V-25 — Initial inspection of Electronic Registers which incorporate Multipoint Calibration features, in Liquid Metering systems

Date: 2004-01-15
Bulletin: V-25
Category: Volume


Table of Contents


1.0 Purpose

This bulletin is intended to outline the Measurement Canada policy regarding the use and initial inspection of electronic registers which employ a means of adjustment that automatically selects a predetermined correction factor that corresponds to the rate of flow (multipoint calibration).

2.0 Scope

This bulletin is applicable to all initial inspections of metering systems which incorporate electronic registers that have the option of multipoint calibration. It does not apply to retail motor fuel dispensers, mass flow meters (Coriolis meters) or Magnetic Flow Meters. As well, it does not apply to subsequent inspections of these meters.

3.0 Background

Measurement Canada recognizes multipoint calibration as a viable method to improve the accuracy of metering systems. The use of such features has been allowed, with the understanding that it was only to be used to improve the performance of meters which would already meet the legislative requirements. There is reason to believe that the feature is also being used to enhance the performance of meters which would otherwise not meet those requirements. The area of concern lies with meters ability to measure accurately throughout their approved flowrate range. The difference between the accuracy at high flow rates and at slow flow rates is commonly called the spread. All meters currently approved in Canada were evaluated without the aid of multipoint calibration. When production meters which do not meet all requirements are presented for inspection, it is assumed that something has changed. The specific cause of meters not meeting the requirements throughout their rated flow rates is not clear. This may be as a result of defective parts in the new meters, a change in the design since the meters have been approved, or a change due to reduced drag on the meter due to the advent of electronic registers. In any case, the intention of allowing multipoint calibration was to improve the performance of meters which would already meet the legal requirements. It was not the intent to allow multipoint calibration to be used to mask the performance of substandard meters in a way that makes them appear to meet the applicable requirements.

4.0 Policy

Measurement Canada or any party conducting inspections on behalf of Measurement Canada will determine if the meter in the system is capable of meeting the performance requirements, without the use of multipoint calibration feature, throughout its approved flow range. In addition it will be assured that means of adjustment are not being used to compensate for faulty installation or for worn or defective parts.

4.1 Additional Tests

When a metering system which has the option of using multipoint calibration is presented for initial inspection, a fast and a slow test must be conducted using a single meter factor. It should first be determined from the Notice of Approval if the register has this feature, then whether it is in use. If it is, the service technician should be asked to record the existing values, and then enter a single factor for all flowrates. The fast and slow tests should be done as normal. The fast flow rate should be the maximum that the system is capable of, while the slow rate should be set as per Bulletin V3 section 4.3. On metering systems which will be used to measure more than one liquid, the test should be done using the liquid with the lowest viscosity. (ie., if the meter will be used to measure diesel and gasoline, the test should be done on gasoline).

4.2 Interpretation of Results

For normal liquids, the difference between the results of the fast run and the slow run should not exceed 0.5% (2 X 0.25%). It is not necessary that both or either of the test results fall within + or - 0.25% of the true value. If the spread of the results exceeds 0.5%, testing should be terminated and normal procedures for non-compliant meters followed.

If the results do not differ by more than 0.5%, the multipoint calibration feature can be used. If multiple factors were determined during pretesting, they should be re-entered and all normal pertinent tests conducted. The meter must be adjusted as close as possible to zero error at all rates of flow, as per section 35.1 of the W&M regulations. The deviation between adjacent factors should be examined to ensure the requirements of SVM 1 part 10 are met.

For metering systems used on other than normal liquids, such as LPG or Lube oils, the above applies by analogy, with the exception that the spread should not exceed 2 times the applicable limit of error (LOE), rather than 0.5% and the results need not fall within the LOE.

5.0 Additional Information

For additional information regarding this bulletin, please contact the Regional Volumetric Specialist or the undersigned.

Dennis Beattie
Senior Program Officer
Program Development
E-mail: beattie.dennis@ic.gc.ca

V-25 — Inspection initiale des enregistreurs électroniques munis de la fonction d'étalonnage multipoint et équipant les systèmes de mesure des liquides

Date : 2004-01-05
Bulletin : V-25
Catégorie : Volume


Table des matières


1.0 Objet

Le présent bulletin énonce la politique de Mesures Canada sur l'emploi et l'inspection initiale des enregistreurs électroniques équipés d'un mode ajustement qui choisit automatiquement un facteur de correction préétabli correspondant au débit (étalonnage multipoint).

2.0 Domaine d'application

Le présent bulletin s'applique à toutes les inspections initiales des systèmes de mesure dotés d'enregistreurs électroniques équipés de la fonction d'étalonnage multipoint. Il ne s'applique pas aux inspections ultérieures de ces compteurs ni aux distributeurs de carburant de détail.

3.0 Contexte

Mesures Canada reconnaît que l'étalonnage multipoint est un moyen viable permettant d'améliorer la précision des systèmes de mesure. Lorsque la fonction d'étalonnage multipoint a été autorisée, il était entendu qu'elle serait uniquement utilisée pour améliorer la performance de compteurs déjà conformes aux exigences législatives. Il y a lieu de croire que cette fonction est aussi utilisée pour augmenter la performance de compteurs qui, autrement, ne satisferaient pas ces exigences. Mesures Canada est surtout préoccupé par l'aptitude des compteurs à mesurer avec précision à l'intérieur de la plage des débits approuvée. La différence entre la précision de l'appareil à débit élevé et celle à faible débit est communément appelé étendue. Tous les compteurs actuellement approuvés au Canada ont été évalués sans le recours à l'étalonnage multipoint. Lorsque des compteurs de série ne respectant pas toutes les exigences sont soumis à l'inspection, on présume qu'il y a eu un changement. On ne connaît pas bien la raison pour laquelle des compteurs ne satisfont pas les exigences sur la plage approuvée. Il peut s'agir de pièces défectueuses sur le nouveau compteur, d'un changement apporté à la conception du compteur depuis son approbation ou encore d'un changement résultant d'une perte de frottement du compteur due à l'utilisation des enregistreurs électroniques. Peu importe la cause du changement, la décision d'autoriser l'étalonnage multipoint visait à améliorer la performance de compteurs satisfaisant déjà aux exigences juridiques. Il n'a jamais été question d'autoriser l'étalonnage multipoint dans le but de camoufler la performance non acceptable de compteurs et de faire passer ceux-ci comme étant conformes aux exigences applicables.

4.0 Politique

Mesures Canada ou tout autre parti effectuant des inspections au nom de Mesures Canada doit déterminer si le compteur du système satisfait aux exigences de performance de sa plage approuvée sans avoir recours à l'étalonnage multipoint. De plus les inspecteurs doivent s'assurer qu'aucun dispositif d'ajustage n'est employé pour dissimuler une installation inappropriée ou des pièces défectueuses ou usées.

4.1 Essais supplémentaires

Lorsqu'un système de mesure muni de la fonction d'étalonnage multipoint doit subir une inspection initiale, un essai à débit élevé et un essai à débit faible doivent être réalisés à l'aide d'un seul facteur de correction. Il faut d'abord consulter l'avis d'approbation afin de déterminer si l'enregistreur est équipé de cette fonction, et si elle est activée. Si c'est le cas, le technicien de service doit consigner les valeurs existantes et entrer un facteur unique pour tous les débits. Les essais à débits élevé et faible doivent être menés selon la procédure normale. Le débit élevé doit être équivalent à la capacité maximale du système tandis que le débit faible doit être établi conformément au Bulletin V3, article 4.3. Pour les systèmes de mesure servant à mesurer plus d'un liquide, l'essai doit être fait à l'aide du liquide ayant la viscosité la plus faible (en d'autres mots, si un compteur doit mesurer le diesel et l'essence, l'essai est effectué avec l'essence.)

4.2 Interprétation des résultats

Pour les liquides habituels, la différence entre les résultats à débit élevé et à débit faible ne devrait pas être supérieure à 0,5 % (2 x 0,25 %). Il n'est pas nécessaire que les deux mesures (ou une des deux mesures) se trouvent en-deça de ± 0,25 % de la vraie valeur. Si l'étendue des résultats est supérieure à 0,5 %, il faut interrompre l'essai et suivre les procédures régulières applicables aux compteurs non conformes.

Si l'étendue des résultats est inférieure à 0,5 %, la fonction d'étalonnage multipoint peut être utilisée. Si plusieurs facteurs ont été déterminés durant les essais préalables, ils doivent être entrés à nouveau et tous les essais applicables doivent être exécutés. Le compteur doit être ajusté aussi près que possible de l'erreur zéro, à tous les débits, conformément au par. 35.1 du Règlement sur les poids et mesures. L'écart entre des facteurs adjacents doit être examiné pour s'assurer que les exigences de la SVM 1, article 10 sont satisfaites.

Dans le cas des systèmes de mesure utilisés pour des liquides non habituels, comme les GPL ou les huiles lubrifiantes, la politique susmentionnée s'applique par analogie, sauf que l'écart ne doit pas dépasser deux fois la marge de tolérance applicable, et non 0,5 %, et que les résultats ne doivent pas se situer dans la marge de tolérance.

Date de modification :