GEN–39 — Replacement of markings on information plates

Category: General
Issue Date: 2019-03-28
Effective Date: 2019-03-28
Revision number: 1
Supersedes: GEN-39


Table of Contents


1.0 Scope

This bulletin applies to weighing and measuring devices with an information plate (name plate) whose required markings are found, during a subsequent examination, to be illegible or obliterated.

2.0 Purpose

The purpose of this bulletin is to clarify the actions to be taken when a Measurement Canada (MC) inspector or an authorized service provider (ASP) finds a weighing or measuring device with an information plate (name plate) whose required markings are missing or obliterated. In addition, it provides guidance on how to record device information in the Online Reporting Application (ORA).

3.0 References

4.0 Policy

4.1 Required markings that can't be read by an inspector

Where an MC inspector can't read the required markings on a device, they must issue a notice of non-compliance.

The trader must try to retrieve the missing information (e.g. serial number) from past examination certificates, service records or invoices.

If the inspector knows the missing information, they must include it on the notice of non-compliance to help personnel replace it. If the inspector doesn't know it, they must indicate on the notice of non-compliance that the repair agent must contact the MC office to obtain additional information on replacing it.

4.2 Required marking that can't be read by an authorized service provider

If an ASP can't read the information that is required to be marked on a device, the required information and markings must be replaced (see below).

The ASP must make every attempt possible to retrieve the missing information from past examination certificates, ORA and/or service records.

4.3 Replacing initial examination markings

If the original initial examination markings are missing, they must be replaced.

Where information is stamped on a plate, inspectors and ASPs must add an "X" to the normal initial examination markings to indicate that the plate and the initial examination markings are not the original.

Repair agents who are not ASPs, but who are commissioned, as a result of the issuance of a notice of non-compliance, to replace information on a plate with missing initial examination markings, must mark the current year followed by an "X" (YYYY-X) in the area normally reserved for the initial examination markings.

4.4 Replacing initial examination stickers

If a replacement initial examination sticker is required, at least 0.5 cm of the bottom-right corner of the sticker should be cut off at a 45 degree angle. An initial examination sticker with the bottom-right corner missing will indicate that it is a replacement sticker. For more information on the use of initial examination stickers, refer to bulletin GEN-22—Initial Inspection Markings.

4.5 Reporting replacements, repairs, alterations and adjustments

The replacement of a plate or information on a plate as well as any other repairs, alterations or adjustments to the device must be reported in ORA or in writing and forwarded to the nearest MC office as required by subsection 40(2) of the Weights and Measures Regulations.

Where a plate is replaced during an examination and a certificate is issued, the words "Replacement plate" must be added to the Device Notes and/or Device Examination Comments section of the examination certificate.

4.6 Creating a new serial number

Each device requires a serial number. If the original serial number can't be found, a unique serial number made of a combination of the current year and, if available, the ORA-generated examination work order number separated by a hyphen (e.g. 2018-12345678) must be created. If the work order number is not available, the current year and any combination of six numbers (e.g. 2018-645458) should be used instead.

If more than one serial number in the same place is being replaced (e.g. a multi-product petroleum dispenser or a scale's information plate where both the indicator and the base were identified together), one or more additional digits and/or letters separated by a hyphen must be used to identify each device (e.g. 2016-12345678-A1 or 2016-645458-1).

4.7 Replacing the volumetric device capacity

For volumetric devices, device capacity units must not be converted from metric to imperial or vice-versa. The device capacity units must be the same as those found in the device's notice of approval.

5.0 Revisions

The purpose of revision 1 was to:

Date modified:

GEN–39 — Remplacement de marques sur les plaques d'information

Catégorie : Générale
Date de publication : 2019-03-28
Date d'entrée en vigueur : 2019-03-28
Numéro de révision : 1
Remplace : GEN-39


Table des matières


1.0 Domaine d'application

Le présent bulletin vise les appareils de pesage et de mesurage munis d'une plaque d'information (plaque signalétique) dont on a observé, au cours d'un examen subséquent, que les marques requises étaient illisibles ou effacées.

2.0 Objectif

Le présent bulletin vise à clarifier les actions à engager lorsqu'un inspecteur de Mesures Canada (MC) ou un fournisseur de services autorisé (FSA) trouve un appareil de pesage ou de mesurage muni d'une plaque d'information (plaque signalétique) dont les marques requises sont illisibles ou effacées. De plus, il fournit des directives sur la façon de consigner l'information relative aux appareils dans l'Application de déclaration en ligne (ADEL).

3.0 Références

4.0 Politique

4.1 Marques requises qui ne peuvent pas être lues par un inspecteur

Si un inspecteur de MC est incapable de lire les marques requises sur un appareil, il doit remettre un avis de non-conformité.

Le commerçant doit tenter de récupérer l'information manquante (p. ex. le numéro de série) à l'aide d'anciens certificats d'examen, de dossiers d'entretien et de réparation ou de factures.

Si l'inspecteur connaît l'information manquante, il doit l'inscrire sur l'avis de non-conformité afin d'aider le personnel à la remplacer. Si l'inspecteur ne la connaît pas, il doit indiquer sur l'avis de non-conformité que le réparateur doit communiquer avec le bureau de MC pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le remplacement de cette information.

4.2 Marques requises qui ne peuvent pas être lues par un fournisseur de services autorisé

Si un FSA est incapable de lire l'information devant être marquée sur un appareil, l'information et les marques requises doivent être remplacées (voir ci-dessous).

Le FSA doit faire tout ce qu'il peut pour récupérer l'information manquante à l'aide d'anciens certificats d'examen, de l'ADEL et/ou de dossiers d'entretien et de réparation.

4.3 Remplacement des marques d'examen initial

Si les marques d'examen initial d'origine sont manquantes, elles doivent être remplacées.

Lorsque l'information est estampée sur une plaque, les inspecteurs et les FSA doivent ajouter un « X » aux marques normales d'examen initial pour indiquer que la plaque et les marques d'examen initial ne sont pas d'origine.

Les réparateurs qui ne sont pas des FSA, mais qui sont chargés, à la suite de la délivrance d'un avis de non-conformité, de remplacer l'information sur une plaque dont les marques d'examen initial sont manquantes, doivent marquer l'année en cours suivie d'un « X » (AAAA-X) dans la zone normalement réservée aux marques d'examen initial.

4.4 Remplacement des étiquettes d'examen initial

Si une étiquette autocollante d'examen initial de rechange est requise, il faut découper, à un angle de 45°, au moins 0,5 cm du coin droit inférieur de l'étiquette. Une étiquette d'examen initial dont il manque le coin inférieur droit signifiera qu'il s'agit d'une étiquette de rechange. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'utilisation d'étiquettes d'examen initial, veuillez consulter le bulletin GEN-22 — Marquages lors de l'inspection initiale.

4.5 Signalement de remplacements, de réparations, de modifications ou de réglages

Le remplacement d'une plaque ou de l'information sur une plaque, de même que toute autre réparation ou modification ou tout autre réglage de l'appareil doivent être signalés dans l'ADEL ou par écrit au bureau de MC le plus près comme prévu au paragraphe 40(2) du Règlement sur les poids et mesures.

Dans le cas où une plaque est remplacée pendant un examen et qu'un certificat est délivré, les mots « plaque de rechange » doivent être inscrits dans la section Remarques sur l'instrument et/ou Commentaires sur l'examen des instruments du certificat d'examen.

4.6 Création d'un nouveau numéro de série

Chaque appareil doit porter un numéro de série. Si le numéro de série d'origine est introuvable, il faut créer un numéro de série unique fait d'une combinaison de l'année en cours et si disponible, du numéro de bon de travail créé par l'ADEL, séparés par un trait d'union (p. ex. 2018-12345678). Si le numéro du bon de travail n'est pas disponible, l'année en cours et une combinaison de n'importe quels six chiffres (p. ex. 2018-654458) devraient être utilisés.

Dans le cas où plus d'un numéro de série à un seul endroit est remplacé (p. ex. sur la plaque d'un distributeur de carburant à compteurs multiples ou d'une balance dont l'indicateur et le socle ont été identifiés ensemble), un ou plusieurs chiffres et/ou lettres supplémentaires séparés par un trait d'union doivent être utilisés pour identifier chaque instrument. (p.ex. 2016-12345678-A1ou 2016-645458-1).

4.7 Remplacement de la capacité d'appareils volumétriques

En ce qui concerne les appareils volumétriques, les unités indiquant la capacité de l'appareil ne doivent pas être converties du système métrique au système impérial ou vice-versa. Les unités indiquant la capacité doivent être les mêmes que celles figurant dans l'avis d'approbation de l'appareil.

5.0 Révisions

La révision 1 visait à :

Date de modification :