwise dispose of a device that was not marked or inspected in the manner and circumstances prescribed.

Section 237 of the Weights and Measures Regulations allows meters to be tested and calibrated using a liquid other than the liquid that the meter will measure in trade.

4.0 Terminology

4.1 Authorized service provider (ASP):

is an organization that has been delegated inspection, calibration and/or certification powers pursuant to the Weights and Measures Act

4.2 Capillary seal:

is a seal formed by a thin layer of liquid between adjoining surfaces. The effectiveness of such a seal is partially dependant upon the clearance between surfaces and the characteristic of the fluids.

4.3 Dealer:

means any person who in the course of that person's business sells, consigns, imports, leases or lends devices.

4.4 Mechanical seal:

is a seal which through physical contact with adjoining surfaces, prevents the passage of liquid. Such seals are considered positive in nature.

5.0 Background

At the time of initial inspection, the inspector must verify the ability of the meter to accurately measure the product it is intended to measure. In the case of self-contained metering systems such as motor fuel dispensers and high speed refuellers, the physical installation of the device has little effect on the overall accuracy, thus making it metrologically possible to conduct initial inspections prior to installation. In order for such inspections to be representative of the actual conditions of use, consideration must be given to the fluid used to conduct the inspections. Gasoline is normally not an option due to safety concerns. The key factor to consider when choosing a test fluid is the design of the meter. The accuracy of meters which employ mechanical seals, typically found in motor fuel dispensers, is not significantly influenced by variations in product viscosity. Conversely, the accuracy of meters which employ capillary seals, such as high-speed refuellers and other large capacity positive displacement meters, is directly influenced by the viscosity of the fluid used to perform accuracy tests.

The relationships (size, location, capacity and adjoining plumbing) between components in metering systems, which are assembled to specifically suit a given location, directly influence the accuracy of the overall system and cannot be readily simulated in a shop or factory environment.

6.0 Policy

Given the influence of design and construction of a metering system along with the effects related to the characteristics of the fluids used during tests, the following prescribes conditions under which particular types of devices may be initially inspected at authorized service providers' or dealers' premises.

6.1 Initial inspections of metering systems may be performed at these locations provided that:

6.1.1 Test conditions applicable to the meters are as defined by Bulletin V-03, "Controlled Conditions".

6.1.2 Except for the items listed in section 6.1.4, all the accessories associated with the measuring system, as applicable, (i.e., pump, compensator, air eliminator, back pressure valve and flow limiters, etc.) are installed in the same position that they will be in after their final installation with the meter.

6.1.3 Actual flow rates are approximated.

6.1.4 A test hose and nozzle may be used in accordance with Measurement Canada and ASP test procedures during inspections of dispensers and refuellers. The substitution of other accessories and components is not permitted.

6.2 Retail motor fuel dispensers, which employ a meter with mechanical seals, intended to measure gasoline or gasoline / ethanol blends, diesel and diesel / bio-diesel blends may be inspected using test fluids with a viscosity similar to gasoline or those intended to replace diesel fuel.

6.3 High-speed refuellers which employ meters with capillary seals may be inspected using the actual product they are intended to measure or an authorized test fluid as per section 6.4.

6.4 Test fluids for the inspection of capillary seal meters intended to measure diesel fuel may be authorized for use in the following way:

6.4.1 The company or person proposing a particular liquid will provide the appropriate Regional Volumetric Specialist with relevant data, including the product temperature range at the facility and the density and viscosity of both the liquid the meter is intended to measure and the test fluid they are proposing to use. The viscosity data related to the proposed fluid must be measured by a independent, third party, laboratory. The product temperature range at the test facility must be known (or provided) to identify the optimum product viscosity. With this information, the Specialist will confirm that the characteristics of the test fluid are acceptable as a replacement for the actual diesel product. At the Specialist's discretion, subsequent follow-up inspections may be required and scheduled after the installation of specified systems.

6.4.1.1

The test fluid for diesel fuel must be a refined petroleum product or may be a combination of refined petroleum products, blended to an optimum viscosity.

6.4.1.2

The optimum viscosity for a diesel fuel test fluid is 3.9 cSt at the actual temperature of use as derived from a survey of product available in Canada. The optimum test fluid viscosity for diesel fuel can be found adjacent to the average product temperature, below.

Table 1—Optimum test fluid viscosity for a given average product temperature
Average Product Temperature (° C ) Optimum Product Viscosity at 40° C (cSt)
5 1.9
10 2.1
15 2.3
20 2.6
25 2.9

6.4.1.3

The maximum viscosity for a diesel fuel test fluid should not exceed 4.1 cSt at 40° C.

6.4.1.4

The minimum acceptable viscosity of a test fluid for diesel fuel can be found adjacent to the maximum product temperature, below.

Table 2—Minimum test fluid viscosity for a given maximum product temperature
Maximum Product Temperature (° C ) Minimum Product Viscosity at 40° C (cSt)
10 1.7
15 1.85
20 2
25 2.25
30 2.45
35 2.7
40 3

Example determination of optimum viscosity

A facility has determined the product flowing temperature varies from 17 to 23° C throughout the year.

The average test temperature at the facility is 20° C. From section 6.4.1.2 above, the optimum liquid should have a viscosity of 2.6 cSt at 40° C. This value is useful when the facility is planning to replace or acquire a substitute liquid. A liquid of this viscosity will provide the best calibration adjustment for the meter. Section 6.4.1.4 will provide the minimum viscosity that the test fluid must have, i.e., 2.15 cSt at 40° C. Using a liquid that is less viscous than this may result in the meter being adjusted with a significant error in favour of the seller. Liquids with higher viscosity can be used but the viscosity of the test fluid must not be greater than 4.1 cSt at 40° C.

6.4.2 Where a high-speed refueller is inspected at any location other than where it is intended to be installed, Measurement Canada inspectors and ASPs are responsible for ensuring the fluid temperature is not too high causing the viscosity to drop below the minimum values in Table 6.4.1.4. This determination can typically be done during the Automatic Temperature Compensation (ATC) test. The temperature will be recorded as an annotation in the comment section of the inspection certificate.

6.4.3 It is the responsibility of the ASP for maintaining the fluid viscosity within acceptable limits and retaining objective evidence of such, from a third party independent laboratory. Such testing should be done each time the fluid is replaced or every two years.

7.0 Revision

The original bulletin was issued on , as Bulletin V-12. It documented, in detail, three stages of a survey which was conducted in conjunction with the Canadian Gas Pump Manufacturers Association. The bulletin authorized the setting of a target calibration bias.

7.1 The purpose of Revision 1 (Bulletin V-12) was to remove the setting of the target calibration bias.

7.1.1 Revision 1 was reformatted and renumbered to Bulletin V-9 (rev.1) in a revised set of bulletins and issued on March 31, 1995.

7.2 The purpose of Revision 2 was to revise the bulletin format and sequence; includes minor editorial modifications for clarification and identifies new references to associated bulletins; updated new agency name.

7.3 The purpose of Revision 3 was to remove information which was no longer relevant and to outline conditions for the inspection of gasoline and diesel fuel dispensers and to include refuellers which may be initially inspected at authorized service providers' or dealers' premises; and to:

  1. define the difference between mechanical (positive) sealed meters (i.e., dispensers) and capillary sealed meters (i.e., high-speed refuellers); and
  2. establish the process for authorizing new test fluids when they are proposed.

7.4 The purpose of Revision 4 in revised section 6.1.2 and 6.1.4 is to allow the use of a test hose and nozzle during factory inspections of fuel dispensers and refuellers.

Date modified:

V-09 — Inspection des distributeurs et des ravitailleurs d'essence et de diesel dans les locaux du fournisseur de services autorisés ou du distributeur

Catégorie : Volume
Bulletin : V-09 (rév. 4)
Document(s) : article 26 (1) de la Loi sur les poids et mesures; article 237 du Règlement sur les poids et mesures
Date de diffusion : 2013-05-01
Entrée en vigueur : 2013-05-01
Remplace : V-09 (rév. 3)


Table des matières


1.0 Portée

Le présent bulletin vise à définir les conditions dans lesquelles l'inspection initiale des distributeurs et des ravitailleurs d'essence et de diesel pourrait être effectuée dans les locaux du fournisseur de services autorisé ou du distributeur.

2.0 Domaine d'application

Le présent bulletin s'applique aux distributeurs de carburant et aux ravitailleurs haute vitesse utilisés pour mesurer des volumes d'essence et de carburant diesel dans les établissements commerciaux et les établissements de vente au détail. Il s'agit de systèmes de mesure autonomes spécialisés à compteurs volumétriques. Le bulletin ne s'applique pas aux compteurs à effet de Coriolis, aux compteurs à turbine ni aux débitmètres magnétiques.

3.0 Autorité

Selon l'article 26 (1) de la Loi sur les poids et mesures, tout fournisseur qui cède, notamment par vente ou location, un appareil qui n'est pas marqué ni inspecté selon les modalités réglementaires commet une infraction.

Selon l'article 237 du Règlement sur les poids et mesures, l'essai et l'étalonnage d'un appareil peuvent être fait avec un liquide autre que celui que l'appareil aura à mesurer dans le commerce.

4.0 Terminologie

4.1 Fournisseur de services autorisés (FSA) :

organisme investi du pouvoir d'inspecter, d'étalonner et/ou de certifier des appareils conformément à la Loi sur les poids et mesures. (Authorized services providers)

4.2 Fournisseur :

personne qui fait profession de vendre, consigner, importer, louer ou prêter des instruments. (Dealer)

4.3 Joint mécanique :

joint qui, en contact avec deux surfaces adjacentes, empêche le passage du liquide. De par sa nature, un tel joint est considéré comme un joint d'étanchéité. (Mechanical seal)

4.4 Obturateur capillaire :

joint formé par une mince couche de liquide entre des surfaces adjacentes. Son efficacité dépend en partie de l'espace entre les surfaces et des propriétés des liquides. (Capillary seal)

5.0 Contexte

Lors de l'inspection initiale, l'inspecteur doit vérifier la capacité du compteur à mesurer avec précision le produit qu'il est destiné à mesurer dans le commerce. Dans le cas de systèmes de mesure autonomes tels que les distributeurs d'essence et les ravitailleurs haute vitesse, l'installation de l'appareil a peu d'incidence sur la précision générale, ce qui permet de faire une inspection métrologique initiale de l'appareil avant son installation. Pour qu'elles soient représentatives des conditions d'utilisation réelles, il est important de prendre en considération le liquide utilisé pour ces inspections. L'essence est généralement à proscrire à cause de la sécurité. La conception du compteur est un facteur clé dans le choix du liquide d'essai. En effet, les variations de viscosité d'un produit n'ont pas une incidence notable sur la précision des compteurs à joints mécaniques que sont généralement les distributeurs de carburant. D'un autre côté, la viscosité du liquide utilisé pour les essais à un effet direct sur la précision des compteurs à obturateurs capillaires, tels que les ravitailleurs haute vitesse et autres compteurs volumétriques.

Les relations (taille, emplacement, capacité et tuyauterie adjacente) entre les éléments d'un système de mesure assemblé spécialement en fonction d'un emplacement donné, ont un effet direct sur la précision de l'ensemble du système et peuvent difficilement être simulées dans un atelier ou à l'usine.

6.0 Politique

La conception et la fabrication d'un système de mesure ainsi que les propriétés des liquides utilisés pour les essais sont des éléments qui ont des répercussions sur les essais, c'est pourquoi les conditions dans lesquelles une inspection initiale de types particuliers d'appareils peut être effectuée dans les locaux d'un fournisseur de services autorisé ou d'un fournisseur sont définies ci-dessous.

6.1 Les inspections initiales de systèmes de mesure peuvent être effectuées dans ces locaux, si :

6.1.1 Les conditions d'essai applicables aux compteurs sont telles que définies dans le bulletin V-03, Conditions contrôlées.

6.1.2 À l'exception des articles mentionnés à l'article 6.1.4, tous les accessoires que nécessite le système de mesure (pompe, compensateur, purgeur d'air, soupape de contrepression et limiteurs de débit, etc.) sont installés de la même manière et au même endroit où ils seront après leur installation finale sur le compteur.

6.1.3 Les débits réels sont apparentés le plus possible aux conditions réelles.

6.1.4 Un pistolet et un flexible d'essai peuvent être utilisés durant les inspections des distributeurs et des ravitailleurs, conformément aux procédures d'essai de Mesures Canada et des FSA. La substitution d'autres accessoires ou composants est interdite.

6.2 Les distributeurs de carburant à moteur qui utilisent un compteur à joints mécaniques destiné à mesurer l'essence ou les mélanges d'essence et d'éthanol, le diesel et les mélanges de diesel et de biodiésel peuvent être inspectés avec des liquides d'essai d'une viscosité similaire à celle de l'essence ou des substituts de diesel.

6.3 Les ravitailleurs haute vitesse dotés de compteurs à obturateur capillaire peuvent être inspectés au moyen du produit qu'ils sont destinés à mesurer ou d'un liquide d'essai autorisé en vertu de l'article 6.4.

6.4 L'utilisation de liquides d'essai pour l'inspection de compteurs à obturateur capillaire destinés à mesurer du diesel est autorisée dans les conditions suivantes :

6.4.1 Toute entreprise ou tout particulier qui propose un liquide doit remettre les données pertinentes au spécialiste régional en volumétrie, en incluant la plage de températures du produit dans l'installation, la masse volumique et la viscosité du liquide que le compteur est destiné à mesurer ainsi que celle du liquide d'essai proposé. La viscosité du liquide proposé doit être mesurée par un laboratoire tierce partie indépendant. La plage de températures du produit dans l'installation d'essai doit être connue (ou fournie) afin de connaître la viscosité optimale du produit. Ces informations permettront au spécialiste de confirmer que le liquide d'essai a les propriétés requises et qu'il est acceptable comme substitut pour le diesel. Après l'installation du système donné, le spécialiste décidera, à sa discrétion, si des inspections subséquentes sont nécessaires et en établira le calendrier.

6.4.1.1

Le liquide d'essai utilisé comme substitut du diesel doit être un produit pétrolier raffiné ou une combinaison de produits pétroliers raffinés mélangés de manière à obtenir la viscosité optimale.

6.4.1.2

La viscosité optimale du carburant diesel d'essai est de 3,9 cSt à la température réelle d'utilisation tirée d'une étude des produits offerts au Canada. La viscosité optimale du liquide d'essai est indiquée ci-dessous à côté de la température moyenne du produit.

Tableau 1 — Viscosité optimale du liquide d'essai pour une température moyenne du produit donnée
Température moyenne du produit ( °C ) Viscosité optimale du produit à 40 °C (cSt)
5 1,9
10 2,1
15 2,3
20 2,6
25 2,9

6.4.1.3

La viscosité maximale d'un carburant diesel utilisé comme liquide d'essai ne doit pas être supérieure à 4,1 cSt à 40 °C.

6.4.1.4

La viscosité minimale acceptable d'un liquide d'essai substitutif du carburant diesel est indiqué ci-dessous, à coté de la température maximale du produit.

Tableau 2 — Viscosité minimale du liquide d'essai pour une température maximale du produit donnée
Température moyenne du produit ( °C ) Viscosité minimale du produit à 40 °C (cSt)
10 1,7
15 1,85
20 2
25 2,25
30 2,45
35 2,7
40 3

Exemple de détermination de la viscosité optimale

Dans une installation, il a été déterminé que la température du produit en écoulement variait entre 17 et 23 °C pendant l'année.

La température d'essai moyen dans l'installation est de 20 °C. En 6.4.1.2 ci-dessus, il est indiqué que la viscosité optimale du liquide devrait être de 2,6 cSt à 40 °C. Cette valeur est utile lorsqu'il est prévu de remplacer ou d'acquérir un liquide substitutif. Un liquide d'une telle viscosité permettra de mieux ajuster l'étalonnage du compteur. En 6.4.1.4 est indiquée la viscosité minimale que doit avoir le liquide d'essai, p. ex. 2,15 cSt à 40 °C. L'utilisation d'un liquide d'une viscosité inférieure pourrait se solder par le réglage du compteur avec une erreur de mesure importante en faveur du vendeur. Les liquides d'une viscosité plus élevée peuvent être utilisés, mais la viscosité du liquide d'essai ne doit pas dépasser 4.1 cSt à 40 °C.

6.4.2 Lorsqu'un ravitailleur haute vitesse est inspecté ailleurs que sur le lieu prévu pour son installation, il incombe aux inspecteurs de Mesures Canada et aux FSA de vérifier que la température du liquide n'est pas trop élevée, ce qui causerait une baisse de la viscosité en dessous des valeurs minimales indiquées au tableau en 6.4.1.4. Cette vérification peut généralement se faire pendant l'essai de compensation automatique de la température. La température sera inscrite comme une annotation dans la case réservée aux commentaires sur le certificat d'inspection.

6.4.3 Il incombe au FSA de maintenir la viscosité du liquide dans les limites acceptables et d'obtenir d'un laboratoire tierce partie indépendant des preuves objectives attestant du fait. De tels essais devraient être effectués chaque fois que le liquide est remplacé ou tous les deux ans.

7.0 Révision

La version originale du bulletin a été diffusée le sous l'appellation Bulletin V-12. Il documentait en détail les trois étapes d'une étude menée conjointement avec la Canadian Gas Pump Manufacturers Association. Ce bulletin autorisait un réglage en fonction d'un biais d'étalonnage cible.

7.1 Le but de la révision 1 (Bulletin V-12) était de supprimer le réglage en fonction du biais d'étalonnage cible.

7.1.1 Dans le cadre de la révision 1, un nouveau numéro et un nouveau nom ont été attribués au bulletin désormais intitulé Bulletin V-9 (rév. 1) et le formatage a été actualisé avant la diffusion, le 31 mars 1995.

7.2 Le but de la révision 2 était de modifier le format et la séquence du bulletin, d'apporter des modifications rédactionnelles mineures pour plus de clarté, d'indiquer des références aux bulletins connexes et le nouveau nom de l'organisme.

7.3 Le but de la révision 3 était de retirer toute information désormais non pertinente, de définir les conditions d'inspection des distributeurs d'essence et de carburant diesel et d'inclure les ravitailleurs pouvant faire l'objet d'une inspection initiale dans les locaux des fournisseurs de services autorisés ou des négociants, en plus de :

  1. définir la différence entre les compteurs à joints mécaniques (d'étanchéité) (p. ex. les distributeurs) et les compteurs à obturateurs capillaires (p. ex. les ravitailleurs haute-vitesse); et,
  2. définir le processus à suivre pour obtenir l'autorisation d'utiliser de nouveaux liquides d'essai proposés.

7.4 Le but de la révision 4 est de modifier les articles 6.1.2 et 6.1.4 pour permettre l'utilisation d'un pistolet ou d'un flexible d'essai durant les inspections en usine des ravitailleurs et des distributeurs d'essence.

Date de modification :