Field Inspection Manual — Non-Automatic Weighing Devices

Part 1, Section 1: Introduction

There should exist a similarity in attitude, procedure and performance by all Measurement Canada personnel and recognized technicians of accredited or registered organizations performing the same general inspections. Uniform application and consistent interpretation of legislation, policies and procedures is key to the effective administration and enforcement of the Weights and Measure Act , Regulations and Ministerial Specifications.

The purpose of this Field Inspection Manual (Inspection Procedure Outlines and Standard Test Procedures) is to provide inspectors and other interested parties with a guide to the inspection of non automatic weighing devices and systems. The Inspection Procedure Outlines (IPO) outline the minimum tests which must be performed to ensure that non automatic weighing devices comply with the legislation. The Standard Test Procedures (STP) provide examination criteria for installation and use of devices and describe test procedures.

The use of the IPOs and STPs to evaluate the compliance of a non automatic weighing device or system should be considered the norm rather than the exception. In some circumstances, additional tests may be warranted. In cases such as these, the Regional Specialists should be consulted, and care must be taken to ensure that these tests adhere to the intent of the Act, Regulations and Specifications for Non Automatic Weighing Devices.

Enforcement action shall be initiated when an infraction sufficient enough to warrant non compliance with the legislation is identified. The enforcement strategy shall be in accordance with the Weights and Measures Enforcement Policy for Weighing and Measuring Devices.

Measurement Canada encourages the reference and use of test procedures and test equipment as identified in this manual, but acknowledges that there are alternative test procedures or test equipment that can be used to inspect a weighing or measuring device. Subject to the review and approval of the proposed test procedure or test equipment by Measurement Canada, the alternative methodology will be accepted and documented in the respective Standards Test Procedure (STP) or Inspection Procedure Outline (IPO) on a case-by-case basis.

Revision

Original document

Date modified:

Manuel de l'inspecteur — Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Partie 1, Section 1 : Introduction

L'attitude, les procédures et la performance des membres du personnel de Mesures Canada de même que les techniciens reconnus des organismes accrédités ou enregistrés effectuant les mêmes inspections générales devraient être similaires. Une application uniforme et une interprétation cohérente de la loi, des politiques et des procédures sont essentielles à l'administration et à la mise en œuvre efficaces de la Loi et du Règlement sur les poids et mesures ainsi que des normes ministérielles.

Le Manuel de l'inspecteur, (Aperçus des méthodes d'inspection et Méthodes d'essai normalisées (AMI/MEN)), fourni aux inspecteurs et autres parties intéressées les critères d'évaluation et les procédures d'essai à utiliser lors de l'inspection des appareils et des systèmes de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique. Les AMI listent les essais minimaux de conformité à effectuer pour les divers types d'appareils de pesage, alors que les MEN énoncent et décrivent les critères de vérification applicables à l'installation et à l'utilisation des appareils et les essais.

L'emploi des AMI et des MEN pour évaluer la conformité d'un appareil ou d'un système à fonctionnement non automatique devrait être la norme et non l'exception. Lorsque des essais supplémentaires sont jugés nécessaires, il faut consulter le spécialiste de la région et s'assurer que ces essais respectent l'esprit de la Loi, du Règlement et des normes ministérielles régissant les appareils de pesage non automatique.

Lorsque des infractions sont constatées, des mesures coercitives doivent être prises conformément aux politiques énoncées dans le manuel "Politique de mise en vigueur de Poids et Mesures régissant les appareils de pesage et de mesurage".

Mesures Canada encourage l'usage des équipements d'essai identifiés et des procédures décrites dans ce manuel. Cependant, Mesures Canada reconnaît qu'il peut y avoir des procédures différentes ou d'autres types d'équipements d'essai qui pourraient être utilisés pour inspecter les appareils de pesage et de mesure. Ces autres procédures ou équipements d'essai pourront être utilisés après avoir été revues et approuvées par Mesures Canada. Le cas échéant, ces méthodes alternatives seront intégrées, au cas par cas, dans la section appropriée de l'Aperçu des méthodes d'inspection (AMI) ou des Méthodes d'essai normalisées (MEN) de ce manuel.

Révision

Document original

Date de modification :