Field Inspection Manual — Non-Automatic Weighing Devices

Part 3, Section 9: STP-9: Manual Weight Entries

Reference

Sections 30, 31, 31.1, 32, 33 and 38 of the Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998).

Purpose

This section does not apply to keyboard tare entries (see section STP 11 for Tare Requirements). This section does not apply to devices installed and used in Not For Direct Sales applications (see section STP 3.7 for Marking Special Application requirements).

Metrological features of a device used in trade must be of such design, composition and construction so as to ensure accurate measurement and minimize the potential for fraudulent use. Many devices incorporate features that allow the operator to enter a weight value through a numeric keypad or keyboard.

Manual weight entries may be necessary in certain circumstances, such as POS systems, when credit must be given, or when generating labels for standard packages or correcting erroneous tickets. However, this capability may increase the potential for fraudulent device use if it is permitted without suitable precautions.

Requirements

Manual weight entries can therefore be allowed under the following conditions:

The device must be incapable of weighing when it is processing or printing a manual weight entry.

Displayed and printed manual weight entries must be adequately defined and must be automatically identified as "Manual Weight", "Manual WT" or "MAN WT" ("poids manuel", "pds manuel" or "PDS MAN").

Manual weight entry must be an optional feature that can be enabled/disabled and sealed against use in applications where its use is inappropriate and could facilitate fraud.

Clarification

  1. When a manual weight entry is printed and automatically identified as such, displaying the manual weight value is optional. If, however, the manual weight value is displayed, it must be properly identified as such.
  2. Identification of a manual weight entry, with the proper term, must be done automatically without the need for operator intervention.
  3. The use of a symbol to identify multiple manual weight entries is permitted provided that the symbol is defined on the same page as that on which the manual weight entries appear and the definition of the symbol is automatically printed by the recording element as part of the document.
  4. The following symbols are not acceptable: MAN, MW.
  5. Manual weight entries made subsequent to the actual weighing transaction are exempt from the requirements for identifying the entry as a manual weight entry. These manual weight entries are typically entered into a computer or other ancillary device and must not originate from or pass to or through the approved indicator.
  6. The entry and the use of both manual gross values and manual tare values are prohibited with on-board weighing systems.

Revision

Rev. 2 (2009-02-01)

  • remove requirement for LRE to be empty before allowing MWE

Rev. 1 (2008-01-01)

  • clarified manual weight entry requirements.
  • exempt Not For Direct Sales devices from complying with manual weight entry requirements.
  • allow manual weight entries on vehicle scales even if the scale is not at gross load zero.
  • correct references to Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998).
  • indicate that manual gross value and manual tare value are prohibited with on-board weighing systems.
Date modified:

Manuel de l'inspecteur — Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Partie 3, Section 9 : MEN-9 : Entrée manuelle des poids

Références

Articles 30, 31, 31.1, 32, 33 et 38 des Normes applicables aux appareils à fonctionnement non automatique (1998).

Objet

Le présent article ne s'applique pas aux entrées de la tare au clavier (voir MEN-11 pour les exigences relatives à la tare). Le présent article ne s'applique pas aux appareils qui ne sont ni installés ni utilisés pour la vente directe (voir l'article 3.7 pour les exigences de marquage visant des applications spéciales).

Les dispositifs métrologiques d'un appareil utilisé dans le commerce doivent être conçus, composés et construits de façon à assurer une mesure exacte et à réduire les possibilités de fraude. Plusieurs modèles d'appareils sont équipés de dispositifs permettant au préposé d'entrer une valeur pondérale au moyen d'un clavier ou d'un clavier numérique.

L'entrée manuelle du poids peut être nécessaire dans certains cas, notamment dans des systèmes de point de vente, lorsqu'il faut établir un crédit ou lorsqu'il faut produire des étiquettes pour des emballages standard ou encore lorsqu'il faut corriger des erreurs sur les tickets. Si l'utilisation de ce dispositif n'est pas assortie à des précautions adéquates, il y a risque d'augmentation des possibilités d'emplois frauduleux de l'appareil.

Exigences

L'entrée manuelle du poids est permise dans les conditions suivantes :

L'appareil doit être incapable d'effectuer une pesée lorsqu'il traite ou imprime une entrée manuelle du poids.

Les valeurs affichées et imprimées des poids entrés manuellement doivent être adéquatement définies et identifiées comme « poids manuel », « pds manuel » ou « PDS MAN » (Manual Weight, Manual WT ou MAN WT).

L'entrée manuelle du poids doit être une fonction facultative qui peut être validée ou invalidée et scellée afin d'empêcher son utilisation dans les cas où celle-ci est inadéquate et où elle risque d'encourager les emplois frauduleux.

Clarification

  1. Lorsqu'une entrée manuelle du poids est imprimée et automatiquement identifiée en tant que telle, l'affichage de la valeur pondérale manuelle est facultatif. Cependant, si la valeur pondérale manuelle est affichée, elle doit être adéquatement identifiée comme telle.
  2. L'identification d'une entrée manuelle du poids, au moyen du terme approprié, doit se faire automatiquement, sans nécessiter l'intervention du préposé.
  3. L'utilisation d'un symbole pour identifier des entrées manuelles de poids multiples n'est permise que si ce symbole est défini sur la même page que celle où sont inscrites les entrées manuelles du poids et si la définition de ce symbole est imprimée automatiquement par l'élément enregistreur comme partie du document.
  4. Les symboles suivants ne sont pas acceptables : MAN, PM.
  5. Les entrées manuelles du poids faites après le pesage sont exemptées de l'exigence d'identification de l'entrée comme étant une entrée manuelle du poids. Ces entrées manuelles du poids sont généralement faites à partir d'un ordinateur ou d'un autre appareil auxiliaire et ne doivent pas provenir de l'indicateur approuvé, ni transiter par ce dernier.
  6. L'entrée manuelle des valeurs du poids brut et de la tare et leur utilisation sont interdites sur les systèmes de pesage montés sur véhicules.

Révision

Rév. 2 (2009-02-01)

  • Suppression de l'exigence de vider l'élément récepteur de charge avant de permettre une entrée manuelle du poids.

Rév. 1 (2008-01-01)

  • Clarification des exigences applicables à l'entrée manuelle du poids.
  • Exemption des appareils non destinés à la vente directe de la conformité aux exigences applicables à l'entrée manuelle du poids.
  • Autorisation d'entrée manuelle du poids pour des ponts-bascules même s'ils ne sont pas à charge brute zéro.
  • Correction du renvoi aux Normes applicables aux appareils à fonctionnement non automatique (1998).
  • Indication que l'entrée manuelle de la valeur brute et de la tare est interdite sur les systèmes de pesage montés sur véhicule.
Date de modification :