Field Inspection Manual — Non-Automatic Weighing Devices

Part 3, Section 7: STP-7: Installation and Location of the Device

Reference

Section 33 of the Weights and Measures Regulations, sections 55 to 60, 63 & 64 of the Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998).

Devices must be installed to allow for the accurate measurement of commodities and so that they remain stable and accurate over time under normal conditions of use. Operators and customers, if applicable, must be able to read the device indications and must be able to observe the load receiving element during weighing operations. Devices must be located and installed so that the necessary standards and testing material can be brought to the devices, and can be inspected and sealed. In most cases, the suitability of installation and location will be determined when the initial inspection is performed.

Manufacturers Instructions

In the Specifications, there are only a few broad requirements pertaining to the installation of weighing devices. There exist numerous device designs, capacities and types for all kinds of applications on the market. The minimum installation requirements for a particular device type depend upon its design, construction and intended use. Establishing those minimum requirements is, to a certain extent, part of the design process. We rely on device manufacturers to provide, when necessary, specific instructions for the installation and use of the devices they build.

Section 55 of the Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998) provides the necessary authority to require that devices are installed in accordance with manufacturers instructions, plans, blue prints, etc.

Installation Parameters in Notices of Approval (NoA)

When necessary, the NoA may also provide minimum requirements or restrictions for installation and use of devices.

Supports and Foundations (Computing, Counter, Bench and Platform Scales)

The table, bench or counter that supports the scale must be stable and strong enough to withstand loads without noticeable movement and the supporting surface must be relatively leveled, so as to ensure accurate measurement. If binding may be considered problematic (e.g. device is installed in a counter well, etc.), the device shall be securely fastened to the counter or otherwise restrained from moving from it's intended location through the use of retainers, etc.

Supports and Foundations (Steelyard Scales, wall mounted)

Mounting and holding means of wall or post mounted steelyard scales must be such to minimize deflections that could affect the accuracy of measurement under load. Holding brackets must be installed plumb, so that when the device is pivoted around the bracket while under load, measurement accuracy is not affected. If the holding system does not appear adequate, inspectors may perform the following tests:

  • Set the device to zero, and change its position. The zero reference should not shift (the beam moves up or down). This test can be done with the device loaded. Ensure that the weight indication does not change.

Supports and Foundations (Hopper & Tank Scales)

Foundations must be of such strength to prevent deflections and vibrations that would adversely affect measurement.

Test weight lifting mechanisms (automatic or semi-automatic), if any, must be installed and must operate in a way that prevents inadvertent measurement errors. For instance, the lifting mechanism must be installed with safeguards or interlocks that prevent weighings (trade transactions) unless the mechanism is in its off position and that the test weights are in free position. Provision must be made to allow for applying test weights during testing of the device. Test weight hooks, pans, platforms, etc. must be securely attached to the device and able to safely withstand the intended test load.

Supports and Foundations (Vehicle Scales and Railway Scales)

Generalities

Temporary Installation

Vehicle Scales installations are generally categorized as either Permanent or Temporary. Temporary installations are not desirable due to their less than ideal installations. Nevertheless, it is recognized that there may be legitimate need for temporary installations in some cases. Temporary installations of self contained Portable Vehicle Scales are subject to the following requirements:

Temporary Installations of Portable Vehicle Scales will not generally be permitted at permanent business locations. If a company is conducting their primary business from the location, then a permanent installation will be required. Written requests for short term (less than 1 year) temporary installations will only be considered at permanent business locations if the company can demonstrate a legitimate need, such as to fulfill a short term contract, etc. Legitimate temporary installation applications include road construction, temporary gravel pits, short term logging contracts or similar applications.

Portable Vehicle Scales installed in a temporary manner may remain at a single location for no more than one year. If the device is to remain beyond this time period, it must be permanently installed and meet all of the installation and performance criteria. If a Temporary Installation is required beyond this time frame, extensions must be requested in writing, from the nearest Measurement Canada Office. Extension may be granted beyond one year if the owner is able to demonstrate a legitimate need and agrees to provide evidence of annual recalibration using certified test standards.

A temporary installation must be kept level and must be able to withstand loads up to the device capacity without movement or deflections. This requirement is applicable at all times while the device in use. If ground/weather conditions preclude meeting this requirement, the device must not be used (i.e. during Spring Break Up, excess movement due to frost, etc.). Shims and other means of height adjustment shall be made of any suitable material that resists compression at least as well as the main support structure (e.g. steel plate), and shall fill the entire void area under the lever stands or load cell bases to ensure that the scale remains stable and level under normal conditions of use of the scale.

Permanent Installation

A permanent installation must be supported by a foundation or a pit the base of which is below the frost-line (information to be obtained from the local Building Code) or that rests on stable substrata such as bedrock. A floating slab of reinforced construction (concrete) may also be appropriate when the scale components are kept aligned and level. Shims and any other means of heights or level adjustment shall be clean, smooth and made entirely of steel or other material of equivalent strength, and if not grouted, shall fill the entire void under the lever stands or load cell bases to ensure that the scale remains stable and level under normal conditions of use of the scale. When a void remains under the lever stands or load cell bases, the lever stands or load cell bases must be grouted. Grout must fill the entire void under the lever stands or load cell bases.

For Vehicle Scale systems installed in the winter months, it may not always be feasible to provide either permanent foundations or approaches due to ground frost. In these cases, the Regional Gravimetric Specialist or appropriate District Manager must be contacted for permission to delay these two requirements until spring thaw. This permission will only be granted if the ground frost provides an adequate and stable support for the scale and approaches. In addition, the Specialist or District Manager may require a written letter of intent to meet these two conditions as soon as the ground has thawed sufficiently. In no case shall the system continue to be used, after the ground has thawed, until the appropriate modifications have been completed.

Access to Understructure of Vehicle and Railroad Scales

Understructure of weighing elements of vehicle and railroad scales must be easily accessible to permit the visual examination of the main components (load cells, levers, junction boxes). Where a pit is required for the installation of a scale, that pit must be provided with an entrance that allows inspection of the area beneath the weighbridge. Inspectors should note that access to confined spaces is a potentially dangerous practice and company policy must be followed. See also Measurement Canada — Health & Safety Programs, Confined Spaces document.

Approach and Exit Ramps of Vehicle Scales

Sections 63 and 64 of the Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998) provides the minimum requirements for approach and exit ramps of vehicle scales.

NAWDS section 63.1(c) and section 64, require approach and exit ramps to be smooth, level and in the same plane as the weighbridge. A ramp shall be deemed to be level if the slope is no greater than 2% (2 cm/m) longitudinally. Any crowning of the approach must be flared to meet the weighbridge smoothly and may not exceed 2% slope. This is to allow for adequate drainage and to account for slight variations in the ramp. The slope shall be measured over a minimum length of 1.0 metre.

A vehicle scale need not have both an entry and exit ramp where installation particulars allow for only a single ramp. Appropriate conditions of construction apply to all available ramps.

Loading of a vehicle scale shall not normally be permitted across the side of the scale. In the case of a flush mount built in scale, appropriate barriers may be required, depending on installations specifics, to prevent improper loading of the scale.

Visibility of Indicating Elements

Devices that are used in "direct sale" applications, must be positioned so that the indications may be easily read by the customer.

Computing Scales and POS Systems in Retail Stores, and Other Similar Applications

Computing scales are not required, under the specifications, to have an integrated customer's display. If the device can be positioned so that both the operator and customer can easily read the indications, the requirement is met. If it can not be accomplished, a secondary indicating element that duplicates the primary indications must be provided. In the case of a POS scale, the secondary indicating element need not be approved if it is fully compatible with the scale, is properly marked and has no internal metrological functions. Providing a button to access an external zero activating means is not considered a metrological function.

Vehicle Scales

Measurement Canada Bulletin M-24 provides additional requirements for secondary indicators for vehicle scale installations.

Visibility of the Weighing Element

In "direct sale" applications, customers must be able to observe the weighing element of the device from the indicator's reading position.

Operators must be able to observe the weighing element from the indicator's reading position. If this is impossible, means such as a camera must be provided so that the operator can observe the weighing element. The purpose of this requirement is to ensure that the operator will be able to detect any activities around or on the load receiving element liable to cause erroneous measurement. For instance, the operator must be able to observe the weighing element of a vehicle scale to ensure that, during the weighing process, the vehicle is entirely supported by the scale deck, that the driver remains in or out the vehicle, that no one is walking across the weighing element, etc. This requirement does not apply to installations where the load receiving element is not liable to be disturbed or the material to be weighed altered during the weighing process.

Access and Means to Apply Standards

All scales including livestock, vehicle and vehicle/railroad combination scales must be located and installed so that test weights in sufficient numbers and material for strain tests can be brought to the device for inspection purposes.

Hopper and tank scales must be provided with the appropriate accessories (i.e. suspending equipment, hooks, etc.) to allow for the safe application of the required amount of test standards necessary for the inspection.

Revision

Rev. 3

  • added clarification of 'level' requirements for vehicle scale ramps.

Rev. 2 (2008-01-01)

  • added requirements for Temporary Installation of Portable Vehicle Scales.
  • clarified grout/shim requirements for vehicle scale installations.
  • clarified approach requirements for vehicle scale installations.
  • added confined space entry criteria for entering scale pits.
  • removal of obsolete terminology ('contractor scale').
  • clarified wording & intent in several sections.
  • added secondary indicator criteria for POS as per GSC 2006-04(f).
  • expanded requirement for access to scale and necessary rigging for application of standards.
  • removal of 'to the public' from direct sales references.
  • added securing of counter scales when appropriate.
  • added weight receiving requirements for tank/hopper scales.
  • correct references to Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998).

Rev. 1

  • added section for Winter Installation (approaches / foundation).
Date modified:

Manuel de l'inspecteur — Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Partie 3, Section 7 : MEN-7 : Installation et emplacement de l'appareil

Références

Article 33 du Règlement sur les poids et mesures, articles 55 à 60, 63 et 64 des Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (1998).

Les appareils doivent être installés de façon à permettre un mesurage exact des marchandises et à demeurer stables et précis dans les conditions normales d'utilisation. Les préposés et les clients, s'il y a lieu, doivent pouvoir lire les indications de l'appareil et observer l'élément récepteur de charge pendant le pesage. Les appareils doivent être placés et installés de façon qu'il soit possible d'y acheminer les étalons et le matériel d'essai nécessaires, de les inspecter et de les sceller. Dans la majorité des cas, l'inspecteur s'assure de l'adéquation de l'installation et de l'emplacement au moment de l'inspection initiale.

Instructions du fabricant

Les normes fournissent seulement quelques exigences générales relatives à l'installation des appareils de pesage. Les appareils sont offerts en un grand nombre de modèles, de capacités et de types pour maintes utilisations sur le marché. Les exigences minimales régissant l'installation d'un type d'appareil particulier dépendent de sa conception, de sa construction et de l'utilisation prévue. L'établissement de ces exigences minimales relève, dans une certaine mesure, du procédé de conception de l'appareil. Nous comptons donc sur les fabricants pour fournir, au besoin, les instructions spéciales visant l'installation et l'utilisation des appareils qu'ils construisent.

L'article 55 des Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (1998) confère l'autorité nécessaire pour exiger que les appareils soient installés conformément aux instructions et aux plans, etc. des fabricants.

Paramètres d'installation dans les avis d'approbation (AA)

Les AA peuvent également, lorsque nécessaire, établir les exigences minimales ou les restrictions régissant l'installation et l'utilisation d'un appareil.

Supports et assises (Balances calculatrices, de comptoir, de table et à plate-forme)

La table, le banc ou le comptoir sur lequel repose une balance doit être stable et suffisamment solide pour soutenir sans fléchir les charges à peser et la surface d'appui doit être suffisamment de niveau, pour assurer la mesure exacte. Si la stabilité peut représenter un problème (p. ex. la balance est installée dans une dépression du comptoir), il faut assujettir la balance au comptoir ou utiliser d'autres moyens pour l'empêcher de bouger de l'emplacement prévu et la maintenir en place.

Supports et assises (romaines du type mural)

Les dispositifs servant à fixer les balances romaines sur un mur ou sur une colonne doivent réduire au minimum les fléchissements qui pourraient fausser les mesures effectuées sous une charge. Les brides de fixation doivent être au niveau de sorte que si l'on pivote l'appareil autour de la bride, alors qu'il est sous charge, l'exactitude de la mesure ne sera pas affectée. Effectuer l'essai suivant  :

  • Mettre l'appareil à zéro et changer sa position. L'état zéro ne doit pas changer (fléau se déplaçant vers le haut et vers le bas). Cet essai peut se faire également sous charge. S'assurer que la lecture demeure la même.

Supports et assises (Trémies de pesage et balances-réservoirs)

Les supports doivent présenter une résistance suffisante pour empêcher tout fléchissement et toute vibration pouvant nuire à l'exactitude des mesures.

Les mécanismes de levage des poids d'essai (automatiques ou semi-automatiques ), s'il y a lieu, doivent être installés et manœuvrés de façon à empêcher toute erreur de mesurage. Par exemple, le mécanisme de levage doit être équipé de dispositifs de protection ou de blocage qui invalident le pesage (transactions commerciales) à moins que le mécanisme en question ne soit hors tension et que les poids d'essai soient libres. Des dispositions doivent être prises afin de permettre l'application de poids d'essai lors de l'essai de l'appareil. Des crochets destinés aux poids d'essai, des plateaux, des plates-formes, etc. doivent être solidement fixés à l'appareil et pouvoir supporter, en toute sécurité, la charge d'essai prévue.

Supports et assises (Ponts-bascules routiers et ferroviaires)

Généralités

Installation temporaire

Les installations de ponts-bascules routiers sont généralement catégorisées comme étant permanentes ou temporaires. Les installations temporaires ne sont pas recommandées à cause de leur mise en place moins que parfaite. Néanmoins, il est reconnu que dans certains cas, il peut y avoir un besoin légitime pour une installation temporaire. Les installations temporaires de ponts-bascules routiers portables autonomes sont assujetties aux exigences suivantes :

L'installation temporaire d'un pont-bascule routier portable n'est généralement pas autorisée sur un site commercial permanent. S'il s'agit du site principal des opérations de l'entreprise, une installation permanente est exigée. Une demande écrite pour une installation temporaire à court terme (moins d'un an) sur un site permanent ne sera étudiée que si l'entreprise démontre qu'il y a un besoin légitime, comme un contrat à court terme. Parmi les raisons légitimes pour une demande d'installation temporaire, il peut s'agir de construction d'une route, de gravières temporaires, d'un contrat d'exploitation forestière à court terme ou autres raisons semblables.

Les ponts-bascules routiers portables dont l'installation est temporaire ne peuvent rester sur place plus d'un an. Si l'appareil doit rester sur place plus longtemps, il doit être installé de façon permanente et satisfaire à tous les critères de rendement et d'installation. Des prolongations peuvent être accordées si les besoins sont légitimes, mais la demande doit être faite par écrit et être adressée au bureau de Mesures Canada le plus proche. Une prolongation au-delà d'une année peut être accordée si le propriétaire peut démontrer que l'appareil est soumis à un étalonnage annuel, effectué avec des poids d'essai certifiés.

Une installation temporaire doit être maintenue de niveau et doit pouvoir supporter les charges correspondant à sa capacité sans se déplacer ni fléchir. Cette exigence est applicable en tout temps lorsque l'appareil est en service. Si les conditions du sol ou météorologiques font obstacle au respect de cette exigence, l'appareil ne doit pas être utilisé (p. ex. pendant le dégel du printemps, déplacement excessif dû au gel, etc.). Les cales et autres moyens de réglage de la hauteur doivent être constitués d'un matériau adéquat qui résiste à la compression au moins aussi bien que la structure d'appui principale (p. ex. une plaque d'acier) et qui remplit tout vide sous les supports de niveau ou les cellules de pesage afin de s'assurer que le pont-bascule demeure stable et de niveau dans les conditions normales d'utilisation.

Installation permanente

Une installation permanente doit reposer sur une fondation ou être logée dans une fosse dont la base se trouve sous le niveau de gel (l'information se trouve dans le code du bâtiment local) ou s'appuie contre un fond stable, notamment un fond de roche. Une dalle flottante en matériau renforcé (béton armé) peut aussi convenir lorsque les composants du pont-bascule demeurent alignés et de niveau. Les cales de nivellement et autres moyens de réglage de la hauteur ou du niveau doivent être propres, lisses et fabriqués entièrement en acier ou dans un autre matériau équivalent. Les cales doivent, si elles ne sont pas liaisonnées par coulis de ciment, remplir tout le vide sous les supports de niveau ou les socles des cellules de pesage afin d'assurer que le pont-bascule demeure stable et de niveau dans les conditions normales d'utilisation. Du coulis de ciment doit être injecté et remplir tous les vides restants sous les supports de niveau ou les socles des cellules de pesage.

En raison du sol gelé, il n'est pas toujours possible de mettre en place des assises ou des rampes d'accès permanentes pour les ponts-bascules routiers installés l'hiver. Dans ces cas-là, il faut obtenir la permission du spécialiste régional en gravimétrie ou du gérant de district visé pour reporter au printemps la mise en œuvre des deux exigences susmentionnées. La permission ne sera accordée que si le sol gelé fournit un support adéquat et stable pour le pont-bascule et ses rampes d'accès. En outre, le spécialiste ou le gérant de district peut exiger de présenter une lettre exprimant l'intention de satisfaire aux deux conditions dès que le sol aura suffisamment dégelé. Une fois le sol dégelé, il faut absolument apporter les modifications applicables pour pouvoir continuer l'utilisation du pont-bascule routier.

Accès à l'infrastructure des ponts-bascules routiers et ferroviaires

L'infrastructure des éléments récepteurs de charge des ponts-bascules routiers et ferroviaires doit être facilement accessible afin de permettre l'examen visuel des principaux composants (cellules de pesage, leviers, boîtes de jonction). Lorsqu'il s'agit d'une installation avec fosse, cette dernière doit avoir une entrée permettant l'inspection de la zone sous le châssis récepteur. Il est important pour les inspecteurs de noter que l'accès à un espace clos n'est pas sans risque et que les politiques de l'entreprise doivent être respectées. Voir aussi le document Mesures Canada — Programmes de santé et sécurité — espaces clos.

Rampes d'accès et de sortie des ponts-bascules routiers

Les articles 63 et 64 des Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (1998) énoncent les exigences minimales régissant les rampes d'accès et de sortie des ponts-bascules routiers.

Les articles 63.1 c) et 64 des NAAPFNA exigent que les rampes d'entrée et de sortie soient lisses, de niveau et dans le même plan que le tablier de pesage. Une rampe est considérée comme étant de niveau si la pente n'est pas supérieure à 2 % (2 cm/m) longitudinalement. Tout élément d'amortissement des rampes doit être évasé de manière que le joint avec le tablier de pesage soit lisse avec une pente qui ne dépasse pas 2 %. Cette pente permet un drainage adéquat et permet d'absorber les légères variations sur la rampe. La pente doit être mesurée sur une longueur d'au moins 1 mètre.

Il n'est pas nécessaire qu'un pont-bascule routier ait une rampe d'accès et une rampe de sortie si les particularités de l'installation ne permettent qu'une seule rampe. Des conditions appropriées de construction s'appliquent à toutes les rampes disponibles.

Normalement, le chargement latéral d'un pont-bascule routier n'est pas permis. Dans le cas d'une balance encastrée, il peut être nécessaire d'installer des barrières appropriées à l'installation, pour empêcher tout chargement inadéquat de la balance.

Visibilité des indicateurs

Les appareils utilisés pour « la vente directe » doivent être placés de façon que le client puisse facilement lire les valeurs affichées.

Balances calculatrices et systèmes de point de vente des établissements de vente au détail et autres utilisations similaires

Les balances calculatrices ne sont pas tenues, en vertu de la présente norme, d'avoir un dispositif d'affichage intégré à l'intention du client. Si l'appareil peut être placé de sorte que le préposé et le client puissent facilement lire l'indicateur, l'exigence est jugée satisfaite. Sinon, un indicateur secondaire qui reproduit les indications primaires doit être installé. Dans le cas des systèmes de point de vente, il n'est pas nécessaire que l'indicateur secondaire soit approuvé s'il est entièrement compatible avec la balance, qu'il est marqué correctement et n'est doté d'aucune fonction métrologique interne. Un bouton qui permet d'accéder à un moyen d'activer un zéro externe n'est pas considéré comme une fonction métrologique.

Ponts-bascules routiers

Le bulletin M-24 de Mesures Canada énonce des exigences supplémentaires visant les indicateurs secondaires des ponts-bascules routiers.

Visibilité de l'élément récepteur de charge

Dans les cas de « vente directe », les clients doivent pouvoir observer l'élément récepteur de charge de l'appareil depuis la position de lecture de l'indicateur.

Le préposé doit pouvoir observer l'élément récepteur de charge depuis la position de lecture de l'indicateur, sinon il faut prévoir des moyens, comme des caméras, afin de permettre à ce dernier d'observer l'élément récepteur de charge. Cette exigence vise à faire en sorte que le préposé puisse repérer toute activité, se déroulant autour ou sur le récepteur de charge, susceptible d'entraîner un mesurage erroné. Par exemple, le préposé doit pouvoir observer l'élément récepteur de charge d'un pont-bascule routier pendant le pesage afin de vérifier que le véhicule repose entièrement sur le tablier, que le conducteur demeure soit à l'intérieur, soit à l'extérieur du véhicule durant le pesage, que personne ne marche sur l'élément récepteur de charge, etc. Cette exigence ne vise pas les installations où, pendant le pesage, il n'y a aucun risque de perturbation du récepteur de charge ni de manipulation du matériau à peser.

Moyens permettant l'utilisation des étalons

Toutes les balances, y compris les balances pour bétail, les ponts-bascules routiers et les ponts-bascules routiers/ferroviaires combinés doivent être situées et installées de sorte qu'il soit possible d'y acheminer le nombre suffisant de poids d'essai et la quantité de matériel nécessaire pour les essais de contrainte, aux fins d'inspection.

Les trémies de pesage et balances-réservoirs doivent être équipées des accessoires appropriés (p. ex. matériel de suspension, crochets, etc.) pour permettre l'application en toute sécurité de la quantité d'étalons d'essai requis pour l'inspection.

Révision

Rév. 3

  • Ajout de la précision du « niveau » des exigences relatives aux ponts-bascules routiers.

Rév. 2 (2008-01-01)

  • Ajout d'exigences visant l'installation temporaire de ponts-bascules routiers portables.
  • Clarification des exigences visant les cales de nivellement ou du coulis de ciment pour les installations de ponts-bascules routiers.
  • Clarification des exigences visant les rampes d'accès à un pont-bascule routier.
  • Ajout des critères d'accès à un espace clos applicables à l'entrée dans la fosse d'un pont-bascule.
  • Suppression de la terminologie désuète (balance d'entrepreneur).
  • Clarification de la formulation ou de l'esprit de plusieurs articles.
  • Ajout des critères visant un indicateur secondaire pour les systèmes de point de vente, conformément au CPG 2006-04(f).
  • Élargissement des exigences visant l'accès aux balances et les accessoires permettant l'application des étalons.
  • Suppression des termes « au public » après « ventes directes ».
  • Ajout d'exigences visant l'assujettissement des balances de comptoir, au besoin.
  • Ajout d'exigences visant les accessoires d'application de poids pour les trémies de pesage et les balances-réservoirs.
  • Correction des renvois aux Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (1998).

Rév. 1

  • Ajout d'un article sur les installations effectuées pendant l'hiver (rampes d'accès ou assises).
Date de modification :