Field Inspection Manual — Volumetric Measuring Devices

Part 1, Section 1: Introduction

There should exist a similarity in attitude, procedure and performance by all Measurement Canada personnel and recognized technicians of accredited or registered organizations performing the same general inspections. Uniform application and consistent interpretation of legislation, policies and procedures is key to the effective administration and enforcement of the Weights and Measure Act, Regulations and Ministerial Specifications.

The purpose of this Field Inspection Manual (Inspection Procedure Outlines and Standard Test Procedures) is to provide inspectors and other interested parties with a guide to the inspection of basic volumetric measuring devices and systems. The Inspection Procedure Outlines (IPO) outline the minimum tests which must be performed to ensure that basic volumetric measuring devices comply with the legislation. The Standard Test Procedures (STP) provide examination criteria for installation and use of devices and describe test procedures.

The use of the STPs and IPOs to evaluate the compliance of a basic volumetric measuring device or system should be considered the norm rather than the exception. In some circumstances, additional tests may be warranted. In cases such as these, Measurement Canada Regional Specialists should be consulted. Care must be taken to ensure that these tests adhere to the intent of the Act, Regulations and Specifications for volumetric measuring machines.

Enforcement action shall be initiated when an infraction sufficient enough to warrant non compliance with the legislation is identified. The enforcement strategy shall be in accordance with the Weights and Measures Enforcement Policy for Weighing and Measuring Devices.

The Field Inspection Manual does not provide operating procedures for particular testing equipment such as pipe provers, compact pipe provers, or gravimetric provers. The manner of achieving the tests described in this manual may vary depending upon the type of test equipment used. Consult available documentation regarding operating procedures of specialised testing equipment. Testing equipment must be designated as local standards and must be certified by Measurement Canada.

Measurement Canada encourages the reference and use of test procedures and test equipment as identified in this manual, but acknowledges that there are alternative test procedures or test equipment that can be used to inspect a weighing or measuring device. Subject to the review and approval of the proposed test procedure or test equipment by Measurement Canada, the alternative methodology will be accepted and documented in the respective Standards Test Procedure (STP) or Inspection Procedure Outline (IPO) on a case-by-case basis.

Revision

Original document

Date modified:

Manuel de l'inspecteur — appareils de mesure du volume

Partie 1, Section 1 : Introduction

L'attitude, les procédures et la performance des membres du personnel de Mesures Canada de même que des techniciens reconnus des organismes accrédités ou enregistrés effectuant les mêmes inspections générales devraient être similaires. Une application uniforme et une interprétation cohérente de la loi, des politiques et des procédures sont essentielles à l'administration et à la mise en oeuvre efficaces de la Loi et du Règlement sur les poids et mesures ainsi que des normes ministérielles.

Le Manuel de l'inspecteur (aperçu des méthodes d'inspection et méthodes d'essai normalisées) vise à fournir aux inspecteurs et aux autres parties intéressées un guide servant à l'inspection des systèmes et des appareils de mesure volumétriques de base. L'aperçu des méthodes d'inspection (AMI) énonce les essais minimaux devant être effectués pour s'assurer que les appareils de mesure volumétriques de base sont conformes aux exigences de la loi. Les méthodes d'essai normalisées (MEN) fournissent des critères d'évaluation visant l'installation et l'utilisation d'appareils et décrivent les procédures d'essai.

L'utilisation des AMI et MEN pour évaluer la conformité des systèmes ou des appareils de base de mesure volumétrique doit être considérée comme la règle plutôt que l'exception. Dans certains cas, d'autres essais pourront s'avérer nécessaires. Le cas échéant, on devra consulter les spécialistes en volumétrie des régions et s'assurer que ces essais respectent l'intention de la Loi, du Règlement et des normes visant les appareils de mesure volumétriques.

Des mesures coercitives doivent être prises dans les cas où une infraction constitue une non-conformité à la loi. La stratégie de mesures coercitives doit être conforme à la Politique exécutoire visant les appareils de poids et mesures.

Le Manuel de l'inspecteur ne fournit pas les procédures d'opération des équipements d'essai comme les tubes-étalons, les tubes-étalons à petit volume, ou les cuves gravimétriques. La façon de réaliser les essais décrits dans ce manuel peut varier selon le genre d'étalon utilisé. Veuillez consulter les documents disponibles relatifs au mode d'opération des équipements d'essai spécialisés. Les équipements d'essai doivent avoir été désignés étalons locaux et avoir été certifiés par Mesures Canada.

Mesures Canada encourage l'usage des équipements d'essai identifiés et des procédures décrites dans ce manuel. Cependant, Mesures Canada reconnaît qu'il peut y avoir des procédures différentes ou d'autres types d'équipements d'essai qui pourraient être utilisés pour inspecter les appareils de pesage et de mesure. Ces autres procédures ou équipements d'essai pourront être utilisés après avoir été revues et approuvées par Mesures Canada. Le cas échéant, ces méthodes alternatives seront intégrées, au cas par cas, dans la section appropriée de l'aperçu des méthodes d'inspection (AMI) ou des méthodes d'essai normalisées (MEN) de ce manuel.

Révision

Document original

Date de modification :