Field Inspection Manual — Non-Automatic Weighing Devices

Part 3, Section 4: STP-4: Sealing

Reference

Section 48 of the Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998).

General

Electronic weighing devices must have provisions that ensure a security seal must be broken before any adjustment affecting the performance of the device can be made. Alternately, an audit trail may be provided that indicates when such an adjustment has been made. Not all parameters need be sealed. Metrological parameters that can affect measurement, features which may introduce a significant potential for fraud and adjustments that may allow use of the device beyond that appropriate for its design and intended use, shall be sealed.

Usually, adjustment and configuration parameters that require sealing are located in, or accessed through, the electronic indicator of a device. In some cases, other external transducers may also affect the accuracy of the final weight determination. In these cases, access to these components must be sealed. The suitability of the sealing means for electronic indicators, components parts and complete devices, is evaluated by the Approval Services Laboratory (ASL), which ensures that devices have adequate provision for the application of security seals. Instructions and the method of sealing devices can be found in the Notice of Approval (NOA).

Field inspectors must ensure that devices are sealed in the proper manner. For instance, junction boxes that contain means (e.g. potentiometers, rheostats, resistors, etc.) for balancing load cells or adjusting other measured values must be sealed. Some device types are not sealable using physical seals. These devices are provided with event counters or electronic audit trails that record access to the calibration mode and changes to the configuration or calibration parameters. In such instances, the inspector records the numbers indicated by the event counters and obtains a print out of the events recorded by the electronic audit trail for further reference.

Extracts from the Approval Evaluation Manual — Non-Automatic Weighing Devices

Detailed requirements extracted from the Approval Evaluation Manual — Non Automatic Weighing Devices are provided below to ensure uniform and consistent application of the sealing requirements in the field. Note that for consistency, the numbering of the following sections corresponds to the numbering used in the Approval Evaluation Manual — Non Automatic Weighing Devices.

4.1 Philosophy for Sealing

The decision as to whether or not a method of access represents a "significant potential for fraud" and an access point requires sealing, is based on the following philosophies.

4.1.1 The need to seal specific features depends upon:

  1. The ease with which the feature or the selection of the feature can be used to facilitate fraud; and
  2. The likelihood that the use of the feature will result in fraud not being detected.

4.1.2 Features or functions that are routinely used by the operator as part of device operation, such as the setting and maintaining of unit prices in price look-up codes, are not sealable parameters.

4.1.3 If the selection of a parameter (or a set of parameters) would result in performance that would obviously be in error, such as the selection of parameters for different languages/countries, then it is not necessary to seal the selection of these features.

4.1.4 If individual device characteristics are selectable from a "menu" or a series of programming steps, then access to the "programming mode" must be sealable.

4.1.5 If a device must undergo a physical act, such as cutting a wire and physically repairing the cut to reactivate the parameter, it would be considered an acceptable way to select parameters without requiring a physical seal or an audit trail.

4.2 Sealable Parameters on Non-Automatic Weighing Devices

The following examples of adjustments, parameters and features to be sealed are to be considered "typical" or "normal". The list is not intended to be all inclusive and any other parameters that may affect the metrological functions of a device must be sealed.

If listed parameters or other parameters which may affect the metrological function of a device are not to be sealed, the manufacturer must demonstrate that the parameter will not affect the metrological performance of the device.

Scale Features and Parameters

Typical Sealable Parameters

Coarse zero

Span

Linearity correction points

Motion detection (on/off bandwidth)

Scale interval d (or location of the decimal point)

Number of scale intervals

Range of overcapacity

Manual weight entries (on/off)

AZTM (on/off and range of a single step)

Zero and AZTM total range (if the range can be set for more than 4% and if this increases the weighing capacity)

Filter (number of samples averaged for weight readings)

Filter (averaging time for weight indications)

Units of measurement (if not displayed or printed on the primary register)

Speed transducers on integrating devices

Typical Features or Parameters Not Required to Be Sealed

Product codes

Commodity unit prices

Zero and AZTM total range (if the range can be set for more than 4% but this does not increase the weighing capacity)

Display update rate

Selection of tare feature operation (keyboard push button or automatic tare (on/off))

Weigh-in/weigh-out operation (on/off)

4.3 Other Mechanisms Requiring Sealing

4.3.1 Junction boxes that have adjustment parameters (potentiometers, rheostats, resistors or software configuration, etc.) must have provisions for applying security seals.

4.3.2 In the case of a complete scale consisting of an electronic indicator and a load receiving element incorporating a junction box or load cells that have built-in calibration/configuration capabilities, and for which the parameters can be changed "remotely" through the indicator keyboard, there must be provisions to seal load cell cables to the indicator and junction box.

4.3.3 If the device is equipped with an automatic or semi-automatic calibration mechanism, the mechanism must be inside the device and there must be provisions to apply security seals so that neither the mechanism nor the calibration process can be altered.

Note — Automatic and Semi-Automatic Calibration Mechanism

An automatic or semi-automatic calibration mechanism is allowed provided the calibration mechanism is internal to the device and neither the mechanism nor the process can be manipulated in a fraudulent manner.

Procedure

Using the calibration mechanism, attempt to calibrate the device when the device is off level, when there is a load on the platter and when the weight indication is in motion. Also attempt to put a small load on the platter while the internal mechanism performs a calibration.

Interpretation of Results

No erroneous calibration may result from such manipulation.

4.4 Physical Seals

Physical seals comprise "lead and wire" seals, pressure sensitive seals, etc. They may be used to seal certain device categories, features and mechanisms (see section 4.3).

4.4.1 Seals must be readily accessible and observable. Devices must be sealable in a manner that does not require disassembly or moving of the device to gain access to the adjustments. However, removing a protective cover plate to access a junction box is acceptable. The removal of a cover plate must be simple and not require excessive effort or the use of special tools.

4.4.2 On small devices the means of sealing may be under the platter, if the platter can be lifted easily, under the scale or at the back of the scale if the scale is designed so that it can be turned upside down without damage to remove or apply security seals. When a "lead and wire" seal is located under the platform, there must be ample clearance to eliminate the possibility of interference between the seal and the platform.

4.4.3 When two bolts are used for a "lead and wire" seal, it must be impossible to remove either bolt without breaking the seal. A free standing bolt (a bolt which passes through a panel and is fixed in place with a nut on the opposite side of the panel) is not acceptable.

4.4.4 Pressure sensitive seals are acceptable under certain conditions. If they cover a hole (e.g., through which a "calibration enable" switch would be activated) the hole must be covered with a suitable rigid plug. The seal must be fully supported and not so as to leave cavities or air pockets under the seal. Cavities and air pockets are weak points that could cause the seal to be easily damaged (see the illustration below).

Diagram of a keylock sealed using a pressure sensitive seal. As the keylock protrudes from the casing, air pockets are left below the seal leaving the seal vulnerable to damage.
  1. Pressure sensitive (paper) seal
  2. Keylock
  3. Air pocket (void space)
  4. Casing

4.4.5 A pressure sensitive security seal is not suitable in an adverse environment (rain, cold, washdown, etc.).

4.5 Sealing Electronic Devices

Electronic devices may be "sealed" by means of an audit trail. The audit trail must comply with the minimum requirements contained in the Terms and Conditions for the Approval of Metrological Software. For devices sealed by means of an audit trail, the inspector should refer to the Notice of Approval (NOA) for the device in question.

The terms used in the Notice of Approval are defined in the Terms and Conditions for the Approval of Metrological Audit Trail.

Revisions

The purpose of revision 2 is to:

  • add sealing requirements for speed transducers and other similar ancillary equipment.
  • make several grammatical changes to the "General" section to clarify requirements.

The purpose of revision 1 was to:

  • change "Draft Specifications" to "Terms and Conditions", as appropriate.
  • change reference to Approval Evaluation Manual - Non Automatic Weighing Devices.
  • correct references to Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998).
Date modified:

Manuel de l'inspecteur — Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Partie 3, Section 4 : MEN-4 : Scellage

Réference

Article 48 des Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (1998).

Généralités

Les appareils de pesage électroniques doivent être configurés de manière à ce qu'il soit nécessaire de briser le sceau de sécurité pour effectuer des réglages ayant une incidence sur le rendement de l'appareil. Sinon, on peut utiliser un registre électronique des événements métrologiques qui indique le moment où un tel réglage a été effectué. On n'a pas besoin de sceller tous les paramètres. Les paramètres métrologiques pouvant avoir une incidence sur la mesure, les caractéristiques pouvant entraîner un risque important de fraude et les réglages risquant de permettre l'utilisation de l'appareil au-delà de son utilisation prévue appropriée pour sa conception doivent être scellés.

Habituellement, les paramètres de réglage et de configuration nécessitant un scellage sont situés dans l'indicateur électronique d'un appareil ou sont accessibles par ce dernier. Dans certains cas, d'autres transducteurs externes peuvent également nuire à la précision du pesage final. Il faut donc sceller l'accès à ces composants. Dans le cas des indicateurs électroniques, des pièces de composants et des appareils complets, l'adéquation du scellage est évaluée par le Laboratoire des services d'approbation (LSA), qui s'assure que les appareils sont configurés pour recevoir les sceaux de sécurité. Les instructions et le mode de scellage d'un appareil se trouvent dans l'avis d'approbation.

Il appartient à l'inspecteur sur le terrain de vérifier que les appareils sont scellés de manière adéquate. À titre d'exemple, il faut sceller les boîtes de jonction qui contiennent des éléments (p. ex. résistances, potentiomètres, rhéostats, etc.) permettant d'équilibrer les cellules de pesage ou d'ajuster d'autres valeurs mesurées. Certains types d'appareils ne sont pas scellables matériellement. Ils sont pourvus de compteurs d'événements ou de registres électroniques des événements métrologiques qui enregistrent tout accès au mode d'étalonnage et tout changement aux paramètres de configuration ou d'étalonnage. Dans ce cas, l'inspecteur enregistre les chiffres indiqués par les compteurs d'événements et fait imprimer les événements consignés par le registre électronique des événements métrologiques à des fins de consultation ultérieure.

Extraits du Manuel d'évaluation aux fins d'approbation — appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Les exigences détaillées tirées du Manuel d'évaluation aux fins d'approbation — Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique sont énoncées ci-après dans le but d'assurer une application uniforme et cohérente des exigences relatives au marquage sur le terrain. Il convient de noter que pour des raisons d'uniformité, les numéros d'article indiqués ci-après correspondent aux numéros utilisés dans le Manuel d'évaluation aux fins d'approbation — Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique.

4.1 Critères de scellage

La décision à savoir si une méthode d'accès représente un risque de fraude important et s'il faut sceller un point d'accès est fondée sur les critères suivants.

4.1.1 La nécessité de sceller une fonction particulière dépend des facteurs suivants :

  1. la facilité avec laquelle la fonction ou la sélection de la fonction peut être utilisée à des fins frauduleuses;
  2. la probabilité que l'utilisation de la fonction entraîne une fraude qui ne sera pas détectée.

4.1.2 Les caractéristiques ou fonctions qui sont régulièrement utilisées par l'opérateur lorsqu'il se sert de l'appareil, comme l'établissement et le maintien des prix unitaires associés aux codes de rappel, ne sont pas des paramètres scellables.

4.1.3 Si la sélection d'un paramètre (ou d'un ensemble de paramètres) donne lieu à une erreur de fonctionnement évidente, par exemple la sélection de paramètres pour différents pays ou langues, il n'est pas nécessaire de sceller le mode de sélection.

4.1.4 Si des caractéristiques individuelles d'un appareil peuvent être sélectionnées à partir d'un « menu » ou d'une série d'étapes de programmation, l'accès au « mode de programmation » doit être scellable.

4.1.5 Si un appareil doit subir une intervention concrète, comme la coupe d'un fil métallique et la réparation du fil pour réactiver le paramètre, cela est considéré comme une façon acceptable de sélectionner les paramètres sans qu'un sceau matériel ni un registre d'événements métrologiques soient nécessaires.

4.2 Paramètres scellables des appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Les exemples suivants de réglages, de paramètres et de caractéristiques à sceller sont considérés comme étant « typiques » ou « normaux ». La liste n'est pas exhaustive et tout autre paramètre pouvant avoir une incidence sur les fonctions métrologiques d'un appareil doit être scellé.

Si les paramètres de la liste ou d'autres paramètres pouvant influer sur la fonction métrologique d'un appareil n'ont pas à être scellés, le fabricant doit démontrer que le paramètre ne compromettra pas le rendement métrologique de l'appareil.

Caractéristiques et paramètres des balances

Paramètres scellables types

Réglage du zéro

Étendue de mesure

Points de correction de la linéarité

Détection de mouvement (« marche/arrêt », largeur de bande)

Échelon d (ou position du point décimal)

Nombre d'échelons

Plage de surcharge

Entrée manuelle de poids (marche/arrêt)

AZTM (marche/arrêt, étendue captée d'un seul coup)

Zéro et étendue totale du AZTM (si l'étendue peut être établie à plus de 4 % et si elle augmente la capacité de pesage)

Filtre (nombre d'échantillons pris en moyenne pour l'indication du poids)

Filtre (temps moyen pour l'indication pondérale)

Unités de mesure (si non affichées sur l'indicateur principal ni imprimées)

Transducteurs de vitesse des appareils intégrateurs

Caractéristiques ou paramètres types dont le scellage n'est pas requis

Codes des produits

Prix unitaire des marchandises

Zéro et étendue totale du AZTM (si l'étendue peut être établie à plus de 4 % sans augmenter la capacité de pesage)

Rythme d'actualisation de l'affichage

Sélection des caractéristiques de fonctionnement de la tare (clavier, bouton-poussoir ou tare automatique [marche/arrêt])

Fonction de pesage entrée/sortie (marche/arrêt)

4.3 Autres mécanismes nécessitant un scellage

4.3.1 Les boîtes de jonction ayant des paramètres de réglage (potentiomètres, rhéostats, résistances, configuration logicielle, etc.) doivent pouvoir recevoir des sceaux de sécurité.

4.3.2 Dans le cas d'une balance complète constituée d'un indicateur électronique et d'un élément récepteur de charge comprenant une boîte de jonction ou des cellules de pesage ayant des fonctions d'étalonnage ou de configuration intégrées et dont les paramètres peuvent être changés « à distance » par l'entremise du clavier de l'indicateur, des moyens doivent être prévus pour sceller les câbles des cellules de pesage à l'indicateur et à la boîte de jonction.

4.3.3 Si l'appareil est doté d'un mécanisme d'étalonnage automatique ou semi-automatique, ce dernier doit se trouver à l'intérieur de l'appareil et il doit être possible d'y appliquer des sceaux de sécurité de telle façon que ni le mécanisme ni le processus d'étalonnage ne puissent être trafiqués.

Nota — Mécanisme d'étalonnage automatique et semi-automatique

Un mécanisme d'étalonnage automatique ou semi-automatique est permis, pourvu qu'il soit à l'intérieur de l'appareil et que ni le mécanisme ni le processus ne puissent être trafiqués.

Mode opératoire

À l'aide du mécanisme d'étalonnage, tenter d'étalonner l'appareil lorsqu'il est hors niveau, lorsqu'il y a une charge sur le plateau et lorsque le dispositif indicateur est en mouvement. Essayer également de déposer une petite charge sur le plateau lorsque le mécanisme interne effectue un étalonnage.

Interprétation des résultats

Ces interventions ne doivent donner lieu à aucun étalonnage erroné.

4.4 Sceaux matériels

Les sceaux matériels comprennent les « plombs et fils métalliques », les sceaux adhésifs, etc. Ils peuvent servir à sceller certaines catégories, caractéristiques et mécanismes d'appareils (voir l'article 4.3)

4.4.1 Les sceaux doivent être facilement accessibles et visibles. Il doit être possible de sceller les appareils sans avoir à démonter ni à déplacer l'appareil pour accéder aux dispositifs de réglage. Il est toutefois acceptable d'avoir à retirer un couvercle de protection pour accéder à la boîte de jonction. Le retrait du couvercle doit être simple et il ne doit pas nécessiter l'emploi de force excessive ni d'outils spéciaux.

4.4.2 Sur les petits appareils, les dispositifs de scellage peuvent être sous le plateau, si ce dernier peut être facilement soulevé, sous l'appareil ou au dos de l'appareil si ce dernier peut être renversé, sans subir de dommages, pour appliquer ou enlever les sceaux de sécurité. Lorsqu'un sceau à « plomb et fil métallique » se trouve sous la plate-forme d'une balance, il doit y avoir un dégagement suffisant pour empêcher toute interférence entre le sceau et la plate-forme.

4.4.3 Lorsque deux boulons sont utilisés dans un scellage composé d'un « plomb et d'un fil

métallique », il doit être impossible de retirer l'un ou l'autre des boulons sans briser le sceau. Un boulon dit « sans support » (qui traverse un panneau pour être maintenu en place par un écrou de l'autre côté) n'est pas acceptable.

Shéma d’une serrure scellée à l’aide d’un sceau adhésif par pression. Comme la serrure dépasse du boîtier, des poches d’air se forment sous le sceau et le laissent vulnérable à être endommagé.

4.4.4 Les sceaux adhésifs sont acceptables dans certaines conditions. S'ils couvrent une ouverture (qui, par exemple, permettrait d'activer un interrupteur d'étalonnage), cette dernière doit être recouverte d'un bouchon rigide approprié. Le sceau doit bien adhérer de manière à ne laisser aucune cavité ni poche d'air qui constituent des points faibles et risquent de faciliter l'endommagement du sceau (voir le croquis ci-dessous).

  1. Sceau adhésif (papier)
  2. Serrure
  3. Poche d'air (vide)
  4. Boîtier

4.4.5 Un sceau de sécurité adhésif ne convient pas aux environnements hostiles (pluie, froid, nettoyage intense, etc.).

4.5 Scellage des appareils électroniques

Les appareils électroniques peuvent être « scellés » par un registre d'événements métrologiques, qui doit être conforme aux exigences minimales prescrites dans les Conditions pour l'approbation de logiciels métrologiques. Dans le cas des appareils scellés par un registre d'événements métrologiques, l'inspecteur doit se reporter à l'avis d'approbation de l'appareil.

Les expressions utilisées dans l'avis d'approbation sont définies dans les Conditions pour l'approbation de logiciels métrologiques.

Révisions

La révision 2 vise à :

  • ajouter des exigences relatives au scellage des transducteurs de vitesse et d'autre équipement auxiliaire semblable.
  • apporter des changements d'ordre grammatical à la section « Généralités » pour clarifier les exigences.

Le but de révision 1 était de :

  • remplacer « Projet de norme » par « Conditions », là où il convient.
  • modifier la référence au Manuel d'évaluation en vue d'une approbation - Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique.
  • corriger les renvois aux Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (1998).
Date de modification :