Field Inspection Manual — Non-Automatic Weighing Devices

Part 3, Section 24: STP-24: Weigh-in/Weigh-out Systems — Vehicle Scales

Reference

Sections 31, 33 and 55 of the Non Automatic Weighing Devices Specifications.

Purpose

A weigh-in/weigh-out system is typically a vehicle scale in which an inbound truck is weighed either loaded or empty, the inbound weight is stored, the truck is then emptied or loaded as the case may be, the outbound truck is weighed and the larger of the two weights (outbound or stored weight) is printed as the gross weight, the other printed as the tare weight and the difference computed as the net weight. Inbound weights, recalled weight values, and gross, tare and net weights must be identified to clearly document the transaction. The storage, recalling, and printing actions are limited so that they do not facilitate fraud.

This system does not retain inbound weights when the outbound weight is printed. The client's file (where inbound information is stored) is cleared for the next transaction.

In many cases, auxiliary equipment such as computers (software) are used to perform weigh-in/weigh-out operations. The following minimum requirements are essential to ensure that the system will not lead to measurement errors and will not facilitate the perpetration of fraud. Inspectors ensure that weigh in-out systems meet the requirements when the device is initially inspected.

Requirements

  • Any inbound weight values must be recorded and automatically identified as such. If inbound weights are not printed at the time the weigh-in operation is performed, the inbound weight information must not be lost during a power interruption.
  • The gross, tare and net weight values must be recorded (printed) in an automatic sequence when the outbound weight value is obtained.
  • The recorded weight value is not required to be automatically identified as a gross weight value, provided that the other two weight values are clearly and automatically identified as net and tare.
  • If a device can indicate and/or record in two and more weight units, all gross, tare and net weight values shall be automatically recorded in the same weight units. This condition must be met regardless which weight unit is being displayed.
  • Any weigh-in/weigh-out weight values stored in the memory register shall automatically clear and not be retained in memory after a complete transaction of gross, tare and net has been recorded.
  • Any recorded weighing value from the memory register shall be automatically identified and defined.
  • Tare values shall not be stored as negative values. (Negative numbers shall not be accepted).
  • Keyboard tare entries shall not be accepted into weigh-in/weigh-out memory registers.
  • If the system is equipped with a tare memory register for weighing gross, tare and net weights separate from the weigh-in/weigh-out feature, the tare weight shall not interact with the weigh-in/weigh-out feature.
  • The data processing system performing the weigh-in/weigh out operation shall only accept weight values when the scale indicator is in the gross weight mode, or give an error signal.

Revision

Original document

Date modified:

Manuel de l'inspecteur — Appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique

Partie 3, Section 24 : MEN-24 : Systèmes de pesage entrée-sortie — Ponts-bascules

Référence

Articles 31, 33 et 55 des Normes applicables aux appareils de pesage à fonctionnement non automatique.

Objet

Un système de pesage "entrée-sortie" est un pont-bascule routier sur lequel un camion entrant est pesé, chargé ou vide; le poids d'entrée est stocké en mémoire; le camion est chargé ou déchargé, selon le cas; le camion sortant est pesé et le plus élevé des deux poids (de sortie ou stocké) est imprimé comme le poids brut et l'autre comme la tare, et la différence entre les deux correspond au poids net. Les poids d'entrée, les poids stockés rappelés, les poids bruts, les tares et les poids nets doivent être clairement identifiés afin de bien documenter la transaction. Les fonctions de mise en mémoire, de rappel et d'impression sont limitées de façon à ne pas faciliter les fraudes.

Ce type de système ne conserve pas en mémoire le poids "d'entrée" lorsque le poids de "sortie" a été établie et imprimée. Le fichier du client se vide (le fichier entrée-sortie) automatiquement et est prêt pour la prochaine transaction.

Dans la plupart des cas, des équipements auxiliaires tels des ordinateurs exécutent les opérations entrée-sortie. Les exigences minimales suivantes sont considérées comme essentielles pour s'assurer que les systèmes de pesage limiteront les erreurs ou occasions de fraudes. L'inspecteur s'assurera de la conformité du système aux exigences suivantes particulièrement lors de l'inspection initiale.

Exigences

  • Tout poids d'entrée doit être consigné et automatiquement identifié comme tel. Si les poids d'entrée ne sont pas imprimés au moment de la pesée, ils ne doivent pas être perdus en cas de panne de courant.
  • Le poids brut, la tare et le poids net doivent être enregistrés (imprimés) dans une séquence automatique lorsque le poids de sortie est obtenu.
  • Il n'est pas nécessaire que le poids enregistré soit automatiquement identifié comme un poids brut, pourvu que les deux autres poids soient clairement et automatiquement identifiés comme le poids net et la tare.
  • Si un instrument peut indiquer et/ou enregistrer deux unités de mesure ou plus, toutes les valeurs du poids brut, de la tare et du poids net doivent être automatiquement enregistrées dans les mêmes unités de mesure. Cette condition doit être respectée, indépendamment de l'unité de mesure étant affichée.
  • Tout poids d'entrée/sortie stocké en mémoire doit automatiquement s'effacer et ne pas être conservé en mémoire une fois que la transaction complète comprenant le poids brut, la tare et le poids net a été enregistrée.
  • Toute valeur pondérale rappelée de la mémoire doit être automatiquement identifiée et définie.
  • Les tares ne doivent pas être consignées comme valeurs négatives. (Les valeurs négatives ne doivent pas être acceptées)
  • Les tares au clavier ne doivent pas être acceptées dans les mémoires d'un système de pesage entrée/sortie.
  • Si le système est équipé d'un registre de stockage des tares pour le pesage du poids brut, du poids net et de la tare indépendant du système entrée/sortie, il ne doit pas entrer en conflit avec ce dernier.
  • Le système de traitement des données effectuant le pesage entrée/sortie ne doit accepter que les valeurs pondérales lorsque l'indicateur de la balance est en mode de pesage brut, sinon il doit émettre un signal d'erreur.

Révision

Document original

Date de modification :