Field Inspection Manual — Non-Automatic Weighing Devices

Part 3, Section 11: STP-11: Tare

Reference

Sections 31 of the Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998).

Purpose

Tare features must be designed and used to ensure accurate measurement and prevent the perpetration of fraud. There are numerous requirements that establish the proper operation of tare features depending upon the type of devices, the type of tare capability and the intended use of the device.

The extent of the requirements depends upon the application. For instance, design and operation requirements for devices used in direct sales are more stringent than those applicable to devices used in other applications. In general, and unless otherwise specified for particular types of tare, devices must provide a clear indication for both the operator and the consumer that a tare value has been entered; platter and keyboard tare values must be visible at some point during the weighing process and the alteration of platter or keyboard tare values, during the weighing process, must be impossible without being noticed. On the other hand, devices that are used in industrial applications or in other applications where the consumer is not normally present need only provide the operator with a clear indication that a tare value has been entered and have a means to display the tare value on demand.

The Approval Service Laboratory (ASL) performs an extensive evaluation of device tare functions, many of which are configurable or programmable. An exception to the rule is POS systems for which the ASL does not conduct the approval testing of the electronic cash registers which perform the tare operations. Field inspectors must therefore ensure that tare functions are configured within allowable parameters, particularly when devices are initially inspected.

Extracts from the Approval Evaluation Manual — Non Automatic Weighing Devices

Hereafter are the detailed marking requirements as extracted from the Approval Evaluation Manual — Non Automatic Weighing Devices. This extract is provided to ensure uniform and consistent application of the tare requirements in the field. Note that the numbering of the following sections correspond to the numbering used in the Approval Evaluation Manual — Non Automatic Weighing Devices.

Definitions

Tare (n):

the weight of a container or wrapper. Tare Weight is subtracted from Gross Weight to obtain Net Weight.

Tare: (v):

the practice of removing the weight of the container or wrapper. May be accomplished manually or automatically using the devices built in tare features.

Additive Tare:

means a tare entry that does not affect the device weighing capacity. A keyboard or platter tare entry of 10 kg on a 15 kg capacity scale that has an additive tare feature will still leave the possibility of weighing a net load of 15 kg.

Automatic/Auto Tare:

means an automatic platter tare. With the scale indication at zero, the scale automatically tares, within a pre-determined range, the value of the first load (container) put on the platter. The "Net" weight of the commodity is then determined.

Keyboard Tare:

means a fixed or percentage tare value entered through the keyboard (e.g. 20 g, 1.3%, etc.) or through one of the selectable tare keys to which tare values are assigned.

Percentage Tare:

means a tare value, expressed as a percentage (e.g. 5.6%), that represents the percentage of tare material compared to the gross weight of the commodity. A percentage tare is one form of proportional tare.

Platter Tare:

means a tare entry achieved by placing an object (e.g. a container, bag, etc.) on the platter and pressing the tare key. The device then indicates zero as the net weight with the object on the platter.

Preprogrammed Tare:

means a tare value that has been entered, retained in the device memory and assigned to a PLU code or product name. It can be a fixed tare value and/or a proportional tare value.

Proportional Tare:

means a tare value, automatically calculated by the scale, proportional to the gross weight indicated by the scale. A proportional tare can be a percentage tare or a fixed tare value proportional to a range of gross weights (i.e., a 10 g tare for gross weights between 0 and 2 kg, a 20 g tare for gross weights between 2 kg and 4 kg, etc.). A proportional tare is, therefore, not limited to being a percentage tare.

11.1 Applicable to any Type of Scale Or Weighing System and to any Type of Tare

11.1.1 The tare mechanism must only operate in the backward direction (under-registration).

11.1.2 The device must ignore or reject the entry of a zero tare value. The entry of a zero tare (or a 0% proportional tare) must not activate the "Tare Entered" or "Net" annunciator nor cause the display to automatically switch to the "Net" display mode. (Scales with a continuous tare display or tare display mode will indicate zero when the tare entry is zero. However, the entry of a zero tare must not cause the display to automatically switch to the net mode).

11.1.3 The tare value must be equal to the value of the displayed scale division for all methods of tare entry ( dtare = d). An attempt to enter a tare value that is not equal to d must be rejected or rounded off to the nearest scale interval (see section STP 28 for specific requirements pertaining to multi-interval and multiple range devices).

11.1.4 The tare weight signal must be "free floating". If the tare value is changed during the weighing operation, the net weight must be re-adjusted accordingly (Net + Tare = Gross).

11.1.5 The sum of the Tare value entered or preprogrammed and the Net weight that can be weighed must not exceed the Gross weight capability of the device (Max+ 9e for computing scales — and preferred for all scales; Max + 5% for other scales). See the blanking display test in section STP 18.

This does not preclude a device from having a full capacity tare plus a full capacity weighing range (additive tare). In such a case, tests for accuracy, repeatability, eccentricity, etc. must be performed based on the maximum weighing capacity with the maximum tare value entered.

11.1.6 It shall not be possible to enter a value of tare that exceeds the tare capability range (e.g. a tare entry of 6 kg on a scale with a tare range of 5 kg must be rejected and not taken as 5 kg).

11.1.7 Whenever Net, Gross and Tare weights are indicated or printed, they must be in exact mathematical agreement (Net + Tare = Gross) and the total price must be calculated on the basis of the net weight.

11.1.8 The use of any mechanism to select the unit of measure (lb/kg switch) must be inhibited when a tare is entered (through the keyboard, platter or preprogrammed) unless all weight values, including the tare value, are automatically converted and accurately rounded off to the nearest scale interval.

11.1.9 If a device is designed to automatically clear the tare after each weighing, it must also be designed to prevent the automatic clearing of a tare before a stable weight indication has been provided and the transaction completed.

Clarification

On a price computing scale, the transaction is only completed with the entry of a unit price and the computation of the total price. The removal of the commodity from the platter before the total price is computed must not automatically cancel the tare.

11.2 Platter and Keyboard Tare

11.2.1 Pressing the tare button once, or several times, with a load on the platter (platter tare) must set the device to zero and only to zero.

11.2.2 Except for Point of Sale (POS) systems, the device must provide a visual confirmation or indication that a platter or keyboard tare has been entered (see the particular requirements for preprogrammed tares and POS systems).

Acceptable Means of Providing Visual Confirmation:

  1. The device has a separate and continuous tare display.
  2. The device displays simultaneously or in sequence (within a time interval of a few seconds), for both the operator and the consumer, the gross, tare and net weights with their proper descriptors.
  3. The device displays the net weight only, with net weight annunciator near the weight display. Gross weight is displayed and the net weight or annunciator goes off when the tare weight is zero.
  4. The device has selectable Gross and Net weight display modes with proper descriptors and annunciators.

    Acceptable Means of Providing Visual Confirmation

    Acceptable Means of Providing Visual Confirmation (the long description is located below the image)
    Description of Figure 1

    Three examples of acceptable means of providing visual confirmation. The first display shows the weight and has Gross and Net weight descriptors and annunciators; the currently selected mode (Gross or Net) is indicated by the appropriate annunciator. The second display shows the weight and has only a Net weight descriptor and annunciator. The third display shows all three of the Gross, Tare and Net weights, each labeled with the appropriate descriptor.

  5. It is recommended that video display terminals that are the primary indicators of devices simultaneously display the Gross and Tare weights when the Net weight value has been determined.

Note: Appropriate annunciators or descriptors must go "on" when tares are entered; not "off".

11.2.3 The entry of a platter or keyboard tare must automatically override any previous tare entry or be rejected (i.e. they cannot be additive). A percentage tare value may however be entered in addition to a fixed keyboard or platter tare value.

11.2.4 Unless a separate tare display is provided, the device must display a negative weight value when the weight of the load on the platter is smaller than the tare weight.

11.3 Preprogrammed Tare (fixed or percentage)

11.3.1 Preprogrammed tare values may only be assigned (programmed) when the device is at gross load zero and in a "configuration" mode.

11.3.2 Fixed and/or percentage tares may be preprogrammed into PLU codes. PLU codes may be entered or changed at any time, whether or not a load is on the platter.

11.3.3 Except for POS systems, scales must display the Net weight ("net"on) when a preprogrammed tare is entered through a PLU code.

11.4 Percentage Tare

11.4.1 Fixed and percentage tares may be added to obtain a total tare value for a transaction. For instance, a PLU code may be preprogrammed with cumulative fixed and percentage tares; or a fixed platter or keyboard tare may be entered first, and then, through a PLU code, a percentage tare applied.

11.4.2 If a device can sum fixed and percentage tare values, the two values must be added first and then the total tare value rounded off to the nearest scale interval. There is therefore no benefit in expressing percentage tare values with more than one decimal place (e.g. 1.5%, 3.3%, etc.).

Examples:

Scale: 15 kg x 5 g
Total gross weight
TGW
Fixed tare weight
FTW
Gross weight
GW = TGW-FTW
Percentage tare value
%T
Percentage tare weight calculated
GW x %T
Total gross weight
TGW
Total tare
(fixed + percentage)
Net weight
NW
Calculated Rounded
355 g 10 g 345 g 9.2% 31.74 g 355 g 41.74 g 40 g 315 g
Scale: Multi-interval 0-2 kg x 1 g — 2-5 kg x 5 g
Total gross weight
TGW
Fixed tare weight
FTW
Gross weight
GW = TGW-FTW
Percentage tare value
%T
Percentage tare weight calculated
GW x %T
Total gross weight
TGW
Total tare
(fixed + percentage)
Net weight
NW
Calculated Rounded
2890 g 9 g 2881 g 11.2% 322.672 g 2890 g 331.672 g 330 g Footnote 1 2560 g
332 g Footnote 2 2558 g Footnote 3
  1. Footnote 1 Tare rounded to the nearest 5 g scale interval (interval for weighing range of the gross weight). (Return to footnote 1 reference)
  2. Footnote 2 Tare rounded to the nearest 2 g scale interval (interval for weighing range of the tare weight). (Return to footnote 2 reference)
  3. Footnote 3 See sections STP 28.1.7 and STP 28.1.10 for specific requirements applicable to multi-interval and multiple range devices. (Return to footnote 3 reference)

11.4.3 The visual confirmation that a tare has been applied (i.e. Net annunciator) must only be enabled if the percentage tare multiplied by the gross weight represents one or more scale intervals after the appropriate rounding. The turning on of the Net annunciator must only occur if the net weight does not equal the gross weight (i.e. a tare has actually been applied to the gross weight).

Note: These acronyms are used in the following equations:
%T

(Percentage tare)

TW

(Tare Weight)

GW

(Gross Weight)

NW

(Net Weight)

TGW

(Total Gross Weight)

FTW

(Fixed Tare Weight)

The %T of a commodity is determined as follows:

  • %T = TW ÷ GW × 100

NW is determined as follows:

  • NW = TGW − FTW − [(%T)(TGW − FTW)]

11.5 Devices used for Direct Sales

11.5.1 Except for preprogrammed tare, proportional tare and POS systems, when keyboard or platter tare values are entered the scale must comply with one of the following requirements:

11.5.1.1 the tare value is permanently indicated on a separate dedicated display; or

11.5.1.2 the tare value is indicated as a negative value when there is no load on the load receiving element;

11.5.2 A platter or keyboard tare value may not be entered, modified or cancelled unless the device is at gross load zero or the device indicates a negative weight value. This does not apply when the tare is continuously indicated on a separate dedicated display (or, as a minimum, the new tare value is clearly displayed to the customer at some point during the transaction) nor to a preprogrammed tare associated with a PLU.

Example: A platter or keyboard tare value is entered on a computing scale and a negative value is indicated. If the wrong tare value was entered, it may be cancelled and replaced by a new tare value when the platter is empty. This new tare value will be indicated as a negative weight value. However, the correction must not be possible with a commodity resting on the platter (positive weight indication). In such instances, the operator must remove the commodity from the platter and then cancel or change the tare value.

Clarification: The zero indication/no load condition does not apply to a preprogrammed tare value. The idea being that the operator should not be capable of altering a tare value without providing the consumer with an indication that a new tare value has been entered. In the case of a preprogrammed tare associated with a PLU code, the tare value is rarely displayed. However, it is unlikely that the operator will select the wrong PLU code or product name, or change the PLU code during the weighing operation, to reduce the tare value. Such actions would affect the unit price and would be detectable by the consumer.

11.5.3 Platter or keyboard tare values may be retained between transactions.

11.5.4 Auto-tares are prohibited in direct sale to the public applications.

11.6 Devices intended for industrial applications or other applications where consumers are not normally present

11.6.1 A tare may be cancelled or modified while a load is on the load receiving element provided that the device has means to indicate, on demand, the value of the tare. These means include a negative weight value displayed when the platter is empty or a means to recall the tare value. A clear indication must be provided to the operator that a tare has been entered or cancelled (a tare annunciator is sufficient).

11.6.2 Tare values may be retained between transactions.

11.6.3 Combined semi-automatic zero/tare buttons are permitted under the following conditions:

11.6.3.1 The zero/tare mechanism operates only when the scale provides a stable indication; the mechanism sets the indication to zero, only, within + 0.25e (or 0.5d for Class I and II devices equipped with auxiliary reading means); the zero range does not exceed 4% of scale capacity unless the gross load that can be weighed is not increased beyond scale capacity.

11.6.3.2 The scale is intended to be used exclusively for industrial applications or applications where consumers are not normally present.

11.6.3.3 The AZTM or Center-of-Zero annunciator must be effective when the device displays zero after a zero setting operation (within the zero range). The AZTM may also work when zero is indicated after a tare operation.

11.6.3.4 The AZTM does not re-zero weight values in excess of 0.6e; the total AZTM range does not exceed 4% of scale capacity unless the gross load that can be weighed is not increased beyond scale capacity.

11.6.3.5 The scale must be permanently marked, near the weight display(s), with the legend "Not for Use in Direct Sales" or similar language and the ranges of both zero and tare operation (e.g. Zero Range up to 7d - Tare Range above 7d).

11.6.3.6 The range of zero and tare operation must not be user selectable (i.e. fixed or, as a minimum, a sealable parameter).

11.6.3.7 Visibility of operation — the scale is required to display an indication (Net annunciator) that a tare has been entered when a weight value within the tare range is subtracted by activating the zero/tare button.

11.7 Point of Sale Systems

11.7.1 A POS system may display the Gross weight on the scale display; however, it must print the Net weight on the cash register tape. The scale of a POS system is not required to display the net weight nor provide an indication that a tare value has been entered.

11.8 Multi-interval and Multiple Range Scales

See section STP 28 (Multi Interval / Multi Range Device) of this manual.

11.9 Customer Display

See section STP 7 (Installation and Location of the Device) of this manual.

Revision

Rev 2.

  • removed all remaining references to Laboratory Evaluation Manual.
  • 11.1.5 added prefer +9e for all scales, although +5% is still allowable. (9e will always be less than 5% Max).
  • change reference from "Direct Sales to the Public" to "Direct Sales".
  • change all remaining fractions to decimals to maintain consistency throughout FIM.
  • rename section 11.9 to Customer Display
  • correct reference to Specifications Relating to Non-automatic Weighing Devices (1998).
  • remove definition of POS from this STP. See IPO 2.20 (POS)

Rev 1.

  • Section 11.8 reference STP 28 of this manual
Date modified:

Manuel de l'inspecteur — Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Partie 3, Section 11 : MEN-11 : Tare

Référence

Article 31 de la Norme applicable aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (1998).

Objet

Les dispositifs de tare doivent être conçus et utilisés de façon à assurer un mesurage exact et à ne pas favoriser les fraudes. De nombreuses exigences régissent le fonctionnement adéquat des dispositifs de tare qui équipent un appareil, selon le type d'appareil, la capacité de tare et l'utilisation prévue des appareils.

L'étendue des exigences est fonction de l'utilisation de l'appareil. Par exemple, les exigences de conception et de fonctionnement des appareils destinés à la vente directe sont généralement plus sévères que celles applicables aux appareils utilisés dans d'autres applications. En général et à moins d'indication contraire pour certains types particuliers de tare, les appareils doivent indiquer clairement à l'opérateur et au consommateur qu'une tare a été entrée; la tare au plateau et au clavier doit être visible à un moment donné au cours du procédé de pesage et il doit être impossible de modifier la tare au plateau ou au clavier sans que l'intervention ne soit flagrante. Par contre, les appareils utilisés dans les applications industrielles ou dans d'autres applications où les consommateurs sont normalement absents doivent simplement fournir à l'opérateur une indication claire qu'une tare a été entrée et pouvoir afficher la tare sur demande.

Le Laboratoire des services d'approbation (LSA) effectue une évaluation exhaustive des fonctions tare dont plusieurs sont configurables ou programmables. Il existe une exception à la règle : le LSA n'effectue pas l'essai d'approbation des caisses enregistreuses électroniques des systèmes de point de vente qui exécutent des opérations de tare. L'inspecteur doit donc s'assurer que la fonction tare est configurée en fonction des paramètres admissibles, surtout lors de l'inspection initiale.

Extrait du manuel d'évaluation aux fins d'approbation ‑ Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Ci-après se trouvent les exigences détaillées relatives au marquage extraites du Manuel d'évaluation aux fins d'approbation - Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique. Cet extrait est reproduit dans le présent manuel pour assurer une mise en vigueur uniforme des exigences de tare sur le terrain. Il est à noter que la numérotation des articles suivants correspond à la numérotation utilisée dans le Manuel d'évaluation aux fins d'approbation - Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique.

Définitions

Tare
Désigne le poids d'un contenant ou d'un conditionnement. La tare est soustraite du poids brut pour obtenir le poids net.
Tare additive
Signifie une tare entrée qui n'a aucune incidence sur la capacité de pesage de l'appareil. Une tare au clavier ou au plateau de 10 kg sur une balance d'une capacité de 15 kg dotée d'une fonction de tare additive conserve sa capacité de peser une charge nette de 15 kg.
Tare automatique
Désigne une tare de plateau qu'effectue automatiquement l'appareil; l'affichage étant réglé à zéro, la balance saisit automatiquement comme tare, à l'intérieur d'une plage prédéterminée, la valeur de la première charge (premier contenant) placée sur le plateau. Le poids NET de la marchandise peut ensuite être déterminé.
Tare au clavier
Désigne une tare fixe ou une tare pourcentage entrée au clavier (ex. : 20 g, 1,3 %, etc.) ou par l'entremise d'une des touches de sélection de la tare auxquelles des valeurs de tare sont assignées.
Tare pourcentage
Désigne une valeur de tare, exprimée en pourcentage (ex. : 5,6%), qui représente le pourcentage de la tare comparé au poids brut de la marchandise. Une tare pourcentage est une forme de tare proportionnelle.
Tare au plateau
Désigne une tare entrée en plaçant un objet (ex. : un contenant, un sac, etc.) sur le plateau et en appuyant sur la touche tare. L'appareil indique ensuite zéro comme poids net avec l'objet sur le plateau.
Tare préprogrammée
Désigne une tare qui a été entrée, conservée dans la mémoire de l'appareil et assignée à un code PLU ou à un produit particulier. Il peut s'agir d'une tare fixe et/ou proportionnelle.
Tare proportionnelle
Désigne une tare, calculée automatiquement par la balance, qui est proportionnelle au poids brut indiqué par la balance. Une tare proportionnelle peut être une tare pourcentage ou une tare fixe proportionnelle à une étendue de poids bruts (en d'autres termes, une tare de 10 g pour les poids bruts entre 0 et 2 kg, une tare de 20 g pour des poids bruts entre 2 et 4 kg, etc.). Une tare proportionnelle n'est donc pas limitée à une tare pourcentage.
Tarer
Signifie soustraire le poids du contenant ou du conditionnement. Cette opération peut se faire manuellement ou automatiquement à l'aide des fonctions de tare intégrées à l'appareil.

11.1 Applicable à tous les types de balances ou systèmes de pesage et à tout type de tare

11.1.1 Le dispositif de tarage ne doit fonctionner que dans le sens soustractif (enregistrement en moins).

11.1.2 L'appareil doit rejeter ou ne pas tenir compte d'une tare zéro. L'entrée d'une tare zéro (ou une tare proportionnelle de 0 %) ne doit pas activer le voyant « Tare entrée » ou « Net » ni faire passer automatiquement le dispositif afficheur en mode d'affichage du poids Net. (Les balances équipées d'un mode d'affichage continu de la tare ou d'un mode tare indiqueront zéro lorsque la tare entrée est zéro. Toutefois, l'entrée d'une tare zéro ne doit pas faire passer automatiquement le dispositif afficheur en mode net).

11.1.3 La valeur de la tare doit être égale à la valeur de l'échelon affiché pour toutes les méthodes d'introduction de la tare (dtare = d). Toute entrée de tare qui n'est pas égale à d doit être rejetée ou arrondie à l'échelon le plus près (voir MEN 28 pour connaître les exigences supplémentaires visant les appareils à échelons multiples et à étendues multiples).

11.1.4 Le signal de tare doit être « mobile ». Si la tare est modifiée pendant le procédé de pesage, le poids net doit être corrigé en conséquence (Net + Tare = Brut).

11.1.5 La somme de la tare entrée ou préprogrammée et du poids net pouvant être pesé ne doit pas dépasser la capacité en poids Brut de l'appareil (Max + 9 e pour les balances calculatrices - et privilégié pour toutes les balances; Max + 5 % pour les autres balances). Voir l'essai d'effacement de l'affichage de la MEN 18.

Ceci n'empêche pas une balance d'avoir une tare pleine capacité et une étendue de pesage pleine capacité (tare additive). En pareil cas, les essais de précision, de fidélité, d'excentricité, etc. doivent être effectués en fonction de la capacité de pesage maximale avec la tare maximale entrée.

11.1.6 Il doit être impossible d'entrer une tare qui dépasse la plage de tarage (ex. : une tare de 6 kg sur une balance ayant une plage de tarage de 5 kg doit être rejetée et non interprétée comme 5 kg).

11.1.7 Chaque fois que les poids net, brut et la tare sont affichés ou imprimés, il doit y avoir concordance mathématique (Net + Tare = Brut) et le prix total doit être calculé en fonction du poids net.

11.1.8 L'emploi de tout mécanisme pour choisir les unités de mesure (commutateur lb/kg) doit être invalidé lorsqu'une tare est entrée (au clavier, au plateau ou préprogrammée) à moins que toutes les valeurs pondérales, y compris la tare, soient automatiquement converties et arrondies avec exactitude à l'échelon le plus près.

11.1.9 Si un appareil est conçu pour effacer automatiquement la tare après chaque pesée, il doit aussi être conçu pour empêcher l'effacement automatique d'une tare avant qu'une indication stable du poids soit obtenue et la transaction terminée.

Clarification

Dans le cas d'une balance calculatrice de prix, la transaction n'est terminée que lorsqu'un prix unitaire est entré et le prix total est calculé. Le retrait d'une marchandise du plateau avant le calcul du prix total ne doit pas annuler automatiquement la tare.

11.2 Tare au plateau et tare au clavier

11.2.1 L'enfoncement du bouton de tarage une ou plusieurs fois lorsqu'il y a une charge sur le plateau (tare au plateau) doit ramener l'appareil à zéro et uniquement à zéro.

11.2.2 Sauf pour les systèmes de point de vente (SPV), l'appareil doit fournir une confirmation ou une indication visuelle que la tare au plateau ou au clavier est effectivement entrée (voir exigences particulières régissant les tares préprogrammées et les SPV).

Façons acceptables de fournir une confirmation visuelle :

  1. L'appareil présente un affichage distinct et continu de la tare.
  2. L'appareil affiche simultanément ou en séquence (à quelques secondes d'intervalle), à l'intention de l'opérateur et du consommateur, le poids brut, la tare et le poids net, accompagnés des descripteurs adéquats.
  3. L'appareil affiche le poids net uniquement, avec un voyant de poids net à proximité du dispositif afficheur du poids. Le poids brut est affiché et le voyant du poids net s'éteint lorsque la tare entrée correspond à zéro.
  4. Les modes d'affichage de l'appareil permettent un choix d'affichage du poids brut et du poids net et sont équipés des descripteurs et des voyants appropriés.
    Façons acceptables de fournir une confirmation visuelle (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

    Figure 1: Façons acceptables de fournir une confirmation visuelle

    Description de la figure 1

    Trois exemples de façons acceptables de fournir une confirmation visuelle. Le premier dispositif d'affichage affiche le poids et est muni de descripteurs et de voyants brut et net; le mode sélectionné (brut ou net) est indiqué par le voyant approprié. Le second dispositif d'affichage affiche le poids et est muni uniquement d'un descripteur et d'un voyant net. Le troisième dispositif d'affichage affiche les trois poids, brut, tare et net, et chaque poid est identifié à l'aide d'un descripteur.

  5. Il est recommandé que les terminaux à écran de visualisation qui constituent les indicateurs primaires des appareils affichent simultanément le poids brut et la tare lorsque le poids net a été déterminé.

Nota : Les voyants ou les descripteurs doivent être « allumés » et non pas « éteints » lorsque les tares sont entrées.

11.2.3 L'entrée de la tare au clavier ou au plateau doit automatiquement supprimer toute tare antérieure ou être rejetée (en d'autres termes, les tares ne peuvent pas être additives). Une tare pourcentage peut, cependant, être entrée en plus d'une tare fixe au clavier ou au plateau.

11.2.4 À moins qu'un dispositif afficheur distinct de la tare ne soit prévu, l'appareil doit afficher un poids négatif lorsque le poids de la charge sur le plateau est inférieur à la tare.

11.3 Tare préprogrammée (fixe ou en pourcentage)

11.3.1 Les valeurs de tare préprogrammées ne peuvent être assignées (programmées) que lorsque la charge brute de l'appareil est à zéro et que l'appareil est en mode configuration.

11.3.2 Les tares fixes et/ou pourcentage peuvent être préprogrammées avec les codes PLU, lesquels peuvent être introduits ou modifiés en tout temps, avec ou sans une charge sur le plateau.

11.3.3 Sauf pour les systèmes de point de vente, les balances doivent afficher le poids net (voyant « Net » allumé) lorsqu'une tare préprogrammée est entrée par l'entremise d'un code PLU.

11.4 Tare pourcentage

11.4.1 Une tare fixe et une tare pourcentage peuvent être additionnées afin d'obtenir une tare totale pour une transaction. Par exemple, un code PLU peut être préprogrammé avec des tares fixe et pourcentage cumulatives; ou une tare au plateau ou au clavier fixe peut être introduite, suivie d'une tare pourcentage par l'entremise d'un code PLU.

11.4.2 Si un appareil peut cumuler les tares fixes et pourcentage, les deux valeurs doivent d'abord être additionnées et la valeur totale arrondie à l'échelon le plus près. Il n'y a donc pas d'avantage à exprimer les tares pourcentage avec plus d'une décimale (ex : 1,5 %, 3,3 %, etc.).

Exemples :

Balance : 15 kg × 5 g
Poids brut total (PBT) Tare fixe (TF) Poids brut (PB = PBT -TF) Valeur de tare pourcentage (T %) Tare pourcentage calculée (PB × T %) Poids brut total (PBT) Tare totale (fixe + pourcentage) Poids net (PN)
Calculée Arrondie
355 g 10 g 345 g 9,2 % 31,74 g 355 g 41,74 g 40 g 315 g
Balance : Échelons multiples 0-2 kg × 1 g 2-5 kg × 5 g
Poids brut total (PBT) Tare fixe (TF) Poids brut (PB = PBT - TF) Valeur de tare pourcentage (T %) Tare pourcentage calculée (PB × T %) Poids brut total (PBT) Tare totale (fixe + pourcentage) Poids net PN
Calculée Arrondie
2890 g 9 g 2881 g 11.2% 322.672 g 2890 g 33,.672 g 330 gNote de bas de page 1 2560 g
332 gNote de bas de page 2 2558 gNote de bas de page 3

11.4.3 La confirmation visuelle qu'une tare a été appliquée (ex. : le voyant « Net ») doit seulement être activée si la tare pourcentage multipliée par le poids brut représente un échelon ou plus après arrondissement approprié. Le voyant « Net » doit seulement s'allumer si le poids net n'est pas le même que le poids brut (en d'autres termes, une tare a effectivement été appliquée au poids brut).

Nota : Les acronymes suivants sont utilisés dans les équations ci-après :

T %
Tare pourcentage
T
Tare
PB
Poids brut
PN
Poids net
PBT
Poids brut total
TF
Tare fixe

La T % d'une marchandise est calculée comme suit :

  • T % = T ÷ PB × 100

Le PN est calculé comme suit :

  • PN = PBT - TF - [(T %)(PBT - TF)]

11.5 Appareils destinés à la vente directe

11.5.1 Sauf pour la tare préprogrammée, la tare proportionnelle et les systèmes de point de vente, lorsque la tare au clavier ou au plateau est introduite, la balance doit satisfaire à une des exigences suivantes :

11.5.1.1 La tare est indiquées en permanence sur un dispositif d'affichage distinct; ou

11.5.1.2 La tare est indiquée comme une valeur négative lorsqu'il n'y a aucune charge sur l'élément récepteur de charge.

11.5.2 Une tare au plateau ou au clavier ne peut pas être entrée, modifiée ni annulée à moins que l'appareil n'affiche une charge brute zéro ou un poids négatif. Cette condition ne s'applique pas à une tare qui est indiquée en continu sur un dispositif afficheur distinct (ou, à tout le moins, la nouvelle tare est clairement affichée pour le consommateur à un certain point pendant la transaction) ni à une tare préprogrammée associée à un code PLU.

Exemple :

Une tare au plateau ou au clavier est entrée sur une balance calculatrice et une valeur négative est affichée. Si une tare incorrecte a été entrée, il est possible de l'annuler et de la remplacer par une nouvelle tare lorsque le plateau est vide. Cette nouvelle tare sera indiquée comme une valeur négative. Toutefois, il doit être impossible de corriger la tare lorsqu'il y a une marchandise sur le plateau (affichage d'un poids positif). En pareil cas, l'opérateur doit retirer la marchandise du plateau et ensuite annuler ou modifier la tare.

Clarification :

L'indication zéro/condition à vide ne s'applique pas à une tare préprogrammée. Le but est d'empêcher l'opérateur de modifier la tare sans indiquer au consommateur qu'une nouvelle tare a été entrée. Dans le cas d'une tare préprogrammée associée à un code PLU, la tare est rarement affichée. Toutefois, il est peu probable que l'opérateur sélectionne le mauvais code PLU ou nom de produit, ou qu'il change le code PLU pendant l'opération de pesage, afin de réduire la tare. Cette manoeuvre aurait une incidence sur le prix unitaire et serait détectable par le consommateur.

11.5.3 La tare au plateau ou au clavier peut être conservée entre les transactions.

11.5.4 Il est interdit d'utiliser la tare automatique dans les ventes directes.

11.6 Appareils destinés à des applications industrielles ou à d'autres applications où le consommateur est normalement absent.

11.6.1 Une tare peut être annulée ou modifiée alors qu'une charge se trouve sur l'élément récepteur de charge à condition que l'appareil puisse indiquer, sur demande, la valeur de la tare. Les moyens comprennent l'affichage d'un poids négatif lorsque le plateau est vide ou un moyen de rappeler la tare. Une indication claire doit être fournie à l'opérateur qu'une tare a été entrée ou annulée (un voyant de tare est suffisant).

11.6.2 Les valeurs de tare peuvent être conservées entre les transactions.

11.6.3 Les dispositifs semi-automatiques de mise à zéro et de tare combinés sont autorisés dans les conditions suivantes :

11.6.3.1 Le dispositif de zéro/tare ne doit fonctionner que lorsque l'appareil affiche une indication stable; le dispositif ne doit ramener l'indication qu'à zéro, en deçà de + 0,25e (ou 0,5d dans le cas des appareils de classe I et II équipés d'indicateurs auxiliaires); l'étendue du zéro ne doit pas dépasser 4 % de la capacité de l'appareil, sauf si la charge brute pouvant être pesée n'est pas augmentée au-delà de la capacité de la balance.

11.6.3.2 La balance est destinée à être utilisée exclusivement pour des applications industrielles ou des applications où les consommateurs sont normalement absents.

11.6.3.3 Le DMZA ou le voyant du Centre-du-zéro doivent être actifs lorsque l'appareil affiche zéro après une mise à zéro (à l'intérieur de l'étendue du zéro). Le DMZA peut également fonctionner lorsque le zéro est indiqué après l'établissement d'une tare.

11.6.3.4 Le DMZA ne doit pas ramener à zéro des valeurs pondérales supérieures à 0,6 e; l'étendue totale du DMZA ne doit pas dépasser 4 % de la portée de l'appareil, sauf si la charge brute pouvant être pesée n'est pas augmentée au-delà de la portée de la balance.

11.6.3.5 La balance doit arborer une marque permanente, située près du dispositif d'affichage du poids et indiquant « Interdit pour la vente directe » ou un message équivalent, ainsi que l'étendue du zéro et celle de la tare (ex : Étendue du zéro jusqu'à 7d - Étendue de la tare au-dessus de 7d).

11.6.3.6 - L'étendue du zéro et celle de la tare ne doivent pas pouvoir être choisies par l'utilisateur (il doit s'agir de paramètres fixes ou, au minimum, de paramètres scellables).

11.6.3.7 Visibilité de l'opération - la balance doit afficher une indication (voyant « Net ») indiquant qu'une tare a été entrée lorsqu'une valeur pondérale à l'intérieur de l'étendue de la tare est soustraite en actionnant le dispositif zéro/tare.

11.7 Systèmes de point de vente

11.7.1 Un système de point de vente peut afficher le poids brut sur le dispositif d'affichage de la balance; toutefois il doit imprimer le poids net sur le reçu de caisse. La balance d'un système de pesage de point de vente n'est pas tenue d'afficher le poids net ni de fournir une indication confirmant l'entrée d'une tare.

11.8 Balances à échelons multiples et à étendues multiples

Voir la MEN 28 (Appareils à échelons multiples et à étendues multiples) du présent manuel.

11.9 Affichage du consommateur

Voir la MEN 7 (Installation et emplacement de l'appareil) du présent manuel.

Révision

Rév. 2

  • suppression de tous les renvois au Manuel d'évaluation du Laboratoire.
  • article 11.1.5, ajout de + 9e privilégié pour toutes les balances bien que + 5 % soit encore permis (9e sera toujours inférieur à 5 % Max).
  • Modification de « ventes directes au public » à « ventes directes ».
  • Conversion de toutes les fractions en décimales pour maintenir l'uniformité dans le Manuel de l'inspecteur.
  • changement du titre de l'article 11.9 à Affichage pour le consommateur
  • bon renvoi à la Norme applicable aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique (1998)
  • retrait de la définiton de SPV de la présente MEN. Voir AMI 2.20 (SPV)

Rév. 1

  • Article 11.8 référence MEN 28 du présent manuel
Date de modification :