Bulletin C-03: Filling of portable propane cylinders

Category: Commodities
Issue date:
Effective date:
Revision number: 7
Supersedes: 6


Table of contents


1.0 Scope

This bulletin applies only to propane sold in cylinders.

2.0 Purpose

This bulletin provides guidance with respect to the sale of propane in portable cylinders as well as the requirements and exemptions for devices used to measure the quantity of propane sold in cylinders.

3.0 References

4.0 Methods of sale

The following methods are currently used for the sale of propane in portable cylinders:

  1. Exchanging the customer's empty or partially empty cylinder for a cylinder that has been filled and marked with a net weight prior to being offered for sale at the retail level.
  2. Filling the customer's cylinder, weighing the propane added at the time of the sale, returning the cylinder to the customer and providing them with the weight of the propane added to the cylinder. The weight of propane delivered is determined by subtracting the weight of the cylinder before filling from the weight after filling.
  3. Filling the customer's cylinder, measuring the volume of propane added at the time of the sale, returning the cylinder to the customer and providing them with the volume of the propane added to the cylinder.
  4. Refilling propane cylinders for a flat rate based on the capacity of the cylinder, regardless of the amount of propane added (traders who use this method typically use a scale to prevent overfilling rather than determining the quantity of propane added).

Traders are not limited to using the methods described above. However, if other methods are used, they must meet the requirements of the Weights and Measures Act (WMA) and any other applicable Act of Parliament.

5.0 Applicable legislation

5.1 Legislation applicable to retail sales

Under retail cylinder exchange programs, propane is sold as a prepackaged product, and as a result, the labelling and accuracy requirements are subject to the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act.

Retail sales of propane in cylinders by weight, volume and flat rate are subject to the WMA.

5.2 Legislation applicable to non-retail sales

Non-retail sales of propane as part of cylinder exchange programs by weight, volume and flat rate are subject to the WMA.

5.3 Administration and enforcement

The WMA is administered and enforced by Measurement Canada.

The Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act is administered and enforced by the Competition Bureau.

6.0 Statement of quantity

When propane is sold by weight or by volume, a written or printed statement of quantity must be provided to meet the requirements of section 9 of the WMA.

6.1 Commodities weighed and measured in the presence of the customer

Paragraph 46(a) of the Weights and Measures Regulations (WMR) exempts commodities weighed and measured in the presence of the customer from the statement of quantity requirement set out in section 9 of the WMA. However, this exemption does not apply to sales of propane by weight or volume, because customers are prohibited from entering the area where the propane is measured, and as a result, they are unable to see the quantity indications on the measuring equipment. Consequently, a written or printed statement of quantity must be provided to the customer.

6.2 Price of propane based on a unit of measurement

As required by subsection 48(3) of the WMR, when the price of propane is based on a unit of measurement, that same unit of measurement must be used to state the quantity (e.g., the statement of quantity must indicate kilograms (kg) when the propane is sold by $/kg, litres (L) when the propane is sold by $/L and pounds (lb) when the propane is sold by $/lb).

6.3 Exchange of prefilled propane cylinders at the retail level

Where retailers exchange prefilled propane cylinders for empty or partially filled ones, these prefilled cylinders are considered as standard quantity prepackaged products and are subject to the net quantity labelling requirements of the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act. In these cases, an accurate net weight declaration must be clearly and prominently displayed on the principal display panel of the cylinder.

6.4 Sale of propane at a flat rate

Many retailers charge a flat rate to refill propane cylinders regardless of the amount of propane added. In most cases, when a receipt is issued, the capacity of the cylinder is stated rather than the quantity of propane added to the cylinders. Traders who use this method are not obliged to state the amount of propane added to the cylinder since the fee is for the service rather than the quantity of propane added.

7.0 Limits of error

  1. For sales of propane in cylinders by weight or volume, when the quantity of propane is measured at the time of sale, any quantity shortage in excess of the prescribed limits of error is a violation of sections 9 and 33 of the WMA.
    • The stated quantity must be accurate within the limits of error prescribed by section 49 of the WMR.
      • Subsection 49(1) of the WMR prescribes the limits of error in Schedule II of the WMR.
      • When propane is sold by volume and a propane meter is used to measure the volume of propane added to the cylinder, subsection 49(2) of the WMR prescribes a limit of error for the stated quantity of propane added of one and one-half times the prescribed in-service limits of error for the propane meter as outlined in section 268.
      • When the test standard or the test quantity specified in section 268 of the WMR is not known, the commodity limits of error prescribed by subsection 49(1) are used for the sale of propane on the basis of volume.
  2. For sales of propane through a cylinder exchange program, the stated weight must be accurate subject to the tolerances (limits of error) prescribed by subsection 38(2) of the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Regulations.
  3. For sales of propane cylinder refills for a flat rate regardless of the amount of propane added, there are no limits of error since there is no stated quantity.

8.0 Requirements for propane scales and meters

8.1 Scales and meters used to fill cylinders by weight or volume

8.2 Mandatory inspection frequencies

Propane scales and meters are subject to the following mandatory inspection frequencies:

9.0 Exemptions

9.1 Devices used as part of cylinder exchange programs

Propane scales and meters used exclusively to fill cylinders to the same net weight as part of a cylinder exchange program are exempt from approval, initial inspection and mandatory periodic inspections. They must also be marked "For Prepackaging Use Only" in accordance with subsection 23(2) of the WMR. Devices with this marking must not be used for any other trade measurement.

9.2 Scales and meters used to fill cylinders for a flat fee

Propane scales and meters used exclusively to fill propane cylinders for a flat fee are considered as not being used in trade, since the amount of propane added is not declared and has no bearing on the price. Therefore, these scales and meters are exempt from approval, initial inspection or mandatory periodic inspections and must be marked "Not Legal for Trade". If an approved scale or meter is used, it must be marked "Not for Use in Trade". Scales and meters with either of these markings must not be used to determine the quantity of propane sold or for any other trade measurement.

Scales and meters that are not marked are considered as being used in trade and are required to be approved and initially inspected, and are subject to mandatory periodic inspections.

10.0 Enforcement

Traders are responsible for ensuring that:

Failure to comply with these legal requirements may result in one of the following enforcement actions:

Enforcement action is taken when propane cylinders are under filled and the error is greater than the allowable limits of error.

11.0 Safety

This bulletin neither supersedes nor is intended to contradict or circumvent any other government or industry rules governing safety related to propane filling systems.

12.0 Revisions

The purpose of revision 7 was to:

The purpose of revision 6 was to:

Date modified:

Bulletin C-03 : Remplissage de bouteilles portables de propane

Catégorie : Marchandises
Date de publication :
Date d'entrée en vigueur :
Numéro de révision : 7
Remplace : 6


Table des matières


1.0 Domaine d'application

Le présent bulletin vise seulement le propane vendu en bouteilles.

2.0 Objectif

Le présent bulletin vise à fournir une orientation concernant la vente de propane dans des bouteilles portables ainsi que les exigences et les exemptions visant les appareils utilisés pour mesurer la quantité de propane vendu en bouteilles.

3.0 Références

4.0 Méthodes de vente

Les méthodes suivantes sont présentement utilisées pour la vente de propane dans des bouteilles portables :

  1. Échanger la bouteille vide ou partiellement vide du client contre une bouteille qui a été remplie et marquée d'un poids net avant sa mise en vente au détail.
  2. Remplir la bouteille du client, peser le propane ajouté au moment de la vente, remettre la bouteille au client et lui indiquer le poids du propane qui a été ajouté à la bouteille. Le poids de propane livré est obtenu en soustrayant le poids de la bouteille avant remplissage du poids de la bouteille après remplissage.
  3. Remplir la bouteille du client, mesurer le volume de propane ajouté au moment de la vente, remettre la bouteille au client et lui indiquer le volume de propane ajouté à la bouteille.
  4. Remplir les bouteilles de propane à un prix fixe en fonction de la capacité de la bouteille, quelle que soit la quantité de propane ajouté (les commerçants qui utilisent cette méthode se servent habituellement d'une balance pour prévenir les débordements plutôt que pour déterminer la quantité de propane ajouté).

Les commerçants ne sont pas limités à l'utilisation des méthodes décrites ci-dessus. Toutefois, si les commerçants se servent d'autres méthodes, ces dernières doivent respecter les exigences de la Loi sur les poids et mesures (LPM) et de toute autre loi du Parlement applicable.

5.0 Législation applicable

5.1 Législation applicable aux ventes au détail

Dans le cadre des programmes d'échange de bouteilles au détail, le propane est vendu comme un produit préemballé, par conséquent, les exigences relatives à l'étiquetage et à la précision sont assujetties à la Loi sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation.

Les ventes au détail de propane en bouteilles au poids, au volume et à un prix fixe sont assujetties à la LPM.

5.2. Législations applicables aux ventes hors détail

Les ventes de propane hors détail dans le cadre d'un programme d'échange de bouteilles au poids, au volume et à un prix fixe sont assujetties à la LPM.

5.3 Application de la loi

La LPM est appliquée par Mesures Canada.

La Loi sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation est appliquée par le Bureau de la concurrence.

6.0 Déclaration de la quantité

Lorsque le propane est vendu au poids ou au volume, il faut fournir une déclaration de la quantité écrite ou imprimée pour satisfaire aux exigences de l'article 9 de la LPM.

6.1 Marchandises pesées et mesurées en présence du client

En vertu de l'alinéa 46a) du Règlement sur les poids et mesures (RPM), les marchandises pesées ou mesurées en présence du client sont exemptées de l'exigence relative au marquage prescrite à l'article 9 de la LPM. Cependant, cette exemption ne vise pas les ventes de propane au poids ou au volume, car les acheteurs de propane n'ont pas le droit de se trouver dans la zone où l'on mesure le propane, donc ils ne voient pas la quantité indiquée par l'appareil de mesure. Par conséquent, il faut fournir au client une déclaration de quantité écrite ou imprimée.

6.2 Prix du propane déterminé d'après une unité de mesure

Comme l'exige le paragraphe 48(3) du RPM, lorsque le prix du propane est déterminé d'après une unité de mesure, cette même unité de mesure doit être utilisée dans la déclaration de quantité (p. ex. la déclaration de quantité doit être exprimée en kilogrammes (kg) si le propane est vendu en $/kg, en litres (L) si le propane est vendu en $/L et en livres (lb) si le propane est vendu en $/lb).

6.3 Échange de bouteilles de propane préremplies au détail

Lorsque les commerçants échangent des bouteilles de propane préremplies contre des bouteilles vides ou partiellement remplies, ces bouteilles préremplies sont considérées comme étant des produits préemballés à quantité standard et sont assujetties aux exigences d'étiquetage visant la quantité nette de la Loi sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation. Dans de tels cas, une déclaration précise du poids net doit figurer bien en vue dans la partie principale de l'étiquetage de la bouteille.

6.4. Vente de propane à un prix fixe

Bon nombre de commerçants facturent un prix fixe pour remplir les bouteilles de propane, quelle que soit la quantité de propane ajouté. Dans la plupart des cas, lorsqu'une facture est remise, la capacité de la bouteille est déclarée plutôt que la quantité de propane ajouté aux bouteilles. Les commerçants qui se servent de cette méthode ne sont pas tenus de déclarer la quantité de propane ajouté à la bouteille, car les frais sont exigés pour le service et non pas pour la quantité de propane ajouté.

7.0 Marges de tolérance

  1. En ce qui concerne les ventes de propane en bouteilles au poids ou au volume, lorsque la quantité de propane est mesurée au moment de la vente, toute quantité manquante supérieure aux marges de tolérance prescrites constitue une infraction aux articles 9 et 33 de la LPM.
    • La quantité déclarée doit être exacte et respecter les marges de tolérance spécifiées à l'article 49 du RPM.
      • Le paragraphe 49(1) du RPM prescrit les marges de tolérance spécifiées à l'annexe II du RPM.
      • Lorsque le propane est vendu au volume et qu'un compteur de propane est utilisé pour mesurer le volume de propane ajouté à la bouteille, le paragraphe 49(2) du RPM prescrit une marge de tolérance pour la quantité déclarée de propane ajoutée à la bouteille correspondant à une fois et demie les marges de tolérance en service prescrites pour le compteur de propane figurant à l'article 268.
      • Dans les cas où la quantité d'essai ou l'étalon d'essai prescrits à l'article 268 du RPM ne sont pas connus, les marges de tolérance pour les marchandises spécifiées au paragraphe 49(1) sont utilisées pour la vente de propane au volume.
  2. Dans le cas des ventes de propane dans le cadre d'un programme d'échange de bouteilles, le poids déclaré doit être exact et respecter les marges de tolérance (tolérances) figurant au paragraphe 38(2) du Règlement sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation.
    1. Dans le cas des ventes de remplissages de bouteilles de propane à un prix fixe quel que soit la quantité de propane ajouté, il n'y a pas de marges de tolérance, car il n'y a pas de quantité déclarée.

8.0 Exigences visant les balances et les compteurs de propane

8.1 Balances et compteurs utilisés pour remplir les bouteilles au poids ou au volume

8.2 Fréquences d'inspection obligatoires

Les balances et les compteurs de propane sont assujettis aux fréquences d'inspection obligatoires suivantes :

9.0 Exemptions

9.1. Appareils utilisés dans le cadre de programmes d'échange de bouteilles

Les compteurs de propane qui sont utilisés uniquement pour remplir des bouteilles au même poids net dans le cadre d'un programme d'échange de bouteilles sont exemptés de l'approbation, de l'inspection initiale et des inspections périodiques obligatoires. Ils doivent aussi porter la mention « Pour préemballage seulement » conformément au paragraphe 23(2) du RPM. Les appareils portant cette mention ne doivent pas être utilisés pour toute autre mesure commerciale.

9.2. Balances et compteurs utilisés pour remplir les bouteilles à un prix fixe

Les balances et les compteurs de propane utilisés uniquement pour remplir les bouteilles de propane à un prix fixe sont considérés comme n'étant pas utilisés dans le commerce, car la quantité de propane ajouté n'est pas déclarée et n'a pas d'incidence sur le prix. Par conséquent, ces balances et compteurs sont exemptés de l'approbation, de l'inspection initiale et des inspections périodiques obligatoires et doivent porter la mention « Non légal pour le commerce ». Si une balance ou un compteur approuvé est utilisé, ils doivent porter la mention « Ne pas utiliser dans le commerce ». Les balances et les compteurs portant l'une ou l'autre de ces mentions ne doivent pas être utilisés pour déterminer la quantité de propane vendu ou pour toute autre mesure commerciale.

Les balances et les compteurs qui ne portent pas de mention sont considérés comme étant utilisés dans le commerce et doivent être approuvés et faire l'objet d'une inspection initiale, et sont assujettis aux inspections périodiques obligatoires.

10.0 Application de la loi

Les commerçants ont la responsabilité de veiller à ce que :

Le défaut de respecter ces exigences juridiques pourrait entraîner l'une des mesures d'application suivantes :

Une mesure d'application est prise lorsque les bouteilles de propane ne sont pas complètement remplies et que l'erreur dépasse les marges de tolérance admissibles.

11.0 Sécurité

Le présent bulletin ne vise pas à remplacer ni à contredire ou à contourner toute autre règle du gouvernement ou de l'industrie régissant la sécurité des systèmes de remplissage de gaz propane.

12.0 Révisions

La révision 7 visait à :

La révision 6 visait à :

Date de modification :