Units of Measurement Applied to the Sale of Electricity or Natural Gas in Canada and the Provision of Meter Registration Information

2010-02-04

Recent deregulation initiatives introduced by some provincial energy distribution and rate regulators have led to significant billing invoice format changes, and some of these changes have been found to be in conflict with the requirements of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act. Consequently, the purpose of this information bulletin is to advise electricity and natural gas suppliers of their obligations with regard to the appropriate use of legal units of measurement and the ongoing need for the communication of meter readings on consumer bills.

Where a person (including an unincorporated body that is a contractor, such as an electricity or gas utility or supplier) sells electricity or natural gas on the basis of measurement, the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act requires that the quantity of the product (e.g. electricity energy or volume of natural gas) sold to the purchaser be established using a unit of measurement that is recognized by the statute for this purpose.

Where a quantity statement is used to represent the amount of electricity sold to a purchaser, the unit of measurement expressed must conform to the standard definition for that unit as established pursuant to the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act and Regulations. It is the standardization of the unit of measurement, in terms of what it represents, that provides for uniformity, fairness, and transparency in trade measurement for all Canadians.

For example, where a kilowatt hour (kWh) has been utilized as the unit of measurement for the sale of electricity, the value representing the amount of electricity sold must be capable of being independently reproduced. Reproducibility of the unit of measurement is essential in arriving at a conclusion as to whether the statement of quantity is valid (where validation is established on the basis of a comparison between the quantity of electricity supplied as represented on the billing invoice, and the true quantity of electricity that should have been supplied).

Electricity or natural gas utilities and retailers need to ensure that the following quantity-related obligations are fulfilled when electricity or natural gas is sold on the basis of measurement:

  1. the quantity of electricity or natural gas sold to a purchaser is established in terms of a measurement unit that is recognized under the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act;
  2. the unit of measurement applied is one which is capable of being realized in a manner which is valid, such that its reproducibility can be achieved in accordance with recognized and accepted legal metrology practices, and in compliance with the measurement traceability requirements of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act & the Weights and Measures Act; and
  3. the measurement information used to establish the charge for the electricity or natural gas supplied, is based on the approved and verified meter registrations/readings.

Of particular note, utilities or retailers selling electricity or natural gas in Canada on the basis of measurement are further advised that quantity representations that are qualified (using terms such as “adjusted”, “adjusted consumption”, “adjusted usage” or “billed usage”) must satisfy obligations (1) and (2), where such statements are used to represent the amount of electricity or natural gas being sold to a purchaser.

Any meter used to establish a charge for the amount of electricity or natural gas being supplied to a purchaser, is required by the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act to be of an approved pattern (design) and verified for performance-accuracy before being used for this purpose. If a meter equipped with a single cumulative consumption register/display is used to measure supplied energy during a specific calendar-based billing period, the meter's registration reading taken at the beginning and end of the period must be used as the reference for establishing the specific quantity of energy that has been supplied (in accordance with obligation (3)).

Where modifications to billing invoice formats have been made by electricity utilities and retailers (following provincial electricity market deregulation) and this action has resulted in an apparent conflict with one or more of the above-noted measurement related obligations, electricity utilities and retailers will be required to implement corrective actions to ensure that their measurement related obligations are fulfilled. In recognition of the fact that some provincial electricity energy markets are still evolving and that billing format modifications will need to be implemented in an efficient and cost effective manner, electricity utilities and retailers are being provided with a corrective action implementation period to effect the necessary changes. Notwithstanding the above, Measurement Canada is requiring full compliance with the above stated obligations no later than .

Guy Dacquay
Manager, Utility Metering Division
Program Development Division
Measurement Canada

For additional information concerning this Information Bulletin, please contact:

Michael Abraham
Senior Program Officer, Utility Metering Division
Program Development Directorate

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Unités de mesure appliquées à la vente d'électricité et de gaz naturel au Canada et publication de l'information enregistrée dans les compteurs

2010-02-04

Les récentes initiatives de déréglementation lancées par les organismes de réglementation provinciaux responsables de la distribution et de la tarification de l'énergie ont mené à des changements importants dans la présentation de la facture et quelques-uns de ces changements sont en contradiction avec les exigences de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. Par conséquent, l'objet du présent bulletin d'information est d'informer les fournisseurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel de leurs obligations visant l'utilisation appropriée des unités de mesure légales et de la nécessité d'inscrire les relevés des compteurs sur les factures des consommateurs.

Lorsqu'une personne (y compris une entité non constituée en personne morale qui est un fournisseur, tel que des services publics ou un fournisseur d'électricité ou de gaz) vend de l'électricité ou du gaz en fonction d'une unité de mesure, la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz exige que la quantité du produit (par ex. l'électricité et le volume de gaz naturel) vendue à l'acheteur doit être exprimée en fonction d'une des unités de mesure prescrites par la Loi pour cet usage.

Lorsqu'une quantité est utilisée pour représenter la quantité d'électricité vendue à un acheteur, l'unité de mesure exprimée doit être conforme aux définitions normalisées de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz et du Règlement. C'est la normalisation des unités de mesure qui permet d'assurer l'uniformité, l'équité et la transparence dans les mesures commerciales pour tous les Canadiens.

Par exemple, si le kilowatt-heure (kWh) a servi d'unité de mesure pour la vente d'électricité, la valeur indiquant la quantité d'électricité vendue doit pouvoir être reproductible de façon indépendante. La reproductibilité d'une mesure est essentielle pour tirer une conclusion quant à la validité d'un énoncé de quantité (lorsque la validation est effectuée en fonction de la comparaison de la quantité d'électricité fournie, indiquée sur la facture, et de la quantité réelle d'électricité qui aurait dû être fournie).

Les services publics et les fournisseurs d'électricité ou de gaz naturel doivent s'assurer que les exigences suivantes relatives à la quantité sont respectées lorsque la vente d'électricité ou du gaz naturel est fondée sur une unité de mesure :

  1. la quantité d'électricité ou de gaz naturel vendue à un acheteur est établie avec une unité de mesure reconnue en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz;
  2. l'unité de mesure appliquée doit pouvoir être exprimée de manière que sa reproductibilité puisse être obtenue conformément aux pratiques de métrologie légale acceptées et reconnues, et aux exigences en matière de traçabilité de la mesure prescrites par la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz et la Loi sur les poids et mesures; et
  3. les mesures utilisées pour établir le prix de l'électricité et du gaz naturel sont fondées sur les enregistrements ou les relevés de compteur approuvés et vérifiés.

Plus particulièrement, on signale aux services publics ou aux fournisseurs vendant au Canada de l'électricité ou du gaz naturel en fonction d'une unité de mesure, que les quantités suivies d'un qualificatif comme « ajusté », « consommation rajustée », « usage ajusté » ou « usage facturé » sont assujetties aux exigences (1) et (2), lorsque ces qualificatifs sont utilisés pour indiquer la quantité d'électricité ou de gaz naturel vendue à l'acheteur.

Tout compteur qui établit le prix d'une quantité d'électricité ou de gaz naturel vendue à un acheteur doit, en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz, être un modèle (conception) approuvé et vérifié quant à son exactitude et à sa précision avant son utilisation. Si un compteur doté d'un seul enregistreur ou indicateur de consommation cumulatif est utilisé pour mesurer la quantité d'énergie fournie durant une période de facturation déterminée selon le calendrier, l'enregistrement du relevé du compteur pris au début et à la fin de cette période doit être utilisé en tant que référence pour l'établissement de la quantité précise d'énergie qui a été fournie (conformément à l'exigence mentionnée en (3)).

Lorsque des modifications de la présentation de la facture ont été apportées par les services publics ou par les fournisseurs d'électricité (à la suite de la déréglementation des marchés provinciaux de l'électricité) et que cette mesure s'est soldée par une contradiction évidente avec une ou plusieurs exigences indiquées ci-dessus, les services publics et les fournisseurs d'électricité doivent prendre des mesures correctives afin de s'assurer que leurs obligations relatives à la mesure sont remplies. En reconnaissance du fait que certains marchés provinciaux sont encore en évolution et que les modifications de la présentation des factures devront être mises en œuvre de manière appropriée, efficace et rentable, on accorde aux services publics et aux fournisseurs d'électricité une période de transition pour apporter les mesures correctives nécessaires. Néanmoins, Mesures Canada exige une conformité complète aux exigences susmentionnées, et ce, au plus tard le .

Guy Dacquay
Gérant, Division des compteurs des services publics
Direction du développement des programmes

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur le présent bulletin d'information, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michael Abraham
Agent principal de programme, Division des compteurs des services publics
Direction du développement des programmes

Date de modification :