S-EG-01—Electricity and gas meter pattern approval applications—quality and measurement reliability information requirements in support of a lengthened initial reverification period

Information bulletin—Measurement Canada publishes general requirements in support of lengthened initial reverification periods for natural gas and electricity meters


Category: Electricity and gas
Specification: S-EG-01 (rev. 2)
Document(s): (see References 3.0)
Issue date: 2011-10-03
Effective date: 2011-10-03
Supersedes: S-EG-01 (rev. 1)


Table of contents


1.0 Scope

This specification establishes quality and measurement reliability information requirements for electricity and natural gas meter pattern approval applications in support of the lengthening of a meter's initial reverification period.

The provision permitting approval applicants to apply for a lengthened initial reverification period is applicable to the following electricity and natural gas meter types:

1.1 Electronic single customer electricity meters and multiple customer metering systems (MCMS), where:

  1. The meter class, type or design received Measurement Canada approval on or after January 1st, 2004; or
  2. The meter class, type or design received a formal revision to its notice of approval on or after January 1st, 2004 and the specific meter class, type, or design to which the application relates, continued to be produced by the meter manufacturer on or after January 1st, 2004.

1.2 Diaphragm gas meters, where:

  1. The meter class, type or design has a rated air capacity of less than 240 cubic ft/hour (6.8m3/hr).

1.3 Electronic volume conversion devices, where:

  1. The electronic volume conversion device is of a class, type or pattern that is designed to be installed on the instrument drive or magnetic coupling of a turbine, rotary or diaphragm meter and excludes a conversion function that is contained within a flow computer.

1.4 Ultrasonic gas meters, where:

  1. The meter class, type or design includes a battery-powered register and associated processing circuitry, all enclosed within the same meter case and is used to measure volumes of gas at working pressures up to a maximum of 200 kPa.

2.0 Authority

This specification is issued pursuant to subsection 9(4) and 12(1)(c) of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act and subsection 12(1) and section 13 of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Regulations.

3.0 References

3.1 Electricity and Gas Inspection Act (R.S. 1985, c. E-4), ss. 9(4), ss.12(1)(c).

3.2 Electricity and Gas Inspection Regulations (SOR/86-131), ss. 12(1), s. 13.

3.3 Bulletin E-26—Reverification Periods for Electricity Meters and Metering Installations

3.4 Bulletin G-18—Reverification Periods for Gas Meters, Ancillary Devices and Metering Installations

3.5 Bulletin E-28—Electricity Meters Qualified for a Lengthened Initial Reverification Period of 10 years

3.6 Bulletin G-03—Natural Gas meters and Ancillary devices Qualified for a Lengthened Initial Reverification period

3.7 ISO 9001:2000 Quality management systems—Requirements

4.0 Requirements

4.1 As part of the additional information required for an application for pattern approval per paragraph 13(f) of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Regulations, and where an applicant wishes to have a meter meeting the criteria stated in clause 1.0 considered for the purposes of lengthening the initial reverification period, the applicant shall provide the following information with regard to the subject meter:

  1. a description of the manufacturer's quality management system (ISO 9001:2000 or equivalent) that is accredited or registered by an entity (other than Measurement Canada) that is nationally or internationally recognized. Proof of accreditation or registration shall be provided to MC.
  2. a written attestation signed by the meter manufacturer's head of engineering and responsible quality authority in support of a specified meter's performance reliability and the applicant's request for a lengthened initial reverification period.
  3. for meters eligible for application under clause 1.1 (b), an attestation by the meter manufacturer with regard to the meter's production chronology.

4.2 Where a meter's notice of approval recognizes different meter configurations, makes, models, types or sub-types as being approved, and the applicant wishes to have the different variations considered of equal quality and measurement reliability for the purposes of being subject to the lengthened initial reverification period, the applicant shall clearly describe and attest to each make, model, configuration, rating or capacity to which application of the lengthened initial reverification period is being sought.

4.3 For the purposes of applying this specification and specification S-S-05 to multiple customer metering systems (MCMSs), each meter within an MCMS shall be considered to represent one metering unit for the purposes of establishing the total meter population and the selection of individual sample meters. For example, if one MCMS represents 10 meters or metering points, 20 complete systems sampled in accordance to S-S-05 would meet the minimum sample size requirement.

4.4 The formal lengthening or shortening of a meter's initial reverification period shall be determined on the basis of the provision of the information in clauses 4.1 and 4.2 and on the qualifying guidance provided by the documents referred to in clauses 3.3 and 3.4, as applicable. In this regard, qualifying meters may also be the subject of further in-service eligibility criteria.

4.5 Where a meter qualifies for a lengthened initial reverification period under this specification, the application of a lengthened initial reverification period to eligible meters of a specific meter type, class, make, model or configuration shall be communicated by way of Measurement Canada's website.

5.0 Revision

5.1 The purpose of this revision is to add certain multiple customer metering systems to the document's scope and clarify the applicability of the requirements for multiple customer metering systems.

5.2 The purpose of revision 1 was to add certain diaphragm gas meters, ultrasonic gas meters and electronic volume conversion devices to the document's scope.

Date modified:

S-EG-01 — Demandes d'approbation de modèles de compteurs d'électricité et de gaz — Données de qualité et de fiabilité requises en vue de prolonger la période de revérification initiale

Bulletin d'information — Mesures Canada publie des exigences générales relatives au prolongement de la période initiale de revérification des compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel


Catégorie : Électricité et gaz
Norme : S-EG-01 (rév. 2)
Document(s) : (voir références 3.0)
Date de diffusion : 2011-10-03
Entrée en vigueur : 2011-10-03
Remplace : S-EG-01 (rév. 1)


Table des matières


1.0 Domaine d'application

La présente norme établit les exigences relatives aux informations sur la qualité et la fiabilité des mesures requises lors d'une demande d'approbation de modèle de compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel visant à prolonger la période de revérification initiale d'un compteur.

Les dispositions permettant aux demandeurs d'approbation de demander une prolongation de la période de revérification initiale s'appliquent aux types de compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel suivants :

1.1 Compteurs électroniques d'électricité à client unique et systèmes de mesurage à clients multiples, dans l'un ou l'autre des cas suivants :

  1. l'approbation de la catégorie, du type ou du modèle de compteur a été accordée par Mesures Canada le 1er janvier 2004 ou après cette date;
  2. la révision officielle de l'avis d'approbation de la catégorie, du type ou du modèle du compteur a été effectuée le 1er janvier 2004 ou après cette date et la catégorie, le type ou le modèle de compteur auxquels la demande s'applique était encore fabriqué le 1er janvier 2004 ou a continué d'être fabriqué après cette date.

1.2 Compteurs de gaz à parois déformables, dans le cas suivant :

  1. la catégorie, le type ou le modèle de compteur possède une capacité nominale en air inférieure à 6,8 m3/h (240 pi3/h).

1.3 Dispositifs de conversion du volume électroniques, dans le cas suivant :

  1. l'appareil de conversion électronique est d'une catégorie, d'un type ou d'un modèle conçu pour être installé sur le dispositif d'entraînement ou l'accouplement à aimant d'un compteur à turbine, à pistons rotatifs ou à parois déformables, sans toutefois incorporer la fonction de conversion présente dans un débitmètre-ordinateur.

1.4 Compteurs de gaz à ultrasons, dans le cas suivant :

  1. la catégorie, le type ou le modèle du compteur comporte un dispositif indicateur à pile et les circuits de traitement connexes, tous incorporés dans le même boîtier que le compteur et le compteur sert à mesurer des volumes de gaz à des pressions de service allant jusqu'à 200 kPa.

2.0 Autorité

La présente norme est diffusée en vertu du paragr. 9(4) et de l'alinéa 12(1)c) de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz ainsi que du paragr. 12(1) et de l'article 13 du Règlement sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz.

3.0 Références

3.1 Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz (L.R. 1985, ch. E-4), paragr. 9(4), alinéa 12(1)c).

3.2 Règlement sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz (DORS/86-131), paragr. 12(1), art. 13.

3.3 Bulletin E-26 — Périodes de revérification des compteurs d'électricité et des installations de mesurage

3.4 Bulletin G-18 — Périodes de revérification pour les compteurs de gaz, les appareils auxiliaires et les installations de mesure

3.5 Bulletin E-28 — Compteurs d'électricité admissibles à une période de revérification initiale prolongée de 10 ans

3.6 Bulletin G-03 — Compteurs de gaz naturel et appareils auxiliaires admissibles à une période de revérification initiale prolongée

3.7 ISO 9001:2000 Systèmes de management de la qualité — Exigences

4.0 Exigences

4.1 Lors d'une demande d'approbation de modèle, le demandeur doit fournir les renseignements suivants sur le compteur, s'il y a lieu, en conformité à l'al.13f) du Règlement sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz, et dans l'éventualité où le demandeur souhaite obtenir un compteur qui satisfait aux critères énoncés à l'article 1.0, aux fins de prolongation de la période de revérification initiale, le demandeur doit fournir les renseignements suivants :

  1. Une description du système de management de la qualité du fabricant (ISO 9001:2000 ou l'équivalent) accrédité ou enregistré par une entité (autre que Mesures Canada) reconnue sur le plan national ou international. Une preuve d'accréditation ou d'enregistrement doit être fournie à MC.
  2. Une attestation écrite signée par le chef des services techniques et le responsable de la qualité chez le fabricant du compteur pour garantir la fiabilité d'un compteur sur le plan du rendement ainsi que la demande de prolongation de la période de revérification initiale.
  3. pour les compteurs qui satisfont aux critères énoncés à l'al.1.1 b), une attestation du fabricant portant sur la chronologie des étapes de fabrication du compteur.

4.2 Dans le cas où l'avis d'approbation indique diverses configurations,conceptions, modèles, types ou sous-types de compteurs, et si le demandeur souhaite que ces différentes variations soient considérées comme étant de la même qualité et offrant la même fiabilité de la mesure aux fins de prolongation de la période de revérification initiale, le demandeur doit décrire clairement la marque, le modèle, la configuration, les caractéristiques nominales ou la capacité de chaque compteur à l'égard duquel on demande une prolongation de la période de vérification initiale.

4.3 Aux fins d'application de la présente norme et de la norme S-S-05 aux systèmes de mesurage à clients multiples (SMCM), chaque compteur faisant partie d'un SMCM doit représenter une unité dans l'établissement de la population totale des compteurs et dans la sélection de chaque compteur d'un échantillon. Par exemple, si un SMCM représente 10 compteurs ou points de mesure, 20 systèmes complets échantillonnés conformément à la norme S-S-05 seraient conformes à l'exigence minimale liée à l'effectif de l'échantillon.

4.4 La prolongation ou le raccourcissement officiels de la période de revérification initiale d'un compteur doit être déterminée en fonction de la mise à disposition des renseignements contenus dans les articles 4.1 et 4.2, et en fonction des indications qui figurent dans les documents mentionnés en 3.3 et 3.4, selon le cas. à ce propos, les compteurs admissibles peuvent aussi être assujettis à d'autres critères d'admissibilité en service.

4.5 Lorsqu'un compteur remplit les conditions requises pour une prolongation de la période de revérification initiale en vertu de la présente norme, l'application d'une prolongation de la période de revérification initiale à des compteurs admissibles de type, catégorie, marque, modèle ou configuration spécifique sera communiquée par l'entremise du site Web de Mesures Canada.

5.0 Révision

5.1 Le but de la présente révision est d'ajouter les systèmes de mesurage à clients multiples au domaine d'application et de clarifier l'applicabilité des exigences pour les systèmes de mesurage à clients multiples.

5.2 Le but de la révision 1 était d'ajouter certains compteurs de gaz à parois déformables, compteurs de gaz à ultrasons et dispositifs de conversion du volume électroniques.

Date de modification :