V-18 — Selection of Volume Correction Factor Tables and Standard Density Values for Some Common Products

    Category: Volume
    Bulletin: V-18 (rev. 8)
    Document(s): W&M Regs, section 270; SVM-2
    Issue Date:
    Effective Date:
    Supersedes: V-18 (rev. 7)


    Table of Contents


    1.0 Purpose

    This bulletin provides an index of volume correction factor reference tables, standard densities and density ranges for some common products. Additionally, it states Measurement Canada's policy regarding the use of standard densities and actual product densities.

    2.0 Scope

    This bulletin is applicable to all electronic registers which employ automatic temperature correction.

    3.0 Terminology

    Bio-diesel

    Bio-diesel refers to a fuel produced from vegetable oil or animal fat consisting of long-chain alkyl (methyl, propyl or ethyl) esters meeting the specifications of ASTM D 6751. It is produced through a process known as transesterification. It is also referred to as Fatty Acid Methyl Esters or FAME.

    HDRD

    Hydrogenation Derived Renewable Diesel is a fuel produced from vegetable oil or animal fat by a hydro-treating process. HDRD meets the petroleum diesel ASTM specification. It is also referred to as Hydrotreated Vegetable Oil or HVO.

    4.0 Policy

    4.1 For the purposes of performing volume correction on liquids being sold or offered for sale to end consumers (retail sales), traders and devices shall use the appropriate standard density found in the second column of Table 1. For the purpose of SVM 2 part 14, printed tickets must show either the standard density or the common product name.

    4.1.1 For more information on printed ticket requirements, refer to Measurement Canada's Bulletin V-20, "Printer Requirements for Volumetric Liquid Meters Equipped with Automatic Temperature Compensation (ATC)" and Bulletin V-27, "Content and Suggested Format for Retail Printed Receipts".

    4.2 Actual product densities may be used to perform volume correction of liquids in all trade transactions other than those noted in item 4.1 and 4.3, (retail sales to end users and sales of bio-diesel). Traders choosing to use the actual density of the product will use appropriate means to determine the density (± 5 kg/m³) which could include but are not limited to thermometers, hydrometers, pycnometers and scales, densitometers and Coriolis meters. For the purpose of SVM 2 part 14, printed tickets must show the actual density used to perform the volume correction.

    Note: The rationale for allowing the use of actual densities at the wholesale trade level, and not at the retail level, is premised on the idea that the wholesale purchaser is typically a more sophisticated buyer and has the potential to verify the density used. The retail buyer is wholly dependant on the integrity of the trader and his device.

    4.3 Blends of bio-diesel with petroleum diesel greater than 20% (>B20) bio-diesel and blends of HDRD with petroleum diesel greater than 50% HDRD do not expand and contract in the same manner as petroleum diesel of the same density and may only be volume corrected using the standard density value stated in Table 1, in conjunction with the API table 54 B, at the retail level trade.

    4.3.1 Except for product sold at the retail level, blends of bio-diesel 20% or less and blends of HDRD 50% and less with petroleum diesel may be volume corrected using the actual product densities, in conjunction with the API table 54 B and, as determined in section 4.2.

    4.3.2 Except for product sold at the retail level, blends of biodiesel greater than 20%, and blends of HDRD greater than 50%, with petroleum diesel may be volume corrected for temperature using API table 54C and an alpha factor determined following prescribed API methods.

    4.4 The temperature correction of chemical products should reference Measurement Canada's Bulletin V-10, "Volume Correction Factors of Non-Petroleum Products Authorized For Use With Liquid Measuring Meters".

    4.5 Subject to subsection 270(1)(a)(i) of the Weights and Measures Regulations, Extrapolated Tables of volume correction factors for use during the temperature compensation of gasoline and diesel fuels with densities of 730 kg/m³ and 840 kg/m³ can be found under the Laws and Requirements section of the Measurement Canada web site.

    5.0 Revisions

    5.1 The purpose of revision 1 was to include the volume correction tables for gasoline and diesel oil.

    5.2 The purpose of revision 2 was to change the values of the mean density and density range for some of the products and to reference new bulletin numbers.

    5.3 The purpose of revision 3 was to correct some mistakes in the tables.

    5.4 The purpose of revision 4 was to identify the conditions of using the actual product density for temperature correction purposes.

    5.5 The purpose of revision 5 was to add bio-diesel and section 3.3. Table 1 was revised to include bio-diesel and all blends of bio-diesel and also bunker fuel oils. The water mixture of Isopropyl Alcohol was removed from the list of products identified in Table 1. The term "standard density" replaces the original term "mean density" throughout the bulletin. Associated volume correction tables (refer section 4.1 & 3.5) were removed from the bulletin and relocated to the Measurement Canada web site. The format was updated to include the purpose, scope, and policy sections.

    5.6 The purpose of revision 6 was intended to simplify requirements regarding traders who may want to use the actual density of the product to perform volume correction of liquids. (PRE-2008)

    5.7 The purpose of revision 7 was to allow for the use of actual densities for the purposes of volume correction for blends up to 20% bio-diesel (reference section 3.3). Reference to a Volume Information Page was updated to the Laws and Requirements section of MC's website. As well, the Table 1 was revised to: a) establish the product name "Distillates" to cover all middle petroleum fractions, including diesel fuels, fuel oils and stove oils and, b) correct the density range for bio-diesel and all blends with petroleum diesel.

    5.8 The purpose of revision 8 is to provide volume correction factors for blends of HDRD with petroleum diesel; to provide terminology in section 3.0 to define biodiesel and HDRD and, to further define that appropriate means to determine density, for the purposes of temperature compensation, should be accurate to within 5 kg/m³.

    6.0 Additional Information

    For additional information regarding this bulletin, please contact the Senior Program Officer responsible for volume measurement.

    Dennis Beattie
    Senior Program Officer, Volumetric
    Weighing and Measuring Division

    Table 1: Selection of Volume Correction Factor Table for Some Common Products
    Product Name
    Note: This list is not exhaustive.
    Standard Density (kg/m³)
    @ 15°C
    Density Range (kg/m³)
    @ 15°C
    Volume Correction Factor Reference Table
    Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) 510 495–520 ASTM-IP, Table 54
    Butane 580 564–585
    Gasoline: all grades 730 640–780 API Chapter 11.1, Table 54B
    Gasoline: Alcohol Blends
    (15% alcohol max)
    730 653–780
    Aviation Fuels - (Kerosene based):
    Jet A, A1, Jet Kerosene, Turbine Fuel
    800 780–840
    Aviation Gasoline 710 654–727
    Distillates: Diesel Fuels, Fuel Oils
    Stove Oils
    840 830–900
    Bio-diesel Footnote 1 (B100) and all blends with petroleum diesel 840 830–900
    Hydrogenation Derived Renewable Diesel (HDRD or HVO) all blends with petroleum diesel 840 775–900
    Jet B (Naptha based) 760 750–770 API Chapter 11.1, Table 54A
    Lubricating Oils
    (SAE Grades)
    880 850–905 API Chapter 11.1, Table 54D
    Alcohols:
    Methanol, Ethanol, Isopropyl Alcohol
    Hexylene Glycol
    Refer to bulletin V10 for coefficients of expansion and specific tables. Refer to bulletin V10 for coefficients of expansion and specific tables. API Chapter 11.1, Table 54C
    Acetone
    Methyl Ethyl Ketone
    Methyl Isobutyl Carbinol
    Anhydrous Ammonia 617.7 - Refer to Bulletin V10 for specific tables
    Toluene 870 869–873
    Xylene 870 865–875

    Footnotes

    Footnote 1

    Includes only products meeting ASTM standard D6751.  This does not cover used unprocessed vegetable oils or animal fats.

    Return to footnote 1 referrer

V-18 — Sélection de la table des facteurs de correction du volume et des valeurs des masses volumiques normalisées pour certains produits courants

Catégorie : Volume
Bulletin : V-18 (rév. 8)
Document(s) : Règlement sur les poids et mesures, art. 270; SVM-2
Date de diffusion :
Entrée en vigueur :
Remplace : V-18 (rév. 7)


Table des matières


1.0 Objectif

Le présent bulletin fournit un index des tables de facteurs de correction de volume, des masses volumiques normalisées et des plages de masse volumique pour certains produits courants. En outre, le bulletin explique la politique de Mesures Canada concernant l'utilisation des masses volumiques normalisées et des masses volumiques réelles des produits.

2.0 Domaine d'application

Le présent bulletin vise tous les indicateurs électroniques dotés d'un compensateur automatique de température.

3.0 Terminologie

Biodiesel

Le biodiesel est un carburant obtenu à partir d'huile végétale ou de graisse animale formé d'esters alkyliques à longue chaîne (méthyle, propyle ou éthyle) qui satisfait à la norme D 6751 de l'ASTM. Il est obtenu par un procédé appelé trans-estérification. Il est également connu sous le nom d'ester méthylique d'acide gras ou EMAG.

DRPH

Le diesel renouvelable produit par hydrogénation est un carburant obtenu à partir d'huile végétale ou de graisse animale par un procédé d'hydrotraitement. Le DRPH satisfait à la norme de l'ASTM portant sur le pétrodiesel. On l'appelle également huile végétale hydrotraitée ou HVH.

4.0 Politique

4.1 Aux fins de correction du volume des liquides vendus ou offerts aux consommateurs (vente au détail), les commerçants doivent utiliser pour leurs appareils de mesure la masse volumique normalisée adéquate de la deuxième colonne du tableau 1. Pour satisfaire à l'article 14 de la norme SVM-2, les tickets imprimés doivent indiquer soit la masse volumique normalisée, soit le nom courant du produit.

4.1.1 Pour plus d'information sur les exigences relatives aux tickets imprimés, voir le bulletin V‑20 de Mesures Canada intitulé, Renseignements exigés sur les tickets imprimés des compteurs volumétriques de liquide équipés d'un compensateur automatique de température (CAT), et le bulletin V-27 intitulé, Contenu et format proposé des reçus imprimés de vente au détail.

4.2 Les masses volumiques réelles des produits peuvent être utilisées dans le but d'effectuer la correction des volumes des liquides dans toutes les transactions commerciales, à l'exception de celles mentionnées aux articles 4.1 et 4.3 (vente au détail aux utilisateurs finaux et vente de biodiesel). Les commerçants qui choisissent d'utiliser la masse volumique réelle du produit doivent utiliser les moyens appropriés pour déterminer la masse volumique (± 5 kg/m³), ce qui devrait inclure, sans pour autant s'y limiter, les thermomètres, les hydromètres, les pycnomètres et les balances de même que les densimètres et les débitmètres à effet de Coriolis. Pour satisfaire à l'article 14 de la norme SVM-2, les tickets imprimés doivent indiquer la masse volumique réelle utilisée pour la correction du volume.

Nota : Le raisonnement qui permet l'utilisation des masses volumiques réelles pour le commerce de gros, et non pour le commerce de détail, est le suivant : l'acheteur en gros est généralement mieux informé et peut vérifier la masse volumique utilisée, tandis que l'acheteur au détail dépend totalement de l'intégrité du commerçant et de l'appareil de mesure.

4.3 Les mélanges de biodiesel et de pétrodiesel, avec une concentration de biodiesel supérieure à 20 % (>B20) et les mélanges de DRPH et de pétrodiesel, avec une concentration de DRPH supérieure à 50 %, ne se dilatent pas ni se contractent de la même manière que le pétrodiesel de même masse volumique. Par conséquent, on ne peut corriger le volume de ces produits qu'en utilisant la valeur de la masse volumique normalisée indiquée au tableau 1, et en consultant la table 54 B de l'API, à tous les niveaux de commerce.

4.3.1 Dans le cas des mélanges de pétrodiesel et de biodiesel (concentration de biodiesel inférieure ou égale à 20 %) et des mélanges de pétrodiesel et de DRPH (concentration de DRPH inférieure ou égale à 50 %), il est possible de corriger le volume en utilisant la masse volumique réelle, et en consultant la table 54 B de l'API, comme il est mentionné à l'article 4.2. Le présent article ne s'applique pas aux produits vendus au détail.

4.3.2 Dans le cas des mélanges de pétrodiesel et de biodiesel (concentration de biodiesel supérieure à 20 %) et des mélanges de pétrodiesel et de DRPH (concentration de DRPH supérieure à 50 %), il est possible de corriger le volume en fonction de la température en utilisant la table 54 C de l'API et en utilisant un facteur alpha déterminé au moyen des méthodes prescrites par l'API. Le présent article ne s'applique pas aux produits vendus au détail.

4.4 Pour la correction de la température des produits chimiques, on devra consulter le bulletin V-10 de Mesures Canada intitulé, Autorisation de l'utilisation des facteurs de correction du volume de produits non pétroliers avec des compteurs de liquides.

4.5 Sous réserve du sous-alinéa 270. 1) a) i) du Règlement sur les poids et mesures, les tables extrapolées des facteurs de correction du volume utilisés pour la correction en fonction de la température de l'essence et du diesel ayant des masses volumiques de 730 kg/m³ et de 840 kg/m³ peuvent être consultées sur le site Web de Mesures Canada, sous Lois et exigences.

5.0 Révision

5.1 Le but de la révision 1 était d'ajouter les tables de correction de volume pour l'essence et le diesel.

5.2 Le but de la révision 2 était de changer les valeurs de la masse volumique moyenne et de la plage de masse volumique pour quelques produits, et d'indiquer les nouveaux numéros de bulletin.

5.3 Le but de la révision 3 était de corriger des erreurs dans les tables.

5.4 Le but de la révision 4 était de définir les conditions d'utilisation de la masse volumique réelle du produit à des fins de correction de la température.

5.5 Le but de la révision 5 était d'ajouter le biodiesel et l'article 3.3. Le tableau 1 a été révisé pour inclure les biodiesels et tous les mélanges de biodiesels et aussi, les combustibles de soute. Le mélange d'alcool isopropylique a été éliminé de la liste des produits présentés au tableau 1. Le terme « masse volumique normalisée » remplace le terme d'origine « masse volumique moyenne » dans tout le bulletin. Les tables de correction du volume associées (voir les articles 4.1 et 3.5) ont été supprimées du bulletin et déplacées dans le site Web de Mesures Canada. Le format a été modifié afin d'inclure les articles Objectif, Domaine d'application et Politique.

5.6 Le but de la révision 6 était de simplifier les exigences concernant les commerçants qui veulent utiliser la masse volumique réelle du produit pour effectuer la correction du volume des liquides. (IAFP2008)

5.7 Le but de la révision 7 était de permettre l'utilisation des masses volumiques réelles pour la correction des volumes des mélanges avec pétrodiesel, dont la concentration en biodiesel est égale ou inférieure à 20 % (voir l'article 3.3). Le renvoi à une page d'information sur le volume a été mis à jour et édité dans la section Lois et exigences du site Web de Mesures Canada. Le tableau 1 a également été modifié comme suit : a) Créer le nom de produit « Distillat », qui couvrira les fractions pétrolières moyennes, y compris les carburants diesel, le mazout, le mazout léger ; b) corriger les plages des masses volumiques de service du biodiesel et de tous les mélanges de pétrodiesel.

5.8 Le but de la révision 8 est de fournir les facteurs de correction du volume pour les mélanges de DRPH et de pétrodiesel; d'ajouter l'article 3.0, Terminologie, pour donner des définitions de biodiesel et de DRPH et d'expliquer plus en détail les moyens appropriés pour déterminer la masse volumique aux fins de compensation de la température, qui devrait être exacte à plus ou moins 5 kg/m³.

6.0 Renseignement supplémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet du présent bulletin, veuillez communiquer avec l'agent principal de programme responsable de la mesure du volume.

Dennis Beattie, TSAI
Agent principal de programme, Volumétrie
Division du pesage et du mesurage

Tableau 1: Sélection de la table de correction du volume pour certains produits courants
Nom du produit
Nota : Cette liste n'est pas exhaustive.
Masse volumique normalisée (kg/m³) @ 15 °C Plage de masse volumique (kg/m³) @ 15 °C Table de référence – facteur de correction du volume
Gaz de pétrole liquéfiés (GPL) 510 495–520 ASTM-IP, table 54
Butane 580 564–585
Essence : tous les grades 730 640–780 API Chapitre 11.1, table 54B
Essence : mélanges d'alcool (15 % d'alcool max) 730 653–780
Carburants d'aviation – (à base de kérosène) :
Jet A, A1,
Kérosène pour jet Turbocombustible
800 780–840
Essence d'aviation 710 654–727
Distillats
Carburant diesel
Mazout Pétrole de chauffage
840 830–900
Biodiesel Note de bas de page 1 (B100) et tous les mélanges de pétrodiesel 840 830–900
Diesel renouvelable produit par hydrogénation (DRPH ou HVH) tous les mélanges avec pétrodiesel 840 775–900
Carburéacteur Jet B (à base de naphte) 760 750–770 API Chapitre 11.1, table 54A
Huiles lubrifiantes (Catégories SAE) 880 850–905 API Chapitre 11.1, table 54D
Alcools : Méthanol Éthanol Alcool isopropylique Hexylèneglycol Refer to bulletin V10 for coefficients of expansion and specific tables. Refer to bulletin V10 for coefficients of expansion and specific tables. API Chapitre 11.1, table 54C
Acétone
Méthyléthylcétone
Méthylisobutylcarbinol
Ammoniaque anhydre 617.7 - Voir le bulletin V-10 pour des tables spécifiques
Toluène 870 869–873
Xylène 870 865–875

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Comprend uniquement les produits conformes à la norme D6751 de l'ASTM. Ne comprend pas les huiles végétales usées ou non traitées ni les graisses animales.

Retour à l'appel de note 1

Date de modification :