Questions and Answers on The Effect of Automatic Temperature Compensation on Fuel Sales

The volume of a liquid fuel expands and contracts with changes in temperature. The process of temperature compensation allows for a measured volume of fuel to be adjusted to the volume it would occupy if it were measured at 15 °C. Selling temperature compensated fuel eliminates inequities caused by changes in volume due to temperature variations. An electronic device called an automatic temperature compensator measures the temperature of the fuel during delivery and automatically calculates the amount of fuel as though it had been delivered at 15 °C. The words "Volume Corrected to 15 °C" must appear immediately next to the displayed net quantity on all fuel pumps equipped with an automatic temperature compensator. In Canada, the use of automatic temperature compensation (ATC) is optional on gasoline and diesel fuel pumps, but is mandatory for the sale of propane as an automotive fuel.

Why was 15 °C chosen as the reference temperature for automatic temperature compensation?

The reference temperature of 15 °C is a long-established international standard used in most countries for the purchase and sale of petroleum products. It has been used in Canada for other fuels (e.g., natural gas and propane) for decades.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm04344.html#Question1

Would it be better to use a different reference temperature?

A different reference temperature would work as well as the international reference temperature of 15 °C, but would create a discrepancy between countries. Using the international reference temperature of 15 °C ensures that all compensated measurements are comparable. ATC ensures that volume fluctuations due to fuel temperature changes do not cause inaccurate measurement.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm04344.html#Question2

Is temperature compensation new?

Since the 1920s, manual temperature compensation has been used in transactions in which large quantities of petroleum products are measured, such as pipeline transportation, ship-loading and tank farm transfers. Electronic temperature compensation has been used for the retail sale of automotive fuel for over 20 years. Prior to the advent of modern electronics, there was no practical way to perform this function accurately for retail pumps. In 1984, a Canadian manufacturer designed a device which could readily measure the temperature of liquids and perform the necessary calculations. Though currently optional for retail gasoline and diesel pumps, the vast majority of these devices in Canada are equipped with an automatic temperature compensator. The words "Volume Corrected to 15 °C" must appear immediately next to the displayed net quantity on all fuel pumps equipped with an automatic temperature compensator.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm04344.html#Question3

What are the benefits of using fuel pumps equipped with an automatic temperature compensator?

The use of fuel pumps equipped with an automatic temperature compensator benefits consumers and retailers by removing the effects of temperature variation when purchasing and selling fuel. The use of a common reference temperature allows retailers to sell their product on the same basis as it was purchased, which facilitates accurate product inventories and early detection of product loss.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm04344.html#Question4

Is automatic temperature compensation used in the sale of all fuels?

In Canada, the use of ATC is optional in the sale of gasoline and diesel fuel, because the volume of these fuels is less affected by changes in temperature. However, its use is mandatory for the sale of propane as an automotive fuel.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm04344.html#Question5

Is the automatic temperature compensator on fuel pumps tested?

Yes. All models of fuel pumps equipped with an automatic temperature compensator must be evaluated and approved for use by Measurement Canada before they may be used in retail trade. Every fuel pump is also inspected by a Measurement Canada inspector or authorized service provider before it is placed into service to ensure it is measuring accurately. Fuel pumps are periodically inspected throughout their service lifetime to ensure they continue to measure accurately and are installed and used correctly.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm04344.html#Question6

What should I do if I think a fuel pump is not measuring accurately?

If you think that you have not received the amount of fuel you paid for, you should first speak to the service station owner to try and resolve your concerns. If you are unable to resolve the matter, you may file a complaint with the local Measurement Canada office. Measurement Canada will investigate the complaint, institute corrective action if the fuel pump is not measuring accurately, and advise you of the results.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm04344.html#Question7

Questions et réponses sur l'effet de la compensation automatique de la température sur les ventes de carburants

Le volume du carburant liquide se dilate et se contracte suivant les variations de la température. La méthode de la compensation de la température permet d'ajuster le volume de carburant mesuré en fonction du volume que celui-ci occuperait s'il était mesuré à 15 °C. Le fait de vendre du carburant dont le volume est corrigé en fonction de la température élimine les iniquités causées par des variations du volume attribuables aux variations de la température. Un appareil électronique nommé compensateur automatique de la température mesure la température du carburant pendant la livraison et calcule automatiquement la quantité de carburant comme si celui-ci était livré à 15 °C. Les distributeurs de carburant munis d'un compensateur automatique de la température doivent porter la mention « Volume corrigé à 15 °C » juste à côté de la quantité nette affichée. Au Canada, l'utilisation de la compensation automatique de la température (CAT) est facultative sur les distributeurs d'essence et de diesel, mais son utilisation est obligatoire pour la vente de propane comme carburant automobile.

Pourquoi avoir choisi 15 °C comme température de référence pour la compensation automatique de la température?

La température de référence de 15 °C est une norme internationale utilisée depuis longtemps dans la plupart des pays pour l'achat et la vente de produits pétroliers. Elle a été utilisée au Canada pour d'autres carburants (p. ex. gaz naturel et propane) pendant des décennies.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm04344.html#Question1
Serait-il mieux d'utiliser une autre température de référence?

Une autre température de référence fonctionnerait aussi bien que la température de référence internationale de 15 °C, mais créerait une divergence entre les pays. L'utilisation de la température de référence internationale de 15 °C garantit que toutes les mesures compensées sont comparables. La CAT garantit que les fluctuations de volume en raison des changements de la température n'entraînent pas de mesures inexactes.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm04344.html#Question2
La méthode de la compensation de la température est-elle nouvelle?

Depuis les années 1920, la compensation de la température se fait manuellement lors des opérations dans lesquelles de grandes quantités de produits pétroliers sont mesurées, comme le transport par pipeline, le chargement de navires-citernes et les livraisons dans les parcs à réservoirs. Depuis plus de 20 ans, on a recours à la compensation électronique de la température pour la vente au détail de carburant automobile. Avant l'arrivée de l'électronique moderne, il n'y avait pas de moyen pratique de calculer la compensation de la température avec exactitude pour les distributeurs de carburant au détail. En 1984, un fabricant canadien a conçu un dispositif qui pouvait mesurer facilement la température des liquides et exécuter les calculs nécessaires. Bien que cela soit présentement facultatif pour les distributeurs d'essence et de diesel, la grande majorité de ces appareils au Canada sont munis d'un compensateur automatique de la température. Les distributeurs de carburant munis d'un compensateur automatique de la température doivent porter la mention « Volume corrigé à 15 °C » juste à côté de la quantité nette affichée.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm04344.html#Question3
Quels sont les avantages liés à l'utilisation de distributeurs de carburant munis d'un compensateur automatique de la température?

L'utilisation d'un distributeur de carburant muni d'un compensateur automatique de la température avantage les consommateurs et les détaillants, car cela permet de supprimer les effets de la variation de la température sur le volume de carburant acheté et vendu. L'utilisation d'une température de référence commune permet aux détaillants de vendre leur produit sur la même base qu'ils l'ont acheté, ce qui permet de faire un inventaire précis du produit et de détecter rapidement les pertes.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm04344.html#Question4
La compensation automatique de la température est-elle utilisée pour la vente de tous les carburants?

Au Canada, l'utilisation de la CAT est facultative pour la vente d'essence et de diesel, car le volume de ces carburants est moins sensible aux variations de la température. Cependant, son utilisation est obligatoire pour la vente de propane comme carburant automobile.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm04344.html#Question5
Fait-on l'essai du compensateur automatique de la température des distributeurs de carburant qui en sont munis?

Oui. Tous les modèles de distributeurs de carburant munis d'un compensateur automatique de la température doivent être évalués et approuvés par Mesures Canada avant qu'ils puissent être utilisés dans le commerce de détail. De plus, chaque distributeur est inspecté par un inspecteur ou un fournisseur de services autorisé de Mesures Canada avant sa mise en service pour s'assurer que l'appareil mesure avec exactitude. Les distributeurs de carburant sont inspectés périodiquement par des fournisseurs de services autorisés pendant toute leur durée de vie pour s'assurer qu'ils continuent de mesurer avec exactitude et qu'ils sont installés et utilisés correctement.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm04344.html#Question6
Que faire lorsqu'on croit qu'un distributeur de carburant ne mesure pas avec exactitude?

Si l'on pense ne pas avoir reçu la quantité de carburant payée, il faut d'abord en parler au propriétaire de la station-service et tenter de régler le problème avec lui. Si le différend persiste, il est possible de soumettre une plainte au bureau local de Mesures Canada. Celui-ci mènera une enquête, engagera une action corrective si le distributeur de carburant ne mesure pas avec exactitude et informera le plaignant des résultats.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm04344.html#Question7
Date de modification :