Field Inspection Manual — Non-Automatic Weighing Devices

Part 3, Section 5: STP-5: Visual Examination of the Indicating Element

Reference

Sections 3 and 30 to 38 of the Non Automatic Weighing Devices Specifications.

Indicating elements, either approved separately or as part of complete weighing devices, are evaluated by the Approval Service Laboratory (ASL) for compliance with the specifications.

The inspectors role in performing the visual examination of an indicating element is to ensure that it is approved, the value of the scale interval has been selected/set in accordance with the specifications or as specified in the Notice of Approval (NOA); that names, symbols and defining words are legible; and that the parts of mechanical indicating elements are in good working condition.

Values of "d" and "e"

The inspector must ensure that the value of "d" has been selected in accordance with the requirements prescribed by sections 3, 36, 37 and 38 of the specifications. The inspector must also ensure that the values of "d" and "e" meet the limitations laid out in the Notice of Approval. Namely, the maximum number of scale intervals (n max ) must not exceed the number authorized by the Notice(s) of Approval and the value of "e" selected must not be smaller than the minimum value (e min ) authorized by the NOA for the weighing element.

The inspector ensures that the unit(s) of measurement selected is (are) a legal unit of measurement and that the scale was approved for that unit.

Except for weight classifiers, the inspector must ensure that the value of the scale interval indicated and printed are the same.

Legible Symbols and Defining Words

The inspector ensures that defining words, symbols or abbreviations for weight and price values, and metrologically significant annunciators, are legible and that the display segments are in good condition.

Beam or Dial Scales

The inspector must ensure that graduation lines are legible and allow for accurate weight readings. The inspector also ensures that the indicating component (pointer) is firmly attached, can travel freely (does not touch the chart) and is positioned (relative to the beam or chart) to reduce the effects of parallax to a minimum.

The inspector ensures that the indicating beam is secured in place; that parts of the poise are not loose; that adjusting material in the poise is enclosed securely, firmly fixed in position and not in contact with the beam; and that the pawl (if any) holds the poise firmly in position without any appreciable movement.

The inspector ensures that the balance ball or other mechanical zero setting means is firmly held in position.

Revision

Original document

Date modified:

Manuel de l'inspecteur — Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Partie 3, Section 5 : MEN-5 : Examen visuel de l'élément indicateur

Référence

Articles 3 et 30 à 38 des Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique.

Le Laboratoire des services d'approbation (LSA) examine les éléments indicateurs, soit approuvés séparément ou comme composants d'appareils de pesage complets, afin d'établir leur conformité aux exigences.

L'inspecteur, par l'examen visuel d'un élément indicateur, s'assure qu'il est approuvé, que la valeur de l'échelon a été choisie/réglée en fonction des paramètres établis par les Normes ou indiqués dans l'Avis d'approbation; que les noms, les symboles et les mots explicatifs sont lisibles; et que les pièces des éléments indicateurs mécaniques sont en bon état de fonctionnement.

Valeur de "d" et "e"

L'inspecteur doit s'assurer que la valeur de "d" a été choisie en conformité aux exigences prescrites aux articles 3, 36, 37 et 38 des Normes. L'inspecteur doit également s'assurer que les valeurs de "d" et "e" satisfont aux restrictions énoncées dans l'Avis d'approbation. Précisément, le nombre maximal d'échelons (n Max ) ne peut pas dépasser le nombre autorisé par l'Avis d'approbation et la valeur de "e" choisie ne doit pas être inférieure à la valeur minimale (e min ) prescrite par l'Avis d'approbation pour l'élément peseur.

L'inspecteur s'assure que l'unité de mesure sélectionnée est une unité de mesure légale et que l'appareil a été approuvé pour cette unité.

Exception faite des appareils classificateurs, l'inspecteur doit s'assurer que la valeur de l'échelon affichée et la valeur de l'échelon imprimée sont identiques.

Lisibilité des symboles et des mots explicatifs

L'inspecteur s'assure que les mots explicatifs, les symboles ou les abréviations associés au poids, au prix et aux voyants de nature métrologique sont lisibles et que les chiffres (segments) fonctionnent bien.

Balances à fléau ou à cadran

L'inspecteur doit s'assurer que les traits de graduation sont lisibles et qu'ils permettent une lecture exacte du poids. L'inspecteur s'assure également que l'aiguille ou le pointeur est solidement fixé, se déplace librement (sans toucher à la charte) et qu'il est positionné (par rapport au fléau ou à la charte) afin de réduire au minimum l'effet de parallaxe.

L'inspecteur s'assure que le fléau est bien fixé en place; que les pièces du curseur ne sont pas desserrées; que le matériau d'ajustage dans le curseur est solidement confiné, qu'il est fixé en place et qu'il n'entre pas en contact avec le fléau; et que le cliquet (s'il y en a un) maintient fermement le curseur en position sans mouvement indu.

L'inspecteur s'assure que la boule d'équilibrage ou tout autre mécanisme de mise à zéro mécanique est solidement maintenu en position.

Révision

Document original

Date de modification :