Field Inspection Manual — Non-Automatic Weighing Devices

Part 3, Section 2: STP-2: Limitations and Conditions Listed in the Notice of Approval

References

Section 55 of the Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998).

Notices of Approval (NoA) provide limitations and conditions for the configuration, installation and use of devices and major elements. Inspectors ensure that weighing devices are configured, installed and used in accordance with those limitations and conditions. Such evaluation is normally performed when the device is initially inspected. The following is a list of the most common limitations, and conditions that appear in NoAs.

Class Designation

The class designation is the first indication of the device accuracy. The inspector ensures that the device (or the major element approved separately), is marked with the class designation specified in the NoA, and that the device is of a class authorized for the application in which it is used.

Maximum Capacity (Max)

The inspector ensures that the capacity (or weighing range) has not been set for a value higher than the maximum approved capacity of the device or the maximum capacity of one of the major elements that form the device.

Minimum Scale Interval (d) or Verification Scale Interval (e)

The inspector ensures that the device has not been set for a value of verification scale interval e or, if applicable, actual scale interval d, smaller than the minimum value authorized by the NoA.

Value of the Minimum Verification Scale Interval (emin)

The inspector ensures that the device has not been configured for a value of verification scale interval smaller than the minimum value allowed by the NoA for the weighing element.

Note: Approvals without a specific division size listed (devices approved pre-NAWDS):

  • use the following table to determine the smallest acceptable emin or,
  • if the configured emin is already below this value, contact the Gravimetric Specialist for further information.
Table 1
Max (device capacity) emin (finest interval)
kg
> 100 000 kg 20 kg
> 20 000 to 100 000 kg 10 kg
> 10 000 to 20 000 kg 5 kg
> 5 000 to 10 000 kg 2 kg
> 2 500 to 5 000 kg 1 kg
> 1 000 to 2 500 kg 0.5 kg
> 500 to 1 000 kg 0.2 kg
> 250 to 500 kg 0.1 kg
> 100 to 250 kg 0.05 kg
> 50 to 100 kg 0.02 kg
> 25 to 50 kg 0.01 kg
≤ 25 kg 0.005 kg
lb
> 200,000 lb 50 lb
> 40,000 to 200,000 lb 20 lb
> 20,000 to 40,000 lb 10 lb
> 10,000 to 20,000 lb 5 lb
> 5,000 to 10,000 lb 2 lb
> 2,000 to 5,000 lb 1 lb
> 1,000 to 2,000 lb 0.5 lb
> 500 to 1,000 lb 0.2 lb
> 200 to 500 lb 0.1 lb
> 100 to 200 lb 0.05 lb
> 50 to 100 lb 0.02 lb
≤ 50 lb 0.01 lb

Maximum Number of Scale Intervals (nmax)

The inspector ensures that the device has not been configured for a maximum number of scale intervals (counts) that exceeds the maximum number allowed by the NoA for the indicating element.

Temperature Range

The inspector ensures that the scale is used within the temperature range for which it is approved. If the scale or the components of the scale are approved for the range from -10 °C to + 40 °C, or if there is no temperature range marked on the device, there is no use limitation.

If a restricted temperature range is marked on the device, the inspector ensures that the device is used within that temperature range. For example, a Class III device is approved for a temperature range from +5 °C to +35 °C. This device must be used within that temperature range only.

Installation — Environment

NoAs may contain some other requirements and restrictions related to the installation of certain models of weighing devices or related to the environment in which they may be used.

Mix/Match of Major Elements

Pursuant to the Non Automatic Weighing Devices Specifications, devices made of major detachable components may be tested by the Laboratory as a complete unit, or each major component of the device may be tested separately, according to the manufacturer's instructions. In the first case, the full acceptance limit of error (LOE) is allowed while in the latter case 0.7 times the acceptance limit of error is allowed. Section 10 of the Non Automatic Weighing Devices Specifications applies when major elements such as indicating or weighing elements are tested separately for approval by the Approval Services Laboratory (ASL). This LOE applies only to major components susceptible to produce measurement errors due to disturbances or influence factors. Only a portion of the full LOE (0.7 x LOE) is allowed when testing a major element separately. This ensures that the sum of errors that can be produced, when interfaced with other elements to form a complete weighing device, will not exceed the acceptance LOE.

Only major components tested separately can be mixed/matched to form other devices. For devices approved on or after the adoption of these specifications, NoAs indicate whether or not the major components of a device may be separated and matched with other approved components to form a new device.

Device Usage

Weight Classifiers

Weight classifiers are configured to round the weight values up to the next scale interval. They are suitable for postal or courier applications where tariffs are set for ranges of weights; for instance, $0.50 from 0 g up to and including 30 g. However, this type of scale is not suitable for general purposes where commodities are sold on the basis of weight as in grocery stores. On many scales, the turning point of the graduation (or the zone of uncertainty) can be set (moved up or down closer to the graduation). The inspector ensures that weight classifiers are used only in authorized applications

Devices Not for Use in Direct Sale

Certain devices are designed for industrial applications only. They do not incorporate all the features required normally for direct sale applications. For instance, requirements for tares are more stringent for scales intended to be used in direct sale applications than those for industrial applications.

NoAs will indicate if a device is not for direct sale applications. Industrial devices that resemble devices used in direct sale applications are required to be marked accordingly.

Counting Scales

A device whose sole function is to count items is not included in the definition of "measuring machine" and is not a device as defined by the Act. As such, this type of device is not subject to the Act and Regulations. It requires neither approval nor inspection and may be used in trade.

A device that is capable of both counting and weighing items must have its weighing functions approved and inspected if it is to be used in trade.

Revisions

Rev. 3

  • changed emin table values 20, 200 and 2000 kilograms to 25, 250 and 2500 kilograms respectively. This change was required to reflect common configuration practices.

Rev. 2

  • added Max/emin table for pre-NAWDS devices.

Rev. 1

  • delete "to the Public" form Direct Sales references.
  • add Counting Scale requirements for approval and inspection.
  • correct several inconsistencies and general formatting issues.
  • correct references to Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998).
Date modified:

Manuel de l'inspecteur — Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Partie 3, Section 2 : MEN-2 : Restrictions et conditions énoncées dans l'avis d'approbation

Références

Article 55 des Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (1998).

L'avis d'approbation (AA) énonce les restrictions et les conditions applicables à la configuration, à l'installation et à l'utilisation des appareils et des composants principaux. L'inspecteur s'assure que les appareils de pesage sont configurés, installés et utilisés conformément à ces restrictions et conditions. Cette évaluation s'effectue normalement au moment de l'inspection initiale de l'appareil. Voici une liste des restrictions et des conditions les plus courantes figurant dans les avis d'approbation.

Désignation de la classe

La désignation de la classe est la première indication de la précision d'un appareil. L'inspecteur doit s'assurer que l'appareil (ou les composants principaux approuvés séparément) porte bien la désignation de la classe indiquée dans l'avis d'approbation et que la classe de l'appareil convient à l'usage prévu.

Portée maximale (Max)

L'inspecteur doit s'assurer que la portée (ou l'étendue de pesage) n'a pas été réglée pour une valeur supérieure à la portée maximale approuvée de l'appareil ou à la portée maximale de l'un des composants principaux de l'appareil.

Échelon minimal (d) ou échelon de vérification (e)

L'inspecteur doit s'assurer que l'appareil n'a pas été réglé en fonction d'un échelon de vérification (e) ou, le cas échéant, d'un échelon réel (d), d'une valeur inférieure à la valeur minimale autorisée par l'avis d'approbation.

Valeur de l'échelon minimal de vérification (emin)

L'inspecteur doit s'assurer que l'appareil n'a pas été configuré en fonction d'une valeur d'échelon minimal de vérification inférieure à la valeur minimale autorisée par l'avis d'approbation visant l'élément peseur.

Nota : Dans le cas d'approbations n'indiquant aucune valeur d'échelon (appareils approuvés avant l'entrée en vigueur des NAAPFNA) :

  • utiliser le tableau suivant pour déterminer le plus petit échelon applicable emin ou,
  • si l'emin configuré est déjà inférieur à cette valeur, communiquer avec un spécialiste en gravimétrie pour plus de renseignements.
Tableau 1
Max (portée de l'appareil) emin (plus petit échelon)
kg
> 100 000 kg 20 kg
> 20 000 à 100 000 kg 10 kg
> 10 000 à 20 000 kg 5 kg
> 5 000 à 10 000 kg 2 kg
> 2 500 à 5 000 kg 1 kg
> 1 000 à 2 500 kg 0,5 kg
> 500 à 1 000 kg 0,2 kg
> 250 à 500 kg 0,1 kg
> 100 à 250 kg 0,05 kg
> 50 à 100 kg 0.02 kg
> 25 à 50 kg 0,01 kg
≤ 25 kg 0,005 kg
lb
> 200 000 lb 50 lb
> 40 000 à 200 000 lb 20 lb
> 20 000 à 40 000 lb 10 lb
> 10 000 à 20 000 lb 5 lb
> 5 000 à 10 000 lb 2 lb
> 2 000 à 5 000 lb 1 lb
> 1 000 à 2 000 lb 0,5 lb
> 500 à 1 000 lb 0,2 lb
> 200 à 500 lb 0,1 lb
> 100 à 200 lb 0,05 lb
> 50 à 100 lb 0,02 lb
≤ 50 lb 0,01 lb

Nombre maximal d'échelons (nmax)

L'inspecteur doit s'assurer que l'appareil n'a pas été configuré en fonction d'un nombre maximal d'échelons (dénombrement) supérieur au nombre maximal autorisé par l'avis d'approbation.

Plage de températures

L'inspecteur doit s'assurer que l'appareil de pesage est utilisé à l'intérieur de la plage de températures pour laquelle il a été approuvé. Aucune restriction quant à l'usage ne s'applique aux appareils ou aux composants dont la plage de températures approuvée s'étend de -10 °C à 40 °C ou lorsque aucune plage de températures n'est marquée.

Si l'appareil est marqué d'une plage de températures limitée, l'inspecteur doit s'assurer que celui-ci est utilisé à l'intérieur de cette plage. Par exemple, un appareil de classe III pourrait être approuvé et marqué pour une plage de températures limitée de + 5 °C à + 35 °C. Dans pareil cas, l'appareil ne doit être utilisé qu'à l'intérieur de cette plage.

Installation — Environnement

Les avis d'approbation peuvent aussi contenir des exigences et des restrictions quant à l'installation de certains modèles d'appareils de pesage ou quant à l'environnement dans lequel ils peuvent être utilisés.

Interchangeabilité des composants principaux

Conformément aux Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique, les appareils constitués de composants principaux détachables peuvent être testés par le Laboratoire comme une unité complète ou chaque composant principal de cet appareil peut être testé séparément, selon les instructions du fabricant. Dans le premier cas, on applique la marge de tolérance à l'acceptation complète, alors que dans le second cas, on applique 0,7 fois la marge de tolérance à l'acceptation. L'article 10 des Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique s'applique lorsque le Laboratoire des services d'approbation (LSA) soumet séparément des composants principaux, tels que des composants indicateurs ou des éléments peseurs, à des essais d'approbation. La marge de tolérance ne s'applique qu'aux composants principaux susceptibles de donner des mesures erronées en raison de perturbations ou de facteurs d'influence. Seule une portion de la marge de tolérance totale (0,7 x marge de tolérance) est permise lorsqu'un des composants principaux est mis à l'essai séparément, ce qui garantit que la somme des erreurs qui peuvent se produire lorsque le composant est relié à d'autres éléments pour former un ensemble de pesage ne dépassera pas la marge de tolérance à l'acceptation.

Seuls les composants principaux testés et approuvés séparément peuvent être interchangés entre les appareils. Dans le cas des appareils approuvés depuis l'entrée en vigueur des présentes normes, l'avis d'approbation indique si les composants principaux d'un appareil peuvent être séparés et rattachés à d'autres composants principaux approuvés pour former un nouvel appareil.

Utilisation de l'appareil

Appareils classificateurs de poids

Les appareils classificateurs sont configurés de façon à arrondir les valeurs pondérales à l'échelon supérieur suivant. Ils conviennent dans les domaines de la poste et des entreprises de messagerie où les tarifs sont établis en fonction d'une plage de poids : par exemple, 50 cents pour un poids variant entre 0 et 30 g, inclusivement. Toutefois, ce type de balance ne convient pas à la vente de marchandises en fonction d'un poids, comme dans une épicerie. Sur bien des balances, le point-limite de l'échelon (ou la zone d'incertitude) peut être configuré (plus près de l'échelon). L'inspecteur doit s'assurer que les appareils classificateurs ne sont pas utilisés dans des applications autres que celles pour lesquelles ils sont destinés.

Appareils dont l'emploi est interdit pour la vente directe

Certains appareils sont conçus pour des applications industrielles uniquement. Ils ne sont pas dotés des caractéristiques normalement requises sur des appareils destinés à la vente directe. Ainsi, la fonction tare des appareils destinés à la vente directe est plus restrictive que celle des appareils destinés à une application industrielle.

Les avis d'approbation préciseront si un appareil n'est pas destiné à la vente directe. Les appareils industriels qui ressemblent aux appareils destinés à la vente directe doivent être marqués en conséquence.

Balances compteuses

Un appareil conçu spécifiquement pour compter des articles n'est pas visé par la définition de l'expression * appareil de mesure + et n'est pas un instrument au sens de la Loi. Ainsi, ce type d'appareil n'est pas régi par la Loi ni par le Règlement. Il n'est pas assujetti à l'approbation ni à l'inspection et peut être utilisé dans le commerce.

Les fonctions de pesage d'un appareil capable de compter et de peser des articles doivent être approuvées et inspectées si l'appareil doit être utilisé dans le commerce.

Révisions

Rév. 3

  • Remplacement, dans le tableau, des valeurs emin de 20, 200 et 2 000 kg par 25, 250 et 2 500 kg respectivement. Cette modification était nécessaire compte tenu des pratiques de configuration courantes.

Rév. 2

  • Ajout du tableau des échelons Max/emin pour les appareils antérieurs à l'entrée en vigueur des NAAPFNA.

Rév. 1

  • Suppression de * au public + après les mentions de * ventes directes +.
  • Ajout des exigences d'approbation et d'inspection applicables aux balances compteuses.
  • Correction de plusieurs incohérences et de quelques éléments de formatage d'ordre général.
  • Correction des renvois aux Normes applicables aux appareil de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (1998).
Date de modification :